## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Insurance**

### **Assembly Bill 294**

Relating to: prohibiting legislation to change the purpose of the injured patients and families compensation fund.

By Representatives Wieckert, Montgomery, Gard, Kreibich, Nischke, Black, Hines, Pettis, Ainsworth, Vos, Bies, Freese, Owens, F. Lasee, Musser, Davis, Pridemore, Hahn and Petrowski; cosponsored by Senators Kanavas, Stepp, Breske, Olsen, Reynolds and Grothman.

April 04, 2005 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

May 19, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (14) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,

Underheim, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen, Lehman, Staskunas,

Berceau, Nelson and Sheridan.

Absent: (1) Representative Montgomery.

#### Appearances For

- Theodore Kanavas Senator, Wisconsin State Senate
- Steve Wieckert Representative, Wisconsin State Assembly
- Mark Grapentine, Madison Wisconsin Medical Society

#### **Appearances Against**

None.

## **Appearances for Information Only**

 Paul E. Sicula, Milwaukee — Attorney, Wisconsin Academy of Trail Lawyers

#### Registrations For

- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Michael Welsh, Madison Wiscons Academy of Family Physicians
- Dan Schwartzer, Madison Wisconsin Association of Provider Networks
- Dan Schwartzer, Madison Wisconsin Association of Health Underwriters

## **Registrations Against**

• None.

## June 21, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Nischke, Friske, Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy,

Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen, Lehman, Staskunas,

Molepske, Nelson and Sheridan.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Nischke, seconded by Representative Underheim that **Assembly Bill 294** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Nischke, Friske, Underheim,

Montgomery, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy,

Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen, Lehman, Staskunas, Molepske, Nelson and Sheridan.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Mary Jan Rosenak Committee Clerk