

State of Misconsin 2007 - 2008 LEGISLATURE

LRB-3680/en SRM:...:nwn

2007 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 75

1	Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater football team.
2	Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater football team became the
3	National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III champions by
4	defeating Mount Union College 31–21 at Willis White Stadium in Salem, Virginia,
5	on December 15, 2007; and
6	Whereas, the Warhawk victory ended Mount Union's 37–game winning streak
7	and deprived the Purple Raiders of their tenth national title in the last 15 years; and
8	Whereas, this was UW–Whitewater's third consecutive appearance in the
9	Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, proving that the third time is the charm; and
10	Whereas, UW–Whitewater was 14–1 on the season, with its only loss coming
11	to an NCAA Division II school; and
12	Whereas, the 2007 Warhawks extended UW–Whitewater's winning streak to
13	21–0, with 25 straight victories at Perkins Stadium in Whitewater, and three
14	consecutive Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championships; and

2007 – 2008 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, as recipient of the Gagliardi Trophy, running back Justin Beaver was
2	named the top Division III football player in the nation; and
3	Whereas, the Warhawks are led by first–year head coach and UW–Whitewater
4	alumni Lance Leipold, who took over in January when Bob Berezowitz announced
5	his retirement after 22 years; and
6	Whereas, the NCAA Division III football championship is UW–Whitewater's
7	seventh national title but their first in football; now, therefore, be it
8	Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the
9	Wisconsin legislature do hereby congratulate the team, coaching staff, and campus
10	on this achievement and wish them luck for future championships to come.
11	(END)