Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 151

Relating to: permitting an educational agency to refuse to employ or to terminate from employment an unpardoned felon.

By Senators Darling, A. Lasee, Lazich, Leibham, Kanavas, Harsdorf, Roessler, Grothman and Brown; cosponsored by Representatives Petrowski, Nass, Gundrum, Bies, Nischke, Townsend, Pridemore, Kleefisch, Pettis, Vos, Lothian, Kerkman, Honadel, Suder, Montgomery, Hines, Wood, Krawczyk, J. Fitzgerald, Hahn, Ballweg, Vrakas, McCormick, Moulton, Gard, Gunderson, Musser, Jensen, M. Williams, Albers, Owens, F. Lasee, Vukmir, Ziegelbauer, Stone, Hundertmark, Freese, Gielow, Huebsch, Loeffelholz, Kestell and Kreibich.

March 30, 2005 Referred to Committee on Education.

October 18, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(6)	Senators Olsen, Darling, Harsdorf, Grothman,
		Erpenbach and Hansen.
Absent:	(1)	Senator Jauch.

Appearances For

- Jerry Petrowski, Madison Representative, Assembly District 86
- Alberta Darling, Madison State Senator, 8th Senate District

Appearances Against

- Bob Anderson, Madison Wisconsin Council on Children and Families
- Adebisi Agoro, Milwaukee Project Return
- Wendel Hruska, Milwaukee Project Return
- James Robinson, Milwaukee Project Return
- Rachel Seil, Milwaukee Project Return
- Mary Steppe, Milwaukee Project Return
- Frank Polacek, Deerfield
- Barbara Sella, Madison Wisconsin Catholic Conference

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Joe Leibham, Madison — Senator, 9th Senate District

- Jeff Pertl, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- John Forester, Madison Schools Administrators Alliance
- John Eyster, Edgerton School District of Janesville

Registrations Against

- LeAnna Ware, Madison Department of Workforce Development - Equal Rights Division
- Michael Walsh, Madison WEAC
- Joanne Ricca, Milwaukee Wisconsin State AFL-CIO
- John Grabel, Madison AFSCME
- Dan Rossmiller, Madison Individual Rights and Responsibilities Section of the State Bar of Wisconsin
- May 4, 2006 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Rebecca Hogan Committee Clerk