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Napralla, Erin

From: Rep.Ott
Sent: Tuesday, May 24, 2005 8:47 AM
To: Rep.Nerison; Rep.Ainsworth; Rep.Petrowski; Rep.Kestell; Rep.Suder; Rep.WilliamsM;

Rep.Loeffelholz; Rep.Towns; Rep.Gronemus; Rep.Vruwink; Rep.Ziegelbauer; Rep.Sinicki;
Rep.Molepske; Rep.Parisi; Ziegelbauer, Bob

Cc: Patronsky, Mark; Loomans, Scott; Redell, Carol; Scott, Katie; Emerson, Anne; Hilgemann,
Luke; Junck, Linda; Narveson, Linda; Langan, Casey; Shea, Heather; Cross, William;
Anderson, John; Kostelic, Luanne; George, Mary Beth; Christopher, Marc; Whitmore, Lori;
Parrott, Douglas; Polzin, Cindy; Haack, Pamela; Ryan, Thomas - DRL; Klein, Christopher;
‘grendahl@wvma.org'

Subject: Clearinghouse Rule Referred to Assembly Committee on Agriculture

Attachments: 04-125.pdf

The following Clearinghouse Rule has been referred to the Assembly Committee on Agriculture for a 30 day review period:

Clearinghouse Rule 04-125: Relating to renewal, conduct, and continuing education for veterinarians and veterinary
technicians.

A copy of the rule is attached. Please contact my office if you have any questions or would like to request a hearing on this
rule.

The initial 30 day deadline for committee review is Wednesday, June 22, 2005.

04-125.pdf (708
KB)



DATE: May 23, 2005
TO: Erin Napralla
Committee on Agriculture

FROM: Patrick E. Fuller, Assembly Chief Clerk
RE: Clearinghouse Rules Referral

The following Clearinghouse Rule has been referred to your committee.

CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 04-125

AN ORDER to repeal VE 10.05 and 10.06; to amend VE 1.02 (intro.), 7.055 (title), (intro.), (1) and (2),
7.06 (22), 9.035 (title), (intro.), (1) and (2), 9.05 (12) and 10.01; and to repeal and recreate VE 10.02, 10.03
and 10.04, relating to renewal, conduct, and continuing education for veterinarians and veterinary techni-
cians.

Submitted by Department of Regulation and Licensing.
Report received from Agency on May 13, 2005.

To committee on Agriculture.

Referred on Monday, May 23, 2005.

Last day for action - Wednesday, June 22, 2005.

Under section 227.19 (4) of the Wisconsin Statutes, your committee has 30 days to take action or get an exten-
sion. The day after the official referral date is day one of your review period. Therefore, the 30th day should
fall four weeks and two days after the referral date. For example, for Clearinghouse Rules referred on a
Monday, a Wednesday would be your 30th day. For Clearinghouse Rules referred on a Tuesday, a Thursday
would be your 30th day. For Clearinghouse Rules referred on a Wednesday, a Friday would be your 30th day.
For Clearinghouse Rules referred on a Thursday or Friday, your 30th day would fall on a weekend. Therefore,
your time would expire on the next working day (Monday) as provided for in s. 990.001 of the Wisconsin
Statutes. Also, if the 30th day falls on a legal holiday, time would expire on the next working day.

Section 227.19 requires you to notify each member of your committee that you have received this Clearing-
house Rule. Although some committee chairs choose to do so, you are not required by law or rule to send
a copy of the text of the rule to each member at this time. Instead, your notice could state that members should
contact you if they wish to receive a hard copy of the rule. Another option would be to email the rule to mem-
bers. (Please note that the text of Rules beginning with the prefix “01” is available online in the Clear-
inghouse Rules infobase in FOLIO.) Please put a copy of your official notification memo in the rule jacket.

Three copies of the Clearinghouse Rule and its accompanying documents are contained in the jacket. If you
wish to have your Legislative Council attorney review the Clearinghouse Rule, send him/her a copy. I only
need one copy remaining in the jacket when you report it out of committee at the end of the review period.

The identical process is happening simultaneously in the Senate. Keep track of their action on the rule.

For assistance with the Clearinghouse Rule process, please consult Kay Inabnet (6—5550) or your Legislative
Council attorney. If you wish to learn more on this subject, read Review of Administrative Rules which is part
of the Legislative Council’s Wisconsin Legislator Briefing Book series, section 227.19 of the Wisconsin Stat-
utes or part 2 of the Administrative Rules Procedures Manual written by the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and
the Wisconsin Legislative Council staff.






