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Department of Transportation

2007-2009 Biennial Budget Request
STATUTORY MODIFICATIONS

TOPIC: Federal Security Verification Fee - Changes to State Identification Card

DESCRIPTION OF CHANGE:

The Department proposes the creation of a $10 .00 federal security verification fee that would apply to the
issuance of almost all driver license and state identification card products. The Department also proposes
that the valid period for the state identification card be increased from four years to eight years and that the
fee for the issuance or renewal of the state identification card increases from $9.00 to $18.00. Affected
sections of the statutes inciude:

» Section 343.21(1) Wis_ Stats., License Fees, create a new section that allows the Department to collecta
$10.00 fee, referred to as the federal security verification fee, for each issuance, renewal, upgrading, and
reinstatement of licenses, endorsements and instruction permits issued under s. 343 21(1) Wis. Stais.

« Section 343.50(5) Wis. Stats , Valid Period, Fees; increase the fee from $3.00 to $18 00 and increase
the valid period from four years to eight years. This change is not intended to alter the intent of 2005
Wisconsin Act 126 or any proposed language included in the Department’s budget submittal related to
REAL ID Act of 2005 (Title lI of Public Law 109-13). Please refer to DIN 5503.

» Under s. 343.50(6) Wis. Stats:, Renewal, increase the fee from $9.00 to $18.00 and increase the valid
period from four years to eight years. This change is not intended fo alter the intent of 2005 Wisconsin
Act 126 or any proposed language included in the Department's budget submittal refated to REAL 1D

« Section 34350 Wis. Stats., Identificalion Cards, create a new section that allows the Department {o
collect a $10.00 fee, referred to as the federal security verification fee, for each issuance and renewal of
state identification cards issued under s -343.50 Wis Stats.

« The proposed federal security verification fee should apply to each issuance of a Commercial Drivers
License (CDL) with a hazardous malerials “H” endorsement, as it relates to the requirements of the USA
Patriot Act The Act requires that “H” endorsements be renewed every four years even though CDLs in
Wisconsin are renewed every eight years. The four-year "H” endorsement renewal process requires a
background check The fee should be imposed every time a CDL holder renews an “H" endorsement,
because a new product is issued, with all of the associated costs to the Department, especially as it
relates to the provisions of ss 343.125(1) and {2) Wis. Slais.

« The proposed federal security verification fee should also apply to each issuance of a non-citizen
temporary driver license or state identification card as related {o requirements of provisions of 2005
Wisconsin Act 126 and any proposed changes to state statutory language provided in the 2007-09
biennial budget bill, especially as it relates to REAL ID. The proposed fee should be imposed every time
a driver license or state identification card is renewed or reissued, even if the valid period is for a shorter
timeframe because of legal presence.

JUSTIFICATION:

The Department proposes a federal security verification fee of $10 that will apply to all driver license and
identification card products subject to requirements of the federal REAL ID Act of 2005. In addition, the
Department proposes that the renewal period for state identification cards be extended from four years to
eight years and thal the issuance fee be increased from $9 00 to $18.00.

Implementation of the federai REAL 1D Act of 2005 will cost $20 7 million during the 2007-09 biennium, and

will have continuing costs into future biennia. Regardiess of the product issued, current fees, or renewal
period, the added transaction cost {o the Department as a result of REAL ID will be the same . Under REAL
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ID, which must be implemented by May 2008, the Department's per transaction cost will increase because of
new requirements for:

e Card stock that will be secure and uniform across states and that will be difficult to counterfeit;

« Processes to electronically versify identity documents such as birth certificates, social security numbers,
and permanent resident/conditional resident status; and

« Postage and equipment for central office issuance of state drivers license and identification card
products.

Under the Department’s proposal, the $10.00 fee would be added for any transaction where the Division of
Motor Vehicles will be required to issue the new high-security card. This means that almost all driver license
and state identification card fransactions would be subject to the federal security verification fee. Customers
seeking duplicate licenses and identification cards will be subject to the fee because the same high-security
card must be used for issuance.

The Department is proposing the renewal period for the state identification card be increased from four years
to eight years and the fee charged for issuance or renewal be increased from $9.00 to $18.00. Since stale
identification cards and driver licenses are subject to the same requirements under REAL 1D, it is logical that
they have similar renewal periods. In addition, there are few policy arguments for why siate identification
card holders should have a four-year renewal period while drivers renew every eight years ‘

The Department’s proposal assumes that the federal security verification fee and the extended valid
issuance period and fee change for the state identification card could be implemented by January 1, 2008

Infroduction and Depariment-wide Issues 19
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N ACT ..; relating to: federal security verification fee and identification card

fees and term.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Under current law, DOT collects various fees related to operator’s licenses,
including fees for the issuance or renewal of an operator’s license, reinstatement of
an operating privilege, adding operator’s license endorsements, and removing
operator’s license restrictions.

This bill creates a new federal security verification fee of $10, in addition to any
other applicable fee, that must be paid to DOT for the issuance, renewal, upgrading,
or reinstatement of any operator’s license, endorsement, or instruction permit.

Under current law, DOT may issue an identification card to a resident of this
state who does not possess a valid operator’s license containing the person’s

photograph. A\B identification card is valid for four years and may be renewed for
* additional foursear periods. The fee for issuance or renewal of an identification card
is $9.

Under this bill, the valid period for an identification card, and for each renewal
period, is eight years and the fee for issuance or renewal is $18. The bill also creates
a new federal security verification fee of $10, in addition to any other applicable fee,
that must be paid to DOT for the issuance, renewal, or reinstatement of an
identification card.
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For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

v
1 SECTION 1. 343.10 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.10 (6) FEE. No person may file an application for an occupational license

2
O Y
3 under sub. (1) unless he or she first pays-afee-o£-$40 to the department the fees

LN

i

v v
specified in s. 343.21 (1) (k) and (n).

N

History: 1973 ¢. 90, 218; 1975 ¢. 297: 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a), (); 1977 ¢. 193; 1979 ¢. 102, 316, 355; 1981 ¢. 20; 1983 a. 27, 525, 526, 1985 a. 32 5.°3; 1985 a. 71, 337,
1987 a. 3; 1989 a. 31, 38, 105, 359; 1991 a. 39, 269, 277; 1995 a. 113, 201, 269, 401, 436, 448 1997 a. 35, 84, 237; 1999 a. 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 3409f, 3409g, 4060hw, 4060hy;
2003 a. 33, 80, 200, 326; 2005 a. 443 s, 265.

5 SECTION 2. 343.135 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

6 343.135 (1) (a) 3. Pays the all required fee fees.

History: 1979 c. 345; 1981 c. 138; 1983 a. 243; 1989 a. 105.

SECTION 3. 343.135 (7) of the statutes is amended to read:

8 343.135 (7) EXPIRATION; RENEWAL. A special restricted operator’s license issued
9 under this section shall expire 2 years after the date of issuance. Within 90 days prior
10 to the expiration of a license, the holder of the restricted license may renew the
11 license by paying the all required fee fees and passing the examination under sub.
12 (1) (a) 4.
13 e 197%5153(139';‘112);1849835322 1]?‘84? a(flto)S of the statutes as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 59, is
14 amended to read:
15 343.14 (1) E*;}ery application to the department for a license or identification
16 card or for renewal thereof shall be made upon the appropriate form furnished by the
17 department and shall be accompanied by the all required fee fees. Names, addresses,

18 license numbers, and social security numbers obtained by the department under this
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SECTION 4
1 subsection shall be provided to the department of revenue for the purpose of

2 administering ss. 71.93 and 71.935 and state taxes.

¥y 2005 Wis. d 59, The 2 treaji
t Act 25, treg OTE /{f

Y |
plicatiok t¢ the department for 4 lice se or‘udentlf’ cation/ card or th/ rehé[wai the eof 4
the required fee. \The dep :
mf(?‘matwn t4 the depaitment gf revente far the gurpose of ddmi

by the/\"x_
medical

History: 1977°¢C729 5. 1654 (7) (a), (e); 1977 c. 124, 360, 447; 1979 ¢. 306; 1981 c. 20 s. 1848r; 1985 a. 227; 1987 a. 27; 1987 a. 403 5. 256; 1989 a. 105, 294, 298, 359;
1991 a. 269; 1993 a. 363; 1995 a. 113; 1997 a. 27, 119, 191; 1999 a. 9, 80, 88; 2001 a. 93; 2003,a. 33; 2005 a. 25, 59, 126.

