## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Natural Resources**

#### **Assembly Bill 248**

Relating to: operation of motorboats by persons who are at least 16 years of age and born after a certain date.

By Representatives Hines, Freese, Townsend, Hundertmark, Black, Ott, Ainsworth, Bies, Berceau, Lehman, Krawczyk, Van Roy, Owens, Moulton, Jeskewitz and Molepske; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Miller and Roessler.

March 18, 2005 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

May 25, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Steinbrink, Van

Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Gronemus.

### Appearances For

- Bill Engfer Wisconsin Department of Natural Reources
- Bill Gossard National Transportation Safety Board
- John Lacenski Retired DNR warden
- George Meyer, Madison Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Ronald Kraase United States Power Squadrons
- Maureen Van Dinter, Waunakee
- John Van Dinter, Waunakee
- Rep. J.A. Hines 42nd Assembly District
- Diane Kawalke, Baraboo
- Todd Kowalke, Baraboo
- Peter Chisholm Mercury Marine
- Peter Murray, Madison Wisconsin Association of Lakes
- Chris Gullot Personal Watercraft Industry Assoc.
- Ronda Heiser, Baraboo

### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Rep. Steve Freese 51st Assembly District
- Sen. Carol Roessler 18th Senate District
- Jeff Wiswell Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Tom Thoresen Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Jeremy Levin Wisconsin Medical Society
- Sen. Luther Olsen 14th Senate District
- Harold Heiser, Baraboo
- Janet Elliott, Baraboo
- Michael Brozek National Marine Manufacturers Association
- Joel Skornicki Naional Marine Manufacturers Association

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

#### June 29, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,
Pettis, Bies, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau,
Black, Gronemus, Steinbrink, Van Akkeren,

Molepske and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

Moved by Representative Pettis, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,
Pettis, Bies, M. Williams, Petrowski,
Mursau, Black, Gronemus, Steinbrink, Van
Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Pettis that **Assembly Bill 248** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Gronemus, Steinbrink, Van Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Noes: (0) None.

## Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

# PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Mike Bruhn Committee Clerk