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Department of Transportation

2005-2007 Biennial Budget Request
STATUTORY MODIFICATIONS

TOPIC: Title Fee lncreases

DESCRIPTION OF CHANGE:

Original and Transfer Title Fee - Increase the fee for original or first Wisconsin Certificate of Title and for
titles issued after an ownership transfer. This change would raise the total certificate of title fee from
$35.00 to $50.00 for an estimated 1,500,000 transactions and increase revenues by $22,500,000
annually once the fee increase is fully implemented.

Amend s. 342.14(1) and (3) Wis. Stats., to change the original or transfer title fee from $18.50 to $33.50.
This provision is effective three months after the effective date of the bill.

Replacement Title Fee - Increase the fee for a replacement Wisconsin Certificate of Title when customers
apply for a replacement or duplicate product when the original certificate has been lost, stolen, or
mutilated. Assuming a reduction in the number of documents issued due to the increased price,
increasing the fee from $8.00 to $40.00 would raise revenues $2,415,200 annually once the fee increase
is fully implemented.

Amend s. 342.14(5) Wis. Stats., to change the replacement title fee from $8.00 to $40.00.
This provision is effective three months after the effective date of the bill.

JUSTIFICATION:
The Department requires additional revenue to fund priority transportation programs, including:

« Reconstruction of the Marquette Interchange and rehabilitate the Southeast Wisconsin Freeway
System;
Maintaining program levels in the State Highway Rehabilitation and Majors Programs; and
Providing transportation aids to local governments.

A low replacement title fee is not indicative of the work involved to produce this product. The work and
cost involved in a replacement title are equivalent to producing an original titie. As a result of the low title
replacement fee, there is little incentive for customers to attempt to locate their lost title document, thus
encouraging application for a replacement. A title replacement fee that is similar to the original and
transfer title fee would discourage this behavior.

Introduction and Department-wide Issues 16
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AN ACT ... relating to: the budget@

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR ¥EHICLES v

Under current law, an owner of a vehicle pays a fee of $18.50 to DOT to obtain
a new certificate of title for the vehicle or to obtain a certificate of title after the
transfer of a vehicle. If an owner of a vehicle needs a replacement certificate of title,
he or she pays a fee of $8¥o DOT.

This bill increases the fee for a new certificate of title or a certificate of title after
transfer from $18.50, to $33.50 and increases the fee for a replacement certificate of
title from $8 to $40°

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 342.14 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
342.14 (1) For filing an application for the first certificate of title, $18.50

A
$33.50, by the owner of the vehicle.

History: 1975 c. 39,297, 422; 1977 ¢. 29 ss. 1452, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 418; 1979 ¢. 221; 1981 ¢, 20; 1983 a. 27; 1987 a. 110; 1989 a. 31,137, 359, 1991 a. 309; 1993 a.
159; 1995 a. 27, 1997 a. 27; 1999 2.9, 80; 2001 a. 16; 2003 a, 33.
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SECTION 2
1 SECTION 2. 342.14 (3) of the statutes is amended to read: \/
2 342.14 (3) For a certificate of title after a transfer, $18.50 $33.50, by the owner

3 of the vehicle.

History: 1975 c. 39,297, 422; 1977 ¢. 29 ss. 1452, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 418; 1979 c. 221; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 27; 1987 a. 110; 1989 a, 31, 137, 359; 1991 a. 309; 1993 a.

159; 1995 a. 27; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. 9, 80; 2001 a. 16; 2003 a, 33.
4 SECTION 3. 342.14 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:
5 342.14 (5) For a replacement certificate of title, $8 &1_5_/, by the owner of the
6 vehicle.

History: 1975 c. 39,297, 422; 1977 c. 29 ss. 1452, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 418; 1979 ¢. 221; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 27; 1987 a. 110; 1989 a, 31, 137, 359; 1991 a. 309; 1993 a.
159; 1995 a. 27; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. 9, 80; 2001 a. 16; 2003 a. 33.

