Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Homeland Security

Assembly Bill 48

Relating to: use of, and possession with intent to use, certain drug paraphernalia and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Pettis, Suder, Musser, Hines, Nass, Montgomery, Ott, Kreibich, Albers and Gunderson; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf and Roessler.

January 27, 2005 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Homeland

Security.

April 6, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.

Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Vukmir, Turner,

Krusick, Black, Kessler and Grigsby.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Mark Pettis Representative, 28th Assembly District
- Sheila Harsdorf Senator, 10th Senate District
- Terry Dryden, Shell Lake Sheriff, Washburn County

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

 Peg Lautenschlager, Madison — Attorney General, State of Wisconsin

Registrations Against

□ None.

April 6, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.

Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Vukmir, Turner,

Krusick, Black, Kessler and Grigsby.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Suder, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F. Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Vukmir and Krusick.

Noes: (4) Representatives Turner, Black, Kessler and Grigsby.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Friske, seconded by Representative Krusick that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F. Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Vukmir and Krusick.

Noes: (4) Representatives Turner, Black, Kessler and Grigsby.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Friske, seconded by Representative Krusick that **Assembly Bill 48** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F. Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Vukmir and Krusick.

Noes: (4) Representatives Turner, Black, Kessler and Grigsby.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Anne Emerson Committee Clerk