### Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Insurance**

#### **Assembly Bill 765**

Relating to: coverage under the injured patients and families compensation fund of medical school graduates engaged in postgraduate training.

By Representatives Gielow, Huebsch, Nischke and Gard; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald and Kapanke.

October 17, 2005	Referred to Committee on Insurance.		
October 18, 2005	PUBLIC HEARING HELD		
	Present: (13) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert, Underheim, Montgomery, Gielow, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen, Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson and Sheridan.		
	Absent: (2) Representatives McCormick and Van Roy.		
	<ul> <li><u>Appearances For</u></li> <li>Barbara Connelly, Brookfield — Ms., Medical College of Wisconsin, Affilliated Hospitals</li> <li>Curt Gielow — Representative</li> </ul>		
	<u>Appearances Against</u> • None.		
	<u>Appearances for Information Only</u> • None.		
	<ul> <li><u>Registrations For</u></li> <li>Nick George, Madison — Mr., WMC</li> <li>Kathryn Kuhn, Milwaukee — Ms., Medical College of Wisconsin</li> <li>Jim Hough, Madison — Mr., WCCI, CTCY, WEDA</li> <li>Mark Adams, Verona — Mr.</li> <li>Elizebeth Schumacher, Madison — Ms., Meriter Health Services</li> <li>Mark Grapentine — Mr., Wisconsin Medical Society</li> <li>Eric Borgerding — Mr., Wisconsin Hospital Association</li> <li>Maureen McNally, Milwaukee — Ms., Froedtert &amp; Community Health</li> </ul>		

• Ralph Topinka, Janesville — Mr., Mercy Health Systems

**Registrations Against** 

• Don Garner-Gerhardt, Wausau — Mr., Teamsters Union

#### October 19, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(15)	Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,
		Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick,
		Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen,
		Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson and
		Sheridan.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Gielow, seconded by Representative Underheim that Assembly Bill 765 be recommended for passage.

> Ayes: (13) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert, Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau and Nelson.

Noes: (2) Representatives Cullen and Sheridan.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 2

le Adam Peer

**Committee Clerk**