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~ SECTION 2870m. 146.68 of the statutes is created to read: \

| county inﬁrma};y, county hospital, count

2007 - 2008 Legislature -1294~ LRB-3299/P1
SECTION 2870b

SECTION 2870b. 146.58 (8) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act
.. (this act), is amended to read:
146.58 (8) Review the annual budget prepared by the department for the
expenditures under s. 20.435 (5) &b) (ch).

AN
\ 146.68 Grant for colposcopies and other services.

o

.
o

o

B it
o

appropriation under s. 20.435 (4) (xf), the department shall provide Hy in fiscal
year 200‘{;—08 and $75,000 in each subsequent fiscal year to an ¢ that satisfies

the following criteria to provide colposcopic examinations and "to provide services to

for medical assistance:

medical ass1s3c§nce recipients or persons who are ehgfol
(1) The en%lty is located in the western or nort hérn public health region of the
state, as determmed by the department. ; /‘
(2) The entlty £r0V1des Papanicolaou fests, and at least 50 percent of the
persons for whom the éntlty provides Pa mcolaou tests are recipients of medical
assistance or are ehgiblé\for med1ca1 aééi?ance
SECTION 2873. 146. 9%(2) (c) Ef the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 2874. 146.91 ( ’f the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 2875. 146. 99,,@0f t%@ statutes is repealed.

SECTION 2875e. 145 997 (1) }E{of the statutes is amended to read:

R

146.997 (1) (¢) “I;Iéalth care facility” means a facility, as defined in s. 647.01 (4),

or any hospital, nursing home, community-based residential facility, county home,

ental health complex or other place
i

licensed or gpfbroved by the department of hea

[th and family services under s. 49.70,
/ é’
49.7172, 50.03, 50.35, 51.08 or 51.09 or a facility under s. 45.50, 51.05, 51.06,

233.40; 233.41, 233:42 or 252.10. “
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SECTION 2909L

/ SECTION 2909L. )«65 91 (4) of the statutes is created to read: . \

165.9» 4 P om the appropriation under s. 20.455 (2) (kw) the department

shall ‘* the Lac Courte Oreilles band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Indiang $/O OOO or tribal law enforcement services.”

s s

SECTION 2910 166.03 (2) (a) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:

166.03 (2) (a) 5. Provide assistance to the Wisconsin wing of the civil air patrol
from the appropriation under s. 20.465 (3) ) (y) for the purpose of enabling the patrol
to perform its assigned missions and duties as prescribed by U.S. air force
regulations. Expenses eligible for assistance are aircraft acquisition and
maintenance, communications equipment acquisition and maintenance and office
staffing and operational expenses. The civil air patrol shall submit vouchers for

expenses eligible for assistance to the division.

/ SECTION 2910b. 166.03 (2) (a) 5. of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin

/‘(}b

" Act .... (this act), is amended to read:

166.03 (2) (a) 5. Provide assistance to the Wisconsin wing of the civil air patrol
from the appropriation under s. 20.465 (3) &9 (f) for the purpose of enabling the patrol
to perform its assigned missions and duties as prescribed by U.S. air force
regulations. Expenses eligible for assistance are aircraft acquisition and
maintenance, communications equipment acquisition and maintenance and office
staffing and operational expenses. The civil air patrol shall submit vouchers for
expenses eligible for assistance to the division.

SECTION 2911. 166.215 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

166.215 (1) Beginning July 1, 2001, the division shall contract with no more
than 9 regional emergency response teams, one of which shall be located in La Crosse

County. Each regional emergency response team shall assist in the emergency

/
/
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SEcCTION 2911

response to level A releases in a region of this state designated by the division. The
division shall contract with at least one regional emergency response team in each
area designated under s. 166.03 (2) (b) 1. The division may only contract with a local
agency, as defined in s. 166.22 (1) (¢), under this subsection. A member of a regional
emergency response team shall meet the highest standards for a hazardous
materials responder in 29 CFR 1910.120 (q) (6) (iv) and National Fire Protection
Association standards NFPA 471 and 472. Regional emergency response teams shall
have at least one member that is trained in each of the appropriate specialty areas
under National Fire Protection Association standard NFPA 472. Payments to
regional emergency response teams under this subsection shall be made from the

appropriation account under s. 20.465 (3) {dd) (w).

/ SECTION 2911b. 166.215 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act

.... (this act), is amended to read:

166.215 (1) Beginning July 1, 2001, the division shall contract with no more
than 9 regional emergency response teams, one of which shall be located in La Crosse
County. Each regional emergency response team shall assist in the emergency
response to level A releases in a region of this state designated by the division. The
division shall contract with at least one regional emergency response team in each
area designated under s. 166.03 (2) (b) 1. The division may only contract with a local
agency, as defined in s. 166.22 (1) (c¢), under this subsection. A member of a regional
emergency response team shall meet the highest standards for a hazardous
materials responder in 29 CFR 1910.120 (q) (6) (iv) and National Fire Protection
Association standards NFPA 471 and 472. Regional emergency response teams shall
have at least one member that is trained in each of the appropriate specialty areas

under National Fire Protection Association standard NFPA 472. Payments to
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SECTION 2911b

regional emergency response teams under this subsection shall be made from the
appropriation account under s. 20.465 (3) () (dd).

SECTION 2912. 166.215 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

166.215 (2) The division shall reimburse a regional emergency response team
for costs incurred by the team in responding to an emergency involving a level A
release, or a potential level A release, if the team followed the procedures in the rules
promulgated under s. 166.20 (2) (bs) 1. to determine if an emergency requiring a
response existed. Reimbursement under this subsection is limited to amounts
collected under sub. (3) and the amounts appropriated under s. 20.465 (3) (dr) (x).
Reimbursement is available under s. 20.465 (3) {dr) (x) only if the regional emergency
response team has made a good faith effort to identify the person responsible under
sub. (3) and that person cannot be identified, or, if that person is identified, the team
has received reimbursement from that person to the extent that the person is
financially able or has determined that the person does not have adequate money or
other resources to reimburse the regional emergency response team.
/SECTION 2912b. 166.215 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act
‘... (this act), is amended to read:

166.215 (2) The division shall reimburse a regional emergency response team
for costs incurred by the team in responding to an emergency involving a level A
release, or a potential level A release, if the team followed the procedures in the rules
promulgated under s. 166.20 (2) (bs) 1. to determine if an emergency requiring a
response existed. Reimbursement under this subsection is limited to amounts
collected under sub. (3) and the amounts appropriated under s. 20.465 (3) & (dr).
Reimbursement is available under s. 20.465 (3) ) (dr) only if the regional emergency

response team has made a good faith effort to identify the person responsible under
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SECTION 2912b

sub. (3) and that person cannot be identified, or, if that person is identified, the team
has received reimbursement from that person to the extent that the person is
financially able or has determined that the person does not have adequate money or
other resources to reimburse the regional emergency response team.
/S/ECTION 2913. 166.22 (3m) of the statutes is amended to read:

166.22 (8m) The division shall reimburse a local emergency response team for
costs incurred by the team in responding to an emergency involving a hazardous
substance release, or potential release, if the team followed the procedures in the
rules promulgated under s. 166.20 (2) (bs) 2. to determine if an emergency requiring
the team’s response existed. Reimbursement under this subsection is limited to the
amount appropriated under s. 20.465 (3) (dr) (x). Reimbursement is available under
s. 20.465 (3) {dr) (x) only if the local emergency response team has made a good faith
effort to identify the person responsible under sub. (4) and that person cannot be
identified, or, if that person is identified, the team has received reimbursement from
that person to the extent that the person is financially able or has determined that
the person does not have adequate money or other resources to reimburse the local
emergency response team.

