Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 1041

Relating to: creating an exemption for certain wetlands for the construction of a structure located in the town of Franklin, Kewaunee County.

By Representatives Bies, F. Lasee, Ainsworth, Ballweg, Gielow, Gunderson, Hahn, Hines, Honadel, Hundertmark, Jensen, Jeskewitz, Kestell, Kleefisch, Krawczyk, LeMahieu, Loeffelholz, Lothian, Montgomery, Moulton, Mursau, Nerison, Newcomer, Nischke, Ott, Petrowski, Pettis, Pridemore, Townsend, Vos, M. Williams and Wood; cosponsored by Senators A. Lasee, Brown, Darling, S. Fitzgerald, Kanavas, Reynolds, Stepp and Zien.

February 20, 2006 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

March 1, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,
Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams,
Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Gronemus,
Steinbrink, Van Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Garey Bies 1st Assembly District
- Sen. Alan Lasee 1st Senate District

Appearances Against

- Mary Ellen Vollbrecht Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
- Becky Abel Wisconsin Wetlands Association
- Don Hammes Wisconsin Wildlife Federation

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

None.

Registrations Against

- Eric O'Brien Wisconsin Wetlands Association
- Peg Lautenschlager Attorney General
- Caryl Terrell Sierra Club

March 8, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,
Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams,
Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Gronemus,
Steinbrink, Van Akkeren and Molepske.

Absent: (1) Representative Hebl.

Moved by Representative Krawczyk, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Bill 1041** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau, Gronemus.

Noes: (4) Representatives Black, Steinbrink, Van Akkeren and Molepske.

Absent: (1) Representative Hebl.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 4

Mike Bruhn Committee Clerk