State Representative ® 3rd Assembly District

June 23, 2005

Secretary Celia M. Jackson
Department of Regulation & Licensing
P.O. Box 8935

Madison, W1 53708-8935

Dear Secretary Jackson,

This letter is to inform you that the following clearinghouse rule has been reported out of
the Assembly Committee on Agriculture:

Clearinghouse Rule #04-125
A public hearing was not held and no action was taken on the rule
Please feel free to contact my office if you should have any questions.
Sincerely,

Ay bt~

Al Ott
State Representative
Chair, Assembly Committee on Agriculture

Office: PO. Box 8953 ¢ Madison, WI 53708 e (608) 266-5831 » Toll-Free: (888) 534-0003 » Rep.Otuy@legis.state.wi.us

Home: P.O. Box 112 ¢ Forest Junction, W1 54123-0112 » (920) 989-1240







STATE OF WISCONSIN
VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD

VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD ADOPTING RULES
~ (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 04-125)

TO: John Gard
Speaker of the Assembly
Room 211 West, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that the VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD is submitting
in final draft form rules relating to renewal, conduct and continuing education for veterinarians
and veterinary technicians.

Please stamp or sign”a copy of this letter to acknowledge receipt. If you have any

questions concerning the final draft form or desire additional information, please contact Pamela

Haack at 266-0495.

[

Thank you.




STATE OF WISCONSIN
VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE

REPORT TO THE LEGISLATURE

VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD : ON CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 04-125

[s. 227.19 (3), Stats.]

IL

111

V.

THE PROPOSED RULE:

The proposed rule, including the analysis and text, is attached.
REFERENCE TO APPLICABLE FORMS:

No new or revised forms are required by these rules.

FISCAL ESTIMATES:

The Department of Regulation ahd Licensing has determined that this rule has no
significant fiscal effect on the private sector. The proposed rule will have no impact on
the department’s funds.

STATEMENT EXPLAINING NEED:

2003 Wisconsin Act 103 created continuing education for veterinarians and veterinary
technicians in Wisconsin and granted rule-making authority to the Veterinary Examining
Board to require training and continuing education sufficient to assure competency of
veterinarians and veterinary technicians in the practice of veterinary medicine.

In this proposed rule-making order the board sets forth requirements for continuing
education applicants attesting to continuing education completion on license renewal
applications to the department, defines program and course approval standards, program
and course content prerequisites, and subject matter acceptability requirements. These
proposed rules limit the circumstances under which a continuing education waiver may
be granted, describes the consequences resulting from failure to complete the continuing
education requirements on time, and what is allowed when the department audits
continuing education. For course providers, it explains what is required for courses and
programs to be approved, validation, monitoring, certification and recordkeeping
requirements.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING:

A public hearing was held on December 1,2004. The following individuals appeared
and provided testimony:



VIIL

Teri Raffel, CVT, Legislative Committee Chair speaking as the representative of the
Wisconsin Veterinary Technician Association, Madison, W1

Rachel C. Rothschild, Assistant Dean, School of Veterinary Medicine, Madison, WI
Bob Klostermann, Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association as the chairperson of its
Legislative Committge, Madison, WI

Dale Bjorling, DVM, President, Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association, Madison,
WI (also present Ms. Leslie Grendahl)

Written comments were received from Margo Meyers, DVM, Superior, WI
MODIFICATIONS MADE AS A RESULT OF PUBLIC HEARING TESTIMONY:
Ins. VE 7.055 the word “‘credential” was changed to “license.”

In ss. VE 7.06 (22) and 9.05 (12), the number of hours of acceptable continuing
veterinary medical education in the use, handling, distribution and disposal of pesticides
was changed from “4 hours” to “one hour.” -

Notes were added after ss. VE 7.06 (22) and 9.05 (12) to clarify that veterinarians and
veterinary technicians are required to sign statements on their renewal applications
certifying compliance with continuing education requirements.

RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:

Comment 1. When reading s. VE 10.02 (8) (b) in conjunction with s. VE 10.03 (3) (b), it
appears that the board intends to grant continuing education credit to veterinarians or
veterinary technicians who report having read medical or scientific journals on their own,
not as part of a correspondence course or in any way supervised by anyone other than the
veterinarian or veterinary technician applying for license renewal. Is this the intent of the
rule? If so, has the board considered whether this meets the statutory requirement that the
board may not renew a veterinary license or veterinary technician certification unless the
applicant certifies that he or she has completed the required number of hours of
continuing education programs or courses approved by the board (emphasis added)?

Response: The board interprets the term “programs or courses” to include course work
obtained through alternative delivery methods, such as by reading medical or scientific
journals. The board also concluded that this method of obtaining education is a common
and established method in the profession.

Comment 5.b. The rule should specify what the board will accept as “documentation”
under s. VE 10.02 (1) (¢) and (2) (c). Also, must documentation be provided to the
board? Is the documentation referred to in s. VE 10.02 (1) and (2) different than the
documentation referred to in s. VE 10.02 (8)? Since s. VE 10.03 (1) (b) requires each
continuing education program or course provider to furnish a certificate of attendance to
each participant, has the board considered requiring each applicant for license or



certification renewal to provide a copy of a certificate received for each class attended
when applying for a license renewal?

Response: The type of documentation that the board will accept for proof of completion
of continuing education requirements is identified in s. VE 10.02 (8). Under that
subsection, a licensee or certificate holder will be required to submit documentation only
if audited by the board.

