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State of Wisconsin
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DOA:......Jablonsky, BB0173 - Vital records fee changes

FoRr 2007-09 BUDGET -- NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

Dont Ger\L-

1 AN AcT ...; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau [ | . “\.\%
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES =~ Tt/

OTHER HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES g

Currently, the state registrar or a local registrar must charge $12 for i 1ssu1ng
either a certified copy or an uncertified copy of a birth certificate’and $3 for issuing,
at the same time, any additional certified or uncertified copy of the same birth
certificate. Of the $12 charged, $7 must be forwarded to the secretary of
administration for deposit in program revenue ap ppropriations for the Child Abuse
and Neglect Prevention Board (CANPB), to beused for CANPB expenses, for certain
statewide projects, for the Famﬂy Resoutce Center Grant Program, and for technical
assistance to organizations. Phis/b sill increases the fee for issuance of a certified or
uncertified copy of a birth cert:tficate from $12 to $20, and increases, from $7 to %@
the amount that must be forwarded to the secretary of administration for deposit in
program revenue appropriation accounts of CANPB. The bill also increases the fee
for issuance of an additional certified or uncertified birth certificate copy from $3 to

$4.

S e s

Currently, the state registrar or a local registrar must charge $10 for issuing
one certified copy of a birth certificate for a birth resulting in stillbirth and $3 for any
additional certified copy of the same birth certificate; &a@ blll changes these fees to
$20 and $5, respectively. :
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Currently, the state registrar or a local reglstrar musf;t%garge in ddltlon to
other apphcable fees $1O for expe 1ted serv1ce in 1ssu1ng al record £a/cértificate =~

S

1is bill changes this fee to 1228

Currently, the state reglstfar o ol vegistear must charge $10 for making
selected amendments to birth fecords Wlthout a court order, making court-ordered
corrections to birth certificates, making any change in a birth certificate such as

Eéd?éf;fﬁ

state registrar etzaduedt FeFistray must charge $20 for registering certain new or
corrected vital records /,and $25 for late registration of birth certificates. Bhis })111 ~ ,,l
Iz /

changes these required fee amounts to the following: T

1. Twenty dolldrs for amending birth records for voluntary acknowledgment of
paternity and for,a legal name change within 365 days after birth.

2. Pairty/dollars for selected amendments to birth records without a court
order; court-ordered amendments to certain vital records; court-ordered
adjudications of paternity or determinations of paternity after death; delayed
acknowledgments of paternity; legal name changes; and impounding a vital record
or creating and registering a new vital record under certain circumstances.

3. Fifty dollars for the delayed filing of certain birth, marriage, or death
certificates.

For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

"\ The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

1 SEcCTION 1. 69.12 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

2 69.12 (1) If the state registrar cannot make an amendment to a vital record
3 under s. 69.11 and a person with a direct and tangible interest in the vital record
4 alleges that information on the vital record does not represent the actual facts in
5 effect at the time the record was filed, the person may petition the circuit court of the
6 county in which the event which is the subject of the vital record is alleged to have
7 occurred. The petition shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the original vital
8 record. If the court finds that the petitioner has established the actual facts of the
9 event in effect when the record was filed, the clerk of court shall report the court’s
10 determination to the state registrar on a form prescribed by the state registrar, along

11 with the fee required under s. 69.22 (5) (a)2 (b). Upon receipt of the report, the state
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SECTION 1

1 registrar shall, if information as to the cause of death on an original certificate of

2 death is changed or if information on a marriage certificate concerning the identity

3 of a parent of a party to a marriage is changed, act under sub. (4), or shall change the

4 record under s. 69.11 (5) and send a notice of the change to the local registrar who

5 shall make the change in the record filed in his or her office. This subsection does

6 not apply to a name change prohibited under s. 301.47.

7 SECTION 2. 69.13 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

8 69.13 (2) (d) The fee specified under s. 69.22 (5) h)-1 (bg).

9 SECTION 3. 69.15 (3) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
10 69.15 (3) (b) 1. Except as provided under par. (c), if the state registrar receives
11 a statement acknowledging paternity on a form prescribed by the state registrar and
12 signed by both of the birth parents of a child determined to be a marital child under
13 s. 767.803, a certified copy of the parents’ marriage certificate, and the fee required
14 under s. 69.22 (5) (b) 1, the state registrar shall insert the name of the husband from
15 the marriage certificate as the father if the name of the father was omitted on the
16 original birth certificate. The state registrar shall include on the form for the
17 Wﬁﬁg%nowledg‘rnent the items in s. 767.813 (5g). %4@

”“I”SW”{EW’?FM;;;W;:OZAZ 69.22 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read;!
19 69.22 (1) (c) TPwelve Twenty dollars for issuing an unfgj@tﬁﬁed copy of a birth
5 %E)t certificate or a certified copy of a birth certificate, $7 §1 giiwhlch shall be forwarded

21 to the secretary of administration as provided in sub. (Im) and credited to the
22 appropriations under s. 20.433 (1) (g) and (h); and $3 $4 for issuing any additional
23 certified or uncertified copy of the same birth certificate issued at the same time.
24 SECTION 5. 69.22 (1) (em) of the statutes is amended to read:
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1 69.22 (1) (cm) Ten Twenty dollars for issuing one certified copy of a certificate
2 of birth resulting in stillbirth and $3 $5 for any additional certified copy of the same
3 certificate issued at the same time.
o
4 SECTION 6. 69.22 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read: . 4 ; ;;\\
7 / . ;,»;
: fiij 69.22 (1) (d) In addition to other fees under ;}Eim subchapter, $10 8@ for o
6 expedlted service 1n issuing a vital record. P e ;\x\%
T L Y e [
SECTION 7. 69.22 (5) (a) of the statutes is repealed and re%reated to read:
8 69.22 (5) (a) Twenty dollars for making chaﬁges under s. 6%; 15(3) (b) 3. or (4m).
i ]
9 SECTION 8. 69.22 (5) (b) of the s}gj_g,tefs is repealed and recreated to read:
@ 69.22 (5) (b) Phirty ;{dollars for making a change under g. 69.11 (4), 69.12 (1),
11 (3), or (5), or 69.15 (3) (a) 3., (b) 1. or 2., or (4) (a).
12 SECTION 9. 69.22 (5) (bg) of the statutes is create d to read:
13N 69.22 (5) (bg) Thipty ars for im oundm a vital record or creating or
3 g M mp g g
14 registering a new vital record under s. 69.12 (4), 69.13, 69.14 (1) (h), or 69.15 (2), (3)
15 (a) 1.or 2., (3m), or (4) (b).
16 SECTION 10. 69.22 (5) (bj) of the statutes is created to read:
17 69.22 (5) (bj) Fifty dollars for the delayed filing of a vital record under s. 69.14
—
18 (2) (b) 5. or 6., 69.16 (2), or 69.19. Y AT
¢ %Q; L ;
19 SECTION 9421. Effective dates; Health and Family Services. -
g / / \O%/
@"6} (1) VITAL RECORDS FEE INCREASES. The treatment of secnansﬁa 22 (1 )\(c) (cm), ?
. v v v
“ﬁ ) and (d)/a d (5) (a) (b) (bg), and (bj) of the statutes takes effect on the first day of the /
/’ /
22 3rd m?ﬁth beginning after the effective date of this subsection. //”
,ﬂ
23 / (END) /”‘/ﬁ
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LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

INSERT A-1

X Currently, except for issuance of certain birth certificates, the state registrar
or a local registrar must charge $7 for issuing a certified or uncertified copy of a
certificate of birth, death, divorce or annulment, or marriage (vital record) or for
verifying information about the event without issuing a copy, and $3 for issuing any
additional copy of the same vital record at the same time. This bill increases to $20
the fee for issuance of a certified or uncertified copy of certain vital records, increases
to $20 the fee for issuing an additional copy at the same time, and increases to $10
the fee for verifying information about the event without issuing a copy.