SECTION 2913b. 166.22 (3m) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act

.... (this act), is amended to read:

166.22 (3m) The division shall reimburse a local emergency response team for
costs incurred by the team in responding to an emergency involving a hazardous
substance release, or potential release, if the team followed the procedures in the
rules promulgated under s. 166.20 (2) (bs) 2. to determine if an emergency requiring
the team’s response existed. Reimbursement under this subsection is limited to the

amount appropriated under s. 20.465 (3) &) (dr). Reimbursement is available under
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SEcTION 2913b

s. 20.465 (3) &) (dr) only if the local emergency response team has made a good faith
effort to identify the person responsible under sub. (4) and that person cannot be
identified, or, if that person is identified, the team has received reimbursement from
that person to the extent that the person is financially able or has determined that
the person does not have adequate money or other resources to reimburse the local

emergency response team.

167 10 (8) (¢) (intro.) A permit under this subsection may be {§ﬂsued only to the

followmg gerson /ff
SECTION %913d 167.10 (3) (c) 6. of the statutes 1/s/;zepealed and recreated to

read: %2& ,f

Y ,f/

167.10 (3) (¢) 6‘ Any individual or group offfndlwduals
SECTION 2913e. k67 10 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:
167.10 (4) OuUT-OF- S%ATE AND IN- STAz‘/E SHIPPING. This section does not prohibit

1
aresident wholesaler or Jobber from selling fireworksto a

nonresident person or to a persé{for group granted a permit under sub. (3) (c) 1. to
7. Aresident wholesaler or J Q}Sber t at ships the fireworks sold under this subsection
shall package and ship the ﬁreworks t{t accordance with applicable state and federal
law by, as defined ir} )s”.f194.01 (1), (2) an\a\gl), common motor carrier, contract motor
carrier or privat. rimtor carrier. | K’x

SECTIE))ij2913g. 167.31 (1) (b) of thei atutes is renumbered 167.31 (1) (b)

(intro.) 91((1 amended to read:

/é’Y .31 (1) (b) (intro.) “Encased” means any oﬁthe following:

s S i M»/er;\?fm \
% SECTION 2913c. 167.10 (3) (c) (lntro ) of the statutes is amended }0 read j

. 5
7 «wy ] o+
lere ( (SO [ Ao 1310
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L T s
committee on finance detailing a

(intro.) At least quarterly, the department of werkforee
development 14 en and families shall reimburse the administrator, based on

information provide the administrator, for all of the following:

L Sr—

SECTION 2925. 194.23 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

194.23 (1) No person may operate any motor vehicle as a common motor carrier
unless the person first obtains a certificate and, if required under this chapter, a
permit issued by the department, or unless the person is registered by another state

under a single-state or unified carrier registration system consistent with the

standards under, respectively, 49 USC 14504 or 49 USC 13908 and 14504a, for the

operation of the vehicle, except that no permit is required for the operation of a
semitrailer. The department may issue or refuse to issue any certificate. The
department may attach to the exercise of the privilege granted by a certificate any
terms or conditions which are permitted under this chapter.

SECTION 2926. 194.34 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

194.34 (1) No person may operate any motor vehicle as a contract motor carrier
unless the person first obtains a license and, if required under this chapter, a permit
issued by the department, or unless the person is registered by another state under
a single-state or unified carrier registration system consistent with the standards

under, respectively, 49 USC 14504 or 49 USC 13908 and 14504a, for the operation

of the motor vehicle, except that no permit is required for the operation of a

semitrailer. The department may refuse to issue any license or may attach to the
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SECTION 2926

exercise of the privilege granted by a license any terms or conditions which are
permitted under this chapter.

SECTION 2927. 194.407 of the statutes is created to read:

194.407 Unified carrier registration system. (1) The department may
participate in and do all things necessary to implement and administer a unified
carrier registration system for motor carriers, including private motor carriers, in
accordance with 49 USC 13908 and 14504a. The department may, consistent with
federal law, establish by rule an annual fee under this section for a motor vehicle that
is operated in this state and that is subject to the unified carrier registration system.

(2) The department may not administer both an insurance registration system
for motor carriers under s. 194.405 and a registration system for motor carriers
under this section.

SECTION 2928. 194.41 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

194.41 (1) No permit or vehicle registration may be issued to a common motor
carrier of property, contract motor carrier, or rental company, no permit or vehicle
registration may remain in force to operate any motor vehicle under the authority
of this chapter, and no vehicle registration may be issued or remain in force for a
semitrailer unless the carrier or rental company has on file with the department and
in effect an approved certificate for a policy of insurance or other written contract in
such form and containing such terms and conditions as may be approved by the
department issued by an insurer authorized to do a surety or automobile liability
business in this state under which the insurer assumes the liability prescribed by
this section with respect to the operation of such motor vehicles. The certificate or
other contract is subject to the approval of the department and shall provide that the

insurer shall be directly liable for and shall pay all damages for injuries to or for the
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SECTION 2928

1 death of persons or for injuries to or destruction of property that may be recovered
2 against the owner or operator of any such motor vehicles by reason of the negligent
3 operation thereof in such amount as the department may require. Liability may be
4 restricted so as to be inapplicable to damage claims on account of injury to or
5 destruction of property transported, but the department may require, and with
6 respect to a carrier transporting a building, as defined in s. 348.27 (12m) (a) 1., shall
7 require, a certificate or other contract protecting the owner of the property
8 transported by carriers from loss or damage in the amount and under the conditions
9 as the department may require. No permit or vehicle registration may be issued to
10 a common motor carrier of passengers by any motor vehicle, or other carrier of
11 passengers by motor bus, except those registered in accordance with s. 341.26 (2) (a)
12 and (d), and no permit or vehicle registration may remain in force to operate any
13 motor vehicle unless it has on file with the department a like certificate or other
14 contract in the form and containing the terms and conditions as may be approved by
15 the department for the payment of damages for injuries to property and injuries to
16 or for the death of persons, including passengers, in the amounts as the department
17 may require. This subsection does not apply to a motor carrier that is registered by
18 another state under a single-state or unified carrier registration system consistent
19 with the standards under, respectively, 49 USC 14504 or 49 USC 13908 and 14504a.
20 S%CTION 2928m. 196.202 (2) of th tatutes 1s amended to read: \
21 19%?%02 (2) SCOPE OF REGULAT " A commercial mobile radio service provider ﬁ

22 5 is not subj ec bto ch. 201 or is hapter, except as provided in sub. (5);and-execept-that

\
%

1

23

g

24
25
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SECTION 3082r

en-Comments on the report to the department, the secretary shall

-

“the chairperson in writing within 15 days of receipt of the comments.

-
e —

SEcTION 3083. 285.30 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

285.30 (5) (a) A motor vehicle of a model year of 1967 1995 or earlier.

SECTION 3084. 285.30 (5) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

285.30 (5) (b) A motor vehicle with of a model year of 2006 or earlier that has
a gross vehicle weight rating exceeding 10,000 8,500 pounds, as determined by the
manufacturer of the vehicle, and a motor vehicle of a model year of 2007 or later that

has a gross vehicle weight rating exceeding 14,000 pounds, as determined by the

manufacturer of the vehicle.
SECTION 3085. 285.30 (5) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

285.30 (5) (d) A motor vehicle of a model year of 2006 or earlier that is powered

by diesel fuel.

gf SECTION 36861{. 287.26 of the statutes is amended to read:
§

/ 7.26 Business waste reduction and recycling assistance. The ;}

/
g‘[departme may contract with a nonprofit organizatfor services to assist

]
f
|

obiectives, methods to ‘measure progréss toward the goals and objectives, and a

schedule for reporting to tﬁdeéartment on the use of funds and progress toward the
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SECTION 3179

f! proagder of medical or hospital care may bill a prisoner under sub. (1) for the cost of

f

é

\

|

|

l

|
1
!
§

care \é\%geeding the amount paid under this subsection by the governmental unit. If
5, /
\ f

no medié‘gl assistance rate exists for the care provided, there is no limitation under

%
kY

this subsection.