6 SECTION 5. 343.21 (1) (n) of the statutes is created to read:
7 343.21 (1) (n) In addition to any other fee under this subse&ion, for the
8 issuance, renewal, upgrading, or reinstatement of any license, endorsement, or
9 instruction permit, a federal security verification fee of $10.
10 SECTION 6. 343.22 (2m) of th(;/statutes is amended to read:
11 343.22 (2m) Whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a license
12 containing a photograph under this chapter, or an identification card under s. 343.50,
13 is notified by the local authorities or by the postal authorities that the address named
14 in the application or in the license or identification card issued to him or her has been
15 changed and the person applies for a duplicate license or identification card under

v
v
16 sub. (2), no fee fees shall be charged under s. 343.21 (1) (L) and (n) or 343.50 (5m) and

17 (7) for the duplicate license or identification card.
History: 1973 c. 129, 218, 336; 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a); 1977 ¢. 273, 360‘:;47; 1979 ¢, 306; 1981 c. 20 5. 1848r; 1985 a. 14; 1989 a. 105; 1991 a. 39; 2003 a. 33.

18 SECTION 7. 343.22 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

19 343.22 (3) When the name of a licensee or identification card holder is changed,
20 such person shall, within 10 days thereafter, apply for a duplicate license or
21 identification card showing the correct name and address. The licensee or
22 identification card holder shall return the current license or identification card to the
23 department along with the application for a duplicate. If the licensee holds more

24 than one type of license under this chapter, the licensee shall return all such licenses
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SECTION 7
1 to the department along with one application and fee fees for a duplicate license for

2 which the licensee may be issued a duplicate of each such license.

v
History: 1973 c. 129, 218, 336; 1977 c. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 273, 360, 447; 1979 c. 306; 1981 c. 20 5. 1848r; 1985 a. 14; 1989 a. 105; 1991 a. 39; 2003 a. 33.

3 SECTION 8. 343.26 of the statutes is amended to read:
4 343.26 License after cancellation. Any person whose license has been
5 canceled, whether the license has been canceled by the secretary or stands canceled
6 as a matter of law, may apply for a new license at any time. Upon receipt of the
7 application and the all required fee fees, the department shall issue or refuse
8 issuance of the license as upon an original application. The department may, but
9 need not, require the applicant to submit to an examination as provided in s. 343.16.
History: 1977 c.29's. 1654 (7) (@), (©). v
10 SECTION 9. 343.265 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
11 343.265 (2) A person whose voluntary surrender of license under sub. (1) or
12 (1m) has been accepted by the department may apply for a duplicate license under
13 s. 343.19, or, if the person’s license has expired during the period of surrender, a
14 renewal license, at any time. Upon receipt of the person’s application and the
15 applicable fee fees under s. 343.21, the department shall issue or deny the license as
16 provided in this subchapter. The department may require the person to submit to
17 an examination under s. 343.16 (5).
History: 1987 a. 40; 1989 a, 105; 1995 a. 113; 2003 2. 33, v
18 SECTION 10. 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
19 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) If the hearing examiner finds that any of the following
20 applies, the examiner shall order that the administrative suspension of the person’s
21 operatglg privilege be rescinded without payment of the any fee under s. 343.21 (1)

22 (G) or(n):

History: 1987 a. 3,27, 399; 1989 a. 7, 31, 56, 105, 359; 1991 a. 39, 251, 277, 1993 a. 16, 105, 315, 317, 491, 1995 a. 27 ss. 6412¢nl, 9126 (19); 1995 a. 113, 269, 425, 426,
436, 448; 1997 a. 35, 84, 107, 191, 237, 290; 1999 a. 9, 32, 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 3421 m to 3423, 4060gk, 4060hw, 4060hy; 2001 a. 104; 2003 a. 97, 199; 2005 a. 332, 413,

23
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v
1 SECTION 11. 343.305 (8) (c) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:
2 343.305 (8) (¢) 5. If any court orders under this subsection that the
3 administrative suspension of the person’s operating privilege be rescinded, the

v
4 person need not pay the any fee under s. 343.21 (1) (j) or (n).

History: 1987 a.3,27,399; 1989 a. 7, 31, 56, 105, 359; 1991 a. 39, 251, 277; 1994 a. 16, 105, 315, 317, 491; 1995 a. 27 ss. 6412cnL, 9126 (19); 1995 a. 113, 269, 425, 426,
436, 448; 1997 a. 35, 84, 107, 191, 237, 290; 1999 a. 9, 32, 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 3421m to 3423], 4060gk, 4060hw, 4060hy; 2001 a. 104; 2003 a. 97, 199; 2005 a. 332, 413.

5 SECTION 12. 343.315 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
6 343.315 (3) (b) If a person’s license or operating privilege is not otherwise
7 revoked or suspended as the result of an offense committed after March 31, 1992,

8 which results in disqualification under sub. (2) (a) to (f), (h), (i), or (j), the department
9 shall immediately disqualify the person from operating a commercial motor vehicle

10 for the period required under sub. (2) (a) to (), (h), (), or (j). Upon proper application

@ by the person and payment ofi;—éupliea%e—l-ieense%e the fees specified in s. 343.;1
12 (@D) gLV} and‘/gnz, the department may issue a separate license authorizing only the
13 operation of vehicles other than commercial motor vehicles. Upon expiration of the
14 peri()d‘ of disqualification, the person may apply for authorization to operate
15 commercial motor vehicles under s. 343.26.

History: 1989 a. 105; 1991 a. 39, 277; 1995 a. 113, 448; 1997 a, 8:;58; 1999 a. 85, 140; 2001 a. 38, 109; 2003 a. 33, 97,
16 SECTION 13. 343.38 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
17 343.38 (1) (a) Files with the department an application for license together

18 with the all required fee fees; and

History: 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a), (¢); 1979 ¢. 306, 316; 1983 a. 525; 1989 a. 72; 195’1’214 277,316; 1997 a. 27, 84; 1999 a. 143,

19 SECTION 14. 343.38 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

20 343.38 (2) REINSTATEMENT OF NONRESIDENTS OPERATING PRIVILEGE AFTER
21 REVOCATION BY WISCONSIN. A nonresident’s operating privilege revoked under the
22 laws of this state is reinstated as a matter of law when the period of revocation has

23 expired and such nonresident obtains a valid operator’s license issued by the
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SECTION 14
1 jurisdiction of the nonresident’s residence and pays the fee fees specified in s. 343.21
14
2 (1) (§) and (n).
History: 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a). (¢); 1979 ¢. 306, 316; 1983 a. 525; 1989 a. 72;‘(991 a. 277, 316; 1997 a. 27, 84; 1999 a. 143,
3 SECTION 15. 343.39 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
4 343.39 (1) (a) When, in the case of a suspended operating privilege, the period

5 of suspension has terminated, the reinstatementfee fees specified in s. 343.21 (1) (§)

v
6 has and (n) have been paid to the department and, for reinstatement of an operating

7 privilege suspended under ch. 344, the person files with the department proof of
8 financial responsibility, if required, in the amount, form and manner specified under
9 ch. 344.
History: 1973 ¢. 90; 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a); 1977 ¢. 273, 1991 a. 39, 277; 19l9/3 a. 16; 1997 a. 84.
10 SECTION 16. 343.50 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
11 343.50 (1) IssUANCE. The department shall issue to every qualified applicant,
12 who has paid the all required fee fees, an identification card as provided in this
13 section.

History: 1977 c. 360, 447; 1979 ¢. 226, 306; 1981 ¢. 205, 1848r; 19854.29, 98 1987 a. 27, 304; 1989 a. 105, 294, 298; 1991 a, 86, 269; 1995 a. 446; 1997 a. 27, 119, 191,
1999 a. 9, 32, 80, 85, 88, 186, 2001 a. 93; 2003 a. 33; 2005 a. 126.

14 SECTION 17. 343.50 (5) of the statutes as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,

15 is amended to read:

16 343.50 (56) VALID PERIOD; FEES. The fee for an original card and for the
17 reinstatement of an identification card after cancellation under sub. (10) shall be $§

v
18 $18. The card shall be valid for the succeeding period of -4- 8 years from the

19 applicant’s next birthday after the date of issuance, except that a card that is issued
20 to a person who is not a United States citizen and who provides documentary proof
21 of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall expire on the date that the
22 person’s legal | presence in the United States is no longer authorized. If the

23 documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not state the date that
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SECTION 17
1 the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized, then the card
2 shall be valid for the succeeding period of —4- g years from the applicant’s next
3 birthday after the date of issuance.
NOJTE: NOTE: Sub. (S)is shown as amened eff. 4;;5‘1‘@ 2005 Wis, Act 126. Pé?r‘m 4-1-07, ii}e;?ds:NOTE: \ N

g (8) VALID PERIGD; FEES. The\fee for an driginalicatd andAor thé reinstatément of ay identiffcation fcﬁw&llaﬁon under 5ub, (10) shall bé $9. The card-
shall béyalid fopihe succeeding period 4 years from-the appliéapt’s next bisthday afteg thedate of issua ’ “a, -

- o

History: 1977 c. 360, 447; 1979 c. 226, 306; 1981 ¢. 20 5. 1848r; 1985 a. 29, 98: 1987 a. 27, 304; 1989 a. 105, 294, 298; 1991 a. 86, 269; 1995 a. 446; 1997 a. 27, 119, 191;
1999 a. 9, 32, 80, 85, 88, 186;-2001 a. 93; 2003 a. 33; 2005 a. 126.