INSERT A-2
4? Currently, the state registrar or a local regisf¥ar may charge $7 to search vital
records if the registrar finds no record and an additional $7 if the requester

provides no or little information. The bill increases to $10 the fee to search vital
records and the fee if the requester provides no or little information.

The bill requires local registrars to forward to the secretary of administration,
for credit to a program revenue appropriation account within DHF'S, 66 per ¢ent of
all revenue generated by fees for issuance of copies of vital records, other than divorce
records and certain birth certificates. The bill also requires DHFS to transfer
$1,000,000 in each fiscal year from this program revenue appropriation account to
an appropriation account for local assistance.

JNSERT 2-1
SECTION 1. 20.435 (1) (gm) of the statutes is amended to read:

20.435 (1) (gm) Licensing, review and certifying activities; fees; supplies and
services. The amounts in the schedule for the purposes specified in ss. 146.50 (8),
252.23, 252.24, 252.245, 254.176, 254.178, 254.179, 254.20 (5) and (8), 254.31 to
254.39, 254.41, 254.47, 254.61 to 254.88, and 255.08 (2) and ch. 69, for the purchase
and distribution of medical supplies and to analyze and provide data under s. 250.04.
All moneys received under ss. 69.22 i;m}, 146.50 (5) (f) and (8) (d), 250.04 (3m),
252.23 (4) (a), 252.24 (4) (a), 252.245 (9), 254.176, 254.178, 254.181, 254.20 (5) and
(8), 254.31 to 254.39, 254.41, 254.47, 254.61 to 254.88, and 255.08 (2) (b) and ch. 69,

other than s. 69.22 (1m), and as reimbursement for medical supplies shall be credited

v
to this appropriation account. The department shall, in each fiscal year, transfer
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1 from this appropriation account to the appropriation account under sub. (3) (ky)
2 $1.,000,000.

History: 1971 c. 125 ss. 138 to 153, 522 (1); 1971 c. 211, 215, 302, 307, 322; 1973 c. 90, 198, 243; 1973 ¢. 284 5. 32; 1973 ¢. 308, 321, 322, 333, 336; 1975 c. 39 ss. 153
to 173, 732 (1), (2); 1975 ¢. 41 5. 52; 1975 ¢. 82, 224, 292; 1975 ¢. 413 5. 18; 1975 ¢. 422, 423; 1975 ¢. 430 ss. 1, 2, 80; 1977 ¢. 29 ss. 236 to 273, 1657 (18); 1977 c. 112; 1977
c. 203 5. 106; 1977 c. 213, 233, 327, 1977 c. 354 5. 101; 1977 c. 359; 1977 c. 418 ss. 129 to 137, 924 (18) (d), 929 (55); 1977 c. 428 5. 115; 1977 ¢. 447; 1979 ¢. 32 5. 92 (11);
1979 c. 34, 48; 1979 c. 1025, 237; 1979 ¢. 111, 175, 177; 1979 ¢. 221 ss. 118g to 133, 2202 (20); 1979 ¢. 238, 300, 331, 361; 1981 ¢. 20 ss. 301 to 356b, 2202 (20) (b), (d), (g);
1981 ¢. 93 55. 3 t0 8, 186; 1981 ¢. 298, 314, 317, 359, 390; 1983 a. 27 5. 318 to 410, 2202 (20); 1983 a. 192, 199, 245; 1983 a. 333 5. 6; 1983 a. 363, 398, 410, 427; 1983 a.
435ss.2,3,7, 1983 a. 538; 1985 a. 24, 29, 56, 73, 120, 154, 176, 255, 281, 285, 332; 1987 a. 27, 339, 368, 398, 399, 402; 1987 a. 403 ss. 25, 256; 1987 a. 413; 1989 a. 31, 53;
1989 a. 56 ss. 13, 259; 1989 a. 102; 1989 a. 107 ss. 11, 13, 17 to 37; 1989 a. 120, 122, 173, 199, 202, 318, 336, 359; 1991 a. 6, 39, 189, 269, 275, 290, 315, 322; 1993 a. 16, 27,
76, 98,99, 168, 183, 377, 437, 445, 446, 450, 469, 479, 490, 491; 1995 a. 27 ss. 806 to 961r, 9126 (19); 1995 a. 77, 98; 1995 a. 216 ss. 26, 27; 1995 a. 266, 276, 289, 303, 404,
417, 440, 448, 464, 468; 1997 a. 27 ss. 211, 214, 216, 217, 527 to 609; 1997 a. 35, 105, 231, 237, 280, 293; 1999 a. 5, 9, 32, 52,84, 103, 109, 113, 133, 185, 186; 2001 a. 16,
69, 103, 105; 2003 a. 33, 139, 186, 318, 320, 326, 327, 2005 a. 15, 22,2005 a. 25 ss. 299 to 331, 2498 to 2500, 2510; 2005 a. 74, 107, 199, 228, 264, 388, 406, 434.

SECTION 2. 20.435 (3) (ky) of the statutes is amended to read:
20.435 (3) (ky) Interagency and intra-agency aids. Except as provided in par.

(kw), all moneys received from other state agencies and all moneys received by the

(o2 B G

department from the department for local assistance, including all moneys

v
7 transferred from sub. (1) (gm) and credited to this appropriation account, for such

v’
8 purpeses local assistance.

History: 1971 c. 125 ss. 138 to 155, 522 (1); 1971 c. 211, 215, 302, 307, 322; 1973 c. 90, 198, 243; 1973 c. 284 5. 32; 1973 c. 308, 321, 322, 333, 336; 1975 c. 39 ss. 153
to 173,732 (1), (2); 1975 ¢. 41 5. 52; 1975 c. 82, 224, 292; 1975 ¢. 413 5. 18; 1975 ¢. 422, 423; 1975 ¢. 430 ss. 1, 2, 80; 1977 c. 29 ss. 236 to 273, 1657 (18); 1977 c. 112; 1977
¢. 203 5. 106; 1977 . 213,233,327, 1977 ¢. 354 5.101; 1977 ¢. 359; 1977 ¢. 418 s5. 129 10 137, 924 (18) (d), 929 (55); 1977 ¢. 428 5. 115; 1977 ¢. 447, 1979 ¢.32'5. 92 (11):
1979 ¢. 34,48, 1979 ¢.. 102 5.237;1979 c. 111, 175,177, 1979 ¢. 221 ss. 118g to 133, 2202 (20); 1979 ¢. 238, 300, 331, 361; 1981 ¢. 20 ss. 301 to 356b, 2202 (20) (b), (d), (g);
1981 c. 93 s5. 3 to 8, 186; 1981 c. 298, 314, 317, 359, 390; 1983 a. 27 ss. 318 to 410, 2202 (20); 1983 a. 192, 199, 245; 1983 a. 333 5. 6; 1983 a. 363, 398, 410, 427; 1983 a.
4355s5.2,3,7,1983 a, 538; 1985 a. 24, 29, 36, 73, 120, 154, 176, 255, 281, 285, 332; 1987 a. 27, 339, 368, 398, 399, 402; 1987 a. 403 ss.-25, 256; 1987 2. 413; 1989 a. 31, 53;
19892, 5635 13, 259; 1989'a, 102, 1989 a. 107 55 11,13, 17 t0'37; 1989 a. 120, 122,173,199, 202, 318, 336; 359; 1991 a. 6,39, 189,269, 275 290, 315,322: 1993 a 16, 27,
76, 98,99, 168, 183, 377,437,445, 446, 450, 469, 479,490, 491; 1995 a. 27 ss. 806 to 961r, 9126 (19); 1995 a. 77, 98, 1995 2. 216 s5. 26, 27; 1995 a. 266, 276, 289, 303, 404,
417, 440, 448, 464, 468; 1997 a. 27 ss. 211, 214, 216, 217, 527 to 609; 1997 a. 35, 105, 231, 237, 280, 293; 1999 a..5, 9, 32, 52, 84, 103, 109,113, 133,185, 186; 2001 a. 16,
69, 103, 10552003 a. 33, 139, 186, 318, 320, 326, 327, 2005 a. 15, 22; 2005 a. 25 ss. 299 to 331, 2498 to 2500, 2510; 2005 a. 74, 107, 199, 228, 264, 388, 406, 434.

