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DOA.......Fath, BB0138 — Transfer of day care licensing from DHFS to DWD
For 2005-07 BUDGET — NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN AcT relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

CHILDREN

Under current law, no person may for compensation provide care and
supervision for four or more children under the age of seven for less than 24 hours
a day unless the person obtains a license from DHFS to operate a day care center.
To obtain a license to operate a day care center, a person must, among other things,
meet the minimum requirements for a license promulgated by DHFS by rule.
Current law also authorizes DHFS to inspect and investigate day care centers and
to impose certain sanctions and penalties on a person who operates a day care center
without a license or who violates a provision of licensure or a minimum standard for
the operation of a day care center promulgated by DHF'S by rule.

This bill transfers from DHFS to DWD the authority to license day care centers,
to promulgate rules establishing minimum requirements for day care center
licensure and minimum standards for day care center operation, to inspect and
investigate day care centers, and to impose sanctions and penalties for operating a
day care center without a license or for violating a provision of day care center
licensure or a minimum standard for the operation of a day care center.

Under current law, before DHFS may issue a license to a day care center that
provides care and supervision for nine or more children, the day care center must pay
a biennial fee of $30.25, plus a biennial fee of $8.47 per child, based on the number
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of children that the day care center is licensed to serve. This bill increases that per

child fee to $16.94.
For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as

an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SeEcTION 1. 16.841 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

16.841 (1) (b) “Child care provider” means a provider licensed under s. 48.65
49.98, certified under s. 48.651 49.156, or established or contracted for under s.
120.13 (14).

SECTION 2. 20.435 (3) (jm) of the statutes is amended to read:

20.435 (3) (jm) Licensing activities. The amounts in the schedule for the costs
of licensing child welfare agencies under s. 48.60, foster homes and treatment foster
homes under s. 48.62, group homes under s. 48.625, day-care-centers-unders.48.65
and shelter care facilities under s. 938.22 (7). All moneys received for these licensing
activities and from fees under ss. 48.615, 48.625, 48.65-(3) and 938.22 (7) (b) and (¢)
shall be credited to this appropriation account.

SECTION 3. 20.445 (3) (cm) of the statutes is amended to read:

20.445 (3) (cm) Wisconsin works child care and day care center licensing. The
amounts in the schedule for paying child care subsidies under s. 49.155 and for the

cost of licensing day care centers under s. 49.98.

=+*NOTE: This SECTION involves a change in an appropriation that must be
reflected in the revised schedule in s. 20.005, stats.

SECTION 4. 20.445 (3) (jm) of the statutes is created to read:
20.445 (3) jm) Day care center licensing. All moneys received from day care
center licensing activities and from fees under s. 49.98 (3) to be used for the costs of

licensing day care centers under s. 49.98.
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SECTION 4

#=#=NOTE: This SECTION involves a change in an appropriation that must be
reflected in the revised schedule in s. 20.005, stats.

SECTION 5. 20.445 (3) (mc) of the statutes is amended to read:

20.445 (3) (mc) Federal block grant operations. The amounts in the schedule,
less the amounts withheld under s. 49.143 (3), for the purposes of operating and
administering the block grant programs for which the block grant moneys are
received and transferring moneys to the appropriation aceounts account under s.
20.435 (3)(kx)-and (6) (kx). All block grant moneys received for these purposes from
the federal government or any of its agencies for the state administration of federal
block grants shall be credited to this appropriation account.

SECTION 6. 21.72 (1) (a) 3m. of the statutes is created to read: |

21.72 (1) (a) 3m. A license issued under ss. 49.98 and 49.99.

SECTION 7. 46.03 (7) (c) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 8. 46.03 (7) (cm) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 9. 46.16 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

46.16 (2) CHILD WELFARE AGENCIES; FOSTER HOMES; TREATMENT FOSTER HOMES:

The department may

license and revoke licenses of and exercise supervision over all child welfare agencies

and the placement of children in foster homes and treatment foster homes, and grant

permits licenses to foster homes; and treatment foster homes;-child-carecenters;-day
nurseries-and-nursery-schools. In the discharge of this duty it the department may
inspect the records of child welfare agencies,—ehild—e&re—eentefs,—dayunufseﬁes;
nursery-sehools and visit all institutions eendueted-by—them operated by child

welfare agencies and all foster homes and treatment foster homes in which children

are placed.
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SECTION 10

SECTION 10. 46.16 (2m) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 11. 46.16 (2s) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 12. 48.48 (10) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.48 (10) To license child welfare agencies and-day-care-centers as provided
in s. 48.66 (1) (a).

SECTION 13. Subchapter XV (title) of chapter 48 [precedes 48.65] of the statutes
is renumbered subchapter VII (title) of chapter 49 [precedes 49.97] and amended to
read:

CHAPTER 49
SUBCHAPTER VII
DAY CARE PROVIDERS LICENSING

SECTION 14. 48.65 (title) of the statutes is renumbered 49.98 (title) and
amended to read:

49.98 (title) Day Licensing of day care centers licensed; fees.

SECTION 15. 48.65 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 49.98 (1) and amended to
read:

49.98 (1) No person may for compensation provide care and supervision for 4
or more children uﬁder the age of 7 for less than 24 hours a day unless that person
obtains a license to operate a day care center from the department. To obtain a
license under this subsection to operate a day care center, a person must meet the
minimum requirements for a license established by the department under s. 48.67
49.986, meet the requirements specified in s. 48.685, and pay the license fee under
sub. (3). A license issued under this subsection is valid until revoked or suspended,

but shall be reviewed every 2 years as provided in s. 48.66 49.984 (5).
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SECTION 16

SECTION 16. 48.65 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is renumbered 49.98 (2) (intro.)
and amended to read:

49.98 (2) (intro.) This section does not include apply to any of the following:

SECTION 17. 48.65 (2) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 49.98 (2) (a).

SECTION 18. 48.65 (2) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 49.98 (2) (b) and

amended to read:

49.98 (2) (b) A public or parechial private school.

SECTION 19. 48.65 (2) (¢) of the statutes is ren

NoY9.G9 and
Rv 99,99

ered 49.98 (2) (c).
SECTION 20. 48.65 (2) (d) of the statutes is/renumbered 49.98 (2) (d).
5 ﬁiﬁoN 21. 48.65 (3) of the statutes isaAmended to read:

%\(3) (a) Before the department may issue a license under sub. (1) to a day
care center that provides care and supervision for 4 to 8 children, the day care center
must pay to the dei)artment a biennial fee of $60.50. Before the department may
issue a license under sub. (1) to a day care center that provides care and supervision
for 9 or more children, the day care center must pay to the department a biennial fee
of $30.25, plus a biennial fee of $84%7 $16.94 per child, based on the number of
children that the day care center is licensed to serve. A day care center that wishes
to continue a license issued under sub. (1) shall pay the applicable fee under this
paragraph by the continuation date of the license. A new day care center shall pay
the applicable fee under this paragraph no later than 30 days before the opening of
the day care center.

(b) A day care center that wishes to continue a license issued under par. (a) and
that fails to pay the applicable fee under par. (a) by the continuation date of the

license or a new day care center that fails to pay the applicable fee under par. (a) by

30 days before the opening of the day care center shall pay an additional fee of $5 per
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SECTION 21

day for every day after the deadline that the greup-home day care center fails to pay

the fee.

Wisconsin Act ...

13

bered 49.98(

o I AREAT LT
ALUT7, IS T CITUWIL ITOTs

T

SECTION 23. 48.651 (title) of the statutes is renumbered 49.156 (title) and
amended to read:

49.156 (title) Certification Wisconsin works; certification of day care

providers.

SECTION 24. 48.651 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is renumbered 49.156 (1) (intro.)
and amended to read:

49.156 (1) (intro.) Each county department shall certify, according to the
standards adopted by the department -of workforce-development under s. 49.155 (1d),
each day care provider reimbursed for child care services provided to families
determined eligible under s. 49.155, unless the provider is a day care center licensed
under s. 48.65 49.98 or is established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14). Each
county may charge a fee to cover the costs of certification. To be certified under this
section, a person must meet the minimum requirements for certification established
by the department of workforce—development under s. 49.155 (1d), meet the
requirements specified in s. 48.685, and pay the fee speeified referred to in this
section. The county shall certify the following categories of day care providers:

SECTION 25. 48.651 (1) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 49.156 (1) (a) and
amended to read:

49.156 (1) (a) Level I certified family day care providers, as established by the

department ef workforce-development under s. 49.155 (1d). No county may certify
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SECTION 25

a provider under this paragraph if the provider is a relative of all of the children for
whom he or she provides care.

SECTION 26. 48.651 (1) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 49.156 (1) (b) and
amended to read:

49.156 (1) (b) Level II certified family day care providers, as established by the
department ef-workforce development, under s. 49.155 (1d).

SECTION 27. 48.651 (2m) of the statutes is renumbered 49.156 (2m) and
amended to read:

49.156 (2m) Each county department shall provide the department of health
and family services with information about each person who is denied certification
for a reason specified in s. 48.685 (4m) (a) 1. to 5.

