## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Natural Resources**

## **Assembly Bill 71**

Relating to: determinations of ordinary high-water marks by counties and by the Department of Natural Resources.

By Representatives Meyer, Gard, Friske, Gronemus, Montgomery, Krawczyk, Nass, Gunderson, Hines, Hahn, Stone, Musser, LeMahieu, Vos, M. Williams, Bies, McCormick, Albers, Mursau, F. Lasee, Van Roy and Moulton; cosponsored by Senators Stepp, Kanavas, Breske, Grothman and Brown.

February 01, 2005 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

#### October 26, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams,

Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Gronemus, Van

Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Dan Meyer 34th Assembly District
- Jerry Deschane Wisconsin Builders Association
- Joe Handrick, Minocqua Wisconsin Bear Hunters Association
- James Rein Northern Lakes Chapter of Wisconsin Society of Land Surveyors
- Gary Baier Oneida County
- Matt Stohr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Peter Wegner Oneida County
- Jay Verhulst Vilas County
- Arden Sandnes Wisconsin Society of LAnd Surveyors

#### Appearances Against

- Mary Ellen Vollbrecht Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
- George Meyer Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Thomas Dawson Office of the Attorney General

## Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- Rep. Don Friske 35th Assembly District
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Larry Konopacki Riparian Owners and Marine Contractors
- Grant Trapp, Woodruff
- Jolene Plauyz Wisconsin Towns Association
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board
- Paul Zimmerman Wisconsin Farm Bureau

## Registrations Against

• Anne Sayers — Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters

## March 1, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,
Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams,
Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Gronemus,
Steinbrink, Van Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Bies, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Assembly Bill 71** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau, Gronemus.

Noes: (5) Representatives Black, Steinbrink, Van Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Mike Bruhn Committee Clerk