Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation and Information Infrastructure

Senate Bill 239

Relating to: the removal of nonconforming outdoor advertising signs.

By Senators Leibham, Roessler, Breske, Reynolds, M. Meyer, Stepp and Zien; cosponsored by Representatives Seratti, Gielow, Huebsch, Gundrum, McCormick, LeMahieu, Ladwig, Freese, Friske and Krawczyk.

September 03, 2003 Referred to Committee on Transportation and Information Infrastructure.

October 15, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Leibham, Kanavas, Kedzie, Breske and M. Meyer.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- David Babcock, Babcock Outdoor Advertising, Milton
- Tony Hickey, Lamac-Janesville, Milton
- Curt Weis, Lamar Advertising of Milwaukee, Milwaukee,
- Jim Wehausen, Ordle Advertising, Algoma
- James Sweasy, Jag Outdoor Advertising, Algoma
- Jason Saari, Clear Channel Outdoor Advertising, Milwaukee
- Dan Pomeroy, Clear Channel OUtdoor & Outdoor Advertising Associatoin of Wisconsin, Mukwonago
- Janet Swandby, Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin, Madison
- Mike Collins, Collins Outdoor Advertising, LaCrosse
- Randy Brice, Viacom Outdoor, Manitowoc

Appearances Against

Barbara Thomas, Menomonie
Richard Chenowete, Madison
Michael Krenn, Cedar Grove
Cornel Hausler, Citizens for Scenic Wisconsin, Merrill
Chuck Mitchell, Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin, Wauwatosa
David Vieth, Wisconsin Department of Transportation,
Madison
Robert Larsen, Monona

Appearances for Information Only

□ None.			
Registrations For			
☐ State Representative Lorraine Seratti, Wisconsin State			
Assembly, District 36			
☐ State Senator Tom Reynolds, Wisconsin State Senate, 5th Senate District			
☐ Chris Eigenberger, Adams Outdoor Advertising, Madison			
☐ James Bonneville, Adams Outdoor Advertising, Madison			
☐ Patrick Heil, Jag OUtdoor Advertising, Green Bay			
☐ Nick George, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, Madison			
☐ Chet Gerlach, Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions,			
Madison			
☐ Paul Merline, Wisconsin Restaurant Association, Madison			
Brandon Scholz, Wisconsin Grocers Association, Madison			
 Trisha Pugal, Wisconsin Innkeepers Association, Brookfield Mary Ann Gerrard, Wisconsin Auto & Truck Dealers 			
Association, Madison			
☐ Doug Johnson, Wisconsin Merchants Federation, Madison			
☐ Bill Smith, National Federation of Independent Business,			
Madison Matt Hauser Petraleum Marketers of Wisconsin Wisconsin			
☐ Matt Hauser, Petroleum Marketers of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Association of Convience Stores, Madison			
☐ Joyce Slawson, Speeding Sign Company, Osseo			
☐ Alan Ralph, PR Media, Ashland			
☐ Dean Blazek, Northern Outdoor, Antigo			
☐ Jim Schumacher, Hamam Outdoor ☐ Andy MacMarran, Haman Advertising			
 Andy MacMorran, Haman Advertising Tim Collins, Collins Outdoor Advertising, LaCrosse 			
☐ Charels Collins, Collins Outdoor Advertising, LaCrosse			
☐ John Mortensen, Jones Sign, Green Bay			
☐ Julia Hertel, Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitors			
Bureaus, Sun Prairie			
 Eric Jensen, Wisconsin Beer Distributors Association, Madison Ben Armitage, Adams Outdoor, Verona 			
☐ Gary Manke, Midwest Equipment Dealers Association,			
Madison			
☐ Gary Manke, Wisconsin Automotive Parts Association,			
Madison Cory Monks, Wissensin Automative Aftermorket Association			
☐ Gary Manke, Wisconsin Automotive Aftermarket Association, Madison			
☐ Amy Winters, Wisconsin Agribusiness Council, Wisconsin			
Christmas Tree Production, Madison			
Registrations Against			
□ Todd Hanson, Madison			

	☐ Chris Nehrbass, Stoughton
March 11, 2004	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
	Dan Lindstedt
	Committee Clerk