SECTION ngO. 302.386 (1) of the, atutes is amended to read:

302.386 (1), Except as pro 4 in sub. (5), liability for medical and dental
services furnishedég residents/] used in prisons identified in s. 302.01, in a juvenile

\ p
correctional facility, 0%11 a$ecured residential care center for children and youth, or

to forensic patients in - institutions for those services that are not provided by

employees of the ‘- shall be limited to the amounts payable under ss. 49.43

ss. 49.468 and 49.471 (11), for similar services.
The depar,’ﬁ;nent may waive any\kych limit if it determines that needed services

cannot be obtained for the applicablesamount. No provider of services may bill the

\5’
A
&

resﬁent or patlent for the cost of services'exceeding the amount of the liability under

;ﬁls subsection.

SECTION 3190m. 340.01 (3) (dg) of the statutes is created to read:

340.01 (8) (dg) Privately owned motor vehicles being used by an organ
procurement organization, or by any person under an agreement with an organ
procurement organization, to transport organs for human transplantation or to
transport medical personnel for the purpose of performing human organ harvesting
or transplantation immediately after the transportation.

SECTION 3190p. 340.01 (3) (dh) of the statutes is created to read:

340.01 (3) (dh) Privately owned motor vehicles being operated in the course of
abusiness and being used, in response to an emergency call from a treating physician

or his or her designee declaring the transportation to be an emergency, to transport
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SEcTION 3190D

medical devices or equipment to a hospital or ambulatory surgery center, or to pick
up medical devices or equipment for immediate transportation to a hospital or
ambulatory surgery center, if the medical devices or equipment are to be used for
human implantation or for urgent medical treatment immediately after the
transportation.

SECTION 3206. 341.25 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

341.25 (1) (a) For each automobile, a fee of $55 $75, except that an automobile
registered in this state prior to September 1, 1947, at a fee of less than $18 shall be
registered at such lesser fee plus an additional fee of $2.

SECTION 3207. 341.25 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

341.25 (2) (a) Not more than 4,500 ........ $ 48.50 75.00

SECTION 3208. 341.25 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

341.25 (2) (b) Not more than 6,000 ........... 6150 84.00

SECTION 3209. 341.25 (2) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

341.25 (2) (¢) Not more than 8,000 ......... Fi-50 106.00

SECTION 3209b. 341.25 (2) (em) to (q) of the statutes are amended to read:

341.25 (2) (cm) Not more than 10,000 ..... 11950 131.00
(d) Not morethan 12,000 ................. 161.00 177.00
(e) Not morethan 16,000 ................. 218.00 240.00
(f) Not more than 20,000 ................. 274.00 301.00
(g) Not more than 26,000 ................. 36550 402.00
(h) Not morethan 32,000................. 468.50 515.00
(1) Not more than 38,000 ................. 593-50 653.00
() Not more than 44,000 ................. 70850 779.00

(k) Not more than50,000................. 818-00 900.00
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SECTION 3209b

(km) Not more than 54,000 ............... 873.00 960.00
(L) Not more than 56,000 ............... 930.00 1023.00
(m) Not more than 62,000 ............. 105150 1,157.00
(n) Not more than 68,000.............. 1,187.00 1,306.00
(0) Not more than 73,000 .............. 1;350.00 1,485.00
(p) Not more than 76,000 .............. 1:600-50 1,761.00
(@) Not more than 80,000 ............. -1,969.50 2,166.00

“ SECTION 3210. 341.51 (4) (an) e statutes is amended to read:

5
S

K\34l.51 (4) (an) If the app is an individual who does not have a social

securlty ‘number a stateg;eﬁtade or subscribed under oath or affirmation that the
applicant ddeg not bavg a social security number. The form of the statement shall
be prescrlbe@/by%i{\department of workforece-development children and families. A
reg;;@z\on that is 1§‘ged under this section in reliance on a statement submitted

ungder this paragraph is invalid if the statement false.

e T

SE@%ION 3211. 341.51 (4g) (b) of the sta utes is amended to read:
341.51%%4@ (b) The department 4t transportation may not disclose any
information ob%ined under sub. or (ar) to any person except to the

department of we nt children and families for the sole purpose of

administering s. ’ or t department of revenue for the sole purpose of

requesting certifications\u, dder s. 73.0301.

SECTION 3212. 341.51 (4m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
341.51 (4m) (a/)/é regist tion shall be denied, restricted, limited or suspended
if the apphcan%r licensee is\ an individual who is delinquent in making

court-ordered /éayments of child famﬂy support, maintenance, birth expenses,

medical ex%énses or other expenses related to the support of a child or former spouse,

o
———————
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SECTION 3212

W%,%%;

or who fails to comply, after m;;éte notice, with a subpoena or Warranygéﬁed

byxghe department of workforce-development children and families or a cgﬁnty child

g?suppi"srt agency under s. 59.53 (5) and related to paternity oyciﬂd support
/ proceedmgs as provided in a memorandum of understanding en};éred into under s.

i

. /
SECTION§3%213. 342.06 (1) (eg) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.06 (1) (é‘g) Except as provided in par. (eh), if t}ig applicant is an individual,
the social security namber of the applicant. The d@)p”grtment of transportation may

not disclose a social se&gmty number obtained \y{ger this paragraph to any person
except to the department Gf

sment children and families for the sole
purpose of administering s. ZLQ 22 and to thdepartment of revenue for the purposes
of administering state taxes afgg collecting debt.

SECTION 3214. 342.06 (1) (%éh) gf the statutes is amended to read:

342.06 (1) (eh) If the apphaaént does not have a social security number, a

statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation that the applicant does not
have a social security number/ The form%f the statement shall be prescribed by the
chﬂ;éren and families. A certificate of title

that is issued in reliance on a statement sub;kitted under this paragraph is invalid

if the statement is fall% . X\%

department of

SECTION 32186. ;342 .14 (1r) of the statutes is a\{lended to read:

342.14 (1r) Upon filing an application under sub\(lj or (3), an environmental
1

impact fee of $9;;?£>y the person filing the application. All moneys collected under this
/

subsection s/h;all be credited to the environmental f\’:.\mg for environmental

managemc—;ﬁt. This subsection does not apply after December 81, 2007 2009.

SE?&‘ION 3217. 342.14 (3m) of the statutes is amended to re

/4 . /

I
—
——

I s
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e

~842.14 (3m) Upon filing an application under sub. (1) or (3), a supplementa
title fee 0?%%50 $9.50 by the ow:

, . under sub. (3) for transfer of a decedent’s interest in

E
%
i
;

rviving spouse. The fee specified under this subsection li/

the vehicle, except that this fee shall be waived
with respect t0'2

a vehicle to her &y

P
in addi}:}efn to any other fee specified in this section.

SECTION 3220. 343.01 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.01(2) (d) “Photograph” means an unretouched image recorded by a camera
and reproduced on a photosensitive surface, or a digitized digital image.

SECTION 3220c. 343.01 (2) (dg) of the statutes is renumbered 340.01 (41k).

