Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation and Information Infrastructure

Senate Bill 390

Relating to: removal of vegetation along highways under the jurisdiction of the Department of Transportation.

By Senators Kanavas, M. Meyer, Brown, Schultz and Hansen; cosponsored by Representatives Ward, Nischke, Ladwig, Van Roy, Albers, McCormick, Gunderson, Freese, Musser, Gronemus, M. Lehman, Townsend, Hahn, Huebsch, Gielow, Suder, Montgomery, F. Lasee, Seratti, J. Wood, Honadel, Krawczyk, Ainsworth and Vrakas.

January 14, 2004 Referred to Committee on Transportation and Information Infrastructure.

February 11, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (4) Senators Leibham, Kanavas, Kedzie and

Breske.

Absent: (1) Senator M. Meyer.

Appearances For

- State Representative David Ward, Wisconsin State Assembly
- Janet Swandby, Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin, Madison
- Dan Pomeroy, Clear Channel OUtdoor & Outdoor Advertising Associatoin of Wisconsin, Mukwonago
- Gregory Good, Clear Channel Outdoor Advertising
- Bill Schroeder, Orde Advertising
- Keith Carson, Collins Outdoor Advertising
- Jason Saari, Clear Channel Outdoor Advertising, Milwaukee
- Mike Collins, Collins Outdoor Advertising, LaCrosse

Appearances Against

David Vieth, Wisconsin Department of Transportation,
Madison
Michael Krenn, Cedar Grove
Vernie Smith, Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
Chuck Mitchell, Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin, Wauwatosa
Cornel Hausler, Citizens for Scenic Wisconsin, Merrill
Lowell Klessig
Richard Chenoweth, Madison

Appearances for Information Only

□ None.
Registrations For
☐ State Senator Ted Kanavas, Wisconsin State Senate
☐ Bill Kennedy, Kennedy Communications
☐ Chet Gerlach, Sprint, Madison
☐ Bill Mitchell
☐ Andy MacMorran, Haman Advertising
☐ Ray Ten Pas, Ten Pas Sign Company
☐ Chris Eigenberger, Adams Outdoor Advertising, Madison
☐ James Bonneville, Adams Outdoor Advertising, Madison
☐ Ben Armitage, Adams Outdoor, Verona
☐ Paul Gagnon, Lamar Advertising
☐ Mary Ann Gerrard, Wisconsin Auto & Truck Dealers
Association, Madison
☐ Paul Wauters, Jag Outdoor Advertising
☐ Matt Hauser, Petroleum Marketers of Wisconsin, Wisconsin
Association of Convience Stores, Madison
☐ Kathi Kilgore, Waukesha County Municipal Executives,
Madison
☐ Diane Hoey, Hoey Outdoor Advertising
☐ Jim Schumacher, Hamam Outdoor
☐ Bill Smith, National Federation of Independent Business,
Madison
□ Nick George, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce,
Madison
☐ Michelle Kussow, Wisconsin Grocers Assocation
Paul Merline, Wisconsin Restaurant Association, Madison
 Doug Johnson, Wisconsin Merchants Federation, Madison
☐ Anthony Hickey, Lamar Advertising
☐ Wendy Booth, Lamar Advertising
☐ Kurt Weis, Lamar Advertising
Registrations Against
☐ Mike Norzon, Winnebago County
☐ Secretary Scott Hassett, Wisconsin Department of Natural
Resources
☐ Karen Etter-Hale, Madison Audubon Society
□ Robert Kuller
☐ Caryl Terrell, Sierra Club, John Muir Chapter, Madison
☐ Ward Lyles, 1000 Friends of Wisconsin, Madison
☐ Amy Ihlenfeldt
☐ Mayor Larry MacDonald, City of Bayfield
☐ Frank Iltis
☐ Heather Mann, Urban Open Space Foundation

March	11,	2004

	Failed to pa	ass pursuant to	Senate Joint	t Resolution 1.
--	--------------	-----------------	--------------	-----------------

Dan Lindstedt Committee Clerk