# **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Veterans, Homeland Security, Military Affairs, Small Business and Government Reform

## **Assembly Bill 152**

Relating to: collection of fines and forfeitures by counties.

By Representatives LeMahieu, Vruwink, Hahn, Bies, Gunderson, Nass, Lehman, Jeskewitz, Staskunas, Vos, Strachota, Townsend, Ott, Ballweg, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Gronemus, Moulton, Albers, Hundertmark and Kreibich; cosponsored by Senators Grothman, Brown and Roessler.

November 11, 2005 Referred to Committee on Veterans, Homeland Security, Military Affairs, Small Business and Government Reform.

## February 1, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Brown, Zien, Kanavas, Breske and Wirch

Absent: (0) None.

# Appearances For

- Dan LeMahieu State Representative, 59th State Assembly District
- Paul Janquart, Green Bay Brown County/Wisconsin Clerks Circuit Court Association
- Nan Todd, Sheboygan Sheboygan County Clerk of Courts
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf, Madison Wisconsin Counties Association

#### Appearances Against

- Annette Smith, Milton Wisconsin Education Media Association
- Kate Bugher, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI)

## Appearances for Information Only

• Tia Nelson, Madison — Board of Commissioners of Public Lands

#### Registrations For

- David Krahn, Waukesha
- Gail Gentz, Kenosha Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court

- Michael Serpe, Kenosha Kenosha County
- Jeff Wiswell, Madison Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association

# Registrations Against

- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Lisa Strand, Madison Wisconsin Library Association
- Bob Burke, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council (WEAC)

# March 6, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (4) Senators Brown, Zien, Breske and Wirch.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Kanavas.

Moved by Senator Zien, seconded by Senator Brown that **Assembly Bill 152** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (4) Senators Brown, Zien, Kanavas\* and Wirch.

Noes: (1) Senator Breske.

\* - POLLING

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Daniel Lindstedt Committee Clerk

L.C. Watelt