SECTION 3222. 343.027 of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 25
and 59, is repealed and recreated to read:

343.027 Confidentiality of signatures. Any signature collected under this
chapter may be maintained by the department and shall be kept confidential, except
that the department shall release a signature or a facsimile of a signature to the
department of revenue for the purposes of administering state taxes and collecting
debt, to the person to whom the signature relates, to a court, district attorney, county
corporation counsel, city, village, or town attorney, law enforcement agency, or to the
driver licensing agency of another jurisdiction.

SECTION 3223. 343.03 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.03 (38) LICENSE VARIANTS. (intro.) Except for restricted licenses under s.

343.08 or temporary licenses under s. 343.10, 343.11 (1) or (3), 343.16 (6) (b), or

343.305 (8) (a), each operator’s license issued by the department shall be in one of the

following categories with a descriptive legend displayed on the top front side of the
license document:

SECTION 3224. 343.03 (3m) of the statutes is created to read:
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343.03 (3m) NONCITIZEN TEMPORARY LICENSE. If the issuance of any license
described under sub. (3) requires the license applicant to present any documentary
proof specified in s. 343.14 (2) (es) 4. to 7., the license shall display on the front side
of the license, in addition to any legend or label described in sub. (3), a legend
identifying the license as temporary. This noncitizen temporary license may not be
renewed except as provided in s. 343.165 (4) (c).

SECTION 3226. 343.03 (6) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

 343.03 (6) (a) The Notwithstanding ss. 343.027, 343.14 (2j), and 343.237 (2),

the department shall, upon request, provide to the commercial driver license
information system and the driver licensing agencies of other states jurisdictions any

applicant or driver record information maintained by the department of

transportation, including providing electronic access to any record or file under s.
343.23 (1) or (2).

SECTION 3230. 343.06 (1) () of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3231. 343.06 (1) (L) of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act
126, is amended to read:

343.06 (1) (L) To any person who does not previde-the-documentaryproof
deseribed-in 5-343-14-(2) {er) satisfy the requirements under s. 343.165.

SECTION 3234. 343.10 (2) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.10 (2) (a) (intro.) Except as provided in pars. (b) to (e), and subject to s.
343.165 (5), a person is eligible for an occupational license if the following conditions
are satisfied:

SECTION 3236. 343.10 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:
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343.10 (6) FEE. No person may file an application for an occupational license
under sub. (1) unless he or she first pays -afee-of-$40 to the department the fees
specified in s. 343.21 (1) (k) and (n).

SECTION 3237. 343.10 (7) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.10 (7) (b) The Subject to s. 343.165 (5), the department shall issue an

occupational license as soon as practicable upon receipt of an application to the
department under sub. (1) or an order from a court under sub. (4) or s. 351.07 for such
a license, if the department determines that the applicant is eligible under sub. (2).
SECTION 3238. 343.10 (7) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.10 (7) (d) An occupational license issued by the department under this
subsection shall be in the form of a phete license that includes a photograph

described in s. 343.14 (8) and any special restrictions cards under s. 343.17 (4). The

license shall clearly indicate that restrictions on a special restrictions card apply and
that the special restrictions card is part of the person’s license.

SECTION 3239. 343.10 (7) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.10 (7) (f) The expiration date of the occupational license is the 2nd working
day after the date of termination of the period of revocation or suspension as provided
by law, or the expiration date determined under s. 343.20 (1m), whichever is earlier.
The occupational license may be revoked, suspended or canceled before termination
of that period. An occupational license is not renewable when it expires. If an
occupational license expires and is not revoked, suspended or canceled, the licensee
may obtain a new license upon that expiration but only if he or she complies with the
conditions specified in s. 343.38. Revocation, suspension or cancellation of an
occupational license has the same effect as revocation, suspension or cancellation of

any other license.
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SECTION 3240. 343.135 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.135 (1) (a) 3. Pays the all required fee fees.

SECTION 3241. 343.135 (7) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.135 (7) EXPIRATION; RENEWAL. A special restricted operator’s license issued
under this section shall expire 2 years after the date of issuance. Within 90 days prior
to the expiration of a license, the holder of the restricted license may renew the
license by paying the all required fee fees and passing the examination under sub.
(1) (a) 4.

SECTION 8242. 343.14 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts
25 and 59, is repealed and recreated to read:

343.14 (1) Every application to the department for a license or identification
card or for renewal thereof shall be made upon the appropriate form furnished by the
department and shall be accompanied by all required fees. Names, addresses,
license numbers, and social security numbers obtained by the department under this
subsection shall be provided to the department of revenue for the purpose of
administering ss. 71.93 and 71.935 and state taxes.

SECTION 3243. 343.14 (2) (a) and (br) of the statutes are amended to read:

343.14 (2) (a) The full legal name and principal residence address of the
applicant;

(br) If the applicant does not have a social security number, a statement made

or subscribed under oath or affirmation that the applicant does not have a social

security number and is not eligible for a social security number. The statement shall

provide the basis or reason that the applicant is not eligible for a social security
number, as well as any information requested by the department that may be needed

bv the department for purposes of verification under s. 343.165 (1) (¢). The form of
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the statement shall be prescribed by the department, with the assistance of the

department of workforce development. A license that is issued or renewed under s.
343.17 in reliance on a statement submitted under this paragraph is invalid if the

statement is false.

~ SECTION 3244. 343.14 (2) (br) of the statutes, as affectedjby%OW Wisconsin Act
. (thls act), is amended to read: / |
343 14 (2) (br) If the applicant does not v; a social security number, a

statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmatlon that the applicant does not

}

have a social seeumty number and is ngt/ eligible for a social security number. The

statement shall prdmde the basm:/gif reason that the applicant is not eligible for a

social security nurnber &s Wel/lé{:-s any information requested by the department that
may be needed by the de,p’artment for purposes of verification under s. 343.165 (1)
(¢). The form of the gtatemenﬁ shall be prescribed by the department with the

assistance of the’f department of b children and families. A
license thatis issued or renewed undér s. 343.17 in reliance on a statement
rd “‘\&{

subm;téd under this paragraph is invalid if the statement is false.

| o

SECTION 3245. 343.14 (2) (er) 1. and 2. of the statutes, as created by 2005
Wisconsin Act 126, are consolidated, renumbered 343.14 (2) (es) (intro.) and

amended to read:

343.14 (2) (es) (intro.) Deecumentary Subject tosub. 2g)(a)2.d. and s. 343.125

(2) (a) and (b), valid documentary proof that the individual is a citizen or national of

the United States or documentary proofthattheindividualislegally present an alien
lawfully admitted for permanent or temporary residence in the United States—2—H
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resident-a- or has any of the following:

2. Avalid, unexpired nonimmigrant visa or nonimmigrant visa status for entry
into the United States;-a-pendingor,

3. An approved application for asylum in the United States;valid-entry or has
entered into the United States in refugee status;a-.

5. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the
United States;-approved.

6. Approved deferred action status;era-.

7. A pending application for adjustment of status to legal that of an alien
lawfully admitted for permanent resident-status residence in the United States or

conditional permanent resident status in the United States.

SECTION 3246. 343.14 (2) (es) 1. and 4. of the statutes are created to read:
343.14 (2) (es) 1. Conditional permanent resident status in the United States.
4. A pending application for asylum in the United States.

SECTION 3247. 343.14 (2) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.14 (2) () Sueh Subject to s. 343.165 (1), such further information as the

department considers appropriate to identify the applicant, including biometric

data, and such information as the department may reasonably require to enable it

to determine whether the applicant is by law entitled to the license applied for;
SECTION 3249. 343.14 (2j) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts

25 and 59, is repealed and recreated to read:

343.14 (2j) Except fsé’yfjd;‘z;ided“in sub. (2g) ) and is}otherwise required to

administer and enforce this chapter, the department of transportation may not

disclose a social security number obtained from an applicant for a license under sub.
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(2) (bm) to any person except to the department of children and families for the sole
purpose of administering s. 49.22, to the department of revenue for the purposes of
administering state taxes and collecting debt, or to the driver licensing agency of
another jurisdiction.