INSERT 3-17
9 SECTION 3. 69.22 (1) (a) of ‘t/he statutes is amended to read:
10 69.22 (1) (a) Except as provided under par. (c), $7 &E for issuing one certified
11 copy of a vital record and $3 &Z_g for any additional certified copy of the same vital

12 record issued at the same time.

History: 1985 a. 315; 1985 a. 332 5. 253; 1987 a. 27; 1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 16, 27; 1995 a. 27; 1997 a. 191, 21¢; 2001 a. 16, 106; 2003 a. 33, 300.

13
v
14 SECTION 4. 69.22 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
v
15 69.22 (1) (b) Except as provided under par. (c), $20 for issuing an uncertified

e

16 copy of a vital record issued under s. 69.21 (2) (a) or (b) and $20 for any additional
"4

17 copy of the same vital record issued at the same time, or $10 for verifying information
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1 about the event submitted by a requester without issuance of a copy;-$%-and-$3-for

History: 1985 a. 315; 1985 a. 332 5. 253; 1987 a. 27; 1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 16, 27; 1995 a. 27; 1997 a. 191, 210; 2001 a. 16, 106; 2003 a. 33, 300.

INSERT 4-6
SECTION 5. 69.22 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

'd
69.22 (2) The state registrar and any local registrar may charge $7 $10 for a
v
search of vital records if the registrar finds no record. In addition to the $7 $10, a

registrar may charge a fee to cover the costs of a search of vital records if the

requester provides no identifying information or identifying information which is

w -2 o Ot s w

imprecise or inadequate.

History: 1985 a. 315; 1985 a. 332 s. 253; 1987 a. 27; 1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 16, 27, 1995 a. 27;.199’7 a. 191, 210; 2001 a. 16, 106; 2003 a. 33, 300
SECTION 6. 69.22 (3m) of the statutes is created to read:

v v v v

10 69.22 (3m) Except as provided in subs. (1) (c) and (d), (2), (3), and (4), a local

11 registrar that collects a fee under this section for a vital record, other than a vital

12N record relating to divorce or annulment, shall forward 66 pe@ent of the fee collected

13 to the secretary of administration, to be credited to the appropriation account under
v ,

14 s. 20.435 (1) (gm).



Kennedy, Debora

Page 1 of 2

From: Kennedy, Debora

Sent:  Friday, January 26, 2007 3:41 PM
To: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

Please tell me more about the three grant purposes:

1. Are the domestic abuse services at shelter facilities grants to be administered under s. 46.95 or some other

program? /1 Y

2. lIs there a current program for the expenditures specified in #2 of your instructions? Am | to create

| need more details.

3. Ditto for the expenditures specified in #3 of your instructions.

one? If so,

From: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 3:30 PM
To: Kennedy, Debora

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

Sorry,

LRB-1508/1

From: Kennedy, Debora [mailto:Debora.Kennedy@legis.wisconsin.gov]
--Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 3:29 PM

To: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

What LRB number are you referring to for these changes?

From: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 2:55 PM

To: Kennedy, Debora

Cc: Jablonsky, Sue - DOA; Johnston, James - DOA
Subject: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

Debora,

These amounts may change, but we are going to need to direct excess VR revenue. In the VR draft analysis for

Sue you have $1 million going to 3(ky).

We need to specify that $1,625,000 goes to 3(ky) so the department can make grants for the following purposes:

1. $1,000,000 annually for domestic abuse services at shelter facilities.

2. $500,000 annually for comprehensive early childhood initiatives in Dane County that provide home visiting,
employment preparation and support, and integrate community residents into service development and

service delivery.

3. $125,000 annually in Milwaukee County for organizations that provide gender-responsive AODA tfreatment,
case management, child and family services and educational services to drug dependent women with

children:

01/28/2007
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Thanks,
Dennis Rhodes
6-2288
g
|
01/28/2007
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Kennedy, Debora

From: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Sent:  Friday, January 26, 2007 3:30 PM
To: Kennedy, Debora

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

Sorry,

LRB—1508/1

From: Kennedy, Debora [mailto:Debora.Kennedy@legis.wisconsin.gov]
Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 3:29 PM

To: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

What LRB number are you referring to for these changes?

From: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 2:55 PM

To: Kennedy, Debora

Cc: Jablonsky, Sue - DOA; Johnston, James - DOA
Subject: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

Debora,

These amounts may change, but we are going to need to direct excess VR revenue. In the VR draft analysis for
Sue you have $1 million going to 3(ky).

We need to specify that $1,625,000 goes to 3(ky) so the department can make grants for the following purposes:

1. $1,000,000 annually for domestic abuse services at shelter facilities. bucdia 4 45

2. $500,000 annually for comprehensive early childhood initiatives in Dane County that provide home visiting,
% employment preparation and support, and integrate community residents into service development and
™F service delivery.

3. $125,000 annually in Milwaukee County for organizations that provide gender-responsive AODA treatment,
, case management, child and family services and educational services to drug dependent women with
4 children.

Thanks, Hi, 51z

Dennis Rhodes
6-2288

01/26/2007



Kennedy, Debora

From: Jablonsky, Sue - DOA

Sent: Sunday, January 28, 2007 12:42 PM
To: Kennedy, Debora

Subject: FW: VR stat language

————— Original Message—-—-—--

From: Hadidian, Ellen [mailto:HADIDECQ@dhfs.state.wi.us]

Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 4:49 PM

To: Jablonsky, Sue - DOA

Cc: Kiesow, John A - DHFS; Langlois, Linda L - DHFS; Peterson, Peggy L ~ DHFS; Moore,
Donna J - DHFS

Subject: VR stat language

Our comments:

V/fDid you intend that additional copies of birth fees should be $4 and additional copies of
other records should be $20? If so, this is mostly correct.
However, the fee for additional copies of stillbirth certs (5.69.22 (1) (cm)) is still
shown as $5. It should be consistent with other additional .copies, which is $4, according
to this draft.

p. 5, line 5&6: please restore the language crossed out. People do ask for additional
copies of verifications. The $7 has been replaced by $10 and can stay crossed out, but
the copy fee should be restored and changed from $3 to whatever you have decided the copy

fee should be. % ,p§%%§§}§{§§}i at ﬁ/ IR

Section 12: as it reads, the state would get 66% of any fee the county collects except
birth cert fees. I believe your intent is to give the state 66% of any fee increase, s0

probably should say something like "66% of [specific dollar amount]"™ - eg., if you
increase fee to $20 from $7, it would be 66% of $13.

™
We'll be glad to loz?gat the . language once more when correctlons are made - thanks Sue.

S

&g £A, Ei. :yiﬁé CA %E?‘iﬁ%‘gv A,
Lﬁéﬁﬁ?g ﬁ% d§§§5§

(f ﬁw s b ,,“wg%ég ¥
. o
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Kennedy, Debora

From: Johnston, James - DOA

Sent:  Sunday, January 28, 2007 2:38 PM
To: Kennedy, Debora

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

For comprehensive early childhood initiatives in Dane County providing home visiting and employment
preparation and support for low-income families.

