## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

#### Senate Bill 459

Relating to: administration and funding of programs for utility public benefits; renewable energy requirements for utilities and retail electric cooperatives; energy efficiency requirements for state construction; revising and reviewing the state energy conservation code; state use of renewable energy resources; anaerobic digestor research; and granting rule-making authority.

By Committee on Energy, Utilities and Information Technology.

February 23, 2006 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

### March 1, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn,

Gottlieb, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Staskunas,

Steinbrink, Zepnick.

Absent: (1) Representative Nischke.

## Appearances For

- Robert Cowles Senator, 2nd Senate District
- Steve Anderson Johnson Controls
- Michael Skelly Horizon Wind Energy
- Lee Cullen Energy Efficiency & Renewables Group
- Keith Reopelle Clean Wisconsin
- RJ Pirlot Wisconsin Manufactures & Commerce

## Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### **Registrations For**

- Tim Hoven Orion Energy
- Brian Rude, LaCrosse Dairyland Power
- Nick George Midwest Food Processors Association
- Mark Reihl Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters
- Tim Hoven Invenergy Wind
- Jim Boullion Associated General Contractors of Wisconsin
- Michael Vickerman RENEW Wisconsin
- Andrea Kaminski League of Women Voters of Wisconsin

- Janet Brandt Wisconsin Energy Conservation Corporation
- Jennifer Giegerich WISPIRG
- B.J. Moghadam Energy Efficiency & Renewables Group
- Beth Soholt Wind on the Wires
- Robert Boyd GE Energy
- Roby Roberts PPM Energy
- Pat Schillinger Wisconsin Paper Council
- Scott Neitzel Madison Gas & Electric
- Caryl Terrell Sierra Club John Muir Chapter
- John Sumi Customers First Coalition
- Bill Holland Apollo Alliance
- Mike Stuart Wisconsin Public Power Incorporated
- Randy Satterfield American Transmission Company
- Kristine Euclide Madison Gas & Electric
- Ed Huck Wisconsin Alliance of Cities
- Bill Jordahl Alliant Energy/Wisconsin Power & Light
- Susan Stratton Energy Center of Wisconsin
- Rebecca Larson, Madison Excel Energy
- Bill Skewes, Madison Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Chris Deisinger Union of Concerned Scientists
- Sue Beitlich Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Joel Haubrich We Energies
- Scott Meske, Sun Prairie Municipal Electric Utilities of Wisconsin
- Phil Uekert Wisconsin Public Service Corporation
- Doug Johnson Wisconsin Merchants Federation
- Doug Johnson Midwest Hardware Association
- Dan Ebert Chairman, Public Service Commission
- Mark Meyer Commissioner, Public Service Commission
- Forrest Ceel IBEW Local Union 2150
- David Jenkins Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives
- Charlie Higley, Madison Citizens Utility Board
- Curt Witynski League of Municipalities
- Tom Wilson Nothern Thunder
- Sean DeKok Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Jason Johns Wisconsin Public Power Incorporated
- David Steffenson Reverand, Wisconsin Interfaith Climate and Energy Campaign

### **Registrations Against**

• None.

## March 1, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn,

Gottlieb, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Staskunas,

Steinbrink, Zepnick.

Absent: (1) Representative Nischke.

Moved by Representative Honadel, seconded by Representative Zepnick that **Senate Bill 459** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn, Gottlieb, Honadel, Nerison, Travis,

Staskunas, Steinbrink, Zepnick.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Nischke.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Adam Raschka Committee Clerk