Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 153

Relating to: specifying the rate-making principles applicable to certain electric generating facilities, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Montgomery, Jensen, Davis, Hahn, Honadel, Gottlieb, Nischke, Nerison, Travis, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Van Roy, Krawczyk, Bies, Townsend, Ott, Ainsworth, Albers, Vos, Gunderson, Mursau and Hines; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Leibham, Kanavas, Plale, Kapanke, Wirch, Erpenbach, Breske, Olsen, Hansen and Roessler.

March 03, 2005 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

March 29, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Steinbrink, Zepnick.

Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.

Appearances For

- Phil Montgomery, Ashwaubenon Representative, 4th Assembly District
- Todd Stuart Senator Cowles 2nd Senate District
- Bert Garvin, Madison Commissioner, Public Service Commission
- Dan Ebert Public Service Commission
- ☐ Enrique Bacalao, Madison Wisconsin Utilities Association
- □ Bill Skewes, Madison Wisconsin Utilities Association
 □ RJ Pirlot Wisconsin Manufactures & Commerce
- ☐ Kenyon Kies, Madison Wisconsin Utility Investors

Appearances Against

☐ Charlie Higley, Madison — Citizens Utility Board

Appearances for Information Only

□ None.

Registrations For

☐ Joe Leibham — Senator, 9th Senate District

	 Scott Meske, Sun Prairie — Municipal Electric Utilities of Wisconsin □ Brian Rude, LaCrosse — Dairyland Power □ Sara Ludtke, Sun Prairrie — Wisconsin Public Power Inc. □ Bill Jordahl — Alliant Energy/Wisconsin Power & Light □ Ted Kanavas — Senator, 33rd Senate District □ Molly Mulroy, Madison — We Energies □ James Morrison, Green Bay — Wisconsin Public Service □ Bill McCoshen, Madison — Georgia Pacific □ Scott Neitzel, Verona — MG&E □ Rebecca Larson, Madison — Excel Energy Registrations Against □ None.
March 29, 2005	EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD
	Present: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Steinbrink, Zepnick.
	Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.
	Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Zepnick that Assembly Amendment 1 be recommended for introduction.
	Ayes: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Steinbrink, Zepnick.
	Noes: (0) None. Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.
	INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0
	Moved by Representative Gottlieb, seconded by Representative Steinbrink that Assembly Amendment 1 be recommended for

Ayes: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Steinbrink, Zepnick.

Noes: (0) None.

adoption.

Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Zepnick, seconded by Representative Travis that **Assembly Bill 153** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Steinbrink, Zepnick.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Adam Raschka Committee Clerk