Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Corrections and the Courts

Assembly Bill 211

Relating to: collection of fees, fines, forfeitures, and surcharges by credit or debit card; setoffs against tax refunds; disclosing information obtained by the Department of Transportation to the Department of Revenue; and creation of a fine or forfeiture service fee and a payment plan fee.

By Representatives Gottlieb, Seidel, Bies, Gielow, Gronemus, Gunderson, Hahn, Hundertmark, Jeskewitz, Kestell, Kreibich, LeMahieu, Montgomery, Ott, Owens, Pettis, Towns, Townsend, Underheim, Vos, Mursau, Albers, Vrakas, Kerkman, Strachota, Berceau, Richards, Nischke, Kessler, Molepske, Nelson, Parisi, Pope-Roberts, Sherman, Shilling, Vruwink, Sheridan and Stone; cosponsored by Senators Grothman, Kedzie, A. Lasee, Olsen, Wirch and Roessler.

March 16, 2005 Referred to Committee on Corrections and the Courts.

May 18, 2005 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(9)	Representatives Bies, Gundrum, Underheim,
		Owens, Suder, LeMahieu, Pope-Roberts,
		Wasserman and Parisi.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Seidel.

Appearances For

- Denise Solie Rep. Mark Gottlieb
- Sherrie Gates-Hendrix WI DOR
- Kristine Deiss WI Clerk of Circuit Court Association
- Sheila Reiff WI Clerks of Circuit Court
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf WI Counties Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Karen Hepfer Chippewa County Clerk of Courts
- Judith Coleman Dane County Clerk of Courts
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County
- Tari Wheary WI Clerks of Circuit Court Association
- Erin Egan DMV

- Glen Grothman Sen., 20th Senate District
- Dave Krahn Waukesha County
- Mike Serpe Kenosha County
- Roy De La Rosa Milwaukee County

Registrations Against

• None.

June 1, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (10) Representatives Bies, Gundrum, Underheim, Owens, Suder, LeMahieu, Pope-Roberts, Wasserman, Seidel, Parisi.
Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Seidel, seconded by Representative Bies that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

 Ayes: (10) Representatives Bies, Gundrum, Underheim, Owens, Suder, LeMahieu, Pope-Roberts, Wasserman, Seidel, Parisi.
Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Suder, seconded by Representative Seidel that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

 Ayes: (10) Representatives Bies, Gundrum, Underheim, Owens, Suder, LeMahieu, Pope-Roberts, Wasserman, Seidel, Parisi.
Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative LeMahieu, seconded by Representative Seidel that **Assembly Bill 211** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Bies, Gundrum, Underheim, Owens, Suder, LeMahieu, Pope-Roberts, Wasserman, Seidel, Parisi.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Andrew Nowlan Committee Clerk