Comment 5.c. Section VE 10.02 (5) requires that continuing education requirements be
completed during the two-year licensure period. However, s. VE 9.035, which provides
for reinstatement of an expired license, states that an expired license may be renewed if,
among other requirements, the continuing education requirements under ch. VE 10 are
fulfilled. The rule should specify how a person whose license has expired can renew a
license when the person fails to take the required classes during the two-year period.

Response: The board is of the opinion that the procedures for renewal of a certification
set forth in s. VE 9.035 (1) and (2) are sufficient. However, for purposes of maintaining
consistency, s. VE 10.02 (5) and s. VE 10.04 (1) (c) are amended to read:

VE 10.02 (5) Continuing education hours shall be completed during the preceding 2-year
licensure or certification period.

VE 10.04 (1) (¢) That the veterinarian or veterinary technician has satisfactorily

completed 4 hours of acceptable contmumg educatlon n the use, handhng, dlstnbutlon
and disposal of pesticides withi eaFp Friedic : phics
forrenewal during the preceding 2-year hcensure or certification period.

Comment 5.d. Ins. VE 10.02 (5), it is unclear which licensing period the rule refers to.
Should the rule specify that hours must be completed during the two-year licensure or
certification period immediately preceding the renewal date?

Response: As noted under Comment 5.c., the various sections of the rule are revised to
reflect that licensees and certificate holders are required to submit evidence of completion
of continuing education hours obtained “during the preceding 2-year licensure or
certification period.”

Comment 5.e. Should s. VE 10.03 (3) (e) to (g) provide more specificity, such as
minimum length or content requirements, for the items for which the board will grant five
hours of continuing education credit under those paragraphs?

Response: This comment relates to the modalities and methods of delivery of continuing
education courses. The board is of the opinion that the rule, as written, is sufficient and
does not require further revisions.

The remaining recommendations suggested in the Clearinghouse Report were accepted in
whole.



VIII. FINAL REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS:

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on a substantial number
of small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

VE 7,9, 10 CR04-125 (Renewal, conduct, CE) Report to Leg 5-13-05




STATE OF WISCONSIN
VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING ~ : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD
VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES

(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 04-125)

PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the Veterinary Examining Board to repeal VE 10.05 and 10.06; to renumber
and amend VE 7.06 (22) and 9.05 (12); to amend VE 1.02 (intro.), 7.055 (titie), (intro.),
(1) and (2), 9.035 (title), (intro.), (1) and (2), and 10.01; to repeal and recreate VE 10.02,
10.03 and 10.04; and to create VE 7.06 (22) (a) to (¢), a Note following VE 7.06 (22),
and VE 9.05 (12) (a) to (e) and a Note following VE 9.05 (12), relating to renewal,
conduct and continuing education for veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

Anaiysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing.

ANALYSIS

Statute interpreted:
‘Section 453,062, Stats.

Statutory authority:

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 453.03, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:

2003 Wisconsin Act 103 created continuing education for veterinarians and veterinary
technicians in Wisconsin and granted rule-making authority to the Veterinary Examining
Board to require training and continuing education sufficient to assure competency of
veterinarians and veterinary technicians in the practice of veterinary medicine.

Related statute or rule:

There are no other related statutes or rules other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:

The board herein sets forth requirements for continuing education applicants attesting to
continuing education completion on license renewal applications to the Department of

Regulation and Licensing, defines program and course approval standards, program and
course content prerequisites, and subject matter acceptability requirements. It limits the
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circumstances under which a continuing education waiver may be granted, describes the
consequences resulting from failure to complete the continuing education requirements
on time and what is allowed when the department audits continuing education. For
course providers, it explains what is required for courses and programs to be approved,
validation, monitoring, certification and recordkeeping requirements. '

SECTION 1 amends s. VE 1.02 (intro.) to include chapter VE 10.

SECTION 2 amends VE 7.055 (title), (intro.), (1) and (2), SECTION 3 renumbers and
amends VE 7.06 (22) and SECTION 4 creates VE 7.06 (22) (a) to (e) to require
continuing education to be completed when a veterinarian applies to renew a license 5 or
more years after it expires, and maintains the provision which states that falsely certifying
compliance with the pesticide continuing education requirement constitutes
unprofessional conduct.

SECTION 5 creates a Note to highlight the fact that veterinarians are required to sign a
statement at the time of renewal certifying that they have complied with one of the
requirements in s. VE 10.04 (1), relating to the use, handling, distribution and disposal of
pesticides.

SECTION 6 amends VE 9.035 (title), (intro.), (1) and (2), SECTION 7 renumbers and
amends VE 9.05 (12) and SECTION 8 creates VE 9.05 (12) (a) to (e) to require
continuing education to be completed when a veterinary technician applies to renew a
license 5 or more years after it expired, and maintains the provision which states that
falsely certifying compliance with the pesticide continuing education requirement
constitutes unprofessional conduct.