SECTION 3252. 343.14 (2r) of the statutes is created to read:

343.14 (2r) Notwithstanding sub. (2j), the department may, upon request,
provide to the department of health and family services any applicant information
maintained by the department of transportation and identified in sub. (2), including
providing electronic access to the information, for the sole purpose of verification by
the department of health and family services of birth certificate information.

SECTION 3253. 343.14 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.14 (3) The department shall, as part of the application process, take a
digital photograph including facial image capture of the applicant to comply with s.
343.17 (3) (a) 2.

department;—ne No application may be processed without the photograph being

taken. In Except as provided in s. 343.165 (4) (d), in the case of renewal licenses, the

photograph shall be taken once every 8 years, and shall coincide with the appearance

for examination which is required under s. 343.16 (3). The-department-may make

SECTION 3254. 343.14 (4m) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.14 (4m) The Subject to s. 343.17 (2), the department shall develop designs

for licenses and identification cards which are resistant to tampering and forgery ne

laterthan-January 1,1989Licenses and licenses and identification cards issued on
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or after January 1, 1989, shall incorporate the designs required under this
subsection.

SECTION 3255. 343.16 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.16 (8) (a) The Except as provided in s. 343.165 (4) (d), the department shall
examine every applicant for the renewal of an operator’s license once every 8 years.
The department may institute a method of selecting the date of renewal so that such
examination shall be required for each applicant for renewal of a license to gain a
uniform rate of examinations. The examination shall consist of a test of eyesight.
The department shall make provisions for giving such examinations at examining
stations in each county to all applicants for an operator’s license. The person to be
examined shall appear at the examining station nearest the person’s place of
residence or at such time and place as the department designates in answer to an
applicant’s request. In lieu of examination, the applicant may present or mail to the
department a report of examination of the applicant’s eyesight by an
ophthalmologist, optometrist or physician licensed to practice medicine. The report
shall be based on an examination made not more than 3 months prior to the date it
is submitted. The report shall be on a form furnished and in the form required by
the department. The department shall decide whether, in each case, the eyesight
reported is sufficient to meet the current eyesight standards.

SECTION 3257. 343.165 of the statutes is created to read:

343.165 Processing license and identification card applications. (1)
The department may not complete the processing of an application for initial
issuance or renewal of an operator’s license or identification card received by the

department after May 10, 2008, and no such license or identification card may be
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issued or renewed, unless the applicant presents or provides, and the department
verifies under sub. (3), all of the following information:

(a) Anidentification document that includes either the applicant’s photograph
or both the applicant’s full legal name and date of birth.

(b) Documentation showing the applicant’s date of birth, which may be the
identification document under par. (a).

(¢) Proof of the applicant’s social security number or, except as provided in s.
343.14 (2g) (a) 4., verification that the ’applicant is not eligible for a social security
number.

(d) Documentation showing the applicant’s name and address of principal
residence.

(e) Subject to ss. 343.125 (2) (a) and (b) and 343.14 (2g) (a) 2. d., the
documentary proof described in s. 343.14 (2) (es).

(2) (a) The department shall, in processing any application for an operator’s
license or identification card under sub. (1), capture a digital image of each document
presented or provided to the department by an applicant. Images captured under
this paragraph shall be maintained, in electronic storage and in a transferable
format, in the applicant’s file or record as provided under ss. 343.23 (2) (a) and 343.50
(8) (a). |

(b) The department shall record in the applicant’s file under s. 343.23 (2) (a) or
record under s. 343.50 (8) (a) the date on which verification under subs. (1) and (3)
is completed.

(3) (a) Except as provided in pars. (b) and (c), the department shall verify, in

the manner and to the extent required under federal law, each document presented
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or provided to the department that is required to be presented or provided to the-
department by an applicant under sub. (1).

(b) The department may not accept any foreign document, other than an official
passport, to satisfy a requirement under sub. (1).

(¢) For purposes of par. (a) and sub. (1) (¢), if an applicant presents a social
security number that is already registered to or associated with another person, the
department shall direct the applicant to investigate and take appropriate action to
resolve the discrepancy and shall not issue any operator’s license or identification
card until the discrepancy is resolved. The department shall adopt procedures for
purposes of verifying that an applicant is not eligible for a social security number.

(4) (a) Subsection (1) does not apply to an application for renewal of an
operator’s license or identification card received by the department after May 10,
2008, if in connection with a prior application after May 10, 2008, the applicant
previously presented or provided, and the department verified, the information
specified in sub. (1) and the department recorded the date on which the verification
procedures were completed as described in sub. (2) (b).

(b) The department shall establish an effective procedure to confirm or verify
an applicant’s information for purposes of any application described in par. (a). The
procedure shall include verification of the applicant’s social security number or
ineligibility for a social security number.

(¢) Notwithstanding pars. (a) and (b), no operator’s license displaying the
legend required under s. 343.03 (3m) or identification card displaying the legend
required under s. 343.50 (3) may be renewed unless the applicant presents or

provides valid documentary proof under sub. (1) (e) and this proof shows that the
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status by which the applicant qualified for the license or identification card has been
extended by the secretary of the federal department of homeland security.

(d With any license or identification card renewal following a license or
identification card expiration established under s. 343.20 (1m) or 343.50 (5) (c) at
other than an 8-year interval, the department may determine whether the
applicant’s photograph is to be taken, or if the renewal is for a license the applicant
is to be examined, or both, at the time of such renewal, so long as the applicant’s
photograph is taken, and if the renewal is for a license the applicant is examined,
with a license or card renewal at least once every 8 years and the applicant’s license
or identification card at all times includes a photograph.

(5) The department may, by rule, require that applications for reinstatement
of operator’s licenses or identification cards, issuance of occupational licenses,
reissuance of operator’s licenses, or issuance of duplicate licenses, received by the
department after May 10, 2008, be processed in a manner consistent with the
requirements established under this section for applicatiohs for initial issuance or
renewal of operator’s licenses and identification cards.

(6) During the period in which the department processes an application under
this section, the department may issue a receipt under s. 343.11 (3) or 343.50 (1) (¢).

SECTION 3258. 343.17 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.17 (1) LICENSE ISSUANCE. The Subject to s. 343.165, the department shall

issue an operator’s license and endorsements, as applied for, to every qualifying
applicant who has paid the required fees.

SECTION 3259. 343.17 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.17 (2) LICENSE DOCUMENT. The license shall be a single document, in

ene—part one part, consisting of 2 sides, except as otherwise provided in sub. (4) and
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s.343.10 (7) (d). The document shall be, to the maximum extent practicable, tamper

proof and shall contain physical security features consistent with any requirement
under federal law.
SECTION 3260. 343.17 (3) (a) 1. and 5. of the statutes are amended to read:
343.17 (8) (a) 1. The full legal name, date of birth, and principal residence

address of the person.

5. -Afaesimile ofthe The person’s signature;-or-a-space-upon-which-the licensee

SECTION 3261. 343.17 (3) (a) 14. of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin
Act 126, is repealed.
SECTION 3262. 343.17 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.17 (5) No PHOTOS ON CERTAIN TEMPORARY LICENSES. The temporary licenses

issued under ss. 343.10, 343.11 (1) and (8), 343.16 (6) (b) and 343.305 (8) (a) shall be
on forms provided by the department and shall contain the information required by
sub. (8), except the license is not required to include a photograph of the licensee.
This subsection does not apply to a noncitizen temporary license, as described in s.

