# **Senate Record of Committee Proceedings**

## Committee on Agriculture, Financial Institutions and Insurance

#### Senate Bill 202

Relating to: the purchase of health care coverage by individuals who are engaged in the business of farming through the Group Insurance Board, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Leibham, M. Meyer, Decker, Roessler, Wirch, Brown, Breske and Hansen; cosponsored by Representatives Towns, Vruwink, LeMahieu, Ladwig, Pettis, M. Lehman, Suder, Bies, Staskunas, Musser, Hahn, Weber, Kreibich, Berceau, Ainsworth, Ott, J. Wood, Hines, Kestell, Owens, Gunderson, Gronemus, Balow, McCormick, Olsen, Plouff, Freese, Shilling, Hundertmark, Schneider, Van Akkeren, Johnsrud and Petrowski.

June 20, 2003 Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Financial Institutions and Insurance.

July 29, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (5) Senators Schultz, Brown, Kedzie, Hansen and

Lassa.

Absent: (0) None.

### Appearances For

- Sen. Joe Lieibham, Madison
- Sabrina Gentile, WI Farm Bureau, Madison
- Edith Lauscher, Kewaunee
- Wayne Steingraber, Manawa
- Darin Von Ruden, WI Farmers Union, Westby
- Ron Statz, National Farmers Organization, Prairie du Sac, WI 53578

#### **Appearances Against**

- Vicki Poole, WI Employee Trust Funds, Madison
- Bill Kox, WI Employee Trust Funds

### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Rep. Debi Towns, Madison
- Rep Amy Sue Vruwink, Madison
- Bill Oemichen, WI Federation of Cooperatives, Madison

- John Manske, WI Federation of Cooperatives, Madison
- Wayne Corey, WI Independant Businesses, Madison
- Lori Steingraber, Manawa

## Registrations Against

• None.

## July 29, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Schultz, Brown, Kedzie, Hansen and

Lassa.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Kedzie, seconded by Senator Hansen that **Senate Bill 202** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senators Schultz, Brown, Kedzie, Hansen

and Lassa.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

John O'Brien Committee Clerk