SECTION 9 creates a Note to highlight the fact that veterinary technicians are required to
sign a statement at the time of renewal certifying that they have complied with one of the
requirements in s. VE 10.04 (1), relating to the use, handling, distribution and disposal of
pesticides. :

SECTION 10 sets forth the statutory authority and purpose of-new continuing education
and certification requirements for veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

SECTION 11 describes and limits what the continuing education shal] relate to, including
provisions allowing 5 of the 30 veterinarian and veterinary technician hours on non-
scientific topics, 5 hours from an education provider that is not approved under

s. VE 10.03 (4) for veterinarians and 3 hours for veterinary technicians. Also, this
section of the rule defines continuing education hour as 50 minutes of contact time and
limits a waiver of the continuing education requirements to certain exceptional
circumstances. It further limits application of credits to the preceding 2-year licensure or
certification period, exempts applicants from having to report for the period prior to the
first expiration date after a license is initially issued or renewed, prohibits practice as a
veterinarian or veterinary technician when continuing education is not completed by the
renewal date, and requires all veterinarians and veterinary technicians to maintain records
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of continuing education hours for five years from the date the certification is signed. The
board may conduct an audit to check for compliance with specified documentation of
completion requirements. In addition, the evidence required to verify completion of
continuing education hours is spelled out by delineating the criteria a continuing
education program or course must meet to be acceptable, including subject matter
pertinent to veterinary medicine or veterinary technology, attendance and course
completion validations for the program or course sponsor, modalities and methods of
delivery. It lists providers in the rule whose approval of programs will be recognized by
the board for the 25 hours that must be approved for veterinarians and the 12 hours for
veterinary technicians.

SECTION 12 repeals ss. VE 10.05 and 10.06.
‘Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:

None. Establishing continuing education requirements and monitoring for compliance
for veterinarians is a regulatory activity undertaken by the individual states.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

Based upon the requirements for renewing a credential in Illinois, Minnesota and Iowa,
the continuing education requirements set forth in the proposed rules are consistent with

“the requirements in those states. Veterinarians and veterinary technicians are not
required to complete continuing education hours in Michigan. Note that veterinary
technicians are not required to be licensed in Minnesota.

Factual data and analytical methodologies:

The Veterinary Examining Board examined models of continuing education from other
Wisconsin regulatory boards, from the American Association of Veterinary State Boards,
and from national and state associations. The board received input from the Department
of Regulation and Licensing Office of Education and Examinations and members of the
public in public meetings. The board considered availability of courses, availability of
department and board resources, and impact on the licensee.

The Veterinary Examining Board defined general content requirements, numbers of
hours required to be related to scientific topics, and amount of credit to be granted for
activities such as authorship of published works. The board established approved
provider requirements, necessary documentation requirements, procedures for
verification of continuing education upon renewal, and procedures for maintaining
documentation to enable audit of compliance with the requirement. The board retained
the statutory requirements for continuing education or certification from persons who use
or repackage pesticides for use by others.

The regulatory approach chosen for the rule was to describe the requirements for
licensees and course providers in a way that would enable the parties to determine on
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their own whether a particular type of continuing education would be acceptable, based
upon certain program and course criteria being met, course program pertinence to
veterinary medicine, acceptable modalities and methods of delivery, and advance
approval by authorities enumerated in the rule. One goal of this approach was to
accomplish the implementation of the continuing education requirement and resulting
maintenance of currency and prevention of public harm without incurring substantial
ongoing regulatory management costs for the program.

Determination of significant fiscal effect on the private sector:

The Department of Regulation and Licensing has determined that this rule has no
significant fiscal effect on the private sector.

Effect on small business:

Pursuant to s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats., these proposed rules will have no significant
economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses. The Department’s Small
Business Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at '
christopher.klein@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266-8608.

Agency contact person:

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI 53708. Phone 608-266-0495.
E-mail address: pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Written comments may be submitted to the addresses listed above. Comments must be
received on or before December 13, 2004, to be considered in the rule-making
proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. VE 1.02 (intro.‘) is amended to read:

VE 1.02 Definitions. (intro.) Asused in chs. VE 1t0910: \

SECTION 2. VE 7.055 (title), (intro.), (1) and (2) are amended to read:

VE 17.055 (title) Reinstatement Renewal of alapsed license. (intro.) A license
expires if not renewed by January 1 of even-numbered years. A licensee who allows the

license to expire may apply to the board for reinstatemnent renewal of the eredentiat
license as follows:
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(1) If the licensee applies for renewal of the license less than 5 years after
its expiration, the license shall be renewed upon payment of the renewal fee and
fulfillment of the 30 hours of continuing education requirements required under s—VE
16:64 ch. VE 10.