343.03 (3m).
SECTION 3263. 343.19 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.19 (1) If alicense issued under this chapter or an identification card issued
under s. 343.50 is lost or destroyed or the name or address named in the license or
identification card is changed or the condition specified in s. 343.17 (3) (a) 12. or 13.
no longer applies, the person to whom the license or identification card was issued
may obtain a duplicate thereof or substitute therefor upon furnishing proof

satisfactory to the department of full legal name and date of birth and that the license
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or identification card has been lost or destroyed or that application for a duplicate
license or identification card is being made for a change of address or name or
because the condition specified in s. 343.17 (3) (a) 12. or 13. no longer applies. If the
applicant is a male who is at least 18 years of age but less than 26 years of age, the
application shall include the information required under s. 343.14 (2) (em). If the

original license or identification card is found it shall immediately be transmitted to

the department.

SECTION 3264. 343.20 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.20 (1) (a) Except as otherwise expressly provided in this chapter,
reinstated licenses, probationary licenses issued under s. 343.085 and original
licenses other than instruction permits shall expire 2 years from the date of the
applicant’s next birthday. Subject to s. 343.125 (3), all other licenses and license
endorsements shall expire 8 years after the date of issuance. The department may
institute any system of initial license issuance which it deems advisable for the
purpose of gaining a uniform rate of renewals. In order to put such a system into
operation, the department may issue licenses which are valid for any period less than
the ordinary effective period of such license. If the department issues a license that
is valid for less than the ordinary effective period as authorized by this paragraph,
the fees due under s. 343.21 (1) €a); (b) and (d) shall be prorated accordingly.

SECTION 3266. 343.20 (1) (f) of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act
126, is amended to read:

343.20 (1) (f) The department shall cancel an operator’s license, regardless of

the license expiration date, if the department isnotified by receives information from

a local, state, or federal government agency that the eperator-is-ne-longer-a-eitizen
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licensee no longer satisfies the requirements for issuance of a license under ss. 343.14
(2) (es) and 343.165 (1) (e).
SECTION 3267. 343.20 (1m) of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act

126, is amended to read:

343.20 (1m) -A- Notwithstanding sub. (1) (a) and (e), and except as otherwise

provided in this subsection, a license that is issued to a person who is not a United
States citizen or permanent resident and who provides documentary proof of legal
status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) 2. shall expire on the date that the person’s
legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized or on the expiration date
determined under sub. (1), whichever date is earlier. If the documentary proof as
provided under s.‘ 343.14 (2) (er) 2. does not state the date that the person’s legal
presence in the United States is no longer authorized, sub. (1) shall apply.

SECTION 3268. 343.20 (1m) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act
.... (this act), is amended to read:

343.20 (1m) Notwithstanding sub. (1) (a) and (e), and except as provided in s.

343.165 (4) (¢) and as otherwise provided in this subsection, a license that is issued

to a person who is not a United States citizen or permanent resident and who
provides documentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) {er)-2- (es)

2.,4.,5.,6.,or 7. shall expire on the date that the person’s legal presence in the United

States is no longer authorized or on the expiration date determined under sub. (1),
whichever date is earlier. If the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2)
(er}2. (es) does not state the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States

is no longer authorized, sub. (1) shall apply except that, if the license was issued or
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renewed based upon the person’s presenting of any documentary proof specified in
s.348.14 (2) (es) 4. to 7., the license shall, subject to s. 343.165 (4) (c), expire one year

after the date of issuance or renewal.

SECTION 3269. 343.20 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.20 (2) (a) The department shall mail to the last-known address of a
licensee at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the license a notice of the date upon
which the license must be renewed. If the license was issued or last renewed based

upon the person’s presenting of any documentary proof specified in s. 343.14 (2) (es)

4. to 7., the notice shall inform the licensee of the requiremént under s. 343.165 (4)

().

SECTION 3270. 343.21 (1) (n) of the statutes is created to read:

343.21 (1) (n) In addition to any other fee under this subsection, for the
issuance, renewal, upgrading, or reinstatement of any license, endorsement, or
instruction permit, a federal security verification mandate fee of $10. |

SECTION 3271. 343.22 (1) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3272. 343.22 (2) (intro.) and (a) of the statutes are amended to read:

343.22 (2) (intro.) Whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a
license eentaining a photegraph under this chapter, or an identification card under
s. 343.50, moves from the address named in the application or in the license or
identification card issued to him or her or is notified by the local authorities or by the
postal authorities that the address so named has been changed, the person shall,
within 10 30 days thereafter, do one of the following:

(a) Apply for a duplicate license or identification card showing on the

application the correct full legal name and address. The licensee or identification
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card holder shall return the current license or identification card to the department
along with the application for duplicate.

SECTION 3273. 343.22 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.22 (2m) Whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a license
containing a photograph under this chapter, or anidentification card under s. 343.50,
is notified by the local authorities or by the postal authorities that the address named
in the application or in the license or identification card issued to him or her has been
changed and the person applies for a duplicate license or identification card under
sub. (2), no fee fees shall be charged under s. 343.21 (1) (L) and (n) or 343.50 (5m) and
(7) for the duplicate license or identification card.

SECTION 3274. 343.22 (2m) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act
.... (this act), is amended to read:

343.22 (2m) Whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a license
eeatannﬁgaphe%eg%aph under this chapter, or an identification card under s. 343.50,
is notified by the local authorities or by the postal authorities that the address named
in the application or in the license or identification card issued to him or her has been
changed and the person applies for a duplicate license or identification card under
sub. (2), no fees shall be charged under s. 343.21 (1) (L) and (n) or 343.50 (5m) and
(7) for the duplicate license or identification card.

SECTION 3275. 343.22 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.22 (3) When the name of a licensee or identification card holder is changed,
such person shall, within 10 days thereafter, apply for a duplicate license or
identification card showing the correct name and address. The licensee or
identification card holder shall return the current license or identification card to the

department along with the application for a duplicate. If the licensee holds more
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than one type of license under this chapter, the licensee shall return all such licenses
to the department along with one application and fee fees for a duplicate license for
which the licensee may be issued a duplicate of each such license.

SECTION 3276. 343.22 (3) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act ....
(this act), is amended to read:

343.22 (3) When the name of a licensee or identification card holder is changed,
such person shall, within 10 30 days thereafter, apply for a duplicate license or
identification card showing the correct full legal name and address. The licensee or
identification card holder shall return the current license or identification card to the
department along with the application for a duplicate. If the licensee holds more
than one type of license under this chapter, the licensee shall return all such licenses
to the department along with one application and fees for a duplicate license for
which the licensee may be issued a duplicate of each such license.