SECTION 28. 48.653 of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (1) and amended to

read:

49.982 (1) Intfe;lmat-}en—fepday—eare-prev}delisx The department shall
provide each day care center licensed under s. 4865 49.98 and each county ageney

department providing child welfare services with a brochure containing information
on basic child care and the licensing and certification requirements for day care
providers. Each county-ageney department shall provide each day care provider that
it certifies with a copy of the brochure.

SECTION 29. 48.655 of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (2) and amended to
read:

49.982 (2) Parental access. A day c:;lre provider that holds a license under
s. 48.65 49.98, that is certified under s. 48.651 49.156, that holds a probationary
license under s. 48.69 49.99, or that is established or contracted for under s. 120.13

(14) shall permit any parent or guardian of a child enrolled in the program to visit
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SECTION 29
and observe the program of child care at any time during the provider’s hours of
operation, unless the visit or observation is contrary to an existing court order.

SECTION 30. 48.656 of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (3) and amended to

read:

49.982 (3) Parent’sright-toknow. Every parent, guardian, or legal custodian

of a child who is receiving care and supervision, or of a child who is a prospective
recipient of care and supervision, from a day care center that holds a license under
s. 48.65 49.98 (1) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 49.99 has the right to know
certain information about the day care center that would aid the parent, guardian,
or legal custodian in assessing the quality of care and supervision provided by the
day care center.

SECTION 31. 48.657 (title) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 32. 48.657 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (4) (a)
(intro.) and amended to read:

49.982 (4) (a) (intro.) The department shall provide each day care center that
holds a license under s. 48.65 49.98 (1) or a probationary license under s. 4869 49.99
with an annual report that includes the following information:

SECTION 33. 48.657 (i) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (4) (a) 1. and
amended to read:

49.982 (4) (a) 1. Violations of statutes, rules promulgated by the department
under s. 48.67 49.986, or provisions of licensure under s. 48.70-(1) 49.988 (2) by the
day care center. In providing information under this paragraph subdivision, the
department may not disclose the identity of any employee of the day care center.

SECTION 34. 48.657 (1) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (4) (a) 2. and

amended to read:
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SECTION 34

49.982 (4) (a) 2. A telephone number at the department that a person may call
to complain of any alleged violation of a statute, rule promulgated by the department
under s. 48.67 49.986, or provision of licensure under s. 48.70-(1) 49.988 (2) by the
day care center.

SECTION 35. 48.657 (1) (¢) of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (4) (a) 3. and
amended to read:

49.982 (4) (a) 3. The results of the most recent inspection of the day care center
under s. 48-73 49.996 (1).

SECTION 36. 48.657 (2) of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (4) (b) and
amended to read:

49.982 (4) (b) A day care center shall post the report under sub—1) par. (a) next
to the day care center’s license or probationary license in a place where the report and
the inspection results can be seen by parents, guardians, or legal custodians during
the day care center’s hours of operation.

SECTION 37. 48.657 (2g) of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (4) (¢) and
amended to read:

49.982 (4) (c) If the report under sub-—(1) par. (a) indicates that the day care
center is in violation of a statute, a rule promulgated by the department under s.
48.67 49.986, or a provision of licensure under s. 48.70(1) 49.988 (2), the day care
center shall post with the report any notices received from the department relating
to that violation.

SECTION 38. 48.657 (2r) of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (4) (d) and
amended to read:

49.982 (4) (d) Each day care center that receives a report under sub—(1) par.

(a) shall make available to a parent, guardian, or legal custodian of a child who is
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SECTION 38
receiving, or who is a prospective recipient of, care and supervision from the day care
center the reports under sub—(1) par. (a) from the previous 2 years and any notices
received from the department relating to any violations identified in those reports.
In providing information under this subseetion paragraph, a day care center may
withhold any information that would disclose the identity of an employee of the day
care center.

SECTION 39. 48.657 (3) of the statutes is renumbered 49.982 (4) (e) and
amended to read: |

49.982 (4) (e) The department may require a day care center to provide to the
department any information that is necessary for the department to prepare the
report under sub-—(1) par. (a).

SECTION 40. Subchapter XVI (title) of chapter 48 [precedes 48.66] of the
statutes is amended to read:

CHAPTER 48
SUBCHAPTER XVI
LICENSING PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD WELFARE
AGENCIES, FOSTER HOMES, TREATMENT FOSTER HOMES, GROUP
HOMES, DAY CARE-CENTERS AND COUNTY DEPARTMENTS

'SECTION 41. 48.66 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.66 (1) (a) Except as provided in s. 48.715 (6) and (7), the department shall
license and supervise child welfare agencies, as required by s. 48.60, group homes,
as required by s. 48.625, and shelter care facilities, as required by s. 938.22;-and-day

care-centers;-asrequired by-s-48.65. The department may license foster homes or

treatment foster homes, as provided by s. 48.62, and may license and supervise
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SECTION 41

county departments in accordance with the procedures specified in this section and
in ss. 48.67 to 48.74. |

SECTION 42. 48.66 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.66 (2) The department shall prescribe application forms to be used by all
applicants for licenses from it. The application forms prescribed by the department
shall require that the social security numbers of all applicants for a license to operate
a child welfare agency, group home, or shelter care facility er-day-eare-eenter who are
individuals, other than an individual who does not have a social security number and
who submits a statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation as required
under sub. (2m) (a) 2., be provided and that the federal employer identification
numbers of all applicants for a license to operate a child welfare agency, group home,
or shelter care facility er-day-eare-center who are not individuals be provided.

SECTION 43. 48.66 (2m) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

48.66 (2m) (a) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., the department of health and
family services shall require each applicant for a license under sub. (1) (a) to operate
a child welfare agency, group home, or shelter care facility er-day eare-center who is
an individual to provide that department with the applicant’s social security number,
and shall require each applicant for a license under sub. (1) (a) to operate a child
welfare agency, group home, or shelter care facility er-day-eare-center who is not an
individual to provide that department with the applicant’s federal employer
identification number, when initially applying for or applying to continue the license.

SECTION 44. 48.66 (2m) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.66 (2m) (b) If an applicant who is an individual fails to provide the
applicant’s social security number to the department of health and family services

or if an applicant who is not an individual fails to provide the applicant’s federal
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SECTION 44
employer identification number to that department, that department may not issue
or continue a license under sub. (1) (a) to operate a child welfare agency, group home,
or shelter care facility er-day-eare-center to or for the applicant unless the applicant
is an individual who does not have a social security number and the applicant
submits a statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation as required under
par. (a) 2.

SECTION 45. 48.66 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.66 (5) A child welfare agency, group home, day-eare-center or shelter care
facility license, other than a probationary license, is valid until revoked or
suspended, but shall be reviewed every 2 years after the date of issuance as provided
in this subsection. At least 30 days prior to the continuation date of the license, the
licensee shall submit to the department an application for continuance of the license
in the form and containing the information that the department requires. If the
minimum requirements for a license established under s. 48.67 are met, the
application is apprbved, the applicable fees referred to in ss. 48.68 (1) and 48.685 (8)
are paid, and any forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3) (a) or penalty under s. 48.76 that is
due is paid, the department shall continue the license for an additional 2-year
period, unless sooner suspended or revoked. If the application is not timely filed, the
department shall issue a warning to the licensee. If the licensee fails to apply for
continuance of the license within 30 days after receipt of the warning, the
department may revoke the license as provided in s. 48.715 (4) and (4m) (b).

SECTION 46. 48.67 of the statutes is amended to read:

48.67 Rules governing child welfare agencies, day eare-centers, foster
homes, treatment foster homes, group homes, shelter care facilities, and

county departments. The department shall promulgate rules establishing
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SECTION 46

minimum requirements for the issuance of licenses to, and establishing standards
for the operation of, child welfare agencies, day-eare-eenters; foster homes, treatment
foster homes, group homes, shelter care facilities, and county departments. These
rules shall be designed to protect and promote the health, safety, and welfare of the
children in the care of all licensees. The department shall consult with the

department of commerce and the department of public instruction before

promulgating these rules. In-establishing the minimum requirementsfor-the

SECTION 47. 48.68 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.68 (1) After receipt of an application for a license, the department shall
investigate to determine if the applicant meets the minimum requirements for a
license adopted by the department under s. 48.67 and meets the requirements
specified in s. 48.685, if applicable. In determining whether to issue or continue a
license, the department may consider any action by the applicant, or by an employee
of the applicant, that constitutes a substantial failure by the applicant or employee
to protect and promote the health, safety, and welfare of a child. Upon satisfactory
completion of this investigation and payment of the fee required under s. 48.615 (1)
(a) or (b), 48.625 (2) (a), 48.65-(3)(a) or 938.22 (7) (b), the department shall issue a

license under s. 48.66 (1) (a) or, if applicable, a probationary license under s. 48.69
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SECTION 47
or, if applicable, shall continue a license under s. 48.66 (5). At the time of initial
licensure and license renewal, the department shall provide a foster home licensee
with written information relating to the age-related monthly foster care rates and
supplemental payments specified in s. 48.62 (4), including payment amounts,
eligibility requirements for supplemental payments and the procedures for applying
for supplemental payments.