(2) If the licensee applies for renewal of the eredential license 5 or more
years after its expiration, in addition to requiring the licensee to pay the renewal fees
required under s. 440.08. Stats., and to fulfill the continuing education hours required
under ch. VE 10, the board shall inquire as to whether the applicant is competent to
practice as a veterinarian in this state and shall impose any reasonable conditions on
reinstatement of the license, including reexamination, as the board deems appropriate.
An applicant under this subsection is presumed to be competent to practice as a
veterinarian in this state if at the time of application for reinstaterment renewal the
applicant holds a full unexpired license issued by a similar licensing board of another
‘state or territory of the United States or of a foreign country or province whose standards,
in the opinion of the board, are equivalent to or higher than the requirements for licensure
in this state. Notwithstanding any presumption of competency under this subsection, the
board shall require each applicant under this subsection to pass the examination specified
under s. VE 3.02 (4).

SECTION 3. VE 7.06 (22) is renumbered VE 7.06 (22) (intro.) and is amended to
read:

VE 7.06 (22) (1ntro ) Falsely cemfymg to the board under s. VE 10 02 ( 6) or

SECTION 4. VE 7.06 (22) (a) to (e) are created to read:

VE 7.06 (22) (a) Has completed the 30 hours of continuing education required
under s. VE 10.02 (1).

(b) Is exempt under s. VE 10.02 (3) from having to complete the
30 hours of continuing education required under s. VE 10.02 (1).

(c) Does not personally use or direct the use of pesticides and does
not repackage pesticides for use by others.

(d) Is currently certified by a certification program acceptable to
the board in the use, handling, distribution and disposal of pesticides.

(e) Has completed one hour of acceptable continuing veterinary

education in the use, handling, distribution and disposal of pesticides during the
preceding 2-year licensure period.
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SECTION 5. A Note following VE 7.06 (22) is created to read:

Note: At the time of the second renewal period following initial renewal and at
the end of each following renewal period, veterinarians are required to sign a statement
on their renewal application certifying compliance with one of the requirements set forth
ins. VE 10.04 (1).

SECTION 6. VE 9.035 (title), (intro.), (1) and (2) are amended to read:

VE 9.035 (title) Reinstatement Renewal of a-lapsed-eertifieate certification.
(intro.) A lieense certificate expires if not renewed by January 1 of even-numbered years.
A certificate holder who allows the certificate to expire may apply to the board for
reinstatement renewal of the eredential certificate as follows:

(1) If the certificate holder applies for renewal of the certificate less than
5 years after its expiration, the certificate shall be renewed upon payment of the renewal
fee and fulfillment of the 15 hours of continuing education requirements egulred under s-
VE16:04 ch. VE 10.

(2) If the certificate holder applies for renewal of the eredential certificate
5 or more years after its expiration, in addition to requiring the certificate holder to pay
the renewal fees required under s. 440. 08, Stats., and to fulfill the continuing education
hours required under ch. VE 10, the board shall i inquire as to whether the applicant is
competent to practice as a veterinary technician in this state and shall impose any
reasonable conditions on reinstatement renewal of the certificate including
reexamination, as the board deems appropriate. An applicant under this subsection is
presumed to be competent to practice as a veterinary technician in this state if at the time
of application for reinstatement renewal the applicant holds a full unexpired certificate
issued by a similar licensing board of another state or territory of the United States or of a
foreign country or province whose standards, in the opinion of the board, are equivalent
to or higher than the requirements for certification in this state. Notwithstanding any
presumptions of competency under this subsection, the board shall require each applicant
under this subsection to pass the examination specified under s. VE 8.02 (2) and (3).

SECTION 7. VE 9.05 (12) is renumbered VE 9.05 (12) (intro.{ and is amended to
read:

VE 9.05 (12) (intro.) Falsely certifying to the board under s. VE 10.02 (6) or
10.04 g 1 ) that the vetennary technician *s-e*empt—ﬁem{hﬁequﬁemems-ef—ss—\LE—LO@%
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SECTION 8. VE 9.05 (12) (a) to (e) are created to read:

VE 9.05 (12) (a) Has completed the 15 hours of continuing education requ1red
under s. VE 10.02 (2).

(b) Is exempt under s. VE 10.02 (3) from having to complete the
15 hours of continuing education required under s. VE 10.02 (2).

(c) Does not personaily use or direct the use of pesticides and does
not repackage pesticides for use by others.

(d) Ts currently certified by a certification program acceptable to
the board in the use, handling, distribution and disposal of pesticides.

(e) Has completed one hour of acceptable continuing veterinary
education in the use, handling, dlstrlbutlon and disposal of pesticides during the
preceding 2-year licensure period.

SECTION 9. A Note following VE 9.05 (12) is created to read:

Note: At the time of the second renewal period following initial renewal and at
the end of each following renewal period, veterinary technicians are required to sign a
_ statement on their renewal application certifying compliance with one of the
requirements set forth in s. VE 10.04 (1).