6 SECTION 18. 343.50 (5m) of the dtatutes is created to read:
7 343.50 (bm) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION FEE. In addition to any other fee
8 under this sect\;on, for the issuance of an original identification card or duplicate
9 identification card or for the renewal or reinstatement of an identification card after
10 cancellation under sub. (1\6), a federal security verification fee of $1g shall be paid
11 to the departl\r{ent.
#/12 SECTION 19. 343.50 (6) of the stat\lgces, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,
13 is amended to read:
14 343.50 (6) RENEWAL. At least 30 days prior to the expiration of the card, the
15 department shall mail a renewal application to the last—-known address of each
16 identification card holder. The department shall include with the application
17 information, as developed by all organ procurement organizations in cooperation
18 with the department, that promotes anatomical donations and which relates to the
19 anatomical donation opportunity available under s. 343.175. The fee for a renewal

v v
20 identification card shall be $9 $18, which card shall be valid for 4- 8 years, except

21 that a card that is issued to a person who is not a United States citizen and who
22 provides documentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall
23 expire on the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer

24 authorized. If the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not
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SECTION 19

1 state the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer

v
2 authorized, then the card shall be valid for 4- 8 years.

NOTiNOTE: Sub. (6) is shown asameiNed eff. 4-1-07 by 2005’“?&\?: 126. Prior to 4-1-07-t reads:NOTE:

{6) RENEWAL! Adleast 30 dayy'prior to the ekpiration of thg,éélrd, the department shall ﬁéil a rene%\;al applicatigﬁ o th&;ast—known adqféss of éi\qh identification
card holder. THe depagtment shall include with the application'information, as‘ﬂfveloped by all organ pr%guremqpt organizations in cooperation with thie-department,
that pro ‘anatomieal dopdtions and which relsges to thé anatomical donation opportunity available inder's. 343.175. The fee for'a renewal identification card

shall be $9, which card sBall be valid for 4 years.

History: 1977 c. 360, 447; 1979 ¢.:226, 306; 1981 ¢. 20 5. 1848r; 1985 a. 29, 98; 1987 a. 27, 304; 1989 a. 105, 294, 298; 1991 a. 86, 269; 1995 a. 446; 1997 a. 27, 119, 191;
1999 a. 9, 32, 80, 85, 88, 186; 2001 a. 93; 2003 a.33; 2005 a. 126.

8 SECTION 20. 344.18 (1) (intro.) of H'le statutes is amended to read:

9 344.18 (1) (intro.) Any registration suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall
10 remain suspended or revoked and shall not be renewed or reinstated until the person
11 pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m), meets one of the requirements under pars.
12 (a) to (d) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (1m). Any operating privilege
13 suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall remain suspended or revoked and shall

14 not be reinstated until the person pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) (§)

v
15 and (n), complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the

16 following requirements:

,, Historys Sup, Ct. Order, 67 Wis, 24 85, 76 1975 1975 .55, 1995 1977 . 29 . 1654 () (0 1977 . 275: 1979 c. 32, 258 1981 . 205 1985 0. 202329, 37: 1987 o
17 SECTION 21. 344.18 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
18 344.18 (3) (intro.) If a person defaults in the payment of any installment under
19 a duly acknowledged written agreement, the secretary, upon notice of such default
20 given in no event later than 30 days after the time for final installment, shall
21 immediately suspend the registrations and operating privilege of the defaulting
22 person. A suspension or revocation of registration under this subsection shall
23 remain in effect until the person pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m), meets
24 the requirement under par. (a) or (b) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (3m). A
25 suspension or revocation of an operating privilege under this subsection shall remain

v
26 in effect until the person pays the fee fees required in s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), complies
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with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the following

requirements:

History: Sup. Ct. Order, 67 Wis, 2d 585, 766 (1975); 1975 ¢. 55, 199; 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (¢); 1977 ¢. 273; 1979 ¢. 32, 258; 1981 ¢. 20; 1985 a. 202 ss. 29, 37, 1987 a.
3; 1991 a. 269, 315; 1997 a. 84 -

SECTION 22. 344.19 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.19 (3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect
that the operating privilege or registration of a resident of this state has been
suspended or revoked in such other state under a law providing for its suspension
or revocation for failure to deposit security for payment of judgments arising out of
a motor vehicle accident, under circumstances which would require the secretary to
suspend a nonresident’s operating privilege or registration had the accident occurred
in this state, the secretary shall suspend the operating privilege of such resident if
he or she was the operator and all of his or her registrations if he or she was the owner
of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department may accept a
certification which is in the form of a combined notice of required security and
suspension order, but shall not suspend a resident’s operating privilege or
registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 days have elapsed since the
time for depositing security in the other state expired. A suspension or revocation
of operating privilege under this section shall continue until such resident furnishes
evidence of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the
deposit of security, pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) (§) _&‘Lr/l) and
complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38. A suspension or revocation of
registration under this section shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence

of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the deposit of
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1 security, pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m) and satisfies the requirements

2 of sub. (3m).

History: 1977 c. 29 ss. 1464, 1654 (7) (a), (c); 1991 a. 269, 316; 1997 a. 84. v

SECTION 23. 345.47 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

345.47 (1) (¢) If a court or judge suspends an operating privilege under this
section, the court dr judge shall immediately take possession of the suspended license
and shall forward it to the department together with the notice of suspension, which
shall clearly state that the suspension was for failure to pay a forfeiture, plus costs,

fees, and surcharges imposed under ch. 814. The notice of suspension and the

© 0 =3 Ut o W

suspended license, if it is available, shall be forwarded to the department within 48
10 hours after the order of suspension. If the forfeiture, plus costs, fees, and surcharges
11 imposed under ch. 814, are paid during a period of suspension, the court or judge
12 shall immediately notify the department. Upon receipt of the notice and payment
13 of the reinstatement-fee fees under s. 343.21 (1) (j) g_mi_&;), the department shall

14 return the surrendered license.

.29 55, 1477 to 1482, 1654 (7) (c); 1979 ¢. 34; 1981 c. 165 1987 a. 27, 389; 1989 a. 31, 107; 1991 a. 34, 39, 189; 1993 a. 16; 1995
a.9, 32, 185; 2001 a. 16; 2003 a. 139.

’ SECTIOI\f 24 2005 Wisconsin Act 25, sectlon 2262 is repealed.

PR

(a)f The treatment of sections 343.10 (6) 343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7) 343.14 (1)

v v v
v 343.21 (\/) (n), 343.22 (3) 343.26, 343. 265 (2) 343.315 (3) (b), 343.38 (1) (a) and (2),
v Vo v v

20 / 343.39 (1) (a), 343 50 (1), (5), (bm), and (6) 344.18 (1) (mtro ) and (3) (intro.), 344.19
/
Q{‘(ﬁgﬁé& (3), and 345.47 (1) (c) of the statutes first applies to license and identification card
Y
(@@2 applications received by the department of transportation on the effective date of this

24 SECTION 9448. Effective dates; Transportation.
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(1) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION FEE. IE@
0 V4

&l The treatment of sectmns 343.10 (6), 343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7) 343.14 (1),

v
343.21 (1) (n), 343.22 (2m) and (3), 343.26, 343.265 (2), 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) and
v v v v v Vi v
(c) 5., 343.315 (3) (b), 343.38 (1) (a) and (2), 343.39 (1) (a), 343.50 (1), (5), (5m), and

V4 v v v v’
(6), 344.18 (1) (int and (3) (1@0 .), 344.19 (3), and 345.47 (1) (c) of the statutes and

SECTIONS 24 and 9348 (1) [ ;of this act take effect on January 1, 2008.

(END)




DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-0973/1dn
FROM THE ARG:.. {;
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU \
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ATTN: Sara Kornely

Please review the attached draft carefully to ensure that it is consistent with your
intent. There were some details of the draft for which I was not sure which approach

to take.