SECTION 48. 48.685 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (1) (b) “Entity” means a child welfare agency that is licensed under s.
48.60 to provide care and maintenance for children, to place children for adoption,
or to license foster homes or treatment foster homes; a foster home or treatment
foster home that is licensed under s. 48.62; a group home that is licensed under s.
48.625; a shelter care facility that is licensed under s. 938.22; a day care center that
is licensed under s. 48.65 49.98 or established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14);
a day care provider that is certified under s. 48651 49.156; or a temporary
employment agency that provides caregivers to another entity.

SECTION 49. 48.685 (2) (am) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (2) (am) (intro.) The department of health and family services, the

department of workforce development, a county department, a child welfare agency,

or a school board shall obtain all of the following with respect to a caregiver specified
in sub. (1) (ag) 1. b., a nonclient resident of an entity, and a person under 18 years
of age, but not under 12 years of age, who is a caregiver of a day care center that is
licensed under s. 48.65 49.98 or established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14) or
of a day care provider that is certified under s. 48-651 49.156:

SECTION 50. 48.685 (2) (am) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 50

48.685 (2) (am) 5. Information maintained by the department under this

section and under ss. 48.651(2m); 48.75 (1m), 49.156 (2m), 49.988 (1), and 120.13

(14) regarding any denial to the person of a license, continuation or renewal of a
license, certification, or a contract to operate an entity for a reason specified in sub.
(4m) (a) 1. to 5. and regarding any denial to the person of employment at, a contract
with, or permission to reside at an entity for a reason specified in sub. (4m) (b) 1. to
5. If the information obtained under this subdivision indicates that the person has
been denied a license, continuation or renewal of a license, certification, a contract,
employment, or permission to reside as described in this subdivision, the department
of health and family services, the department of workforce development, a county
department, a child welfare agency, or a school board need not obtain the information
specified in subds. 1. to 4.

SECTION 51. 48.685 (2) (b) 1. e. of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (2) (b) 1. e. Information maintained by the department under this

section and under ss. 48.651-(2m); 48.75 (1m), 49.156 (2m), 49.988 (1), and 120.13

(14) regarding any denial to the person of a license, continuation or renewal of a
license, certification, or a contract to operate an entity for a reason specified in sub.
(4m) (a) 1. to 5. and regarding any denial to the person of employment at, a contract
with, or permission to reside at an entity for a reason specified in sub. (4m) (b) 1. to
5. If the information obtained under this subd. 1. e. indicates that the person has
been denied a license, continuation or renewal of a license, certification, a contract,
employment, or permission to reside as described in this subd. 1. e., the entity need
not obtain the information specified in subd. 1. a. to d.

SECTION 52. 48.685 (2) (b) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:



o X IS "

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

2005 — 2006 Legislature - 16 - LRB-0404/2
GMM:wlj:rs

SECTION 52

48.685 (2) (b) 4. Subdivision 1. does not apply with respect to a person under

18 years of age, but not under 12 years of age, who is a caregiver or nonclient resident
of a day care center that is licensed under s. 48.65 49.98 or established or contracted
for undef s. 120.13 (14) or of a day care provider that is certified under s. 48.651

49.156 and with respect to whom the department of workforce development, a county

department, or a school board is required under par. (am) (intro.) to obtain the
information specified in par. (am) 1. to 5.

SECTION 53. 48.685 (2) (bb) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (2) (bb) If information obtained under par. (am) or (b) 1. indicates a
charge of a serious crime, but does not completely and clearly indicate the final
disposition of the charge, the department of health and family services, department

of workforce development, county department, child welfare agency, school board, or

entity shall make every reasonable effort to contact the clerk of courts to determine
the final disposition of the charge. If a background information form under sub. (6)
(a) or (am) indicates a charge or a conviction of a serious crime, but information
obtained under par. (am) or (b) 1. does not indicate such a charge or conviction, the
department of health and family services, department of workforce development,
county department, child welfare agency, school board, or entity shall make every
reasonable effort to contact the clerk of courts to obtain a copy of the criminal
complaint and the final disposition of the complaint. If information obtained under
par. (am) or (b) 1., a background information form under sub. (6) (a) or (am), or any
other information indicates a conviction of a violation of s. 940.19 (1), 940.195,
940.20, 941.30, 942.08, 947.01, or 947.013 obtained not more than 5 years before the
date on which that information was obtained, the department of health and family

services, department of workforce development, county department, child welfare
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SECTION 53

agency, school board, or entity shall make every reasonable effort to contact the clerk
of courts to obtain a copy of the criminal complaint and judgment of conviction
relating to that violation.

SECTION 54. 48.685 (2) (bd) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (2) (bd) Notwithstanding pars. (am) and (b) 1., the department of health
and family services, the department of workforce development, a county department,
a child welfare agency, or a school board is not required to obtain the information
specified in par. (am) 1. to 5., and an entity is not required to obtain the information
specified in par.‘ (b) 1. a. to e., with respect to a person under 18 years of age whose
background information form under sub. (6) (am) indicates that the person is not
ineligible to be employed, contracted with, or permitted to reside at an entity for a
reason specified in sub. (4m) (b) 1. to 5. and with respect to whom the department of
health and family services, department of workforce development, county
department, child welfare agency, school board, or entity otherwise has no reason to
believe that the person is ineligible to be employed, contracted with, or permitted to
reside at an entity for any of those reasons. This paragraph does not preclude the
department of health and family services, the department of workforce development,
a county department, a child welfare agency, or a school board from obtaining, at its
discretion, the information specified in par. (am) 1. to 5. with respect to a person
described in this paragraph who is a nonclient resident or a prospective nonclient
resident of an entity.

SECTION 55. 48.685 (2) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (2) (bm) If the person who is the subject of the search under par. (am)
or (b) 1. is not a resident of this state, or if at any time within the 3 years preceding

the date of the search that person has not been a resident of this state, or if the
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SECTION 55

department of health and family services, department of workforce development,

county department, child welfare agency, school board, or entity determines that the
person’s employment, licensing, or state court records provide a reasonable basis for

further investigation, the department of health and family services, department of

workforce development, county department, child welfare agency, school board, or

entity shall make a good faith effort to obtain from any state or other United States
jurisdiction in which the person is a resident or was a resident within the 3 years
preceding the date of the search information that is equivalent to the information
specified in par. (am) 1. or (b) 1. a. The department of health and family services,

department of workforce development, county department, child welfare agency,

school board, or entity may require the person to be fingerprinted on 2 fingerprint
cards, each bearing a complete set of the person’s fingerprints. The department of
justice may provide for the submission of the fingerprint cards to the federal bureau
of investigation for the purposes of verifying the identity of the person fingerprinted
and obtaining records of his or her criminal arrests and convictions.

SECTION 56. 48.685 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (3) (a) Every 4 years or at any time within that period that the

department of health and family services, the department of workforce development,

a county department, a child welfare agency, or a school board considers appropriate,
the department of health and family services, department of workforce development,
county department, child welfare agency, or school board shall request the
information specified in sub. (2) (am) 1. to 5. for all persons who are licensed,
certified, or contracted to operate an entity, for all persons who are nonclient
residents of an entity, and for all persons under 18 years of age, but not under 12

years of age, who are caregivers of a day care center that is licensed under s. 4865
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1 49.98 or established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (4) or of a day care provider that
2 is certified under s. 48.651 49.156.
3 SECTION 57. 48.685 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
4 48.685 (3) (b) Every 4 years or at any time within that period that an entity
5 considers appropriate, the entity shall request the information specified in sub. (2)
6 (b)1.a.toe. for all persons who are caregivers of the entity other than persons under
7 18 years of age, but not under 12 years of age, who are caregivers of a day care center
8 that is licensed under s. 48.65 49.98 or established or contracted for under s. 120.13
9 (14) or of a day care provider that is certified under s. 48:651 49.156.
10 SECTION 58. 48.685 (3m) of the statutes is amended to read:
11 48.685 (3m) Notwithstanding subs. (2) (b) 1. and (3) (b), if the department of

12 health and family services, the department of workforce development, a county

13 department, a child welfare agency, or a school board has obtained the information
14 required under sub. (2) (am) or (3) (a) with respect to a person who is a caregiver
15 specified in sub. (1) (ag) 1. b. and that person is also an employee, contractor, or
16 nonclient resident of an entity, the entity is not required to obtain the information
17 specified in sub. (2) (b) 1. or (3) (b) with respect to that person.

