Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 945

Relating to: special education programs for children with disabilities.

By Representatives Towns, Kestell, Hines, Newcomer, Hundertmark, Nischke, Pettis, Ott, Mursau, Ballweg, Kerkman, Lamb, Gronemus, Strachota, Lothian, Hahn, Bies, Musser, Petrowski, Ainsworth, Freese, Rhoades, Moulton, Wood, Suder, LeMahieu, Honadel and McCormick; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Zien, Harsdorf, Darling, Grothman, Roessler, Brown, Schultz, Kapanke, A. Lasee, Stepp, Kedzie, Plale, Leibham and Cowles.

January 30, 2006 Referred to Committee on Education.

February 14, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass, Townsend, Hines, Davis, Newcomer, A. Williams, Ziegelbauer, Pope-Roberts.

Absent: (2) Representatives Lehman and Van Akkeren.

Appearances For

- Luther Olsen, Ripon Senator, State Senator
- Debi Towns Representative, 43rd Assembly District
- Carolyn Taylor, Madison Department of Public Instruction
- Eric Hartwig, Wausau Marathon County/WCASS
- Dawn Wians, Verona
- Jeff Spitzer-Resnick, Madison Wisconsin Coalition for Advocacy
- Nissan Bar-lev, Chilton School Administrators Alliance
- Diane Craney, Madison WEAC
- Jan Serak, Greendale WICONSIN FACETS
- Phil Knobel, Madison WCASS
- Vicki Brown, Janesville
- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Patricia Yahle, Milwaukee MPS/State Superintendents Council on Special Education
- Glenda Luebke, Chilton
- Dawn Soto, New Holstein CESA 7
- Sara VanderPas, Kaukauna
- Michelle Baerenwald, Appleton CESA 7

- Peter Condon, Brodhead
- Stephanie Petska, Madison Department of Public Instruction

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance
- Gregory Dietz, Chippewa Falls CESA 10
- John Eyster, Edgerton Legislative liason, School District of Janesville
- Mary Gerbig, Madison

Registrations Against

None.

February 21, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass,
Townsend, Hines, Davis, Newcomer, Lehman,
A. Williams, Ziegelbauer and Pope-Roberts.

A. Williams, Ziegelbauer and I o

Absent: (1) Representative Van Akkeren.

Moved by Representative Towns, seconded by Representative Hines that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass, Townsend, Hines, Davis, Newcomer, Lehman, A. Williams, Ziegelbauer and Pope-Roberts.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Van Akkeren.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Towns, seconded by Representative Townsend that **Assembly Bill 945** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass, Townsend, Hines, Davis, Newcomer, Lehman, A. Williams, Ziegelbauer and Pope-Roberts.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Van Akkeren.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Casey Langan Committee Clerk