1. In apy circugastances where current law does not allow imposition of a fee under s.
343.21 or 343.50, the attached draft alsow exempts the new federal security verification
fee. See the treatment of ss. 343.22 (21%) and 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intrd)) and (¢) 5.

2. I was not sure whether the federal security verification fee should apply to
occupational licenses. See the treatment of s. 343.10 (6).

3. I am not sure what dictates the fee for special restricted operator’s licenses and
whether the federal security veriﬁcagnn fee should apply to issuance of these licenses.
See the treatment of s. 343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7).

4. I was not sure whether the federal security verification fee should apply to duplicate
licenses and ’i,dentiﬁcation cards. See the treatment of ss. 343.22 (2m and (3) and
343.315 (3) (b) and 343.50 (5m).

Please let me know if the draft is not consistent with your intent with respect to any
of these items.

v

This draft will need to be reconciled with LRB-0003 and LRB—Ob/ll. Given the
differing effective dates in these drafts, some “double drafting” may be required to
carry out various changes in the same provisions occurring at different times.

Aaron R. Gary

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 261-6926

E-mail: aaron.gary@legis.wisconsin.gov



DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-0973/1dn
FROM THE ARG:kjf:rs
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

December 5, 2006

ATTN: Sara Kornely

Please review the attached draft carefully to ensure that it is consistent with your
intent. There were some details of the draft for which I was not sure which approach
to take.

1. In any circumstances where current law does not allow imposition of a fee under s.
343.21 or 343.50, the attached draft also exempts the new federal security verification
fee. See the treatment of ss. 343.22 (2m) and 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) and (c) 5.

2. I was not sure whether the federal security verification fee should apply to
occupational licenses. See the treatment of s. 343.10 (6).

3. I am not sure what dictates the fee for special restricted operator’s licenses and
whether the federal security verification fee should apply to issuance of these licenses.
See the treatment of s. 343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7).

4. I'was not sure whether the federal security verification fee should apply to duplicate
licenses and identification cards. See the treatment of ss. 343.22 (2m) and (3) and
343.315 (3) (b) and 343.50 (5m). ‘

Please let me know if the draft is not consistent with your intent with respect to any
of these items.

This draft will need to be reconciled with LRB-0003 and LRB-0011. Given the
differing effective dates in these drafts, some “double drafting” may be required to
carry out various changes in the same provisions occurring at different times.

Aaron R. Gary

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 261-6926

E-mail: aaron.gary@legis.wisconsin.gov
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DOA.......Kornely, BB0177 - Federal security verification fee
FOR 2007-09 BUDGET -- NOoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN AcT ...; relating to: federal security verification fee and identification card

fees and term.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Under current law, DOT collects various fees related to operator’s licenses,
including fees for the issuance or renewal of an operator’s license, reinstatement of
an operating privilege, adding operator’s license endorsements, and removing
operator’s license restrictions.

This bill creates a new federal security verification fee of $10, in addition to any
other applicable fee, that must be paid to DOT for the issuance, renewal, upgrading,
or reinstatement of any operator’s license, endorsement, or instruction permit.

Under current law, DOT may issue an identification card to a resident of this
state who does not possess a valid operator’s license containing the person’s
photograph. An identification card is valid for four years and may be renewed for
additional four-year periods. The fee for issuance or renewal of an identification
card is $9.

Under this bill, the valid period for an identification card, and for each renewal
period, is eight years and the fee for issuance or renewal is $18. The bill also creates
a new federal security verification fee of $10, in addition to any other applicable fee,
that must be paid to DOT for the issuance, renewal, or reinstatement of an
identification card.
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For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

1 SEcTION 1. 343.10 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

DO

343.10 (6) FEE. No person may file an application for an occupational license

under sub. (1) unless he or she first pays -afee-0f-$40 to the department the fees

specified in s. 343.21 (1) (k) and (n).
SECTION 2. 343.135 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.135 (1) (a) 3. Pays the all required fee fees.
SECTION 3. 3483.135 (7) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.135 (7) EXPIRATION; RENEWAL. A special restricted operator’s license issued

(Kol e s = r B v B

under this section shall expire 2 years after the date of issuance. Within 90 days prior
10 to the expiration of a license, the holder of the restricted license may renew the

11 license by paying the all required fee fees and passing the examination under sub. |

(1) (a) 4. . 25 an

{\R( SECTION 4. 343.14 ( 1; of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Ac%
repteied Gind  jecreated
}/;g/fe;é’ﬁed to read:

T

59, is

343.14 (1) Every application to the department for a licenge or identification

16 card or for renewal thereof shall be made upon the/appropriate form furnished by the
g/f;;; department and shall be accompanied by G :‘:_11_1‘( required #e¢ (_;ggs. Names, addresses,
ék/leg/ license numbers, and social security numbers obtained by the department under this

19 subsection shall be provided to the department of revenue for the purpose of

20 administering ss. 71.93 and 71.935 and state taxes.

21 SECTION 5. 343.21 (1) (n) of the statutes is created to read:
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SECTION 5

343.21 (1) (n) In addition to any other fee under this subsection, for the
issuance, renewal, upgrading, or reinstatement of any license, endorsement, or
instruction permit, a federal security verification fee of $10.

SECTION 6. 343.22 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.22 (2m) Whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a license
containing a photograph under this chapter, or an identification card under s. 343.50,
is notified by the local authorities or by the postal authorities that the address named
in the application or in the license or identification card issued to him or her has been
changed and the person applies for a duplicate license or identification card under
sub. (2), no fee feesg shall be charged under s. 343.21 (1) (L) and (n) or 343.50 (bm) and
(7) for the duplicate license or identification card.

SECTION 7. 343.22 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.22 (3) When the name of a licensee or identification card holder is changed,
such person shall, within 10 days thereafter, apply for a duplicate license or
identification card showing the correct name and address. The licensee or
identification card holder shall return the current license or identification card to the
department along with the application for a duplicate. If the licensee holds more
than one type of license under this chapter, the licensee shall return all such licenses
to the department along with one application and fee fees for a duplicate license for
which the licensee may be issued a duplicate of each such license.

SECTION 8. 343.26 of the statutes is amended to read:

343.26 License after cancellation. Any person whose license has been
canceled, whether the license has been canceled by the secretary or stands canceled
as a matter of law, may apply for a new license at any time. Upon receipt of the

application and the all required fee fees, the department shall issue or refuse
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SECTION 8
issuance of the license as upon an original application. The department may, but
need not, require the applicant to submit to an examination as provided in s. 343.16.

SECTION 9. 343.265 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.265 (2) A person whose voluntary surrender of license under sub. (1) or
(1m) has been accepted by the department may apply for a duplicate license under
s. 343.19, or, if the person’s license has expired during the period of surrender, a
renewal license, at any time. Upon receipt of the person’s application and the
applicable fee fees under s. 343.21, the department shall issue or deny the license as
provided in this subchapter. The department may require the person to submit to
an examination under s. 343.16 (5).

SEcTION 10. 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) Ifthe hearing examiner finds that any of the following
applies, the examiner shall order that the administrative suspension of the person’s
operating privilege be rescinded without payment of the any fee under s. 343.21 (1)
@ or (m):

SECTION 11. 343.305 (8) (c) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.305 (8) (¢) 5. If any court orders under this subsection that the
administrative suspension of the person’s operating privilege be rescinded, the
person need not pay the any fee under s. 343.21 (1) (§) or_(n).

SEcTION 12. 343.315 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.315 (3) (b) If a person’s license or operating privilege is not otherwise
revoked or suspended as the result of an offense committed after March 31, 1992,
which results in disqualification under sub. (2) (a) to (f), (h), (i), or (§), the department
shall immediately disqualify the person from operating a commercial motor vehicle

for the period required under sub. (2) (a) to (f), (h), (i), or (§). Upon proper application
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SECTION 12

by the person and payment of -a-duplicate license-fee the fees specified in s. 343.21

(1) (L) and (n), the department may issue a separate license authorizing only the

operation of vehicles other than commercial motor vehicles. Upon expiration of the
period of disqualification, the person may apply for authorization to operate
commercial motor vehicles under s. 343.26.

SEcCTION 13. 343.38 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.38 (1) (a) Files with the department an application for license together
with the all required fee fees; and

SECTION 14. 343.38 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.38 (2) REINSTATEMENT OF NONRESIDENT'S OPERATING PRIVILEGE AFTER
REVOCATION BY WISCONSIN. A nonresident’s operating privilege revoked under the
laws of this state is reinstated as a matter of law when the period of revocation has
expired and such nonresident obtains a valid operator’s license issued by the
jurisdiction of the nonresident’s residence and pays the fee fees specified in s. 343.21
(1) () and ().