SECTION 3277. 343.23 (2) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.23 (2) (a) (intro.) The department shall maintain a file for each licensee or

other person containing the application for license, permit or endorsement, a record

of reports or abstract of convictions, any demerit points assessed under authority of

s. 343.32 (2). the information in all data fields printed on any license issued to the

person, any notice received from the federal transportation security administration
concerning the person’s eligibility for an “H” endorsement specified in s. 343.17 (3)
(d) 1m., the status of the person’s authorization to operate different vehicle groups,
a record of any out-of-service orders issued under s. 343.305 (7) (b) or (9) (am), a
record of the date on which any background investigation specified in s. 343.12 (6)

(a) or (d) was completed, a record of the date on which any verification specified in

s. 343.165 (1) and (3) was completed, all documents required to be maintained under
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s. 343.165 (2) (a), and a record of any reportable accident in which the person has

been involved, including specification of any type of license and endorsements issued
under this chapter under which the person was operating at the time of the accident
and an indication whether or not the accident occurred in the course of any of the
following:

SECTION 3279. 343.23 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.23 (2) (b) The information specified in pars. (a) and (am) must be filed by
the department so that the complete operator’s record is available for the use of the
secretary in determining whether operating privileges of such person shall be
suspended, revoked, canceled, or withheld, or the person disqualified, in the interest
of public safety. The record of suspensions, revocations, and convictions that would
be counted under s. 343.307 (2) shall be maintained permanently, except that the
department shall purge the record of a first violation of s. 23.33 (4¢) (a) 2., 30.681 (1)
(b) 1., 346.63 (1) (b), or 350.101 (1) (b) after 10 years, if the person who committed the
violation had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more but less than 0.1 at the
time of the violation, if the person does not have a commercial driver license, if the
violation was not committed by a person operating a commercial motor vehicle, and
if the person has no other suspension, revocation, or conviction that would be counted
under s. 343.307 during that 10-year period. The record of convictions for
disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (h) shall be maintained for at least 10
years. The record of convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (f) and
(j), and all records specified in par. (am), shall be maintained for at least 3 years. The
record of convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (a) to (e) shall be
maintained permanently, except that 5 years after a licensee transfers residency to

another state such record may be transferred to another state of licensure of the
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licensee if that state accepts responsibility for maintaining a permanent record of
convictions for disqualifying offenses. Such reports and records may be cumulative
beyond the period for which a license is granted, but the secretary, in exercising the

power of suspension granted under s. 343.32 (2) may consider only those reports and

- records entered during the 4-year period immediately precedingthe exercise of such

power of suspension. The department shall maintain the digital images of

documents specified in s. 343.165 (2) (a) for at least 10 years.
SECTION 3284. 343.23 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.23 (5) The department shall maintain the files specified in this section in
a form that is appropriate to the form of the records constituting those files. Records
under sub. (1) and files under sub. (2) shall be maintained in an electronic and

transferable format accessible for the purpose specified in s. 343.03 (6) (a).
SECTION 3285. 343.235 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.235 (3) (a) Alaw enforcement agency, a state authority, a district attorney,

a driver licensing agency of another jurisdiction, or a federal governmental agency,

to perform a legally authorized function.

SECTION 3286. 343.237 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.237 (2) Any photograph taken of an applicant under s. 343.14 (3) or 343.50
(4), and any fingerprint taken of an applicant under s. 343.12 (6) (b), may be
maintained by the department and, except as provided in this section, shall be kept
confidential. Except as provided in this section, the department may release a
photograph or fingerprint only to the person whose photograph or fingerprint was

taken or to the driver licensing agency of another jurisdiction.

SECTION 3287. 343.237 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
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343.237 (3) (intro.) The department shall provide a Wisconsin law enforcement

agency or a federal law enforcement agency with a print or electronic copy of a

photograph taken on or after September 1, 1997, of an applicant under s. 343.14 (3)
or 343.50 (4), or a printed or electronic copy of a fingerprint taken of an applicant
under s. 343.12 (6) (b), if the department receives a written request on the law
enforcement agency’s letterhead that contains all of the following:

SECTION 3288. 343.24 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.24 (8) The department shall not disclose information concerning or related
to a violation as defined by s. 343.30 (6) to any person other than a court, district
attorney, county corporation counsel, city, village, or town attorney, law enforcement
agency, driver licensing agency of another jurisdiction, or the minor who committed
the violation or his or her parent or guardian.

SECTION 3289. 343.24 (4) (c) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.24 (4) (c) 1. Alaw enforcement agency, a state authority, a district attorney,

adriver licensing agency of another jurisdiction, or a federal governmental agency,

to perform a legally authorized function.

SECTION 3290. 343.26 of the statutes is amended to read:

343.26 License after cancellation. Any person whose license has been
canceled, whether the license has been canceled by the secretary or stands canceled
as a matter of law, may apply for a new license at any time. Upon receipt of the
application and the all required fee fees, the department shall issue or refuse
issuance of the license as upon an original application. The department may, but
need not, require the applicant to submit to an examination as provided in s. 343.16.

SECTION 3291. 343.26 of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act .... (this

act), is amended to read:
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343.26 License after cancellation. Any person whose license has been
canceled, whether the license has been canceled by the secretary or stands canceled
as a matter of law, may apply for a new license at any time. Upon receipt of the

application and all required fees, and after processing the application as provided in

s. 343.165, the department shall issue or refuse issuance of the license as upon an

original application. The department may, but need not, require the applicant to
submit to an examination as provided in s. 343.16.

SECTION 3292. 343.265 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.265 (2) A person whose voluntary surrender of license under sub. (1) or
(1m) has been accepted by the department may apply for a duplicate license under
s. 343.19, or, if the person’s license has expired during the period of surrender, a
renewal license, at any time. Upon receipt of the person’s application and the
applicable fee fees under s. 343.21, the department shall issue or deny the license as
provided in this subchapter. The department may require the person to submit to
an examination under s. 343.16 (5).

SECTION 3300. 343.30 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.30 (5) No court may suspend or revoke an operating privilege except as
authorized by this chapter or ch. 345, 351, or 938 or s. 767.73, 800.09 (1) (c), 800.095
(4) (b) 4., 943.21 (3m), or 961.50. When a court revokes, suspends, or restricts a
juvenile’s operating privilege under ch. 938, the department of transportation shall
not disclose information concerning or relating to the revocation, suspension, or
restriction to any person other than a court, district attorney, county corporation
counsel, city, village, or town attorney, law enforcement agency, driver licensing

agency of another jurisdiction, or the minor whose operating privilege is revoked,
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suspended, or restricted, or his or her parent or guardian. Persons entitled to receive

this information shall not disclose the information to other persons or agencies.

mN 3303 343 305 (6) (e) 2. am. of the statute /),s gmended to read:

343 305 (B) (e) 2. am. In the case of an mdwld d] who does not have a social

security ;i“amber a statement made or subscribe nder oath or affirmation that the

e ?

“a

applicant doesmot have a social security //uﬁ\ber The form of the statement shall
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343.305 (6)(e) 3. b. The 1icen may not disclose any information received

under subd,/2. a. or b. except to the dep tment of werkforee-development children

and families for purposes of administering s. 49,22 or the department of revenue for
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- SECTION 3307. 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) Ifthe hearing examiner finds that any of the following
applies, the examiner shall order that the administrative suspension of the person’s
operating privilege be rescinded without payment of the any fee under s. 343.21 (1)
() or (n):

SECTION 3308. 343.305 (8) (c) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.305 (8) (¢) 5. If any court orders under this subsection that the
administrative suspension of the person’s operating privilege be rescinded, the
person need not pay the any fee under s. 343.21 (1) (j) or (n).

SECTION 3315. 343.305 (11) of the statutes is amended to read:
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343.305 (11) RuLes. The department shall promulgate rules under ch. 227
necessary to administer this section. The rules shall include provisions relating to -
the expeditious exchange of information under this section between the department
and law enforcement agencies, circuit courts, municipal courts, attorneys who
represent municipalities, and district attorneys, and driver licensing agencies of
other jurisdictions. The rules may not affect any provisions relating to court
procedure.

SECTION 3315k. 343.307 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.307 (1) (intro.) The court shall count the following to determine the length

of a revocation under s. 343.30 (1q) (b) and to determine the penalty under s. 114.09

(2) and 346.65 (2):

SEcCTION 3315s. 343.307 (1) (g) of the statutes is created to read:

343.307 (1) (g) Convictions for violations under s. 114.09 (1) (b) 1. or 1m.