SECTION 10. VE 10.01 is amended to read: -

VE 10.01 Authority and purpose. The rules in this chapter are adopted by the
veterinary examining board pursuant to the authority delegated by ss. 15.08 (5), 227.11
(2), 453.03 (1), 453.03 (2) and 453.07 (1) (fm), Stats., and shall govern the eertification
and biennial continuing education, training and certification requirements for
veterinarians and veterinary technicians relating-to-the-use;-handling-distnbutionand
dispesal-of pestieides.

SECTION 11. VE 10.02, 10.03 and 10.04 are repealed and recreated to read:

VE 10.02 Continuing education. (1) (a) Except as provided in subs. (3) and (4),
a veterinarian shall complete at least 30 hours of continuing education pertinent to
veterinary medicine in each biennial renewal period. The 30 hours of continuing
education shall include all of the following:

1. Except as provided in s. VE 10.04 (1), at least one hour

of continuing education that relates to the use, handling, distribution and disposal of
pesticides.
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2. At least 25 hours of continuing education that relates to
scientific topics pertinent to veterinary medicine.

~(b) All 30 continuing education hours in this subsection shall be
documented. A minimum of 25 hours of continuing education shall be documented by an
approved continuing education provider.

(©) A continuing education hour shall consist of 50 minutes of
contact time. ‘

(2) (a) Except as provided in subs. (3) and (4), a veterinary technician
shall complete at least 15 hours of continuing education pertinent to veterinary medicine
or veterinary technology in each biennial renewal period. The 15 hours of continuing
education shall include all of the following: ‘

1. Except as provided in s. VE 10.04 (1), at least one hour
of continuing educatjon that relates to the use, handling, distribution and disposal of
pesticides.

2. At least 10 hours of continuing education that relates to
scientific topics pertinent to veterinary medicine.

- (b) All 15 continuing education hours required in this subsection
shall be documented. A minimum of 12 hours of continuing education shall be
documented by an approved continuing education provider.

(c) A continuing education hour shall consist of 50 minutes of
contact time.

Note: A list of approved program providers is contained in s. VE 10.03 4).

(3) Subsections (1) and (2) do not apply to an applicant who applies to
renew a license or certificate that expires on the first expiration date after initial issuance
of the license or certificate.

(4) The board may waive the requirements under subs. &(1) and (2) if it
finds that exceptional circumstances, such as prolonged illness, disability, or other similar
circumstances, have prevented an applicant from meeting the requirements.

(5) Continuing education hours shall be completed during the preceding
2-year licensure or certification period.

(6) To obtain credit for completion of continuing education hours, a
licensee or certificate holder shall, at the time of each renewal, sign a statement certifying
that he or she has completed, during the preceding 2-year licensure or certification
period, the continuing education programs required under sub. (1) or (2), as appropriate.
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(7) A veterinarian or veterinary technician who fails to complete the
.continuing education requirements by the renewal date shall not practice as a veterinarian
or veterinary technician, as appropriate, until his or her license or certificate is renewed.

(8) For auditing purposes, every veterinarian and veterinary technician
shall maintain records of continuing education hours for at least 5 years from the date the
certification statement required under sub. (6) is signed. The board may audit for
compliance by requiring a veterinarian or veterinary technician to submit evidence of
compliance to the board for the biennium immediately preceding the biennium in which
the audit is performed. Documentation of completion of continuing education hours shall
include one of the following:

(a) A certificate of attendance from an approved course provider.
(b) Complete references from journal articles read.

(c) A grade report or transcript from an accredited college or
university.

(d) A copyof a published work authored or co-authored by the
licensee or certificate holder.

(€) A copy of a meeting syllabus, announcement, abstract or
proceeding for a presentation. :

(f) A signed document from an internship or residency institution
certifying enroliment in a program.

VE 10.03 Continuing education programs and courses. (1) CRITERIA FOR
PROGRAM AND COURSE APPROVAL. To be approved, a continuing education
program or course shall meet the following criteria:

(a) The subject matter of the program or course shall be pertinent
to veterinary medicine or veterinary technology.

(b) The program or course sponsor agrees to record registration
and furnish a certificate of attendance to each participant.

(2) UNRELATED SUBJECT MATTER. If a continuing education course
includes subject matter that is not pertinent to veterinary medicine or veterinary
technology, only those portions of the course that relate to veterinary medicine or
veterinary technology will qualify as continuing education under this chapter.

Page 9



(3) MODALITIES AND METHODS OF DELIVERY. Modalities and
methods of delivery of continuing education programs acceptable to the board include
one or more of the following;:

(a) Attendance at a scientific workshop, seminar, or laboratory
demonstration pertinent to veterinary medicine or veterinary technology.

(b) Self-study of veterinary medical or other pertinent scientific
journals. ' ' |

(c) Enrollment in graduate or other college level courses pertinent
to veterinary medicine or veterinary technology. Credit for qualified courses will be
approved on the basis of multiplying each college credit hour by 10.

(d) Enrollment in an internship, residency or certification program
approved by a veterinary specialty organization recognized by the AVMA or in an
AVMA accredited veterinary school. ‘

(¢) Authorship or co-authorship of a published work, such as
review articles, abstracts, presentations, proceedings, book chapters, and web-based
continuing education materials shall be approved for 5 hours each.