From: Kennedy, Debora [mailto:Debora.Kennedy@legis.wisconsin.gov]
Sent: Sunday, January 28, 2007 2:32 PM

To: Johnston, James - DOA

Subject: FW: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

From: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Sent: Sunday, January 28, 2007 1:00 PM
To: Kennedy, Debora

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

Debora,
Jim and | would like to give you a call on this. Are you in?
Thanks

Dennis

From: Kennedy, Debora [mailto:Debora.Kennedy@legis.wisconsin.gov]
Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 3:41 PM

To: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

Please tell me more about the three grant purposes:

1. Are the domestic abuse services at shelter facilities grants to be administered under s. 46.95 or some other
program?

2. Is there a current program for the expenditures specified in #2 of your instructions? Am | to create one? If so,
I need more details.

3. Ditto for the expenditures specified in #3 of your instructions.

From: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 3:30 PM
To: Kennedy, Debora

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

Sorry,

01/28/2007
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From: Kennedy, Debora [maiito:Debora.Kennedy@Ilegis.wisconsin.gov]
Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 3:29 PM

To: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Subject: RE: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

What LRB number are you referring to for these changes?

From: Rhodes, Dennis - DOA

Sent: Friday, January 26, 2007 2:55 PM

To: Kennedy, Debora

Cc: Jablonsky, Sue - DOA; Johnston, James - DOA
Subject: VR funded grants under 3(ky)

Debora,

These amounts may change, but we are going to need to direct excess VR revenue. In the VR draft analysis for
Sue you have $1 million going to 3(ky).

We need to specify that $1,625,000 goes to 3(ky) so the department can make grants for the following purposes:

1. $1,000,000 annually for domestic abuse services at shelter facilities.

2. $500,000 annually for comprehensive early childhood initiatives in Dane County that provide home visiting,
employment preparation and support, and integrate community residents into service development and
service delivery.

3. $125,000 annually in Milwaukee County for organizations that provide gender-responsive AODA treatment,
case management, child and family services and educational services to drug dependent women with
children.

g Thanks,

Dennis Rhodes
6-2288

01/28/2007
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Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

OTHER HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Currently, except for issuance of certain birth certificates, the state registrar
or a local registrar must charge $7 for issuing a certified or uncertified copy of a
certificate of birth, death, divorce or annulment, or marriage (vital record) or for
verifying information about the event without issuing a copy, and $3 for issuing any
additional copy of the same vital record at the same time. This bill increases to $20
the fee for issuance of a certified or uncertified copy of certain vital records, increases
to $20 the fee for issuing an additional copy at the same time, and increases to $10
the fee for verifying information about the event without issuing a copy.

Currently, the state registrar or a local registrar must charge $12 for issuing
either a certified copy or an uncertified copy of a birth certificate and $3 for issuing,
at the same time, any additional certified or uncertified copy of the same birth
certificate. Of the $12 charged, $7 must be forwarded to the secretary of
administration for deposit in program revenue appropriations for the Child Abuse
and Neglect Prevention Board (CANPB), to be used for CANPB expenses, for certain
statewide projects, for the Family Resource Center Grant Program, and for technical
assistance to organizations. The bill increases the fee for issuance of a certified or
uncertified copy of a birth certificate from $12 to $20, and increases, from $7 to %
the amount that must be forwarded to the secretary of administration for deposit in

(BID
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program revenue appropriation accounts of CAEPB The bﬂl also nzicreases the fee
for issuance of an additional certified or uncertaﬁed birth certlﬁcate copy from $3 to

$4.

Currently, the state registrar or aele”‘éal registrar must charge $10 for issuing
one certified copy of a birth certificatefor a birth resulting in stillbirth and $3 for any
additional certified Mmee birth certificate; the bill changes these fees to
$20 and $5; respectively. /

Currently, the state registrar or a local reglstrar must gharge in addition to
other applicable fees, $10 for expedited service in issuing a v;fal record; bill changes
this fee to $20.

Currently, the state registrar or a local registrar may charge $7 to search vital
records if the registrar finds no record and an additional’'$7 if the requester provides
no or little information. The bill increases to $10 the'fee to search vital records and

the fee if the requester provides no or little information. —7 Evom i toas 52 v m&@e =4

The bill requires local registrarsto forward to the secnetary of administration,
for credit to a program revenue"a’fpxropmatlon accouthhm DHFS, 66 percent of
all revenue generated by rissuance o of vital records, other than divorce
records ard-eertaih thi tfieates) (Yhe bill alsg requires DHFS to transfer
31,600 060 ;«im each ﬁscal year from this program revenue appropriation account to
approprlatlon account for local assistancey K’ IMNSERT A gg

Currently, the state registrar must charge $10 for making selected
amendments to birth records without a court order, making court-ordered
corrections to birth certificates, making any change in a birth certificate such as

acknowledgment of paternity, and for making court-ordered name changes. The
state registrar must charge $20 for registering certain new or corrected vital records
and $25 for late registration of birth certificates. The hill changes these required fee
amounts to the following:

1. Twenty dollars for amending birth records for voluntary acknowledgment of
paternity and for a legal name change within 365 days after birth.

2. Forty dollars for selected amendments to birth records without a court order;
court-ordered amendments to certain vital records; court-ordered adjudications of
paternity or determinations of paternity after death; delayed acknowledgments of
paternity; legal name changes; and impounding a vital record or creating and
registering a new vital record under certain circumstances.

3. Fifty dollars for the delayed filing of certain birth, marriage, or death
certificates.

For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

1 SEcTION 1. 20.435 (1) (gm) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 1
1 20.435 (1) (gm) Licensing, review and certifying activities; fees; supplies and

services. The amounts in the schedule for the purposes specified in ss. 146.50 (8),
252.23, 252.24, 252.245, 254.176, 254.178, 254.179, 254.20 (5) and (8), 254.31 to
254.39, 254.41, 254.47, 254.61 to 254.88, and 255.08 (2) and ch. 69, for the purchase

and distribution of medical supplies and to analyze and provide data under s. 250.04.

2 S L R T

All moneys received under ss. 69.22 (3m), 146.50 (5) (f) and (8) (d), 250.04 (3m),
7 252.23 (4) (a), 252.24 (4) (a), 252.245 (9), 254.176, 254.178, 254.181, 254.20 (5) and
8 (8), 254.31 to 254.39, 254.41, 254.47, 254.61 to 254.88, and 255.08 (2) (b) and ch. 69,

9 other than s. 69.22 (1m), and as reimbursement for medical supplies shall be credited
@ to this appropriation account. The department shall, in each fiscal vear _transfer
11 from this appropriation account to the appropriation account under sub. (3) (ky) :‘
ﬁzf E 80,0008 [ueeerS- 1= Al ~Fh1a5P000
SECTION 2 20.435 (3) (ky) of the statutes is amended to read:
5 14 20.435 (3) (ky) Interagency and intra-agency aids. Except as provided in par.
§
15 (kw), all moneys received from other state agencies and all moneys received by the

16 department from the department for local assistance, including all moneys

17 transferred from sub. (1) (gm) and credited to this appropriation account, for such
18 i

19 SECTION 3 69.12 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

20 69.12 (1) If the state registrar cannot make an amendment to a vital record
21 under s. 69.11 and a person with a direct and tangible interest in the vital record
22 alleges that information on the vital record does not represent the actual facts in
23 effect at the time the record was filed, the person may petition the circuit court of the
24 county in which the event which is the subject of the vital record is alleged to have

25 occurred. The petition shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the original vital
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SECTION 3
record. If the court finds that the petitioner has established the actual facts of the
event in effect when the record was filed, the clerk of court shall report the court’s
determination to the state registrar on a form prescribed by the state registrar, along
with the fee required under s. 69.22 (5) (&)-2 (b). Upon receipt of the report, the state
registrar shall, if information as to the cause of death on an original certificate of
death is changed or if information on a marriage certificate concerning the identity
of a parent of a party to a marriage is changed, act under sub. (4), or shall change the
record under s. 69.11 (5) and send a notice of the change to the local registrar who
shall make the change in the record filed in his or her office. This subsection does
not apply to a name change prohibited under s. 301.47.