SECTION 15. 343.39 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.39 (1) (a) When, in the case of a suspended operating privilege, the period
of suspension has terminated, the reinstatement-fee fees specified in s. 343.21 (1) (§)
has and (n) have been paid to the department and, for reinstatement of an operating
privilege suspended under ch. 344, the person files with the department proof of
financial responsibility, if required, in the amount, form and manner specified under
ch. 344.

SECTION 16. 343.50 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 16

343.50 (1) Issuance. The department shall issue to every qualified applicant,
who has paid the all required fee fees, an identification card as provided in this
section.

SEcTION 17. 343.50 (5) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,
is amended to read:

343.50 (5) Vaup PERIOD; FEES. The fee for an original card and for the
reinstatement of an identification card after cancellation under sub. (10) shall be $9
$18. The card shall be valid for the succeeding period of -4- 8 years from the
applicant’s next birthday after the date of issuance, except that a card that is issued
to a person who is not a United States citizen and who provides documentary proof
of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall expire on the date that the
person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized. If the
documentary proof as prbvided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not state the date that
the person’s legal presence in the United Statesis no longer authorized, then the card
shall be valid for the succeeding period of -4- 8 years from the applicant’s next
birthday after the date of issuance.

SECTION 18. 343.50 (bm) of the statutes is created to read:

343.50 (5m) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION FEE. In addition to any other fee
under this section, for the issuance of an original identification card or duplicate
identification card or for the renewal or reinstatement of an identification card after
cancellation under sub. (10), a federal security verification fee of $10 shall be paid
to the department.

SECTION 19. 343.50 (6) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,

is amended to read:
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SECTION 19

343.50 (6) RENEWAL. At least 30 days prior to the expiration of the card, the
department shall mail a renewal application to the last-known address of each
identification card holder. The department shall include with the application
information, as developed by all organ procurement organizations in cooperation
with the department, that promotes anatomical donations and which relates to the
anatomical donation opportunity available under s. 343.175. The fee for a renewal
identification card shall be $9 $18, which card shall be valid for -4- 8 years, except
that a card that is issued to a person who is not a United States citizen and who
provides documentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall
expire on the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer
authorized. If the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not
state the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer
authorized, then the card shall be valid for 4- 8 years.

SECTION 20. 344.18 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.18 (1) (intro.) Any registration suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall
remain suspended or revoked and shall not be renewed or reinstated until the person
pays thefee required under s. 341.36 (1m), meets one of the requirements under pars.
(a) to (d) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (1m). Any operating privilege
suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall remain suspended or revoked and shall
not be reinstated until the person pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) ()
and (n), complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the
following requirements:

SECTION 21. 344.18 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.18 (3) (intro.) If a person defaults in the payment of any installment under

a duly acknowledged written agreement, the secretary, upon notice of such default
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SEcCTION 21
given in no event later than 30 days after the time for final installment, shall
immediately suspend the registrations and operating privilege of the defaulting
person. A suspension or revocation of registration under this subsection shall
remain in effect until the person pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m), meets
the requirement under par. (a) or (b) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (3m). A
suspension or revocation of an operating privilege under this subsection shall remain
in effect until the person pays the fee fees required in s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), complies
with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the following
requirements:

SECTION 22. 344.19 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.19 (3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect
that the operating privilege or registration of a resident of this state has been
suspended or revoked in such other state under a law providing for its éuspension
or revocation for failure to deposit security for payment of judgments arising out of
a motor vehicle accident, under circumstances which would require the secretary to
suspend a nonresident’s operating privilege or registration had the accident occurred
in this state, the secretary shall suspend the operating privilege of such resident if
he or she was the operator and all of his or her registrationsif he or she was the owner
of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department may accept a
certification which is in the form of a combined notice of required security and
suspension order, but shall not suspend a resident’s operating privilege or
registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 days have elapsed since the
time for depositing security in the other state expired. A suspension or revocation
of operating privilege under this section shall continue until such resident furnishes

evidence of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the
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SECTION 22

deposit of security, pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n) and
complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38. A suspension or revocation of
registration under this section shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence
of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the deposit of
security, pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m) and satisfies the requirements
of sub. (3m).

SECTION 23. 345.47 (1) (¢) of the statutes is amended to read:

345.47 (1) (¢) If a court or judge suspends an operating privilege under this
section, the court or judge shall immediately take possession of the suspended license
and shall forward it to the department together with the notice of suspension, which
shall clearly state that the suspension was for failure to pay a forfeiture, plus costs,
fees, and surcharges imposed under ch. 814. The notice of suspension and the
suspended license, if it is available, shall be forwarded to the department within 48
hours after the order of suspension. If the forfeiture, plus costs, fees, and surcharges
imposed under ch. 814, are paid during a period of suspension, the court or judge
shall immediately notify the department. Upon receipt of the notice and payment
of the reinstatement-fee fees under s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), the department shall
return the surrendered license. o

P R /M

C SECTION 24 2005 Wisconsin Act 25, section 2262 is repealed.

—

SECTION 9348. Initial apphcablllty, Transportatlon

(1) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION FEE. The treatment of sections 343.10 (6),
343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7), 343.14 (1), 343.21 (1) (n), 343.22 (3), 343.26, 343.265 (2),
343.315 (3) (b), 343.38 (1) (a) and (2), 343.39 (1) (a), 343.50 (1), (5), (bm), and (6),

344.18 (1) (intro.) and (3) (intro.), 344.19 (3), and 345.47 (1) (¢) of the statutes first
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SECTION 9348
applies to license and identification card applications received by the department of
transportation on the effective date of this subsection.

SecTION 9448. Effective dates; Transportation.

(1) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION FEE. The treatment of sections 343.10 (6),
343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7), 343.14 (1), 343.21 (1) (n), 343.22 (2m) and (3), 343.26,
343.265 (2), 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) and (¢) 5., 343.315 (3) (b), 343.38 (1) (a) and (2),
343.39 (1) (a), 343.50 (1), (5), (bm), and (6), 344.18 (1) (intro.) and (3) (intro.), 344.19
(3), and 345.47 (1) (c) of the statutes and SECTIONf @9348 (1) of this act take
effect on January 1, 2008. %\Q

(END)




DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-0973/2dn
FROM THE ARG:-[.
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

Ui

ATTN: Sara Kornely

The attached draft makes a technical change to bill section 4 of the “/1” draft and
eliminates bill section 24 of the “/1” draft.

Aaron R. Gary

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 261-6926

E-mail: aaron.gary@legis.wisconsin.gov
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December 6, 2006

ATTN: Sara Kornely

The attached draft makes a technical change to bill section 4 of the “/1” draft and
eliminates bill section 24 of the “/1” draft.

Aaron R. Gary
Legislative Attorney
Phone: (608) 261-6926

E-mail: aaron.gary@legis.wisconsin.gov
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Gary, Aaron

From: Kornely, Sara - DOA

Sent:  Wednesday, January 24, 2007 9:59 AM

To: Gary, Aaron

Subject: RE: LRB Draft: 07-0973/2 Federal security verification fee

Aaron, thanks for the info. We'll go with "fee" rather than "surcharge," but could we slightly amend the name
further and call it the "Federal Security Verification Mandate Fee"?

Thanks!

Sara Kornely
Dept. of Administration
608-266-1039

From: Gary, Aaron [mailto:Aaron.Gary@legis.wisconsin.gov]
Sent: Tuesday, January 23, 2007 5:04 PM

To: Kornely, Sara - DOA

Cc: Grinde, Kirsten - DOA

Subject: RE: LRB Draft: 07-0973/2 Federal security verification fee

Hi Sara,

To call this a surcharge is rather confusing. We generally consider a surcharge to be a "fee" or "assessment”
imposed by a court at the time of sentencing (or added to a finefforfeiture by means of the bond book). We
typically create surcharges to direct specific amounts imposed as a penalty for a legal violation to go to a specific
use (constitutional provisions prohibit us from accomplishing this goal directly and diverting forfeiture moneys
straight to a particular appropriation). See for example the railroad crossing improvement surcharge under s.
346.177, driver improvement surcharge under s. 346.655, and the truck driver education surcharge under s.
349.04. This supplemental fee, collected by the agency, is not what we typically think of (in the statutes) as a
surcharge now. | can find one example of DOT collecting a fee that is called a surcharge (registration of a truck
tractor, see ss. 341.25(2) and 341.26 (3) (g)), but that is an old provision and probably wouldn't be drafted this
way (if it could be helped) now. Could we call this a "Federal Security Verification Supplemental Fee" instead?