18 SECTION 59. 48.685 (4m) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

19 48.685 (4m) (a) (intro.) Notwithstanding s. 111.335, and except as provided in
20 par. (ad) and sub. (5), the department of health and family services may not license,
21 or continue or renew the license of, a person to operate an entity, the department of
22 workforce development may not license, or continue the license of, a person to
23 operate a day care center, a county department may not certify a day care provider
24 under s. 48.651 49.156, a county department or a child welfare agency may not

25 license, or renew the license of, a foster home or treatment foster home under s. 48.62,
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SECTION 59

and a school board may not contract with a person under s. 120.13 (14), if the
department of health and family services, department of workforce development,
county department, child welfare agency, or school board knows or should have
known any of the following:

SECTION 60. 48.685 (4m) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (4m) (a) 1. That the person has been convicted of a serious crime or, if
the person is an applicant for issuance or continuation of a license to operate a day

care center or for initial certification under s. 48:651 49.156 or for renewal of that

certification or if the person is proposing to contract with a school board under s.
120.13 (14) or to renew a contract under that subsection, that the person has been
convicted of a serious crime or adjudicated delinquent on or after his or her 12th
birthday for committing a serious crime.

SECTION 61. 48.685 (4m) (ad) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (4m) (ad) The department of health and family services, a county
department, or a child welfare agency may license a foster home or treatment foster

home under s. 48.62, the department of workforce development may license a day

care center under s. 49.98, a county department may certify a day care provider

under s. 48.651 49.156, and a school board may contract with a person under s.
120.13 (14), conditioned on the receipt of the information specified in sub. (2) (am)
indicating that the person is not ineligible to be licensed, certified, or contracted with
for a reason specified in par. (a) 1. to 5.

SECTION 62. 48.685 (4m) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (4m) (b) 1. That the person has been convicted of a serious crime or, if
the person is a caregiver or nonclient resident of a day care center that is licensed

under s. 48.65 49.98 or established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14) or of a day
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SECTION 62

care provider that is certified under s. 48.651 49.156, that the person has been
convicted of a serious crime or adjudicated delinquent on or after his or her 12th
birthday for committing a serious crime.

SECTION 63. 48.685 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (5) (a) The department of health and family services may license to

operate an entity, the department of workforce development may license to operate

a day care center, a county department may certify under s. 48.:651 49.156, a county

department or a child welfare agency may license under s. 48.62, and a school board
may contract with under s. 120.13 (14) a person who otherwise may not be licensed,
certified, or contracted with for a reason specified in sub. (4m) (a) 1. to 5., and an
entity may employ, contract with, or permit to reside at the entity a person who
otherwise may not be employed, contracted with, or permitted to reside at the entity
for a reason specified in sub. (4m) (b) 1. to 5., if the person demonstrates to the
department of health and family services, the department of workforce development,
the county department, the child welfare agency, or the school board or, in the case
of an entity that is located within the boundaries of a reservation, to the person or
body designated by the tribe under sub. (5d) (a) 3., by clear and convincing evidence
and in accordance with procedures established by the department by rule or by the
tribe that he or she has been rehabilitated.

SECTION 64. 48.685 (5c¢) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (5¢) (a) Any person who is permitted but fails under sub. (5) (a) to
demonstrate to the department of health and family services or a child welfare
agency that he or she has been rehabilitated may appeal to the secretary of health

and family services or his or her designee. Any person who is adversely affected by



10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

2005 — 2006 Legislature - 22— LRB-0404/2
GMM:wlj:rs

SECTION 64
a decision of the secretary or his or her designee under this paragraph has a right
to a contested case hearing under ch. 227.

SECTION 65. 48.685 (5c¢) (am) of the statutes is created to read:

48.685 (5¢) (am) Any person who is permitted but fails under sub. (5) (a) to
demonstrate to the department of workforce development that he or she has been
rehabilitated may appeal to the secretary of workforce development or his or her
designee. Any person who is adversely affected by a decision of the secretary or his
or her designee uhder this paragraph has a right to a contested case hearing under
ch. 227.

SECTION 66. 48.685 (5m) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (5m) Notwithstanding s. 111.335, the department of health and family
services may refuse to license a person to operate an entify, a county department or
a child welfare agency may refuse to license a foster home or treatment foster home
under s. 48.62, and an entity may refuse to employ or contract with a caregiver or
permit a nonclient resident to reside at the entity if the person has been convicted
of an offense that is not a serious crime, but that is, in the estimation of the
department of health and family services, county department, child welfare agency,
or entity, substantially related to the care of a client. Notwithstanding s. 111.335,

the department of workforce development may refuse to license a person to operate

a day care center, a county department may refuse to certify a day care provider
under s. 48.651 49.156, a school board may refuse to contract with a person under
s. 120.13 (14), a day care center that is licensed under s. 48.65 49.98 or established
or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14) and a day care provider that is certified uhder
s. 48.651 49_@5_ may refuse to employ or contract with a caregiver or permit a

nonclient resident to reside at the day care center or day care provider if the person
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SECTION 66

has been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent on or after his or her 12th birthday
for an offense that is not a serious crime, but that is, in the estimation of the

department of workforce development, county department, school board, day care

center, or day care provider, substantially related to the care of a client.

SECTION 67. 48.685 (6) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (6) (a) The department of health and family services shall require any
person who applies for issuance, continuation, or renewal of a license to operate an

entity, the department of workforce development shall require any person who

applies for issuance or continuation of a license to operate a day care center, a county

department shall require any day care provider who applies for initial certification
under s. 48.651 49.156 or for renewal of that certification, a county aepartment or
a child welfare agency shall require any person who applies for issuance or renewal
of a license to operate a foster home or treatment foster home under s. 48.62, and a
school board shall require any person who proposes to contract with the school board
under s. 120.13 (14) or to renew a contract under that subsection, to complete a
background information form that is provided by the department.

SECTION 68. 48.685 (6) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (6) (b) 1. For caregivers who are licensed by the department;for-persens

(14)-or of a-day-care providerthat-is-certified-under s-48.651 of health and family

services, for persons who are nonclient residents of an entity that is licensed by the
department of health and family services, and for other persons specified by the
department of health and family services by rule, the entity shall send the

background information form to the department of health and family services.
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SECTION 69

SECTION 69. 48.685 (6) (b) 1m. of the statutes is created to read:

48.685 (6) (b) 1m. For caregivers who are licensed by the department of
workforce development, for persons under 18 years of age, but not under 12 years of
age, who are caregivers of a day care center that is licensed under s. 49.98 or
established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14) or of a day care provider that is
certified under s. 49.156, for persons who are nonclient residents of an entity that is
licensed by the department of workforce development, and for other persons
specified by the department of workforce development by rule, the entity shall send
the background information form to the department of workforce development.

SECTION 70. 48.685 (8) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.685 (8) The department of health and family services, the department of

workforce development, a county department, a child welfare agency, or a school

board may charge a fee for obtaining the information required under sub. (2) (am)
or (3) (a) or for providing information to an entity to enable the entity to comply with
sub. (2) (b) 1. or (3) (b). The fee may not exceed the reasonable cost of obtaining the
information. No fee may be charged to a nurse’s assistant, as defined in s. 146.40 (1)
(d), for obtaining or maintaining information if to do so would be inconsistent with
federal law.

SECTION 71. 48.69 of the statutes is amended to read:

48.69 Probationary licenses. Except as provided under s. 48.715 (6) and (7),
if any child welfare agency, shelter care facility, or group home or day eare-center that
has not been previously issued a license under s. 48.66 (1) (a) applies for a license,
meets the minimum requirements for a license established under s. 48.67, and pays
the applicable fee referred to in s. 48.68 (1), the department shall issue a

probationary license to that child welfare agency, shelter care facility, or group home
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SEcTION 71

or-day care-center. A probationary license is valid for up to 6 months after the date
of issuance unless renewed under this section or suspended or revoked under s.
48.715. Before a probationary license expires, the department shall inspect the child
welfare agency, shelter care facility, or group home or-day-eare-center holding the
probationary license and, except as provided under s. 48.715 (6) and (7), if the child
welfare agency, shelter care facility, or group home or-day-eare-center meets the
minimum requirements for a license established under s. 48.67, the department
shall issue a license under s. 48.66 (1) (a). A probationary license issued under this
section may be renewed for one 6-month period.

SECTION 72. 48.715 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.715 (1) In this section, “licensee” means a person who holds a license under
s. 48.66 (1) (a) or a probationary license under s. 48.69 to operate a child welfare
agency, shelter care facility, or group home or-day-eare-center.

SECTION 73. 48.715 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.715 (2) (a) That a person stop operating a child welfare agency, shelter care
facility, or group home or-day-ecare-center if the child welfare agency, shelter care
facility, or group home or-day-eare-center is without a license in violation of s. 48.66
(1) (a) or a probationary license in violation of s. 48.69.

SECTION 74. 48.715 (4) (¢) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.715 (4) (c) The licensee or a person under the supervision of the licensee has
committed an action or has created a condition relating to the operation or
maintenance of the child welfare agency, shelter care facility, or group home er-day
eare-center that directly threatens the health, safety, or welfare of any child under
the care of the licensee.

