## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Labor**

#### **Assembly Bill 860**

Relating to: an assessment on large employers that do not provide subsidized health care coverage, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Berceau, Nelson, Lehman, Black, Pope-Roberts, Sinicki, Zepnick and Molepske; cosponsored by Senators Hansen, Robson, Taylor and Miller.

December 08, 2005 Referred to Committee on Labor.

January 18, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (8) Representatives Nass, J. Fitzgerald, Wieckert, Hundertmark, Vos, Van Akkeren, Sinicki and

Sheridan.

Absent: (1) Representative Newcomer.

### Appearances For

- Rep. Terese Berceau Author
- Sen. Dave Hansen Co-Author
- Sen. Dave Hansen
- Phil Neuenfeldt, Milwaukee AFL-CIO of WI
- James Kinsman, Onalaska Botherhood of Loconotive Engineers and Trainmen
- Ginny Wilke, South Milwaukee
- Dan Welch, Milwaukee
- Darcy Haber WI Citizen Action
- Patrick Fangen, Viola
- Patricia Lorbecki, Jefferson
- Will Sandstrom, Madison
- Buzz Davis, Stoughton

#### Appearances Against

- James Buchen, Madison WI Manufacturers and Commerce
- Bill Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Business
- Steve Baas, Milwaukee MMAC

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Susan McMurray, Madison AFSCME
- Andrew Gussert, Madison AFT-WI
- Mark Reihl, Madison WI State Council of Carpenters
- Chad Whiteside, Madison
- Nancy Wild, Madison
- Kristen Zehner, Marshall
- Scott Redman, Wauwatosa Plumbers Union Local 75
- Gabe Kirchner, Madison AFT-WI
- Gretchen Lowe, Madison
- Darold Lowe, Madison
- Rep. Louis Molepske
- Joe Oswald, DeForest
- Sen. Judy Robson
- Forrest Ceel, Waukesha IBEW

### Registrations Against

- Jeremy Shepherd, Madison WI Bankers Association
- Brandon Scholz, Madison WI Grocers Association
- Dan Schwartzer, Madison WI Association of Health Underwriters

May 4, 2006 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Mike Mikalsen Committee Clerk