Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 409

Relating to: the authority of the Department of Natural Resources to enforce certain violations of the trespass law; revocation, suspension, and denial of certain approvals and privileges relating to wild animals and plants for certain violations of the trespass law; the imposition of a surcharge on a forfeiture for certain violations of the trespass law; service outside the state of forfeiture citations issued for violations of certain natural resources laws; title to wild animals; operation of snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles on land without permission; and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Pettis, Gunderson, Musser, Ainsworth, Albers, Hahn, Hines, Kestell, Kreibich, Pridemore, Townsend, Bies, Lothian and Shilling; cosponsored by Senators Stepp and Grothman.

May 10, 2005 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

May 25, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,

Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams,

Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Steinbrink, Van

Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Gronemus.

Appearances For

- Rep. Mark Pettis, Author 28th Assembly District
- Jeff Lyon Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Tom Thoresen Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- George Meyer, Madison Wisconsin Wildlife Federation

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Randy Stark Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
- Tom Hanson Wisconsin Bear Hunters Association
- Jeff Wiswell Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Mike Gappa Wisconsin Bear Hunters Association

Registrations For

• Anne Sayers — Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters

Registrations Against

• None.

September 28, 2005 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (15) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,
Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams,
Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Gronemus,

Steinbrink, Van Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Pettis, seconded by Representative Bies that **Assembly Bill 409** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,
Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams,
Petrowski, Mursau, Steinbrink, Van Akkeren

and Molepske.

Noes: (3) Representatives Black, Gronemus and Hebl.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 3

Mike Bruhn Committee Clerk