Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 822

Relating to: eliminating certain requirements that must be met before a proceeding may be brought against a child under 12 years of age for habitual truancy, if the habitual truancy is the result of the neglect, refusal, or inability of the parent or guardian of the child to cause the child to attend school regularly, and requiring the court assigned to exercise jurisdiction under the Children's Code to order certain dispositions for such a child.

By Representatives Krusick, Berceau, Lehman, Seidel, Sheridan, Turner, Zepnick, Grigsby, Ott, Pope-Roberts, Richards, Sinicki, Stone, Underheim and Van Akkeren; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Darling and Carpenter.

November 09, 2005 Referred to Committee on Education.

November 29, 2005 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (12) Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass,

Hundertmark, Townsend, Hines, Davis, Lehman, A. Williams, Ziegelbauer, Pope-

Roberts and Van Akkeren.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Michael Miller, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee Department of Administration
- Peggy Krusick, Milwaukee Representative, 7th Assembly District
- William Ward, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Association
- Luther Olsen, Ripon Senator, State Senator
- Debi Towns Representative, 43rd Assembly District
- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Department of Public Instruction
- Dan Wiltrout Department of Public Instruction
- Joseph Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Sarah Diedrick Kasdorf, Madison Wisconsin Counties Association

- Christine Holmes, Milwaukee Children's Service Society of Wisconsin
- Caesar Stinson, Milwaukee Superintendent, Milwaukee Public Schools
- E.M. McCann, Milwaukee Milwaukee County District Attorney's Office

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Bradley Debraska, Milwaukee

Registrations Against

• None.

May 4, 2006 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Casey Langan Committee Clerk