SECTION 75. 48.715 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:



10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

2005 — 2006 Legislature - 26 - LRB-0404/2
GMM:wlj:rs

SECTION 75

48.715 (6) The department of health and family services shall deny, suspend,
restrict, refuse to renew, or otherwise withhold a license under s. 48.66 (1) (a) or a
probationary license under s. 48.69 to operate a child welfare agency, group home,
or shelter care facility er-day-eare-center, and the department of corrections shall
deny, suspend, restrict, refuse to renew, or otherwise withhold a license under s.
48.66 (1) (b) to operate a secured child caring institution, for failure of the applicant
or licensee to pay court—ordered payments of child or family support, maintenance,
birth expenses, medical expenses, or other expenses related to the support of a child
or former spouse or for failure of the applicant or licensee to comply, after appropriate
notice, with a subpoena or warrant issued by the department of workforce
development or a county child support agency under s. 59.53 (5) and related to
paternity or child support proceedings, as provided in a memorandum of
understanding entered into under s. 49.857. Notwithstanding s. 48.72, an action
taken under this subsection is subject to review only as provided in the memorandum
of understanding entered into under s. 49.857 and not as provided in s. 48.72.

SECTION 76. 48.715 (7) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.715 (7) The department of health and family services shall deny an
application for the issuance or continuation of a license under s. 48.66 (1) (a) or a
probationary license under s. 48.69 to operate a child welfare agency, group home,
or shelter care facility or-day-eare-center, or revoke such a license already issued, if
the department of revenue certifies under s. 73.0301 that the applicant or licensee
is liable for delinquent taxes. An action taken under this subsection is subject to
review only as provided under s. 73.0301 (5) and not as provided in s. 48.72.

SECTION 77. 48.73 of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 77

48.73 Inspection of licensees. The department may visit and inspect each

child welfare agency, foster home, treatment foster home, and group home and-day

care-center licensed by it the department, and for such purpose shall be given
unrestricted access to the premises described in the license.

SECTION 78. 48.735 of the statutes is renumbered 49.998 (1) and amended to
read:

49.998 (1) Immunizationrequirements; day care-centers.—The If the
department of health and family services finds that there has been a substantial

failure by a day care center to comply with the requirements of s. 252.04, that

department shall notify the department of workforce development, and the

department of workforce development, after notice to -a- the day care center licensee,

may suspend, revoke, or refuse to continue -a- the licensee’s day care center license

SECTION 79. 48.737 of the statutes is renumbered 49.998 (2) and amended to

read:

49.998 (2) Le

eare-centers.—The If the department of health and family services finds that there

has been a substantial failure by a day care center that holds a license under s. 49.98

or a probationary license under s. 49.99 or by a day care provider certified under s.

49.156 to comply with anv rule promulgated under s. 254.162, 254.168. or 254.172,

that department shall notify the department of workforce development, and the
department of workforce development, after notice to a-dayecare-provider-certified
under-s-48.651,-or-a the day care center that-helds-a-license-under s.-48.65-or-a

probationary license-under-s-48.69 or day care provider, may suspend, revoke, or
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SECTION 79

refuse to renew or continue -a- the license or certification in-anycase-in-whichthe

promulgated under s.-254.162,254.168-or 254172 of the day care center or day care

rovider.

SECTION 80. 48.74 of the statutes is amended to read:

48.74 Authority of department to investigate alleged violations.
Whenever the department is advised or has reason to believe that any person is
violating any—of-the provisions-ef ss: s. 48.60, 48.62, or 48.625 er-48.65,-it, the
department shall make an investigation to determine the facts. For the purposes of

this investigation, it the department shall have authority to inspect the premises

where the violation is alleged to occur. If it the department finds that the person is

violating any of the-speeified those sections, it the department may either issue a

license if the person is qualified or may institute a prosecution under s. 48.76.

SECTION 81. 48.76 of the statutes is amended to read:

48.76 Penalties. In addition to the sanctions and penalties provided in s.
48.715, any person who violates s. 48.60, 48.62, 48.625, or 48.63 6r-48-65 may be fined
not more than $500 or imprisoned for not more than one year in county jail or both.

SECTION 82. 48.77 of the statutes is amended to read:

48.77 Injunction against violations. In addition to the penalties provided
in s. 48.76, the circuit courts shall have jurisdiction to prevent and restrain by
injunction violations of s. 48.60, 48.62, 48.625, or 48.63 or-48:65. It shall be the duty
of the district attorneys, upon request of the department, to institute action for such

injunction under ch. 813.

SECTION 83. 49.001 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
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1 49.001 (1) “Child care provider” means a child care provider that is licensed
2 under s.48.65 49.98 (1), certified under s. 48651 49.156, or established or contracted
3 for under s. 120.13 (14).
4 SECTION 84. 49.134 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
5 49.134 (2) (a) From the allocation under s. 49.155 (1g) (b}, the department shall
6 make grants to local agencies to fund child care resource and referral services
7 provided by those local agencies. The department shall provide an allocation formula
8 to determine the amount of a grant awarded under this section.
9 SECTION 85. 49.136 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
10 49.136 (1) (b) “Child care provider” means a provider licensed under s. 48.65
11 49.98, certified under s. 48.651 49.156, or established or contracted for under s.
12 120.13 (14).
13 SECTION 86. 49.136 (1) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
14 49.136 (1) (e) “Day care program” means a program established and provided
15 by a school board under s. 120.13 (14) or purchased by a school board from a provider
16 licensed under s. 48-65 49.98, which combines care for a child who resides with a
17 student parent who is a parent of that child with parenting education and experience
18 for that student parent.
19 SECTION 87. 49.136 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
20 49.136 (2) (a) From the allocation under s. 49.155 (1g) tb), the department shall
21 award grants for the start—up or expansion of child care services.
22 SECTION 88. 49.137 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
23 49.137 (1) (a) “Child care provider” means a provider licensed under s. 48.65
24 49.98, certified under s. 48.651 49.156, or established or contracted for under s.

25 120.13 (14).
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SECTION 89

SECTION 89. 49.137 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.137 (2) (a) From the allocation under s. 49.155 (1g) {b), the department may
award grants to child care providers that meet the quality of care standards
established under s. 49.155 (1d) (b) to improve the retention of skilled and
experienced child care staff. In awarding granfs under this subsection, the
department shall consider the applying child care provider’s total enrollment of
children and average enrollment of children who receive or are eligible for publicly
funded care from the child care provider.

SECTION 90. 49.137 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.137 (8) (a) From the allocation under s. 49.155 (1g) {b), the department may
award grants to child care providers for assistance in meeting the quality of care
standards established under s. 49.155 (1d) (b).

SEcTION 91. 49.137 (4) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.137 (4) TRAINING AND TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE CONTRACTS. (intro.) From the
allocation under s. 49.155 (1g) (b), the department may contract with one or more
agencies for the provision of training and technical assistance to improve the quality
of child care provided in this state. The training and technical assistance activities
contracted for under this subsection may include any of the following activities:

SECTION 92. 49.155 (1) (ag) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.155 (1) (ag) “Child care provider” means a provider licensed under s. 48.65
49.98, certified under s. 48:651 49.156, or established or contracted for under s.
120.13 (14).

SECTION 93. 49.155 (1) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.155 (1) (am) “Level I certified family day care provider” means a day care

provider certified under s. 48:651 49.156 (1) (a).
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SECTION 94. 49.155 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.155 (1) (b) “Level II certified family day care provider” means a day care
provider certified under s. 48-651 49.156 (1) (b).

SECTION 95. 49.155 (1d) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.155 (1d) (a) The department shall promulgate rules establishing standards
for the certification of child care providers under s. 48:651 49.156. In establishing
the requirements for certification under this paragraph of a child care provider who
provides care and supervision for children under one year of age, the department
shall include a requirement that all providers and all employees and volunteers of
a provider who provide care and supervision for children receive, before the date on
which the provider is certified or the employment or volunteer work commences,
whichever is applicable, training in the most current medically accepted methods of
preventing sudden infant death syndrome. In establishing the requirements for
certification as a Level II certified family day care provider, the department may not
include any other requirement for training for providers.

SECTION 96. 49.155 (1d) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.155 (1d) (b) The department shall promulgate rules to establish quality of
care standards for child care providers that are higher than the quality of care
standards required for licensure under s. 48:65 49.98 or for certification under s.
48.651 49.156. The standards established by rules promulgated under this
paragraph shall consist of the standards provided for the accreditation of day care

centers by the national assoeciationfor-the-eduecation-of young-children National

Association for the Education of Young Children or any other comparable standards

that the department may establish, including standards regarding the turnover of
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child care provider staff and the training and benefits provided for child care
provider staff.

SECTION 97. 49.155 (1g) (intro.) and (b) of the statutes are consolidated,
renumbered 49.155 (1g) and amended to read:

49.155 (1g) DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS. Subject to sub. (1j), the department shall,
within the limits of the availability of the federal child care and development block

grant funds received under 42 USC 9858, do-all-of thefollowing:—(b)From-the

appropriation-under s.-20.445(3)-Gme); distribute, from the appropriation under s.
20.445 (3) (me), $7,593,500 in fiscal year 2003-04 and $7,597,300 in fiscal year

2004—05 for administering the child care program under this section, for grants
under s. 49.134 (2) for child day care resource and referral services, for grants under
s. 49.137 (4m), for a child care scholarship and bonus program, and for
administration of the department’s office of child care.