SECTION 3337. 343.315 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.315 (3) (b) If a person’s license or operating privilege is not otherwise
revoked or suspended as the result of an offense committed after March 31, 1992,7
which results in disqualification under sub. (2) (a) to (), (h), (), or (§), the department
shall immediately disqualify the person from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for the period required uhder sub. (2) (a) to (D), (h), (), or (j). Upon proper application
by the person and payment of -a-duplicate license-fee the fees specified in s. 343.21

(1) (1) and (n), the department may issue a separate license authorizing only the

operation of vehicles other than commercial motor vehicles. Upon expiration of the
period of disqualification, the person may apply for authorization to operate

commercial motor vehicles under s. 343.26. o

ECTION.3351.343.345 of the statutes-is-amended to read:

P
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\% 343.345 Restriction, limitation or suspensmn of operating privilege.

nd a person’s operating privilege if the

person 1s d\imquent in making court- ordered payments of child or family support,

mamtenance @@blrth expenses ,edlcal expenses or other expenses related to the

support of a chll& \or forrefef spouse or who fails to comply, after appropriate notice,
% #

e
with a subpoena cr arrant issued by the department of werkforee-development
children and families or\a county child support agency under s. 59.53 (5) and related
to paternity or child support proceedings, as provided in a memorandum of
s

%&”ﬂa

undersfgnd;ng entered into under s. 49.857. SR

SECTION 3352r. 343.35 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 343.35 (1) (a) and
amended to read:

343.35 (1) (a) The Except as provided in par. (b), the department may order any

person whose operating privilege has been canceled, revoked or suspended to
surrender his or her license or licenses to the department. The department may
order any person who is in possession of a canceled, revoked or suspended license of
another to surrender the license to the department.

SECTION 3352t. 343.35 (1) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

343.35 (1) (b) 1. Subject to subd. 2., if the department cancels an operator’s
license prior to the license expiration date because the department has determined
that the license holder does not meet the department’s standard required for
eyesight, the license holder may, without paying any additional fee, retain the
operator’s license and continue to use the license, until the license expiration date,
for the same purpose as an identification card issued under s. 343.50.

2. Before a cancelled operator’s license may be used for the same purpose as an

identification card under subd. 1., the license holder shall temporarily surrender the
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license to the department. Upon surrender, the department shall make a distinctive
mark on the license, and update the license holder’s record under s. 343.23 (1), to
indicate that the license is not valid as an operator’s license but is valid for purposes
of identification. After making the distinctive mark, the department shall
immediately return the license to the license holder.

SECTION 3356. 343.38 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.38 (1) (a) Files with the department an application for license together
with the all required fee fees; and

SECTION 3358. 343.38 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.38 (2) REINSTATEMENT OF NONRESIDENT’S OPERATING PRIVILEGE AFTER
REVOCATION BY WISCONSIN. A nonresident’s operating privilege revoked under the
laws of this state is reinstated as a matter of law when the period of revocation has
expired and such nonresident obtains a valid operator’s license issued by the
jurisdiction of the nonresident’s residence and pays the fee fees specified in s. 343.21
(1) () and ().

SECTION 3363. 343.39 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.39 (1) (a) When, in the case of a suspended operating privilege, the period
of suspension has terminated, the reinstatement fee fees specified in s. 343.21 (1) ()
has and (n) have been paid to the department and, for reinstatement of an operating
privilege suspended under ch. 344, the person files with the department proof of
financial responsibility, if required, in the amount, form and manner specified under
ch. 344.

SECTION 3365m. 343.43 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.43 (1) (a) Represent Except as provided in s. 343.35 (1) (b), represent as

valid any canceled, revoked, suspended, fictitious or fraudulently altered license; or
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SECTION 3366. 343.43 (1) (g) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.43 (1) (g) Deface or alter a license except to endorse a change of address
authorized by s. 343.22 (D)-or (2).

SECTION 3374. 343.50 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.50 (1) IssuaNci. The department shall issue to everyk qualified applicant,
who has paid the all required fee fees, an identification card as provided in this
section.

SEcTION 3375. 343.50 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act ....
(this act), is renumbered 343.50 (1) (a) and amended to read:

343.50 (1) (a) The Subject to par. (b) and s. 343.165, the department shall issue

to every qualified applicant, who has paid all required fees, an identification card as
provided in this section.

SECTION 3376. 343.50 (1) (b) and (c) of the statutes are created to read:

343.50 (1) (b) The department may not issue an identification card to a person
previously issued an operator’s license in another jurisdiction unless the person
surrenders to the department any valid operator’s license possessed by the person
issued by another jurisdiction, which surrender operates as a cancellation of the
license insofar as the person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this state is
concerned. Within 30 days following issuance of the identification card under this
section, the department shall destroy any operator’s license surrendered under this
paragraph and report to the jurisdiction that issued the surrendered operator’s
license that the license has been destroyed and the person has been issued an

identification card in this state.
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(¢) The department may issue a receipt to any applicant for an identification
card, which receipt shall constitute a temporary identification card while the
application is being processed and shall be valid for a period not to exceed 30 days.

SECTION 3377. 343.50 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.50 (2) WHO MAY APPLY. Any vresident of this state who does not possess a
valid operator’s license which-contains-the resident’s-phetegraph issued under this
chapter may apply to the department for an identification card pursuant to this
section. The card is not a license for purposes of this chapter and is to be used for
identification purposes only.

SECTION 3378. 343.50 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.50 (3) DESIGN AND CONTENTS OF CARD. The card shall be the same size as
an operator’s license but shall be of a design which is readily distinguishable from
the design of an operator’s license and bear upon it the words “IDENTIFICATION

CARD ONLY2..” The information on the card shall be the same as specified under

s. 343.17 (8). If the issuance of the card requires the applicant to present any
documentary proof specified in s. 343.14 (2) (es) 4. to 7., the card shall display, on the

front side of the card, a legend identifying the card as temporary. The card shall

contain phvsical security features consistent with any requirement under federal

law. The card may serve as a document of gift under s. 157.06 (2) (b) and (c) and the
holder may affix a sticker thereto as provided in s. 343.175 (3). The card may also
serve as a document of refusal to make an anatomical gift under s. 157.06 (2) (). The
card shall contain the holder’s photograph and, if applicable, shall be of the design
specified under s. 343.17 (3) (a) 12.

SECTION 3379. 343.50 (4) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,

is amended to read:
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343.50 (4) AppLicATION. The application for an identification card shall include
any information required under ss. 85.103 (2) and 343.14 (2) (a), (b), (bm), (br), (em),
and (er) (es), and such further information as the department may reasonably
require to enable it to determine whether the applicant is entitled by law to an
identification card. The Except with respect to renewals described in s. 343.165 (4)
(d), the department shall, as part of the application process, take a digital
photograph including facial image capture of the applicant to comply with sub. (3).
No Except with respect to renewals described in s. 343.165 (4) (d), no application may
be processed without the photograph being taken. Misrepresentations in violation
of s. 343.14 (5) are punishable as provided in s. 343.14 (9).

SECTION 3380. 343.50 (5) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,
is amended to read:

343.50 (5) VALID PERIOD; FEES. The fee for an original card and for the
reinstatement of an identification card after cancellation under sub. (10) shall be $9
$18. The card shall be valid for the succeeding period of —4- 8 years from the
applicant’s next birthday after the date of issuance, except that a card that is issued
to a person who is not a United States citizen and who provides documentary proof
of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall expire on the date that the
person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized. If the
documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not state the date that
the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized, then the card
shall be valid for the succeeding period of -4- 8 years from the applicant’s next

birthday after the date of issuance.



