Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Higher Education and Tourism

Senate Bill 505

Relating to: changes to the room tax law and the creation of destination marketing organizations and tourism committees.

By Senators Harsdorf, Roessler, Zien, Kanavas and Breske; cosponsored by Representatives Pettis, Kestell, Kreibich, Hines, Ladwig, Nass, Townsend, M. Lehman, Montgomery, Nischke, McCormick, D. Meyer and Suder.

February 27, 2004 Referred to Committee on Higher Education and Tourism.

March 3, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Harsdorf, Schultz, Cowles, Breske

and Chvala.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sen. Sheila Harsdorf, Self
- Rep. Mark Pettis, Self
- Trisha Pugal, Wisconsin Tourism Federation, WI Innkeepers Association, Brookfield
- Ed Lump, Wisconsin Tourism Federation, Madison
- Tammy Tritz, WI Association of Convention and Visitor Bureaus, Waukesha
- Dave Blank, Racine County Convention and Visitors Bureau, Racine
- Renee Suscha, Lake View Mansion Bed and Breakfast, Sheboygan

Appearances Against

- Curt Witynski, League of Wisconsin Municipalities, Madison
- Ed Huck, Wisconsin Alliance of Cities, Madison
- Steve McLean, City of Sheboygan, Sheboygan
- Joe Schramm, Mayor, City of Sheboygan, Sheboygan
- Kevin Crawford, Mayor, City of Manitowoc, Manitowoc

Appearances for Information Only

- Jim Holperin, Self, Eagle River
- Mario Mendoza, City of Madison, Madison

Registrations For

	 Susan Hundley, English Manor Bed and Breakfast, Sheboygan Andy Franken, Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus, Madison Jeff Machut, Wisconsin Innkeepers Association, Monona Linda John, Chippewa Valley Convention and Visitors Bureau, Eau Claire Glenn Brill, Fold du Lac Convention and Visitors Bureau, Fond du Lac Paul Merline, WI Restaurant Association, Madison Janet Swandby, Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin, Madison Chet Gerlach, WI Tourism Federation, Madison Kathi Kilgore, WI Association of Campground Owners / WI Innkeepers Association, Brookfield Eric Rottier, Madison Chapter - Wisconsin Innkeepers Association, Madison Scott Smith, Wisconsin Hospitality Council, Madison Anne Laska, Best Western InnTowner, Madison Laura Channing, Best Western InnTowner, Madison Barb Bilky, Best Western InnTowner, Madison Donna Howell, Best Western InnTowner, Madison Lisa Rogers, Best Western InnTowner, Madison Registrations Against None.
March 11, 2004	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
	Christian Schneider Committee Clerk