Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 892

Relating to: an income and franchise tax credit for sales and use taxes paid on the purchase of Internet equipment used in the broadband market.

By Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Gard, Lamb, Freese, Rhoades, Fields, Gunderson, Albers, Vos, Nischke and Musser; cosponsored by Senators Kanavas, Jauch, Leibham, Harsdorf, Stepp, Schultz, Kedzie and Olsen.

December 22, 2005 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

January 3, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

> Present: (8) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison and

Staskunas.

Representatives Travis, Steinbrink and Absent: (3) Zepnick.

Appearances For

- Phil Montgomery, Ashwaubenon Representative, 4th **Assembly District**
- Bill Esbeck Wisconsin State Telecommunications Association
- Drew Peterson TDS Telecom
- Mike Richards Senator Ted Kanavas

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Joe Leibham Senator, 9th Senate District
- Curt Pawlisch Wisconsin CALLS
- Buddy Julius AT&T

Registrations Against

• None.

January 17, 2006 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD Present: (11) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Staskunas, Steinbrink and Zepnick.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Nischke, seconded by Representative Davis that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Staskunas, Steinbrink and Zepnick.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Davis, seconded by Representative Montgomery that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Staskunas, Steinbrink and Zepnick.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Davis, seconded by Representative Hahn that **Assembly Bill 892** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Nerison, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Zepnick.

Noes: (1) Representative Travis.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 1

Adam Raschka Committee Clerk