7 SECTION 9448, Effective dates; transportation.
v
8 (1) TITLE FEE INCREASES. The treatment of secﬁong{;42.14 (1), (3), and (5) of the
Ut o
9 statutes takes effect on the first day of th: onth beginning after publication.\/

10 (END)
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AN ACT ..; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION #45

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Under current law, an owner of a vehicle pays a fee of $18.50 to DOT to obtain

a new certificate of title for the vehicle or to obtain a certificate of title after the

transfer of a vehicle. If an owner of a vehicle needs a replacement certificate of title,

he or she pays a fee of $8 to DOT. }
This bill increases, the fee for a new certifica itle or a certificate of title after

transfer from $18. 50 to $88758%and increases the fee for a replacement certificate of

title from $8 to S4B ™\ g BY Q

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 342.14 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (1) For ﬁhngan apphcatlon for the first. certlﬁcate of title, $18.50
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SECTION 2. 342.14 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (8) For a certificate of title after a transfer, $18.50
of the vehicle.

SECTION 3. 342.14 (5) of the statutes is amended to read: _

342.14 (5) For a replacement certificate of title, $8 ¥ the owner of the
vehicle. ’

SECTION 9448. Effective dates; transportation.

(1) TITLE FEE INCREASES. The treatment of sections 342.14 (1), (3), and (5) of the
statutes takes effect on the first day of the 4th month beginning after publication.

(END)



B W o

State of Wisconsin -z
2005 — 2006 LEGISLATURE LRB-1053/%

TODAY

—
DOA.......Percy, BB0276 — Increase title fees

For 2005-07 BUDGET —— NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

QION* e

AN ACT relatmg to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES
Under current law, an owner of a vehicle pays a fee of $18.50 to DOT to obtain
a new certificate of title for the vehicle or to obtain a certificate of title after the
transfer of a vehicle. If an owner of a vehicle needs a replacement certificate of title,

he or she pays a fee of $8 to DOT.
This bill increases the fee for a new certificate of title or a certificate of" tltle after

transfer from $18.50 toﬁﬁf?énd increases the fee for a replacement certlﬁcate"f tltle
from $8 to $20. ‘

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows: .

SECTION 1. 342.14 (1) of the statutes is amended to read: .
342.14 (1) For filing an apblication for the first certificate of title, $18.50 ajg;

by the owner of the vehicle.
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SECTION 2 _ v
' SECTION 2. 342.14 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (3) For a certificate of title after a transfer, $18.50 544
the vehicle. |

SECTION 3. 342.14 (5) d‘/f'i’:ile statutes is amended to read: |

342.14 (5) For a replacement certificate of title, $8 $20, by the owner of the
vehicle. ' | |

SECTION 9448. Efféctive dates; transportation.

(1) TITLE FEE INCREASES. The treatment of sections 342.14 (1), (3), and (5) of the
statutes takes ‘eﬁ'ect on the ﬁrst day of the 4th ﬁdnfh beginning after pﬂblicétipn.

(END)
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AN ACT ...; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Under current law, an owner of a vehicle pays a fee of $18.50 to DOT to obtain
a new certificate of title for the vehicle or to obtain a certificate of title after the
transfer of a vehicle. If an owner of a vehicle needs a replacement certificate of title,
he or she pays a fee of $8 to DOT.

This bill increases the fee for a new certificate of title or a certificate of title after
transfer from $18.50 to $28.50 and increases the fee for a replacement certificate of
title from $8 to $20.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 342.14 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
342.14 (1) For filing an application for the first certificate of title, $18.50

$28.50, by the owner of the vehicle.
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SECTION 2

SECTION 2. 342.14 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (3) For a certificate of title after a transfer, $18.50 $28.50, by the owner
of the vehicle.

SECTION 3. 342.14 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (5) For a replacement certificate of title, $8 $20, by the owner of the
vehicle.

SECTION 9448. Effective dates; transportation.

(1) TITLE FEE INCREASES. The treatment of sections 342.14 (1), (3), and (5) of the
statutes takes effect on the first day of the 4th month beginning after publication.

(END)



