# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

# **Assembly Bill 818**

Relating to: public utility aid payments, imposing local general property taxes on production plant general structures and substations, and creating a credit against license fees imposed on light, heat, and power companies and electric cooperatives.

By Representatives Honadel, Hahn, Albers, Gottlieb, Gronemus, Hines, Hundertmark, Jensen, Kerkman, Kreibich, Kreuser, F. Lasee, LeMahieu, McCormick, Montgomery, Nerison, Nischke, Ott, Petrowski, Sheridan, Steinbrink, Towns and Van Roy; cosponsored by Senators Plale, Leibham, Kanavas, Brown, A. Lasee and Wirch.

November 09, 2005 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

### December 20, 2005 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Staskunas,

Steinbrink, Zepnick.

Absent: (1) Representative Nischke.

#### Appearances For

- George Petak City of Oak Creek
- Steven Spanbauer Town of Neenah
- Jolene Plautz Wisconsin Utility Tax Association
- Gene Hahn Representative, 47th Assembly District
- Robert Oiun City of Alma
- Jean Murphy Town of Beloit
- Michael Pollocoff Village of Pleasant Prairie
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Counties Utility Tax Association
- John Tramburg Columbia County
- Mark Honadel Representative, 21st Assembly District

#### Appearances Against

• None.

# **Appearances for Information Only**

- James Morrison, Green Bay Wisconsin Public Service
- Brian Rude, LaCrosse Dairyland Power
- Dan Schooff Public Service Commission

#### **Registrations For**

• Joe Leibham — Senator, 9th Senate District

- Arlin Monfils Self
- Joel Haubrich We Energies
- Ken Paplham Town of Carlton
- Lee Engelbrecht Town of Two Creeks
- Beata Kalies WFC Electric Co-ops
- Jan DeKeyser Town of Neenah
- Jayme Sellen Wisconsin Counties Association
- Jeff Plale Senator, 7th Senate District

# Registrations Against

• Mickey Beil — Dane County

### January 17, 2006

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis,

Staskunas, Steinbrink and Zepnick.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Honadel, seconded by Representative Davis that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Staskunas, Steinbrink and Zepnick.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Honadel, seconded by Representative Nerison that **Assembly Bill 818** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison,

Staskunas, Steinbrink, Zepnick.

Noes: (1) Representative Travis.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 1

Adam Raschka Committee Clerk