SECTION 4. 69.13 (2) (d)‘of the statutes is amended to read:

69.13 (2) (d) The fee specified under s. 69.22 (5) (o)1 (bg).

SECTION 5. 69.15 (3) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

69.15 (3) (b) 1. Except as provided under par. (¢), if the state registrar receives
a statement acknowledging paternity on a form prescribed by the state registrar and
signed by both of the birth parents of a child determined to be a marital child under
s. 767.803, a certified copy of the parents’ marriage certificate, and the fee required
under s. 69.22 (5) (b) 1, the state registrar shall insert the name of the husband from
the marriage certificate as the father if the name of the father was omitted on the
original birth certificate. The state registrar shall include on the form for the
acknowledgment the items in s. 767.813 (5g).

SECTION 6. 69.22 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

69.22 (1) (a) Except as provided under par. (¢), $7 $20 for issuing one certified
copy of a vital record and $3 320 for any additional certified copy of the same vital

record issued at the same time.
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SECTION 7. 692 (1) (b) of

& statutes is amended to /‘read “\

SECTION 8. 69.22 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read: 7
69.22 (1) (c) Fwelve Twenty dollars for issuing an uncer of a birth
certificate or a certified copy of a birth certificate, $7 $19 f ch shall be forwarded
to the secretary of administration as provided in sub. (1m) and credited to the
appropriations under s. 20.433 (1) (g) and (h); and $3 $4 for issuing any additional
certified or uncertified copy of the same birth certificate issued at the same time.

SECTION 9. 69.22 (1) (cm) of the statutes is amended to read:

69.22 (1) (cm) Ten Twenty dollars for issuing one certified copy of a certificate
of birth resulting in stillbirth and $3 %yf{g;ény additional certified copy of the same

X,W"M\‘ 5
certificate issued at the same time. %’ﬁ

SECTION 10. 69.22 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

69.22 (1) (d) In addition to other fees under this subchapter, $10 $20 for
expedited service in issuing a vital record.

SECTION 11. 69.22 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

69.22 (2) The state registrar and any local registrar may charge $7 $10 for a
search of vital records if the registrar finds no record. In addition to the $7 $10, a
registrar may charge a fee to cover the costs of a search of vital records if the
requester provides no identifying information or identifying information which is

imprecise or inadequate.
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m,w

to the,,sef" retary of administration, to be credited to the appropmatlon account under y;
o

N6 s 20435 (1) (em).

[TRBEET s~ (V)

{

SECTION 13. 69.22 (5) (a) of the statutes is repealed and recreated to read:

8 69.22 (5) (a) Twenty dollars for making changes unders. 69.15 (3) (b) 3. or (4m).
9 SECTION 14. 69.22 (5) (b) of the statutes is repealed and recreated to read:
10 69.22 (5) (b) Forty dollars for making a change under s. 69.11 (4), 69.12 (1), (3),
11 or (5), or 69.15 (3) (a) 3., (b) 1. or 2., or (4) (a).
12 SECTION 15. 69.22 (5) (bg) of the statutes is created to read:
13 69.22 (5) (bg) Forty dollars for impounding a vital record or creating or
14 registering a new vital record under s. 69.12 (4), 69.13, 69.14 (1) (h), or 69.15 (2), (3)
15 (a) 1. or 2., (3m), or (4) (b).
16 SECTION 16. 69.22 (5) (bj) of the statutes is created to read:
17 69.22 (5) (bj) Fifty dollars for the delayed filing of a vital record under s. 69.14
18 (2) (h)‘_g or 6., 69.16 (2), or 69.19.
NS (- | BV ————
7 SEcTioN 9421. Effective dates; Health and Family Services. ,
20 4 (1) VrraL RECORDS FEE INCREASES. The tri;?tment of se§tion§ 23 435 (}) (gm; and
@ (3)!(1{37 ){E\%@ 12 (1) 69 13(2) (d), 69 15 (3) (b) 1., 69.22 (1) (a), (b), (c), (cm), and (d) (2),
22 m) aiild (5) (a), (b), (bg), and (hjf;%?%t{ﬁ:tes takes effect on the first day o? the
23 3rd féonth beginning after the effective date of this subsection.
24 ) / (END)

g

.
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INSERT A

—"; from this appropriation account, DHFS must distribute $1,000,000 in each
fiscal year for domestic abuse services and $125,000 in each fiscal year to Milwaukee
County to organizations to provide gender-responsive alcohol and other drug abuse
services and other services to drug dependent women with children. The bill also
requires DHFS to transfer $500,000 in each fiscal year from the program revenue
appropriation account to an appropriation account for interagency and intra-agency
local assistance; from this appropriation account, DHFS must distribute $500,000
in each fiscal year for comprehensive early childhood initiatives in Dane County for
low-income.families.

INSERT 3-12 A

1 and shall transfer $500,000 from this appropriation account to the
2 appropriation account under sub. (3) (kz)‘;

INSERT 3-12B
3 SECTION«%% 20.435 (3) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:
4 20.435 (3) (bm) Services for children and families. A sum sufficient, equal to
5 the amount determined under s. 77.63 (2), for grants to counties under s. 46.513 (1).

é History: 1971 c. 125 55,138 10 155, 522 (1), 1971 ¢. 211, 215,302, 307,322, 1973 ¢. 90,198, 243; 1973 ¢. 284 5. 32; 1973 ¢, 308, 321, 322, 333, 336 1975 ¢. 39 55. 153
to 173, 732.(1),(2); 1975 ¢. 415, 52; 1975 ¢..82,224, 292, 1975 ¢. 413 5. 18; 1975.¢. 422,423, 1975 . 430 s5.:1, 2, 80; 1977 ¢. 29 55. 236 10.273, 1657 (18); 1977 ¢. 112::1977
c. 203'5. 106; 1977-¢. 213, 233, 327; 1977 ¢. 354 5. 1011977 c. 359; 1977 ¢ 418's5.°129 10 137, 924 (18) (d), 929 (55); 1977 ¢. 428’5 115, 1977 ¢.'447; 1979 ¢. 32 5. 92 (11);
1979 ¢. 34, 48, 1979 ¢. 1025, 237; 1979 ¢. 111, 175, 177, 1979 c. 221 ss. 118g to 133, 2202 (20); 1979 ¢. 238,300, 331, 361; 1981 c. 20 s5. 301 to 356b, 2202 (20) (b), (d), (g);
1981 c. 93 5. 3 to 8, 186; 1981 c. 298, 314, 317, 359, 390; 1983 a. 27 ss. 318 to 410, 2202 (20); 1983 a. 192, 199, 245; 1983 a. 333 5. 6; 1983 a. 363, 398, 410,427, 1983 a.
435ss.2,3,7; 1983 a. 538; 1985 a. 24, 29, 56, 73, 120, 154, 176, 255, 281, 285,332; 1987 a. 27, 339, 368, 398, 399, 402; 1987 a. 403 ss. 25,.256; 1987 a. 413; 1989 a. 31, 53:
1989 a. 56 ss. 13,259, 1989 a. 102;.1989 a. 107 ss: 11, 13, 17 to 37; 1989 a. 120,122, 173, 199, 202, 318, 336, 359; 1991 2.'6,39, 189,269, 275, 290, 315,322; 1993 a. 16, 27,
76, 98, 99, 168, 183, 377,437, 445,446,450, 469, 479, 490,491; 1995 a.27 s5..806 10 961r, 9126 (19); 1995 a. 77, 98; 1995 a. 216 ss5..26,:27; 1995 a. 266,276,289, 303, 404,
417, 440, 448, 464, 468; 1997 a, 27 s5. 211,214,216, 217, 527 10 609; 1997 a. 35,105,231, 237,280, 293; 1999 a. 5,9, 32, 52,84, 103, 109, 113, 133, 185, 186; 2001 a. 16,
69, 103, 105; 2003 a. 33, 139, 186, 318, 320, 326, 327; 2005-a. 15, 22; 2005 a. 25-55.299 to 331, 2498102500, 2510; 2005 a. 74, 107, 199, 228, 264, 388, 406, 434.

