Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education Reform

Assembly Bill 1057

Relating to: the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program and the Student Achievement Guarantee in Education Program.

By Representatives Vukmir, Fields, Gard, Sinicki, Huebsch, Honadel, Ziegelbauer, Towns, Nischke, Lothian, Pridemore, Vos, Musser, Gielow, Ott, Hundertmark, Davis, Bies, Ballweg, Stone, Newcomer, Jeskewitz, Moulton and Albers; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Kanavas, Plale, Lazich and Stepp.

February 21, 2006 Referred to Committee on Education Reform.

February 22, 2006 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(8)	Representatives Vukmir, Nass, Towns, Wood,
		Nischke, Pridemore, A. Williams and Lehman.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Sinicki.

Appearances For

- Representative Vukmir, Wauwatosa 14th Assembly District
- Senator Darling, River Hills 8th Senate District
- Dr. Howard Fuller, Milwaukee Alliance for Choices in Education/Black Alliance for Educational Options/CEO Leadership Academy
- Br. Bob Smith Archdiocese of Milwaukee
- Denise Pitchford CEO Leadership Academy
- Lanisha Harris CEO Leadership Academy
- Brittel Higgins CEO Leadership
- Tim Sheehy Milwaukee Metropolitan Association of Commerce
- Kole Knueppel The Hope Schools
- Alvaro Garcia Velez Notre Dame Middle School
- Jerald Fair School Choice Wisconsin
- Tiara Gipson Messmer Catholic Schools
- Charles Green Messmer Catholic Schools
- Alea Cross Messmer Catholic Schools
- Jeff Monday, Milwaukee Messmer Catholic Schools
- Mary Beth George Office of Representative Sinicki

Appearances Against

• Mayor Barrett — City of Milwaukee

- Russ Allen WEAC
- Dennis Oulahan MTEA
- Representative Krusick 7th Assembly District
- Representative Cullen 13th Assembly District
- Kelly McMahan MTEA
- Ceasar Stinson MPS

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- John Huebscher Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Jeff Schoepke WMC
- Mike Bormett WI Department of Public Intsruction
- Wendy Greenfield Hope Christian Schools
- Dennis Alexander Woodson Academy
- Terry Brown, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Felice Green
- Andrew Newman Hope Schools
- Rev. Archie Ivy CEO Leadership Academy
- Susan Mitchell School Choice Wisconsin

Registrations Against

- Senator Carpenter 3rd Senate District
- Senator Taylor 4th Senate District
- Representative Polly Williams , Milwaukee 10th Assembly District
- Representative Richards 19th Assembly District
- Representative Young 16th Assembly District
- Representative Toles 17th Assembly District
- Deb Sybell WEAC
- Laura Vernon MTEA
- Angelia Lalich
- Bonnie Brusky WEAC/MTEA/MPS
- Michael Hibben
- Kim Schroeder
- Michele Roy
- Debbie Karow MTEA/MPS-Teacher
- Barbara Brown MTEA/MPS-Giudance Counselor
- Julio Santiago MPS-Teacher
- David Weingrad
- Michael Langyel

February 22, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Vukmir, Nass, Towns, Wood,
		Nischke, Pridemore, A. Williams and Lehman.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Sinicki.

Moved by Representative Nischke, seconded by Representative Wood that **Assembly Bill 1057** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6)	Representatives Vukmir, Nass, Towns,
	Wood, Nischke and Pridemore.
Noes: (2)	Representatives A. Williams and Lehman.
Absent: (1)	Representative Sinicki.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 2

Dean Cady Committee Clerk