Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Insurance

Assembly Bill 1074

Relating to: recovery of attorney fees in medical malpractice cases.

By Representatives Vos, Vukmir, J. Fitzgerald, Gielow, Lothian, Ainsworth, Musser, Kleefisch, Newcomer, Pridemore, Jeskewitz, Nass, Kerkman, Underheim, F. Lasee, LeMahieu, Ballweg, Owens, Kestell, Hahn and Albers; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald, A. Lasee, Reynolds, Kedzie, Roessler, Darling and Leibham.

February 27, 2006 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

February 27, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Nischke, Underheim, Montgomery, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Cullen, Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson

and Sheridan.

Absent: (3) Representatives Wieckert, McCormick and

Moulton.

Appearances For

• Robin Vos — Representative, Wisconsin State Assembly

Appearances Against

• Lynn Lanfenberg, Madison — State Bar of Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Susan Turney Dr., WMS
- Bill G. Smith, Madison Mr., National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB); Wisconsin Coalition for Civil Justice
- Pamela Galloway
- Mark Belknap Dr., Wisconsin Medical Society
- Jeremy Levin Mr., Wisconsin Medical Society
- Mark Grapentine Mr., Wisconsin Medical Society
- Jodi Bloch, Madison Wisconsin Hospital Association

Registrations Against

• Eric Farnsworth

- Michael Davis
- Dennis Greenfield
- Paul Sicula, Milwaukee Mr., Wisconsin Academy of Trial Lawyers
- Keith Clifford, Madison Wisconsin Academy of Trial Lawyers
- Ruth Simpson WATL

February 28, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,
Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick,
Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen.

Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen, Lehman, Berceau, Nelson and Sheridan.

Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.

Moved by Representative Ballweg, seconded by Representative Gielow that **Assembly Bill 1074** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert, Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg and Moulton.

Noes: (5) Representatives Cullen, Lehman, Berceau,

Nelson and Sheridan.

Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Adam Peer Committee Clerk