SECTION 98. 49.155 (1g) (¢) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 99. 49.155 (3) (b) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:

49.155 (3) (b) 5. Certify child care providers under s. 48:651 49.156.

SECTION 100. 49.155 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.155 (4) CHOICE OF PROVIDER. An eligible individual shall choose whether the
child care will be provided by a day care center licensed under s. 48.:65 49.98, a Level
I certified family day care provider, a Level II certified family day care provider, or
a day care program provided or contracted for by a school board under s. 120.13 (14).

SECTION 101. 49.857 (1) (d) 3m. of the statutes is created to read:

49.857 (1) (d) 3m. A license issued under s. 49.984 (1).

SECTION 102. 49.97 of the statutes is created to read:
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49.97 Definition. In this subchapter, “departmeht” means the department of
workforce development.

SECTION 103. 49.982 (title) of the statutes is created to read:

49.982 (title) Information for day care providers and parents.

SECTION 104. 49.984 of the statutes is created to read:

- 49.984 Licensing duties of the department. (1) Except as provided in s.
49.992 (6) and (7), the department shall license and supervise day care centers as
required by s. 49.98. A license issued under this subsection is valid until revoked or
suspended. No license issued under this subsection is transferable.

(2) The department shall prescribe an application form to be used by all
applicants for licenses to operate a day care center. In prescribing that form, the
department shall require an applicant for a license to operate a day care center who
is an individual, other than an individual who does not have a social security number
and who submits a statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation as
required under sub. (3) (a) 2., to provide his or her social security number, and an
applicant for a license to operate a day care center who is not an individual to provide
the applicant’s federal employer identification number.

(3) (a) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., when initially applying for or applying
to continue a license issued under sub. (1) to operate a day care center, an applicant
who is an individual shall provide the department with the applicant’s social security
number, and an applicant who is not an individual shall provide the department with
the applicant’s federal employer identification number.

2. If an applicant who is an individual does not have a social security number,
the applicant shall submit a statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation

to the department that the applicant does not have a social security number. The
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department shall prescribe the form of the statement. A license issued in reliance
upon a false statement submitted under this subdivision is invalid.

(b) If an applicant who is an individual fails to provide the applicant’s social
security number to the department or if an applicant who is not an individual fails
to provide the applicant’s federal employer identification number to the department,
the department may not issue or continue a license under sub. (1) to operate a day
care center to or for the applicant unless the applicant is an individual who does not
have a social security number and the applicant submits a statement made or
subscribed under oath or affirmation as required under par. (a) 2.

(¢) The department of workforce development may not disclose any information
obtained under par. (a) 1. to any person except to the department of revenue for the
sole purpose of requesting certifications under s. 73.0301 or on the request of the
subunit of the department of workforce development that administers the child and
spousal support program under s. 49.22 (2m).

(4) The department shall prescribe the form and content of records to be kept
and information to be reported by persons licensed by it.

(5) A day care center license, other than a probationary license, is valid until
revoked or suspended, but shall be reviewed every 2 years after the date of issuance
as provided in this subsection. At least 30 days prior to the continuation date of the
license, the licensee shall submit to the department an application for continuance
of the license in the form and containing the information that the department
requires. If the minimum requirements established under s. 49.986 for a license are
met, the application is approved, the applicable fees specified in ss. 48.685 (8) and
49.98 (3) (a) are paid, and any forfeiture under s. 49.992 (3) (a) or penalty under s.

49.999 (1) that is due is paid, the department shall continue the license for an
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additional 2—year period, unless sooner suspended or revoked. If the application is
not timely filed, the department shall issue a warning to the licensee. If the licensee
fails to apply for continuance of the license within 30 days after receipt of the
warning, the department may revoke the license as provided in s. 49.992 (4) and (4m)
(b).

SECTION 105. 49.986 of the statutes is created to read:

49.986 Rules governing day care centers. The department shall
promulgate rules establishing minimum requirements for the issuance of licenses to,
and establishing standards for the operation of, day care centers. These rules shall
be designed to protect and promote the health, safety, and welfare of the children in
the care of all licensees. The department shall consult with the department of
commerce and the department of public instruction before promulgating these rules.
In establishing the minimum requirements for the issuance of licenses to day care
centers that provide care and supervision for children under one year of age, the
department shall include a requirement that all licensees who are individuals and
all employees and volunteers of a licensee who provide care and supervision for
children receive, before the date on which the license is issued or the employment or
volunteer work commences, whichever is applicable, training in the most current
medically accepted methods of preventing sudden infant death syndrome.

SECTION 106. 49.988 of the statutes is created to read:

49.988 Investigation of applicant; issuance of license; provisions of
licensure. (1) After receipt of an application for a license, the department shall
investigate to determine if the applicant meets the minimum requirements for a
license promulgated by the department by rule under s. 49.986 and meets the

requirements specified in s. 48.685. In determining whether to issue or continue a
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license, the department may consider any action by the applicant, or by an employee
of the applicant, that constitutes a substantial failure by the applicant or employee
to protect and promote the health, safety, and welfare of a child. Upon satisfactory
completion of this investigation and payment of the fee required under s. 49.98 (3)
(a), the department shall issue a license under s. 49.984 (1) or, if applicable, a
probationary license under s. 49.99 or, if applicable, shall continue a license under
s. 49.984 (5). The department shall provide the department of health and family
services with information about each person who is denied a license for a reason
specified in s. 48.685 (4m) (a) 1. to 5.

(2) Each license shall state the name of the person licensed, the premises
included under the license, the maximum number of children who can be received
and their ages and sex, and such additional information and special conditions as the
department may prescribe.

SECTION 107. 49.99 of the statutes is created to read:

49.99 Probationary licenses. Except as provided under s. 49.992 (6) and (7),
if any day care center that has not been previously issued a license under s. 49.984
(1) applies for a license, meets the minimum requirements established under s.
49.986 for a license, and pays the applicable fee specified in s. 49.98 (3) (a), the
department shall issue a probationary license to that day care center. A probationary
license is valid for up to 6 months after the date of issuance unless renewed under
this section or suspended or revoked under s. 49.992. Before a probationary license
expires, the department shall inspect the day care center holding the probationary
license and, except as provided under s. 49.992 (6) and (7), if the day care center

meets the minimum requirements established under s. 49.986 for a license, the
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department shall issue a license under s. 49.984 (1). A probationary license issued
under this section may be renewed for one 6—month period.

SECTION 108. 49.992 of the statutes is created to read:

49.992 Sanctions and penalties. (1) In this section, “licensee” means a
person who holds a license under s. 49.984 (1) or a probationary license under s. 49.99
to operate a day care center.

(2) If the department provides written notice of the grounds for a sanction, an
explanation of the types of sanctions that may be imposed under this subsection, and
an explanation of the process for appealing a sanction imposed under this subsection,
the department may order any of the following sanctions:

(a) That a person stop operating a day care center if the day care center is
without a license in violation of s. 49.984 (1) or a probationary license in violation of
s. 49.99.

(b) That a person who employs a person who has had a license under s. 49.984
(1) or a probationary license under s. 49.99 revoked within the previous 5‘ years
terminate the employment of that person within 30 days after the date of the order.
This paragraph includes employment of a person in any capacity, whether as an
officer, director, agent, or employee.

(¢c) That a licensee stop violating any provision of licensure under s. 49.988 (2)
or rules promulgated by the department under s. 49.986.

(d) That a licensee submit a plan of correction for violation of any provision of
licensure under s. 49.988 (2) or rule promulgated by the department under s. 49.986.

(e) That a licensee implement and comply with a plan of correction provided by
the department or previously submitted by the licensee and approved by the

department.
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(f) That a licensee close the intake of any new children until all violations of the
provisions of licensure under s. 49.988 (2) and the rules promulgated by the
department under s. 49.986 are corrected.

(g) That a licensee provide training for the licensee’s staff members as specified
by the department.

(8) If the department provides written notice of the grounds for a penalty, an
explanation of the types of penalties that may be imposed under this subsection, and
an explanation of the process for appealing a penalty imposed under this subsection,
the department may impose any of the following penalties against a licensee or any
other person who violates a provision of licensure under s. 49.988 (2) or rule
promulgated by the department under s. 49.986 or who fails to comply with an order
issued under sub. (2) by the time specified in the order:

(a) A daily forfeiture amount per violation of not less than $10 nor more than
$1,000. All of the following apply to a forfeiture under this paragraph:

1. Within the limits specified in this paragraph, the department may, by rule,
set daily forfeiture amounts and payment deadlines based on the size and type of
facility or agency and the seriousness of the violation. The department may set daily
forfeiture amounts that increase periodically within the statutory limits if there is
continued failure to comply with an order issued under sub. (2). |

2. The department may directly assess a forfeiture imposed under this
paragraph by specifying the amount of that forfeiture in the notice provided under
this subsection.