Aaron

Aaron R. Gary

Legislative Attorney
Legislative Reference Bureau
608.261.6926 {voice)
608.264.6948 (fax)
aaron.gary@legis.state.wi.us

From: Kornely, Sara - DOA

Sent: Tuesday, January 23, 2007 2:09 PM

To: Gary, Aaron

Subject: FW: LRB Draft: 07-0973/2 Federal security verification fee

01/24/2007



LRB Draft: 07-0973/2 Federal security verification fee Page 2 of 2

Hi Aaron —

On this one, | think we would like the "Federal Security Verification Fee" to be a "Federal Security Verification
Surcharge." Can you make the necessary changes?

Thanks! Let me know if you have any questions or foresee any other problems with this change.

Sara Kornely
Dept. of Administration
608-266-1039

From: Natzke, Noah [mailto:Noah.Natzke@legis.wisconsin.gov]

Sent: Wednesday, December 06, 2006 4:24 PM

To: Kornely, Sara - DOA

Cc: Grinde, Kirsten - DOA; Hanaman, Cathlene - LEGIS; Palchik, Laurie A - DOA
Subject: LRB Draft: 07-0973/2 Federal security verification fee

Foliowing is the PDF version of draft 07-0973/2.

01/24/2007
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...; relating to: federal security verification|fee and identification card

2 fees and term.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Under current law, DOT collects various fees related to operator’s licenses,
including fees for the issuance or renewal of an operator’s license, reinstatement of
an operating privilege, adding operator’s license endorsements, and removing
operator’s license restrictions. mandeate

v This bill creates a new federal security verificationifee of $10, in addition to any
other applicable fee, that must be paid to DOT for the issuance, renewal, upgrading,
or reinstatement of any operator’s license, endorsement, or instruction permit.

Under current law, DOT may issue an identification card to a resident of this
state who does not possess a valid operator’s license containing the person’s
photograph. An identification card is valid for four years and may be renewed for
additional four-year periods. The fee for issuance or renewal of an identification
card is $9.

Under this bill, the valid period for an identification card, and for each renewal
period, is eight years and the fee for issuance or renewal is $18. The bill also creates

, a new federal security verification)fee of $10, in addition to any other applicable fee,
fﬁé&gg‘gﬂ% that must be paid to DOT for the issuance, renewal, or reinstatement of an
identification card.
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For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SEcTION 1. 343.10 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.10 (6) FeE. No person may file an application for an occupational license

under sub. (1) unless he or she first pays -a-fee-6£340 to the department the fees

specified in s. 343.21 (1) (k) and (n).

SECTION 2. 343.135 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.135 (1) (a) 3. Pays the all required fee fees.

SECTION 3. 343.135 (7) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.135 (7) EXPIRATION; RENEWAL. A special restricted operator’s license issued
under this section shall expire 2 years after the date of issuance. Within 90 days prior
to the expiration of a license, the holder of the restricted license may renew the
license by paying the all required fee fees and passing the examination under sub.
(1) (a) 4.

SECTION 4. 343.14 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 25 and
59, is repealed and recreated to read:

343.14 (1) Every application to the department for a license or identification
card or for renewal thereof shall be made upon the appropriate form furnished by the
department and shall be accompanied by all required fees. Names, addresses,
license numbers, and social security numbers obtained by the department under this
subsection shall be provided to the department of revenue for the purpose of
administering ss. 71.93 and 71.935 and state taxes.

SECTION 5. 343.21 (1) (n) of the statutes is created to read:
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SECTION 5

343.21 (1) (n) In addition to any other fee under this subsection, for the
issuance, renewal, upgrading, or reinstatement of any license, endqrsement, or
instruction permit, a federal security veriﬁcationm m éﬂég?&

SECTION 6. 343.22 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.22 (2m) Whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a license
containing a photograph under this chapter, or an identification card unders. 343.50,
is notified by the local authorities or by the postal authorities that the address named
in the application or in the license or identification card issued to him or her has been
changed and the person applies for a duplicate license or identification card under
sub. (2), no fee fees shall be charged under s. 343.21 (1) (L) and (n) or 343.50 (5m) and
(7) for the duplicate license or identification card.

SECTION 7. 343.22 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.22 (3) When the name of a licensee or identification card holder is changed,
such person shall, within 10 days thereafter, apply for a duplicate license or
identification card showing the correct name and address. The licensee or
identification card holder shall return the current license or identification card to the
department along with the application for a duplicate. If the licensee holds more
than one type of license under this chapter, the licensee shall return all such licenses
to the department along with one application and fee fees for a duplicate license for
which the licensee may be issued a duplicate of each such license.

SECTION 8. 343.26 of the statutes is amended to read:

343.26 License after cancellation. Any person whose license has been
canceled, whether the license has been canceled by the secretary or stands canceled
as a matter of law, may apply for a new license at any time. Upon receipt of the

application and the all required fee fees, the department shall issue or refuse
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SECTION 8
issuance of the license as upon an original application. The department may, but
need not, require the applicant to submit to an examination as provided in s. 343.16.

SECTION 9. 343.265 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.265 (2) A person whose voluntary surrender of license under sub. (1) or
(1m) has been accepted by the department may apply for a duplicate license under
s. 343.19, or, if ‘the person’s license has expired during the period of surrender, a
renewal license, at any time. Upon receipt of the person’s application and the
applicable fee fees under s. 343.21, the department shall issue or deny the license as
provided in this subchapter. The department may require the person to submit to
an examination under s. 343.16 (5).

SECTION 10. 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) Ifthe hearing examiner finds that any of the following
applies, the examiner shall order that the administrative suspension of the person’s
operating privilege be rescinded without payment of the any fee under s. 343.21 (1)
() or (n):

SECTION 11. 343.305 (8) (c) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.305 (8) (¢) 5. If any court orders under this subsection that the
administrative suspension of the person’s operating privilege be rescinded, the
person need not pay the any fee under s. 343.21 (1) (§) or (n).

SECTION 12. 343.315 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.315 (3) (b) If a person’s license or operating privilege is not otherwise
revoked or suspended as the result of an offense committed after March 31, 1992,
which results in disqualification under sub. (2) (a) to (f), (h), (i), or (j), the department
shall immediately disqualify the person from operating a commercial motor vehicle

for the period required under sub. (2) (a) to (f), (h), (i), or (j). Upon proper application
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SECTION 12

by the person and payment of -a-duplicate licensefee the fees specified in s. 343.21

(1) (1) and (n), the department may issue a separate license authorizing only the

operation of vehicles other than commercial motor vehicles. Upon expiration of the
period of disqualification, the person may apply for authorization to operate
commercial motor vehicles under s. 343.26.

SECTION 13. 343.38 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.38 (1) (a) Files with the department an application for license together
with the all required fee fees; and

SECTION 14. 343.38 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.38 (2) REINSTATEMENT OF NONRESIDENT'S OPERATING PRIVILEGE AFTER
REVOCATION BY WISCONSIN. A nonresident’s operating privilege revoked under the
laws of this state is reinstated as a matter of law when the period of revocation has
expired and such nonresident obtains a valid operator’s license issued by the
jurisdiction of the nonresident’s residence and pays the fee fees specified in s. 343.21
(1) () and (n).

SECTION 15. 343.39 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.39 (1) (a) When, in the case of a suspended operating privilege, the period
of suspension has terminated, the reinstatement fee fees specified in s. 343.21 (1) (§)
has and (n) have been paid to the department and, for reinstatement of an operating
privilege suspended under ch. 344, the person files with the department proof of
financial responsibility, if required, in the amount, form and manner specified under
ch. 344.

SEcCTION 16. 343.50 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 16

343.50 (1) IssuaNcE. The department shall issue to every qualified applicant,

who has paid the all required fee fees, an identification card as provided in this

section.

SecTION 17. 343.50 (5) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,
is amended to read:

343.50 (5) VALID PERIOD; FEES. The fee for an original card and for the
reinstatement of an identification card after cancellation under sub. (10) shall be $9
$18. The card shall be valid for the succeeding period of 4- 8 years from the
applicant’s next birthday after the date of issuance, except that a card that is issued
to a person who is not a United States citizen and who provides documentary proof
of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall expire on the date that the
person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized. If the
documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not state the date that
the person’s legal presence in the United States isno longer authorized, then the card
shall be valid for the succeeding period of -4- 8 years from the applicant’s next
birthday after the date of issuance.