(f)' A peer reviewed publication shall be approved for 5 hours.

(g) Development and presentation of research findings, scientific
workshops, seminars or laboratory demonstrations pertinent to veterinary medicine or
veterinary technology shall be approved for 5 contact hours each.

_(hy Up to 15 hours per biennium for veterinarians and up to 8
hours per biennium for veterinary technicians shall be granted for a combination of
continuing education hours completed under pars. (¢) to (g), provided the continuing
education is published or presented under the auspices of a provider approved under
sub. (4).

(i) Preparation and successful completion of the examination
required for certification to use, handle, distribute and dispose of pestic?des shall be
approved for one hour.

(j) On-line, video, audio, correspondence courses, or other
interactive distance learning courses pertinent to veterinary medicine or veterinary
technology, or to employment as a veterinarian or veterinary technician, as appropriate.

(4) APPROVED PROGRAM PROVIDERS. Subject to compliance with
the requirements set forth in subs. (1) to (3), the board shall approve attendance at and
completion of one or more continuing education programs approved by any one of the
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following approved program providers as fulfilling the continuing education hours
required under this chapter:

(a) A national, regional, state, or local veterinary medical ot
veterinary technician association.

(b) A federal or state agency.
(c) An accredited college or university.

(d) An association listed in the AVMA or the National
Association of Veterinary Technicians in America directory.

: () An AVMA accredited veterinary school or veterinary
technician program.

(f) A program appfoved by the American Association of
Veterinary State Boards through its Registry of Approved Continuing Education approval
program.

VE 10.04 Continuing education and training in the use, handling,
distribution and disposal of pesticides required. (1) Each veterinarian and each
* veterinary technician shall at the end of the second renewal period following initial
renewal, and at the end of each following renewal period, sign a statement on his or her
application for renewal certifying to one of the following: »

(a) That the veterinarian or veterinary technician does not
personally use or direct the use of pesticides and does not repackage pesticides for use by
others. '

(b) That the veterinarian or veterinary technician is currently
certified by a certification program acceptable to the board in the use, handling,
distribution and disposal of pesticides, and that the veterinarian or veterinary technician
intends to maintain his or her certification instead of completing the biennial continuing
veterinary education requirement.

(¢) That the veterinarian or veterinary technician has satisfactorily
completed one hour of acceptable continuing education in the use, handling, distribution
and disposal of pesticides during the preceding 2-year licensure or certification period.

(2) Each veterinarian and each veterinary technician who signs a
certification under par. (1) (a) and who is associated with or employed by a clinic holding
a veterinary clinic permit issued under s. 94.702, Stats., shall include the permit number
with the certification.

SECTION 12. VE 10.05 and 10.06 are repealed.
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(END OF TEXT OF RULE)

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.),
Stats. :

Dated ’ Agency

Chairperson
Veterinary Examining Board

VE 7,9, 10 CR04-125 (Renewal, conduct, ce) Draft to Leg 5-13-05
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Ronald Skisnsky ‘ Terry C. Anderson
Clearinghouse Directur Legislative Council Director
Richard Sweet . ' Laura D. Rose
Clearinghouse Assistant Director Legislutive Council Deputy Director

CLEARINGHOUSE REPORT TO AGENCY

[THIS REPORT HAS BEEN PREPARED PURSUANT TO 8. 227.15, STATS. THIS
IS A REPORT ON A RULE AS ORIGINALLY PROPOSED BY THE AGENCY; THE
REPORT MAY NOT REFLECT THE FINAL CONTENT OF THE RULE IN FINAL
DRAFT FORM AS IT WILL BE SUBMITTED TO THE LEGISLATURE. THIS
REPORT CONSTITUTES A REVIEW OF, BUT NOF APPROVAL OR DISAPPROVAL
OF, THE SUBSTANTIVE CONTENT AND TECHNICAL ACCURACY OF THE
RULE.] O

CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 04-125

AN ORDER to repeal VE 10.05 and 10.06; to amend VE 1.02 (intro.), 7.055 (title), (intro.), (1)
and (2), 7.06 (22), 9.035 (title), (intro.), (1) and (2), 9.05 (12) and 10.01; and to repeal and
recreate VE 10.02, 10.03 and '10.04, relating to renewal, conduct, and continuing education for
veterinarians and veterinary technicians. '

Submitted by DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

11-01-2004 RECEIVED BY LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL.
11-24-2004 REPORT SENT TO AGENCY.
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LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL RULES CLEARINGHOUSE REPORT

This rule has been reviewed by the Rules Clearinghouse. Based on that review, comments are
reported as noted below:

1. STATUTORY AUTHORITY [s. 227.15 (2) (a)]
Comment Attached ves [ No []

2. FORM, STYLE AND PLACEMENT IN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE [s. 227.15 (2) (0)]
Comment Attached YES No [