3. A person against whom the department has assessed a forfeiture shall pay
that forfeiture to the department within 10 days after receipt of notice of the

assessment or, if that person contests that assessment under s. 49.994, within 10
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days after receipt of the final decision after exhaustion of administrative review or,
if that person petitions for judicial review under ch. 227, within 10 days after receipt
of the final decision after exhaustion of judicial review. The department shall remit
all forfeitures paid under this subdivision to the secretary of administration for
deposit into the school fund.

4. The attorney general may bring an action in the name of the state to collect
any forfeiture imposed under this paragraph that has not been paid as providéd in
subd. 3. The only contestable issue in an action under this subdivision is whether
or not the forfeiture has been paid.

(b) Suspension of the licensee’s license for not more than 2 weeks.

(¢) Refusal to continue a license or a probationary license.

(d) Revocation of a license or a probationary license as provided in sub. (4).

(4) If the department provides written notice of revocation and the grounds for
revocation as provided in sub. (4m) and an explanation of the process for appealing
a revocation under this subsection, the department may revoke a license issued
under s. 49.984 (1) or a probationary license issued under s. 49.99 for any of the
following reasons:

(a) The department has imposed a penalty on the licensee under sub. (3) and
the licensee or a person under the supervision of the licensee either continues to
violate or resumes violation of a rule promulgated under s. 49.986, a provision of
licensure under s. 49.988 (2), or an order under this section forming any part of the
basis for the penalty.

(b) The licensee or a person under the supervision of the licensee has committed

a substantial violation, as determined by the department, of a rule promulgated
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under s. 49.986, a provision of licensure under s. 49.988 (2), or an order under this
section.

(¢) The licensee or a person under the supervision of the licensee has committed
an action or has created a condition relating to the operation or maintenance of the
day care center that directly threatens the health, safety, or welfare of any child
under the care of the licensee.

(d) The licensee or a person under the supervision of the licensee has violated,
as determined by the department, a rule promulgated under s. 49.986, a provision
of licensure under s. 49.988 (2), or an order under this section that is the same as or
similar to a rule promulgated under s. 49.986, a provision of licensure under s. 49.988
(2), or an order under this section that the licensee or a person under the supervision
of the licensee has violated previously.

(e) The licensee has failed to apply for a continuance of the license within 30
days after receipt of the warning under s. 49.984 (5).

(4m) (a) For a revocation under sub. (4) (a) or (d), the department shall provide
to the licensee written notice of the revocation and the grounds for revocation not less
than 30 days before the date of the revocation. The revocation will take effect only
if the violation on which the revocation is based remains substantially uncorrected
at the end of the 30—-day notice period.

(b) For revocations under sub. (4) (b), (c), or (e), the department may revoke the
license or probationary license immediately upon written notice to the licensee of the
revocation and‘the grounds for revocation.

(5) The department may deny a license under s. 49.984 (1) or a probationary
license under s. 49.99 to any person who has had a license under s. 49.984 (1) or a

probationary license under s. 49.99 revoked within the previous 5 years.
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(6) The department shall deny, suspend, restrict, refuse to renew, or otherwise
withhold a license under s. 49.984 (1) or a probationary license under s. 49.99 to
operate a day care center for failure of the applicant or licensee to pay court—ordered
payments of child or family support, maintenance, birth expenses, medical expenses,
or other expenses related to the support of a child or former spouse or for failure of
the applicant or licensee to comply, after appropriate notice, with a subpoena or
warrant issued by the department or a county child support agency under s. 59.53
(5) and related to paternity or child support proceedings, as provided in a
memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857. Notwithstanding s.
49.994, an action taken under this subsection is subject to review only as provided
in the memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857 and not as
provided in s. 49.994.

(7) The department of workforce development shall deny an application for the
issuance or continuation of a license under s. 49.984 (1) or a probationary license
under s. 49.99 to operate a day care center, or revoke such a license already issued,
if the department of revenue certifies under s. 73.0301 that the applicant or licensee
is liable for delinquent taxes. An action taken under this subsection is subject to
review only as provided under s. 73.0301 (5) and not as provided in s. 49.994.

SECTION 109. 49.994 of the statutes is created to read:

49.994 Appeal procedure. Except as provided in s. 49.992 (6) and (7), any
person aggrieved by the department’s refusal or failure to issue, renew, or continue
a license or by any action taken by the department under s. 49.992 has the right to
an administrative hearing provided for contested cases in ch. 227. To receive an
administrative hearing under ch. 227, the aggrieved person shall send to the

department a written request for a hearing under s. 227.44 within 10 days after the
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date of the department’s refusal or failure to issue, renew, or continue a license or the
department’s action taken under s. 49.992. The department shall hold an
administrative hearing under s. 227.44 within 30 days after receipt of the request
for the administrative hearing unless the aggrieved person consents to an extension
of that time period. Judicial review of the department’s decision may be had as
provided in ch. 227.

SECTION 110. 49.996 of the statutes is created to read:

49.996 Inspection and investigation of licensees. (1) The department
may visit and inspect each day care center licensed by the department, and for such
purpose shall be given unrestricted access to the premises described in the license.

(2) Whenever the department is advised or has reason to believe that any
person is violating s. 49.98, the department shall make an investigation to determine
the facts. For the purposes of this investigation, the department shall have authority
to inspect the premises where the violation is alleged to occur. If the department
finds that the person is violating s. 49.98, the department may either issue a license
if the person is qualified or may institute an action for the penalties and injunction
specified under s. 49.999 (1).

SECTION 111. 49.998 (title) of the statﬁtes is created to read:

49.998 (title) Immunization and lead screening requirements.

SECTION 112. 49.999 of the statutes is created to read:

49.999 Penalties and injunctions. (1) In addition to the sanctions and
penalties provided in s. 49.992, any person who violates s. 49.98 may be fined not
more than $500 or imprisoned for not more than one year in county jail or both.

(2) In addition to the penalties provided in sub. (1), the circuit courts shall have

jurisdiction to prevent and restrain by injunction violations of s. 49.98. It shall be
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the duty of the district attorneys, upon request of the department, to institute action
for such injunction under ch. 813.
SEcCTION 113. 66.1017 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

66.1017 (1) (a) “Family day care home” means a dwelling licensed as a day care

center by the department of health-and family servieces-under-s-48.65 workforce

development under s. 49.98 where care is provided for not more than 8 children.

SECTION 114. 66.1017 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

66.1017 (2) No municipality may prevent a family day care home from being
located in a zoned district in which a single-family residence is a permitted use. No
municipality may establish standards or requirements for family day care homes
different from the licensing standards established under s. 48.65 49.98. This
subsection does not prevent a municipality from applying to a family day care home
the zoning regulations applicable to other dwellings in the zoning district in which
it is located.

SEcTION 115. 71.07 (2dd) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

71.07 (2dd) (a) 1. “Day care center benefits” means benefits provided at a day

care facility that is licensed under s. 48.65-0r-48.69 49.98 or 49.99 and that for

compensation provides care for at least 6 children or benefits provided at a facility
for persons who are physically or mentally incapable of caring for themselves.
SECTION 116. 71.28 (1dd) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
71.28 (1dd) (a) 1. “Day care center benefits” means benefits provided at a day
care facility that is licensed under s. 48.65-0r-48.69 49.98 or 49.99 and that for

compensation provides care for at least 6 children or benefits provided at a facility
for persons who are physically or mentally incapable of caring for themselves.

SECTION 117. 71.47 (1dd) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
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71.47 (1dd) (a) 1. “Day care center benefits” means benefits provided at a day

care facility that is licensed under s. 48.65-0r-48.69 49.98 or 49.99 and that for
compensation provides care for at least 6 children or benefits provided at a facility
for persons who are physically incapable of caring for themselves.

SEcTION 118. 73.0301 (1) (d) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

73.0301 (1) (d) 2. A license issued by the department of health and family
services under s. 48.66 (1) (a) to a child welfare agency, group home, or shelter care
facility er-day-ecare-center, as required by s. 48.60, 48.625, 48:65 or 938.22 (7).

SEcTION 119. 73.0301 (1) (d) 2m. of the statutes is created to read:

73.0301 (1) (d) 2m. A license issued by the department of workforce
development under s. 49.984 (1) day care center, as required by s. 49.98.

SECTION 120. 77.54 (20) (c) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

77.54 (20) (¢) 4. Taxable sales do not include meals, food, food products, or
beverages sold by hospitals, sanatoriums, nursing homes, retirement homes,
community—based residential facilities, as defined in s. 50.01 (1g), or day care centers
registered licensed under ch. 48 49 and served at a hospital, sanatorium, nursing
home, retirement home, community-based residential facility, or day care center. In
this subdivision “retirement home” means a nonprofit residential facility where 3 or
more unrelated adults or their spouses have their principal residence and where
support services, including meals from a common kitchen, are available to residents.
Taxable sales do not include meals, food, food products, or beverages sold to the
elderly or handicapped by persons providing “mobile meals on wheels”.