SECTION 18. 343.50 (5m) of the statutes is created to read;

MANDRTE @

343.50 (bm) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION /lFEE In addition to any other fee
under this section, for the issuance of an original identification card or duplicate
identification card or for the renewal or reinstatement of an identification card after

mandate
cancellation under sub. (10), a federal security verification @a of $10 shall be paid

to the department.
SEcCTION 19. 343.50 (6) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,

is amended to read:
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SECTION 19

343.50 (6) RENEWAL. At least 30 days prior to the expiration of the card, the
department shall mail a renewal application to the last-known address of each
identification card holder. The department shall include with the application
information, as developed by all organ procurement organizations in cooperation
with the department, that promotes anatomical donations and which relates to the
anatomical donation opportunity available under s. 343.175. The fee for a renewal
identification card shall be $9 $18, which card shall be valid for -4- 8 years, except
that a card that is issued to a person who is not a United States citizen and who
provides documentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall
expire on the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer
authorized. If the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not
state the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer
authorized, then the card shall be valid for 4- 8 years.

SECTION 20. 344.18 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.18 (1) (intro.) Any registration suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall
remain suspended or revoked and shall not be renewed or reinstated until the person
pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m), meets one of the requirements under pars.
(a) to (d) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (1m). Any operating privilege
suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall remain suspended or revoked and shall
not be reinstated until the person pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) (§)
and (n), complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the
following requirements:

SECTION 21. 344.18 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.18 (3) (intro.) If a person defaults in the payment of any installment under

a duly acknowledged written agreement, the secretary, upon notice of such default
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SEcTION 21
given in no event later than 30 days after the time for final installment, shall
immediately suspend the registrations and operating privilege of the defaulting
person. A suspension or revocation of registration under this subsection shall
remain in effect until the person pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m), meets
the requirement under par. (a) or (b) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (3m). A
suspension or revocation of an operating privilege under this subsection shall remain
in effect until the person pays the fee fees required in s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), complies
with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the following
requirements:

SECTION 22. 344.19 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.19 (3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect
that the operating privilege or registration of a resident of this state has been
suspended or revoked in such other state under a law providing for its suspension
or revocation for failure to deposit security for payment of judgments arising out of
a motor vehicle accident, under circumstances which would require the secretary to
suspend a nonresident’s operating privilege or registration had the accident occurred
in this state, the secretary shall suspend the operating privilege of such resident if
he or she was the operator and all of his or her registrations if he or she was the owner
of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department may accept a
certification which is in the form of a combined notice of required security and
suspension order, but shall not suspend a resident’s operating privilege or
registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 days have elapsed since the
time for depositing security in the other state expired. A suspension or revocation
of operating privilege under this section shall continue until such resident furnishes

evidence of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the



o2 e

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19

&)

20
21
22
23
24

25

2007 - 2008 Legislature _9- st

SECTION 22

deposit of security, pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) () and (n) and
complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38. A suspension or revocation of
registration under this section shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence
of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the deposit of
security, pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m) and satisfies the requirements
of sub. (3m).

SECTION 23. 345.47 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

345.47 (1) (c) If a court or judge suspends an operating privilege under this
section, the court or judge shall immediately take possession of the suspended license
and shall forward it to the department together with the notice of suspension, which
shall clearly state that the suspension was for failure to pay a forfeiture, plus costs,
fees, and surcharges imposed under ch. 814. The notice of suspension and the
suspended license, if it is available, shall be forwarded to the department within 48
hours after the order of suspension. If the forfeiture, plus costs, fees, and surcharges
imposed under ch. 814, are paid during a period of suspension, the court or judge
shall immediately notify the department. Upon receipt of the notice and payment
of the reinstatement fee fees under s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), the department shall
return the surrendered license.

SECTION 9348. Initial applicability; Transportation.

nantaTe (&2
(1) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION/éEE‘ The treatment of sections 343.10 (6),

A
343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7), 343.14 (1), 343.21 (1) (n), 343.22 (3), 343.26, 343.265 (2),
343.315 (3) (b), 343.38 (1) (a) and (2), 343.39 (1) (a), 343.50 (1), (5), (bm), and (6),
344.18 (1) (intro.) and (3) (intro.), 344.19 (3), and 345.47 (1) (¢) of the statutes first

applies to license and identification card applications received by the department of

transportation on the effective date of this subsection.
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SECTION 9448
1 SEcCTION 9448. Effective dates; Transportation.
~ MANAATE
\2// (1) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION ﬁ: The treatment of sections 343.10 (6),
3 343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7), 343.14 (1), 343.21 (1) (n), 343.22 (2m) and (3), 343.26,
4 343.265 (2), 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) and (¢) 5., 343.315 (3) (b), 343.38 (1) (a) and (2),
5 343.39 (1) (a), 343.50 (1), (5), (bm), and (6), 344.18 (1) (intro.) and (8) (intro.), 344.19
6 (3), and 345.47 (1) (c) of the statutes and SECTION 9348 (1) of this act take effect on
7 January 1, 2008.

8 (END)
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1 AN AcT ...; relating to: federal security verification mandate fee and

2 identification card fees and term.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Under current law, DOT collects various fees related to operator’s licenses,
including fees for the issuance or renewal of an operator’s license, reinstatement of
an operating privilege, adding operator’s license endorsements, and removing
operator’s license restrictions.

This bill creates a new federal security verification mandate fee of $10, in
addition to any other applicable fee, that must be paid to DOT for the issuance,
renewal, upgrading, or reinstatement of any operator’s license, endorsement, or
instruction permit.

Under current law, DOT may issue an identification card to a resident of this
state who does not possess a valid operator’s license containing the person’s
photograph. An identification card is valid for four years and may be renewed for
additional four-year periods. The fee for issuance or renewal of an identification
card is $9. :

‘Under this bill, the valid period for an identification card, and for each renewal
period, is eight years and the fee for issuance or renewal is $18. The bill also creates
a new federal security verification mandate fee of $10, in addition to any other
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applicable fee, that must be paid to DOT for the issuance, renewal, or reinstatement
of an identification card.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 343.10 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.10 (6) FeE. No person may file an application for an occupational license
under sub. (1) unless he or she first pays -afee-6£$40 to the department the fees
specified in s. 343.21 (1) (k) and (n).

SECTION 2. 343.135 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.135 (1) (a) 3. Pays the all required fee fees.

SECTION 3. 34—3.135 (7) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.135 (7) EXPIRATION; RENEWAL. A special restricted operator’s license issued
under this section shall expire 2 years after the date of issuance. Within 90 days prior
to the expiration of a license, the holder of the restricted license may renew the
license by paying the all required fee fees and passing the examination under sub.
(1) (a) 4.

SECcTION 4. 343.14 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 25 and
59, is repealed and recreated to read:

343.14 (1) Every application to the department for a license or identification
card or for renewal thereof shall be made upon the appropriate form furnished by the
department and shall be accompanied by all required fees. Names, addresses,
license numbers, and social security numbers obtained by the department under this
subsection shall be provided to the department of revenue for the purpose of

administering ss. 71.93 and 71.935 and state taxes.
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SECTION 5

SECTION 5. 343.21 (1) (n) of the statutes is created to read:

343.21 (1) (n) In addition to any other fee under this subsection, for the
issuance, renewal, upgrading, or reinstatement of any license, endorsement, or
instruction permit, a federal security verification mandate fee of $10.

SECTION 6. 343.22 (2m) of the statutes is amended to reé.d:

343.22 (2m) Whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a license
containing a photograph under this chapter, or an identification card under s. 343.50,
is notified by the local authorities or by the postal authorities that the address named
inthe ap?lication orinthe license or identification card issued to him or her has been
changed and the person applies for a duplicate license or identification card under
sub. (2), no fee fees shall be charged under s. 343.21 (1) (L) and (n) or 343.50 (5m) and
(7) for the duplicate license or identification card.

SECTION 7. 343.22 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.22 (8) When the name of a licensee or identification card holder is changed,
such person shall, within 10 dayé thereafter, apply for a duplicate license or
identification card showing the correct name and address. The licensee or
identification card holder shall return the current license or identification card to the
department along with the application for a duplicate. If the licensee holds more
than one type of license under this chapter, the licensee shall return all such licenses
to the department along with one application and fee fees for a duplicate license for
which the licensee may be issued a duplicate of each such license.

