## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Judiciary, Corrections and Privacy**

#### Senate Bill 86

Relating to: failure to pay for gasoline or diesel fuel and suspension of operating privileges after conviction for theft of gasoline or diesel fuel and providing penalties.

By Senators S. Fitzgerald, M. Meyer, Cowles, Breske, Welch, Roessler, Lazich, Kedzie, Leibham and Stepp; cosponsored by Representatives Weber, Vruwink, Montgomery, Huebsch, Gronemus, Vrakas, Freese, Ott, McCormick, J. Fitzgerald, Hahn, Nass, Townsend, Owens, Zepnick, Loeffelholz, Shilling, Towns, F. Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gunderson, Hines, Kestell, Ladwig, Suder and Lassa.

April 02, 2003 Referred to Committee on Judiciary, Corrections and Privacy.

## October 2, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(3)	Senators Zien, S. Fitzgerald and Carpenter.
Absent:	(2)	Senators Stepp and George.

#### Appearances For

- State Representative Becky Weber, 5th Assembly District
- State Senator Scott Fitzgerald, 13th State Senate District
- Matt Hauser, Petroleum Marketers Assn. of WI, Madison
- Ronald Counsell, Borderline BP, Juneau

#### Appearances Against

• None.

## Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- State Senator Bob Welch, 14th State Senate District
- Jim Hough, Marathon Oil, Madison
- Kathi Kilgore, Outdoor Advertising Assn. of WI, Madison
- Erin Roth, American Petroleum Institute, WI Petroleum Council, Madison
- Pat Osborne, Marathon Oil, Madison
- Michelle Kussow, WI Grocers Assn.
- David Blatnik, Marathon Ashland Petroleum, St. Paul, MN
- Katie Rezin, Kwik Trip

## Registrations Against

• None.

## October 2, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(3)	Senators Zien, S. Fitzgerald and Carpenter.
Absent:	(2)	Senators Stepp and George.

Moved by Senator S. Fitzgerald, seconded by Senator Zien that **Senate Bill 86** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(4)	Senators Zien, S. Fitzgerald, Stepp (polling)
		and George (polling).
Noes:	(1)	Senator Carpenter.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

John Hogan Committee Clerk