SEcTION 121. 120.13 (14) of the statutes is amended to read:

120.13 (14) DAY CARE PROGRAMS. Establish and provide or contract for the

provision of day care programs for children. The school board may receive federal
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or state funds for this purpose. The school board may charge a fee for all or part of
the cost of the service for participation in a day care program established under this
subsection. Costs associated with a day care program under this subsection may not
be included in shared costs under s. 121.07 (6). Day care programs established under
this subsection shall meet the standards for licensed day care centers established by

the department of health-and family servieces workforce development. If a school

board proposes to contract for or renew a contract for the provision of a day care

program under this subsection or if on July 1, 1996, a school board is a party to a
contract for the provision of a day care program under this subsection, the school
board shall refer the contractor or proposed contractor to the department of health
and family services for the criminal history and child abuse record search required
under s. 48.685. Each school board shall provide the department of health and family
services with information about each person who is denied a contract for a reason
specified inks. 48.685 (4m) (a) 1. to 5.

SECTION 122. 231.01 (3m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

231.01 (3m) (a) Holds a license under s. 48:65 49.98, is certified under s. 48.651
49.156, is provisionally licensed under s. 48:69 49.99, or is established or contracted
for under s. 120.13 (14).

SECTION 123. 254.162 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

254.162 (1) (¢) Day care providers certified under s. 48:651 49.156 and day care

centers licensed under s. 48.65 49.98, provisionally licensed under s. 48:65 49.99, or
established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14).

SECTION 124. 254.168 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

254.168 (4) A day care provider certified under s. 48:651 49.156.

SECTION 125. 254.168 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 125

254.168 (5) A day care center licensed under s. 48:65 49.98, provisionally
licensed under s. 48.65 49.99, or established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14).

SECTION 126. 301.46 (4) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

301.46 (4) (a) 2. A day care provider that holds a license under s. 48.65 49.98,
that is certified under s. 48.651 49.156, that holds a probationary license under s.
48.65 49.99. or that is established or contracted for under s. 120.13 (14).

SECTION 127. 562.06 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

562.06 (3) DAY CARE. Nothing in this section prohibits a licensee from operating
a day care area at a track if the day care area is licensed by the department of health
and-family services Workforce development under s. 48-65 49.98.

nstatutory provisions; health and Tamily servicgs.
[RANSFER OF-DAY-CARE-CENTER LICENSINGNo Tater-than Hr.jg..'_ue he
department of health and family services and the departme {t of workforce
devetepment shall submit a proposal to the secretary of administration for
expenditure aird position authority necessary to tra sfer, effective July 1, 2006, all
agreed upon admi ative functions related t6 the licensing of day care centers
from the department of health and family services to the department of workforce
development. If the secretary of gduinistration approves the plan, the secretary

khall submit the proposal to the cochairpersons of the joint committee on finance.

f the cochairpersons of the committee do not notify the secretary of administration

vithin 14 working/days after receiving the proposa hat the cochairpersons have
scheduled a rfieeting for the purpose of reviewing the psal, the secretary of
hdminigtration shall approve the proposed expenditure and position authority, as

vhorized under current law. If, within 14 working days after réeeiving the
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nis have scheduléd a meeting for the pu
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5 SECTION 9421. Effective dates; health and family semggi - /

6 (1) TRANSFER OF DAY CARE CENTER LICENSING. The treatmentof s@
7 1) (b), 20.435 (3) (jm), 20.445 (3) (cm), (jm), and (mc), 2172 (1) (a) 3m., 46.03 (7) (¢)

8 (cmzo}% (2), (2m), and (2s), 48.48 (10), 48.65 ;(4{1;/(71) and (2) (intro.), (a), (b),

9 (c) and (d), 48.651\(title), (1) (intro.), (a), and
10 48.%57 (title), (1) (intM), (b), and (c), (
(a) L and (b), and (5), 48.67}8‘68 (1),/48.685 (1) (b), (2) (am) (intro.) and 5., (b) 1. e.
d (b), (3m), (4m) (a) (intro.) and 1., (ad), and (b) |

, (2g), (2r), and (3), 48.66 (1) (a), (2), (2m)

11
12 and 4., (bb), (bd), and (bm), (3) (a

13 1., (5) (a), (5¢) (a) and (am), (5}1{) (68) (a)&\(b) 1. and 1m., and (8), 48.69, 48.715 (12

14 (2) (a), (4) (c), (6), and (7), }8 73, 48.735, 48.7 \7\4\8'14 48.76, 48.77, 49.001 (1), 49.13
15 (1) (b) and (e), 49.137 (1) (a), 49.155 (1) (ag), (am)yand (b), (1d) (a) and (b), (1g) (¢)

16 (3) (b) 5., and (4), 49.857 (1) (d) 3m., 49.982 (title), 4 ¥\984 49.986, 49.988, 49. 957
17 49.5992, 49.95;4/@.996, 49.998 (title), 49.999, 66.1017 (1) (a)and (2), 71.07 (2dd) (a{)

N
(a) 1.,71.47 (1dd) (a) 1., 73.0301 (1) (d) 2. and 2ﬁ1\\77.54 (20) (¢) 4.%,

i
|
|

!

), and (2m), 48.653, 48.655, 48.656, f
§

|

|

I

|

|
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!
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18 1,[71.28 (1d
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231 01 (3m),«,(a,)wH6}d§ 4 Ticense under s. 4é—65 49.98,is certified under-s- 48-651-

49.156, is provisionally licensed under s. 48-69 49.99, or is established or contrept@dﬁ

-
v
7

for under s. 120.13 (14).
“_SECTION 122. 254.162 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read'

%
5 \3\ 2520162 (1) (c) Day care providers certified under s. 48:651 49 156 and day care

6
7
8
9 954.168 (4) A day care provider certified undbr s. 48:651 49.156 156
10 SECTION 124, 254.168 (5) of thfx\tatutes ,,x’sfamended to read:
11 254.168 (5) A day care center hc‘e sed under s. 48—65 49.98, prov1smnally
} 12 licensed under s. 48.65 49.99, or establi/sﬁed ’er\contracted for under s. 120.13 (14).
; 13 | SECTION 125. 301.46 (4) (a) 2. (yfj the statu}ee is amended to read: ;
14 301.46 (4) (a) 2. A day care %dwder that holds adu:ense under s. 48.65 49.98 |
15 “that is certified under s. 48. 49.156, that holds a proBatlonary license under s

16 48.65 49.99, or that is estaplished or contracted for under s. 120 13 (14).

17 SECTION 126. 562406 (3) of the statutes is amended to read

18 562.06 (8) DAYCARE. Nothing in this section prohibits a licensee ﬁ'(}m operatin

.
19 a day care area 4t a track if the day care area is licensed by the department of health

20 workforce development under s. 48.65 49.98

21 toN 9121. Nonstatutory provisions; health and family sei'vices.

29 (1) TRANSFER OF DAY CARE CENTER LICENSING.

23 (a) Assets and liabilities. On the effective date of this f)aragraph, the assets and

L

24 liabilities of the department of health and family services primarily related to the
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licensl'ng of day care centers, as detennined by the secretary of administratien, shall
become the assets and liabilities of the department of workforce development.

(b) Employee transfers. All positions and all incumbent employees holding
those positions in the department of health and family servicegs primarily related to
the licensing of day care centers, as determined by the secretary of administration,
are transferred on the effective date of this paragraph to the department of workforce

development.

remain in effect and are transferred to the department of workforce development.
The department of workforce development shall carry out any obligations under such
a contract until the contract is modified or rescinded by the department of workforce

development to the extent allowed under the contract.
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services that are in effect on the effective date of this paragraph and that are
primarily related to the licensing of day care centers remain in effect until their
specified expiration dates or until modified or rescinded by the department of
workforce development.

(f) Pending matters. Any matter pending with the department of health and
family services on the effective date of this paragraph that is primarily related to the
licensing of ‘day care centers is transferred to the department of workforce
development and all materials submitted to or actions taken by the department of
health and family services with respect to the pending matter are considered as
having been submitted to or taken by the department of workforce development.

SECTION 9221. Appropriation changes; health and family services. -

(1) TRANSFER OF DAY CARE CENTER LICENSING. The uriengumbered balance in the
appropriation account under section 20.435 (3) (jm) of the statutes, as affected by this
act, that is attributable to day care center licensing and fees received by the
department of health and family services under section 48.65 (3) (a), 2003 stats., as
determined by the secretary of administration, is transferred to the appropriation

account under section 20.445 (3) (jm) of the statutes, as created by this act.

(2), (2m) (a) 1. and (b), (5), 48.67, 48.68 (1), 48.685 (1) (5);(2) (am) (intro.) and
5., (b) 1. e. and 4 (bb), (bd), and (bm), (3) (a) and (b), (3m), (4m) (a) (1ntrm) and
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