Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 700

Relating to: creating the Autism Scholarship Program and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Rhoades, Kleefisch, Montgomery, Pettis, Albers, Musser, Seidel, Davis, Townsend, Krawczyk, Owens, Gronemus, Wood, Freese, Towns, McCormick, Gunderson, Zepnick, Mursau, Kreibich, Nischke, Hines, Kestell, Steinbrink, Pridemore, Ott, Berceau and Gundrum; cosponsored by Senators Kanavas, Harsdorf and Leibham.

September 26, 2005 Referred to Committee on Education.

October 4, 2005

PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(12)	Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass,
		Hundertmark, Townsend, Hines, Davis,
		Lehman, A. Williams, Ziegelbauer, Pope-
		Roberts and Van Akkeren.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Kitty Rhoades State Rep., 30th Assembly District
- Karen Sauer, Oconomowoc
- Mary Jane Allen Armstrong, Mt. Horeb
- Wally Sparks, Burlington
- Deb Mandarino, Fitchburg
- Kathy Draves, Madison
- Gene Mandarino, Verona
- Arkadiusz Zarzycki, Madison
- Dave Soulis, Green Bay
- Jennifer Larson, Spring Green
- Jean Muckian, Madison

Appearances Against

- Stephanie Petska Department of Public Instruction
- Julie Heibel, Waunakee
- Breedlove Lynn, Madison Survival Coalition

Appearances for Information Only

• Rose Helms, Evansville — Autism Society of Wisconsin

Registrations For

- Kurt Smith, Madison
- Ann Nischke State Rep., 97th Assembly District
- Katie Walby Wisconsin Early Autism Project

Registrations Against

- Pam Stoika, Madison
- Joseph Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance
- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Michael Walsh, Madison WEAC
- Michelle Sturz, Evansville
- Jennifer Ondrejka, Madison Wisconsin Council on Developmental Disabilities

November 15, 2005 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present:	(11)	Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass,
		Townsend, Hines, Davis, Lehman, A.
		Williams, Ziegelbauer, Pope-Roberts and Van
		Akkeren.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Hundertmark.

Moved by Representative Towns, seconded by Representative Nass that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(6)	Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass,
		Townsend, Hines and Davis.
Noes:	(5)	Representatives Lehman, A. Williams,
		Ziegelbauer, Pope-Roberts and Van Akkeren.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Hundertmark.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Towns, seconded by Representative Kestell that **Assembly Bill 700** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass, Townsend, Hines, Davis and Ziegelbauer.

- Noes: (4) Representatives Lehman, A. Williams, Pope-Roberts and Van Akkeren.
- Absent: (1) Representative Hundertmark.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 4

Casey Langan Committee Clerk