INSERT 3-18
SEC’I‘ION%'20.435 (3) (kz) of the statutes is amended to read:

20.435 (3) (kz) Interagency and intra-agency local assistance. Except as

provided in par. (kw), all moneys received from other state agencies and all moneys

w e 3 O

received by the department from the department for local assistance, including all

10 moneys transferred from sub. (1) (gr__ni ;nd credited to this appropriation account, for

11 such-purpeses local assistance.

History: 1971 c. 125 ss. 138 to 155, 522 (1} 1971 c. 211, 215, 302, 307, 322; 1973 ¢. 90, 198, 243; 1973 c. 284 5. 32; 1973 ¢. 308, 321, 322, 333, 336: 1975 ¢. 39 55. 153
to 173, 732 (1), (2); 1975 c. 41 5. 52; 1975 ¢. 82, 224, 292 1975 ¢. 413 5. 18; 1975 ¢. 422, 423; 1975 ¢. 430 5s. 1, 2, 80: 1977 ¢. 29 5. 236 to 273, 1657 (18); 1977 c. 112; 1977
c. 203 5. 106; 1977 ¢. 213, 233, 327; 1977 ¢. 354 5. 1015 1977 ¢. 359; 1977 c. 418 s5. 129 10 137, 924 (18) (d), 929 (55); 1977 c. 4285, 115; 1977 ¢. 447, 1979 ¢. 325. 92 (11};
1979 ¢. 34, 48 1979 c. 102 5. 237; 1979 ¢. 111, 175, 177; 1979 . 221 s5. 118g to 133, 2202 (20); 1979 c. 238, 300, 331, 361: 1981 c. 20 ss. 301 to 356b, 2202 (20) (b), (d), (2);
1981 ¢. 93 ss. 310 8,-186; 1981 ¢. 298, 314, 317, 359, 390; 1983 a. 27 ss. 318 t0 410, 2202 (20}, 1983 a, 192, 199, 245; 1983 a. 333 5. 6; 1983 a. 363, 398, 410, 427, 1983 a.
43555.2,3,7; 1983 a. 538; 1985 a. 24,29, 56,73, 120, 154, 176, 255, 281, 285, 332; 1987 a. 27, 339, 368, 398, 399, 402; 1987 a. 403 ss. 25, 256; 1987 a. 413; 1989 a. 31, 53;
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1989 a. 56 s5. 13, 259; 1989 a. 102; 1989 a. 107 ss. 11, 13, 17 to 37; 1989 a. 120, 122, 173, 199, 202, 318, 336, 359; 1991 a. 6, 39, 189, 269, 275, 290, 315, 322; 1993 a. 16, 27,
76, 98, 99, 168, 183, 377, 437, 445, 446, 450, 469, 479, 490, 491; 1995 a. 27 ss. 806 to 961r, 9126 (19); 1995 a. 77, 98; 1995 a. 216 ss. 26, 27; 1995 a. 266, 276, 289, 303, 404,
417, 440, 448, 464, 468; 1997 a. 27 ss. 211, 214, 216, 217, 527 to 609; 1997 a. 35, 105, 231, 237, 280, 293; 1999 a. 5, 9, 32, 52, 84, 103, 109, 113, 133, 185, 186; 2001 a. 16,
69, 103, 105; 2003 a. 33, 139, 186, 3184320, 326, 327; 2005 a. 15, 22; 2005 a. 25 ss. 299 to 331, 2498 to 2500, 2510; 2005 a. 74, 107, 199Z28, 264, 388, 406, 434.

1 SECTION&-46.513 of;/the statutes is renumbered 46.513 (1).

2 SECTION %46.513 (2) of the statutes is created to read: y

3 46.513 (2) From the appropriation account under s. 20.435 (3) (ky), the

4 department shall distribute $125,000 in each fiscal year in Milwaukee County to

5 organizations that provide gender-responsive alcohol and other drug abuse

6 treatment, case management, child and family services, and educational services to

7 drug dependent women with children.

8 SECTION% 46.513 (3) of the statutes is created to read:

9 46.513 (8) From the appropriation account under s. 20.435 (3) (kz), the
10 department shall distribute $500,000 in each fiscal year for comprehensive early
11 childhood initiatives in Dane County that provide home visiting and employment
12 preparation and support for low-income families.

g 13 SECTION %4 46.95 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

14 46.95 (2) (a) The secretary shall make grants fr{qm the appropriations accounts

3\ gTel «
@} under s. 20.435 (3) (ed) and (hh)@andi

each fiscal'$1,00

16 account under s. 20.435 (3) (ky) to organizatins for the provision of any of the
17 services specified in sub. (1) (d). Grants may be made to organizations which have
18 provided those domestic abuse services in the past or to organizations which propose
19 to provide those services in the future. No grant may be made to fund services for
20 child or unborn child abuse or abuse of elderly persons.

History: 1979 c. 111; 1979 ¢. 355 5. 241; 1981 ¢. 20 s5. 792¢, 792m, 2202 (203 (s); 1983 a. 27 ss. 997m, 998, 2202 (20); 1983 a. 204; 1985 a. 29; 1987 a. 332, 399; 1989
a. 31; 1991 a. 39, 96 1993 a. 16, 227, 246, 319, 491; 1995 a. 27 ss. 2337 to 2345, 9116 (5); 1997 a. 27, 292; 1999 a. 9, 162; 2005 a. 25, 278.

INSERT 6-6
21 SECTION’%; 69.22 (3m) of the statutes is created to read:
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1 69.22 (3m) (a) Except as provided in par. (b), a local registrar that collects a fee

under sub. (1) (a), (b), (c), or (cm) shall forward 66 percent of the increase in that fee,

as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act ....[[this acf& over the corresponding fee amount
specified in {s69.22§(1) (a), (b), (c), or (cm), 2005 stats., to the secretary of

Su

administration, to be credited to the appropriation account under s. 20.435 (1) (gm) .'/

(b) Alocal registrar that collects a fee for issuing a certified or uncertified copy

/

of a birth certificate under sub. (1) (c¢)“shall forward to the secretary of

6
7

L\?é administration, to be credited to the appropriation account under s. 20.435 (1) (gm) f N
9

66 percent of the increase in that fee, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act ....{[this ac%
10 that remains after $10 is forwarded to the secretary of administration as provided
11 in sub. (1m), over the corresponding fee amount specified in s. 69.22 (1) (¢), QOO%f
12 stats., that remained after $7 was forwarded to the secretary of administration as

5, 61.22-
@ provided in sukh/ (1m), 2005 stats.
N

g INSERT 6-18

| 14 SECTION%;" 77.63 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
15 77.63 (2) Annually, by July 31, the department of revenue shall certify to the
16 department of health and family services an amount equal to one-eleventh of the
17 taxes collected under sub. (1) for grants to counties under s. 46.513 (1).

History: 1999a. 9.