3. ycomlcr WITH OR DUPLICATION OF EXISTING RULES [s. 227.15 (2) ()]
Comment Attached YES D | NO

4. ADEQUACY OF REFERENCES TO RELATED STATUTES, RULES AND FORMS
[s. 227.15 (2) (e)] ' e

Comment Attached ves [] NO
5. CLARITY, GRAMMAR, PUNCTUATION AND USE OF PLAIN LANGUAGE [s. 227.15 ) (9]

Comment Attached YES - ~no [

6. POTENTIAL CONFLICTS WITH, AND COMPARABILITY TO, RELATED FEDERAL

REGULATIONS [s. 227.15 (2) ()]
Comment Attached ves [ ] NO
7. COMPLIANCE WITH PERMIT ACTION DEADLINE REQUIREMENTS [s. 227.15 (2) ()]

Comment Attached - ves [] NO
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Ronald Skiansky . Terry C. Anderson
Clearinghouse Director Legislative Council Director
© Richard Sweet ' Laura D. Rose

Clearinghouse Assistans Director Legislative Council Deputy Director

CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 04-125

Comments

|NOTE: All citations to ‘“Manual” in the .-comments below are to the
Administrative Rules Procedures Manual, prepared by the Revisor of
. Statutes Bureau and the Legislative Council Staff, dated October 2002.]

1. Statutory Autholtz

When reading s. VE 10.02 (8) (b) in conjunction with s. VE 10.03 (3) ), it appcars that
the board intends to grant continuing education credit to veterinarians or veterinary technicians
who report having read medical or scientific journals on their own, not as part of a
correspondence course or in any way supervised by anyone other than the veterinarian or
veterinary technician applying for license renewal. Is this the intent of the rule? If so, has the
board considered whether this meets the statutory requirement that the board may not renew a
veterinary license or veterinary technician certification unless the apphcant certifies that he or
she has completed the required number of hours of continuing education programs or courses
approved by the board (emphasis added)? :

2. _Form, Style and Placement in Administrative Code

a. Ins. VE 7.055 (intro.) and (2), relating to the renewal of licenses, the use of the term
“credential” to refer to a license is confusing and unnecessary. Only the term “license” should
be used to refer to a license. This comment also applies to the use of the term credential when
referring to a certificate in s. VE 9.035 (intro.) and (2).

b. Section VE 10.02 (1) should be restructured to read as follows:

VE 10.02 Continuing education. (1) (a) Except as provided in
subs. (3) and (4), a veterinarian shall complete.... The 30 hours of
continuing education shall include all of the following:

One East Main Street, Suite 401 * P.O. Box 2536 * Madison, W1 537012536
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-2.-

1. Except as provided in s. VE 10.04 (1), at least 4 hours of
continuing education that relate to the use, handling, distribution,
and disposal of pesticides. \

2. Atleast 25 hours of continuing education that relate to scientific
topics pertinent to veterinary medicine. -

(b) All 30 continuing education hours required in this subsection
shall be documented. A minimum of 25 hours of continuing
education shall be documented by an approved continuing
education provider.

(c) A continuing education hour shall consist of 50 minutes of
contact time. '

This comment also applies to s. VE 10.02 (2).

5. Clarity, Grammar, Punctuation and Use of Plain Language

It appears that s. VE 7.06 should be amended to specify that it is unprofessional
conduct for a licensee to falsely certify that he or she is exempt from the requirements of s. VE
10.02 or falsely certify that the veterinarian has corpleted the required continuing education.
This comment applies as well to s. VE 9.05, relating to unprofessional conduct of veterinary
technicians. .

b. The rule should specify what the board will accept as “documentation” under s. VE
10.02 (1) (c) and (2) (c). Also, must documentation be provided to the board? Is the
documentation referred to in's. VE 10.02 (1) and (2) different than the documentation referred to
in s. VE 10.02 (8)? Since s. VE 10.03 (1) (b) requires each continuing education program or
course provider to furnish a certificate of attendance to each participant, has the board considered
requiring each applicant for license or certification renewal to provide a copy of a certificate
received for each class attended when applying for a license renewal?

——¢. Section VE 10.02 (5) requires that continuing education requirements be completed

during the two-year licensure period. However, s. VE 9.035, which provides for reinstatement of
an expired license, states that an expired license may be renewed if, among other requirements,
the continuing education requirements under ch. VE 10 are fulfilled. The rule should specify
how a person whose license has expired can renew a license when the person fails to take the

* required classes during the two-year period. -

d. Ins. VE 10.02 (5), it is unclear which licensing period the rule \'efers to. Should the
rule specify that hours must be completed during the two-year licensure or certification period
immediately preceding the renewal date? : .

e. Should s. VE 10.03 (3) (e) to (g) provide more specificity, such as minimum length
or content requirements, for the items for which the board will grant five hours of continuing
education credit under those paragraphs?

Y Ins. VE 10.03 (4) (intro.), “accepts” should be changed to “shall accept.”