SECTION 8. 343.26 of the statutes is amended to read:

343.26 License after cancellation. Any person whose license has been
canceled, whether the license has been canceled by the secretary or stands canceled

as a matter of law, may apply for a new license at any time. Upon receipt of the
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SECTION 8
application and the all required fee fees, the department shall issue or refuse
issuance of the license as upon an original application. The department may, but
need not, require the applicant to submit to an examination as provided in s. 343.16.

| SECTION 9. 343.265 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.265 (2) A person whose voluntary surrender of license under sub. (1) or
(1m) has been accepted by the department may apply for a duplicate license under
s. 343.19, or, if the person’s license has expired during the period of surrender, a
renewal license, at any time. Upon receipt of the person’s application and the
applicable fee fees under s. 343.21, the department shall issue or deny the license as
provided in this subchapter. The department may require the person to submit to
an examination under s. 343.16 (5).

SECTION 10. 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) If the hearing examiner finds that any of the following
applies, the examiner shall order that the administrative suspension of the person’s
operating privilege be rescinded without payment of the any fee under s. 343.21 (1)
() or (n):

SEcCTION 11. 343.305 (8) (¢) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.305 (8) (¢) 5. If any court orders under this subsection that the
administrative suspension of the person’s operating privilege be rescinded, the
person need not pay the any fee under s. 343.21 (1) (§) or (n).

SEcTION 12. 343.315 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.315 (3) (b) If a person’s license or operating privilege is not otherwise
revoked or suspended as the result of an offense committed after March 31, 1992,
which results in disqualification under sub. (2) (a) to (f), (h), (1), or (j), the department

shall immediately disqualify the person from operating a commercial motor vehicle
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SECTION 12

for the period required under sub. (2) (a) to (f), (h), (i), or (j). Upon proper application
by the person and payment of -a-duplicate license fee the fees specified in s. 343.21

(1) (1) and (n), the department may issue a separate license authorizing only the

operation of vehicles other than commercial motor vehicles. Upon expiration of the
period of disqualiﬁcation, the person may apply for authorization to operate
commercial motor vehicles under s. 343.26.

SecTION 13. 343.38 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.38 (1) (a) Files with the department an application for license together
with the all required fee fees; and

SECTION 14. 343.38 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.38 (2) REINSTATEMENT OF NONRESIDENT'S OPERATING PRIVILEGE AFTER
REVbCATION BY WISCONSIN. A nonresident’s operating privilege revoked under the
laws of this state is feinstated as a matter of law when the period of revocation has
expired and such nonresident obtains a valid operator’s license issued by the
jurisdiction of the nonresident’s residence and pays the fee fees specified in s. 343.21
(1) §) and (n).

SecTION 15. 343.39 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.39 (1) (a) When, in the case df a suspended operating privilege, the period
of suspension has terminated, the reinstatement fee fees specified in s. 343.21 (1) (§)
has and (n) have been paid to the department and, for reinstatement of an operating

privilege suspended under ch. 344, the person files with the department proof of

~ financial responsibility, if required, in the amount, form and manner specified under

ch. 344.

SECTION 16. 343.50 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 16

343.50 (1) IssuaNcE. The department shall issue to every qualified applicant,
who has paid the all required fee fees, an identification card as provided in this
section.

SECTION 17. 343.50 (5) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,
is amended to read:

343.50 (5) VALID PERIOD; FEES. The fee for an original card and for the
reinstatement of an identification card after cancellétion under sub. (10) shall be $9
$18. The card shall be valid for the succeeding period of -4- 8 years from the
applicant’s next birthday after the date of issuance, except that a card that is issued
to a person who is not a United States citizen and who provides documentary proof
of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall expire on the date that the
person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized. If the
documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not state the date that
the person’s legal presence in the Unitéd States is no longer authorized, then the card
shall be valid for the succeeding period of -4- 8 years from the applicant’s next
birthday after the date of issuance.

SECTION 18. 343.50 (5m) of the statutes is created to read:

343.50 (5m) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION MANDATE FEE. In addition to any
other fee under this section, for the issuance of an original identification card or
duplicate identification card or for the renewal or reinstatement of an identification
card after cancellation under sub. (10), a federal security verification mandate fee of
$10 shall be paid to the department.

SECTION 19. 343.50 (6) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126,

is amended to read:
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SECTION 19

343.50 (6) RENEWAL. At least 30 days prior to the expiration of the card, the
department shall mail a renewal application to the last-known address of each
identification card holder. The department shall include with the application
information, as developed by all organ procurement organizations in cooperation
with the department, that promotes anatomical donations and which relates to the
anatomical donation opportunity available under s. 343.175. The fee for a renewal
identification card shall be $9 $18, which card shall be valid for 4- 8 years, except
that a card that is issued to a person who is not a United States citizen and who
provides documentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall
expire on the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer
authorized. If the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not
state the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer
authorized, then the card shall be valid for 4- 8 years.

SECTION 20. 344.18 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.18 (1) (intro.) Any registration suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall
remain suspended or revoked and shall not be renewed or reinstated until the person
pays thefeerequired unders. 341.36 (1m), meets one of the requirements under pars.
(a) to (d) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (lm). Any operating privilege
suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall remain suspended or revoked and shall
not be reinstated until the person pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) ()
and (n), complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the
following requirements:

SECTION 21. 344.18 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.18 (3) (intro.) If a person defaults in the payment of any installment under

a duly acknowledged written agreement, the secretary, upon notice of such default
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SECTION 21
given in no event later than 30 days after the time for final installment, yshall
immediately suspend the registrations and operating privilege of the defaulting
person. A suspension or revocation of registration under this subsection shall
remain in effect until the person pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m), meets
the requirement under par. (a) or (b) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (3m). A
suspension or revocation of an operating privilege under this subsection shall remain
in effect until the person pays the fee fees required in s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), complies
with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the following
requirements:

SECTION 22. 344.19 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.19 (3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect
that the operating privilege or registration of a resident of this state has been
suspended or revoked in such other state under a law providing’ for its suspension
or revocation for failure to deposit security for payment of judgments arising out of
a motor vehicle accident, under circumstances which would require the secretary to
suspend a nonresident’s operating privilege or registration had the accident occurred
in this state, the secretary shall suspend the operating privilege of such resident if
he or she was the operator and all of his or her registrations if he or she was the owner
of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department may accept a
certification which is in the form of a combined notice of required security and
suspension order, but shall not suspend a resident’s operating privilege or
registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 days have elapsed since the
time for depositing security in the other state expired. A suspension or revocation
of operating privilege under this section shall continue uhtil such resident furnishes

evidence of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the
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SECTION 22

deposit of security, pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n) and
complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38. A suspension or revocation of
registration undel; this section shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence
of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the deposit of
security, pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m) and satisfies the requirements
of sub. (3m).

SECTION 23. 345.47 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

345.47 (1) (¢) If a court or judge suspends an opérating privilege under this
section, the court or judge shall immediately take possession of the suspended license
and shall forward it to the department together with the notice of suspension, which
shall clearly state that the suspension was for failure to pay a forfeiture, plus costs,
fees, and surcharges imposed under ch. 814. The notice of suspension and the
suspended license, if it is available, shall be forwarded to the department within 48
hours after the order of suspension. Ifthe forfeiture, plus costs, fees, and sﬁrcharges
imposed under ch. 814, are paid during a period of suspension, the court or judge
shall immediately notify the department. Upon receipt of the notice and payment
of the reinstatement-fee fees under s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), the department shall
return the surrendered license.

SECTION 9348. Initial applicability; Transportation.

(1) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION MANDATE FEE. The treatment of sections
343.10 (6), 343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7), 343.14 (1), 343.21 (1) (n), 343.22 (3), 343.26,
343.265 (2), 343.315 (3) (b), 343.38 (1) (a) and (2), 343.39 (1) (a), 343.50 (1), (5), (5m),
and (6), 344.18 (1) (intro.) and (3) (intro.), 344.19 (3), and 345.47 (1) (c) of the statutes
first applies to license and identification card applications received by the

department of transportation on the effective date of this subsection.
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SECTION 9448

SECTION 9448. Effective dates; Transportation.

(1) FEDERAL SECURITY VERIFICATION MANDATE FEE. The treatment of sections
343.10 (6), 343.135 (1) (a) 3. and (7), 343.14 (1), 343.21 (1) (n), 343.22 (2m) and (3),
343.26, 343.265 (2), 343.305 (8) (b) 5. (intro.) and (c) 5., 343.315 (3) (b), 343.38 (1) (a)
and (2), 343.39 (1) (a), 343.50 (1), (5), (5m), and (6), 344.18 (1) (iﬁtro.) and (3) (intro.),
344.19 (3), and 345.47 (1) (¢) of the statutes and SECTION 9348 (1) of this act take effect
on January 1, 2008.

(END)