18
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Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureaz?\
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES N\

OTHER HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Currently, except for issuance of certain birth certificates, the state registrar
or a local registrar must charge $7 for issuing a certified or uncertified ‘copy of a
certificate of birth, death, divorce or annulment, or marriage (vital recor%}) or for
verifying information about the event without issuing a copy, and $3 for issuing any
additional copy of the same vital record at the same time. This bill increases to $20
the fee for issuance of a certified or uncertified copy of certain vital records, increases
to $20 the fee for issuing an additional copy at the same time, amg increases to $10
the fee for verifying information about the event without issuing a cop

Currently, the state registrar or a local registrar must charge $12 for issuing
either a certified copy or an uncertified copy of a birth certificate and $3 for issuing,
at the same time, any additional certified or uncertified copy of the same birth
certificate. Of the $12 charged, $7 must be forwarded to the secretary of
administration for deposit in program revenue appropriations for the Child Abuse
and Neglect Prevention Board (CANPB), to be used for CANPB expenses, for certain
statewide projects, for the Family Resource Center Grant Program, and for technical
assistance to organizations. The bill increases the fee for issuance of a certified or
uncertified copy of a birth certificate from $12 to $20, and increases, from $7 to $10,
the amount that must be forwarded to the secretary of administration for deposit in
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program revenue appropriation ace%untq of CANPB. The bill also increases the fee

for 1ssua;1;;g£<tn additional certified or uncertified birth certificate copy from $3 to
?i’p 20

Curren y, the state registrar or a local registrar must charge $10 for issuing

one certified copy of a birth certificate for a birth resulting in stillbirth and $3 for any

addltlonal certlﬁed copy of the sa me birth certificate; the bill changes these fees to

Currently, the state reglstr or a local registrar must charge, in addition to
other applicable fees, $10 for exnglted service in issuing a vital record; bill changes
this fee to $20. |
Currently, the state reglstra% or a local registrar may charge $7 to search vital
records if the registrar finds no récord and an additional $7 if the requester provides
no or little information. The bllzf increases to $10 the fee to search vital records and
the fee if the requester prmn{dfés no or little information. @
The bill requires localregistrars to forward to the secretary of admlnlstrﬁtlon
for credit to a program révenue appropriation account within DHFS, %[p’ewféent of
all revenue generated by fee increases for issuance of copies of vital recdrds, other
than leOI‘CQ records. From these moneys, the bill requires DHFS to transfer
B4 ¥25;000 i1 each fiscal year from this program revenue appropriation account to
an approprlatlon account for local assistance; from this appropriation account,
DHFS must distribute $1,000,000 in each fiscal year for domestic abuse services and
$125,000 )in each fiscal year to Milwaukee County to organizations to provide
gender-responsive alcohol and other drug abuse services and other services to drug
W dependent women with children. The bill also requires DHF'S to transfer $500,000
in each fiscal year from the program revenue appropriation account to an
appropriation account for interagency and intra-agency local assistance; from this
appropriation account, DHFS must distribute $500,000 in each fiscal year for
comprehensive early childhood initiatives in Dane County for low-income families.

Currently, the state registrar must charge $10 for making selected
amendments to birth records without a court order, making court-ordered
corrections to birth certificates, making any change in a birth certificate such as
acknowledgment of paternity, and for making court-ordered name changes. The
state registrar must charge $20 for registering certain new or corrected vital records
and $25 for late registration of birth certificates. The bill changes these required fee
amounts to the following:

1. Twenty dollars for amending birth records for voluntary acknowledgment of
paternity and for a legal name change within 365 days after birth.

2. Forty dollars for selected amendments to birth records without a court order;
court-ordered amendments to certain vital records; court-ordered adjudications of
paternity or determinations of paternity after death; delayed acknowledgments of
paternity; legal name changes; and impounding a vital record or creating and
registering a new vital record under certain circumstances.

3. Fifty dollars for the delayed filing of certain birth, marriage, or death
certificates.
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For further information see the se{jate and loca! hscal estlmate Whlch Wﬂl be -
printed as an appendix to this bill. |

The people of the state of Wisconsin, i‘epreQented in senate and assembl do,
ct as follows: | ]

i
I
E

2 20485 (1) (gm) Licensing, review and certzfyz%gg activities; fees; supplies and
3 services. The amounts in the schedule for the purpo%es specified in ss. 146.50 (8),
4 252.23, 252.24, 252.245, 254.176, 254 178 254.179, 254 20 (5) and (8), 254.31 to
5 254.39, 254.41, 254.47, 254.61 to 254. 88 and 255. 08f(2) and ch. 69, for the purchase
6 J and distribution of medical Suppheszgrlld to analyzfgand provide data under s. 250.04.
7 All moneys received under ss. 69.22 13mz, 146 50 (5) (f) and (8) (d), 250.04 (3m),
8 252.23 (4) (a), 252.24 (4) (a), 252.245 (/)/?54 176, 254.178, 254.181, 254.20 (5) and
9 (8), 254.31 to 254.39, 254.41, 2@%54 61 to 254.88, and 255.08 (2) (b) and ch. 69,

10 otherthans.69.22 (1m) ﬁn{as reimbursement for medical supphes shall be credited

11 to this appropriation account. The department shall, in each fiscal vear, transfer

@

13 3) (ky) and shall transfer $500,000 from this appropriation account to the
;/}

14 _appropriation account under sub. (3) (kz). M/}w

g

/ 15 % ) SEcCTION 2. 20. 435 e statutes is ; ed to read:

e ij

and famleuff" icient, equal to

the am@ant determmed under s. 77.63 (2), for grants to counties under S. 46 513 L)

20.435 (3) (ky) Interagency and intra-agency aids. Except as provided in par.

20 | (kw), all moneys received from other state agencies and all moneys received by the

21 | department from the department for local assistance, ncludmg all money
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SecTIiON 3
,f ?& ,;

1 ransferred from sub. (1) (gm) and credited to this appropriation account, for sueh

\ purposes local assistance.
| N SECTIO 1 )20.435 (3) (kz) of the statutes is amended to read:

20.435 (3) (kz) Interagency and intra-agency local assistance. Except as

received by the department from the department for local assistance, including all

moneys transferred from sub. (1) (gm) and credlted to thls appropriation account, for

%emeﬁeeéz} )

ef’

y I
ki s RS

2

3

4

5 provided in par. (kw), all moneys received from other state agencies and all moneys
6

7

8

[ g

’ 10 §f the statutes is created to read:
[ 11 A2 g Frdfm the approprlatlon accoggtwyi%é 20 435 (3) (ky), the
@ department shall dlstrzbute $125.000/1n each fiscal year in Milwaukee County to
13 organizations that proylde gender—;esponswe alcohol and other drug abuse
5 14 treatment case managereent child and family services, and educational services to
15 drug dependent women Wlth children.
SBCTIO 3y afthe statlites 15 created to reads
17 46513 # From the appropriation account under s. 20.435 (3) (kz), the
18 department shall dlStI‘lbi:lte $500,000 in each fiscal year for comprehensive early
19 childhood initiatives in Dane County that provide home visiting and employment

20 preparation and support for low-income families.
B

21 SECTION 8. 46.95 ( 2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

22 46.95(2) (a) The secretary shall make grants from the apprepriations accounts
23 under s. 20.435 (3) (cé) and (hh) and in each fiscal year $1,000,000 from the

24 appropriation account §under s. 20.435 (3) (ky) to organizations for the provision of

25 any of the services sp fied in sub. (1) (d). . Grants may be made to organizations
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e £ 5-20) SECTION 8
tﬁ"ﬁw& %’:»% B §7 %%Mi}?w‘% @, @%M} ‘}éf; . 1D-2D
\ 1 Whlch have prov1d'9d those domestlc abuse services in the past or to organizations

which propose to provide those services in the future. No grant may be made to fund

/
B

gM SECTION 9. 69.12 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

W N

services for child or unborn child abuse or abuse of elderly persons.

NN

5 69.12 (1) If the state registrar cannot make an amendment to a vital record
6 under s. 69.11 and a person with a direct and tangible interest in the vital record
7 alleges that information on the viﬁal record does not represent the actual facts in
8 effect at the time the record was filed, the person may petition the circuit court of the
9 county in which the event which is the subject of the vital record is alleged to have
10 occurred. The petition shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the original vital
11 record. If the court finds that the petitioner has established the actual facts of the
12 event in effect when the record was filed, the clerk of court shall report the court’s
13 determination to the state registrar on a form prescribed by the state registrar, along

14 with the fee required under s. 69.22 (5) (a)2 (b). Upon receipt of the report, the state

15 registrar shall, if information as to the cause of death on an original certificate of

16 death is changed or if information on a marriage certificate concerning the identity

17 of a parent of a party to a marriage is changed, act under sub. (4), or shall change the
| 18 record under s. 69.11 (5) and send a notice of the change to the local registrar who
19 shall make the change in the record filed in his or her office. This subsection does
L 20 not apply to a name change prohibited under s. 301.47.

21 SECTION 10. 69.13 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

22 69.13 (2) (d) The fee specified under s. 69.22 (5) &)1 (bg).

23 SECTION 11. 69.15 (3) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

24 69.15 (3) (b) 1. Except as provided under par. (¢), if the state registrar receives

25 a statement acknowledging paternity on a form prescribed by the state registrar and

=z

L]

¥ xI Tha 0o aeceucilo %&%5%%% s
3@?
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SecTION 11
signed by both of the birth parents of a child determined to be a marital child under
s. 767.803, a certified copy of the parents’ marriage certificate, and the fee required
under s. 69.22 (5) (b) 1, the state registrar shall insert the name of the husband from
the marriage certificate as the father if the name of the father was omitted on the
original birth certificate. The state registrar shall include on the form for the
acknowledgment the items in s. 767.813 (5g).

SECTION 12. 69.22 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

69.22 (1) (a) Except as provided under par. (c), $7 $20 for issuing one certified
copy of a vital record and $3 $20 for any additional certified copy of the same vital
record issued at the same time.

SECTION 13. 69.22 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

69.22 (1) (b) Except as provided under par. (c), $20 for issuing an uncertified
copy of a vital record issued under s. 69.21 (2) (a) or (b) and $20 for any additional

copy of the same vital record issued at the same time, or $10 for verifying mformatmn '

about the event submitted by a requester without issuance of a copy;$7 and %Afor <

any additional copy of the same vitalrecord information issued at the same time.

SECTION 14. 69.22 (1) (¢) of the statutes is amended to read:

69.22 (1) (c) Pwelve Twenty dollars for issuing an uncertified copy of a birth
certificate or a certified copy of a birth certificate, $7 $10 of which shall be forwarded
to the secretary of administration as provided in sub. (Im) and credited to the
appropriations under s. 20.433 (1) (g) and (h); and %%for"ssuing any additional
certified or uncertified copy of the same birth certificate issued at the same time.

/
/

SECTION 15. 69.22 (1) (cm) of the statutes is amended to read:

gg);%}

MM

ts*;}??\
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SECTION 15
1 69.22 (1) (cm) Ten Twenty dollars for issuing one certified copy of a certificate

=

f M} of birth resulting in stillbirth and $3

-

f;?ny additional certified copy of the same

3 certificate issued at the same time. W

4 SECTION 16. 69.22 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
5 69.22 (1) (d) In addition to other fees under this subchapter, $10 $20 for
6 expedited service in issuing a vital record.
7 SECTION 17. 69.22 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
8 69.22 (2) The state registrar and any local registrar may charge $7 $10 for a
9 search of vital records if the registrar finds no record. In addition to the $7 $10, a
10 registrar may charge a fee to cover the costs of a search of vital records if the
11 requester providés no identifying information or identifying information which is
12 imprecise or inadequate. 5/‘@
13 SECTION 18. 69.22 (3m) of the statutes is created to read: E%
14 69.22 (3m) (a) Except as provided in par. (b), a local registrar /}igat collects a fee

@ under sub. (1) (a), (b), (¢), or (cm) shall forward 6 percent of the increase in that fee,
16 as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), over the corresponding fee amount

17 specified in s. 69.22 (1) (a), (b), (c), or (cm), 2005 stats., to the secretary of

18 administration, to be credited to the appropriation account under s. 20.435 (1) (gm).
19 (b) Alocal registrar that collects a fee for issuing a certified or uncertified copy
20 of a birth certificate under sub. (1) (¢) shall forward to the secretary of
21 administration, to be credited to the appropriation account under s. 20.435 (1) (gm),
@ %gﬁ;‘c‘hm of the increase in that fee, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act .... (this act),
:23 th;lt remains after $10 is forwarded to the secretary of administration as provided
24 in sub. (1?)«3 over the corresponding fee amount specified in s. 69.22 (1) (¢), 2005

L e~
v (O ),
% /’)/«3'

B
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1 stats., that remained after $7 was forwarded to the secretary of administration as
2 provided in s. 69.22 (1m), 2005 stats.
3 SECTION 19. 69.22 (5) (a) of the statutes is repealed and recreated to read:
4 69.22 (5) (a) Twenty dollars for making changes under s. 69.15 (3) (b) 3. or (4m).
5 SECTION 20. 69.22 (5) (b) of the statutes is repealed and recreated to read:
6 69.22 (5) (b) Forty dollars for making a change under s. 69.11 (4), 69.12 (1), (3),
7 or (5), or 69.15 (3) (a) 3., (b) 1. or 2., or (4) (a).
8 SECTION 21. 69.22 (5) (bg) of the statutes is created to read:
9 69.22 (5) (bg) Forty dollars for impounding a vital record or creating or

10 registering a new vital record under s. 69.12 (4), 69.13, 69.14 (1) (h), or 69.15 (2), (3)

11 (a) 1. or 2., (3m), or (4) (b).

12 SECTION 22. 69.22 (5) (bj) of the statutes is created to read:
13 69.22 (5) (bj) Fifty dollars for the delayed filing of a vital record under s. 69.14
14 (2) (b) 5. or 6., 69.16 (2), or 69.19. *//Q\_M

“,

15 3¢  SECTION 23. 77. 63 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

L
: %%

f'

& 77.63 (/)/A/;aually fﬁy July 31, the gepartment of revenue ghall certify to the i ,
nt equal ﬁée eleventh of El;l;/sg |

grtment of health \’ffi’ﬁ"‘ Services an'a

/ — T AD oP
18 " taxes collected under sub. (1) for grants to counties under s. 46.513 (__;M,W S TEY ¢
e fi\j VT 0
19 SEcTION 9421. Effective dates; Health and Family Services. \f \y
20 (1) VITAL RECORDS FEE INCREASES. The treatment of sections 20.435 (1) (gm)jand

@ 3 (ky}\ and (kz){ 69.1 (1) 69.13 (2) (d), 69.15 (3) (b) 1., 69.22 (1) (a), (b), (¢), (cm),

7
22 5 and (d), (2), (3m), and (5) (\e) (b), (bg), and (bj) of the statutes takes effect on the first

23 \ day of the 3rd month beginning after the effective date of this subsection.
jx $¥g%This Lo %Wmﬁ é«r‘:i?’f@%
@»’;LLQ (:’%f} \?”}V@w wié«é%w@f‘f‘“ii L, gﬁz’?a
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DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-1508/3dn
FROM THE DAK:kjf&wj:nwn
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

To Sue Jablonsky:

Z
This draft reconciles LRB 1261/2, LRB-1508/3, and LRB-1676/2. LRB-1261,
LRB-1508, and LRB-1676 should all continue to appear in the compiled bill.

This draft also incgrporates changes to figures under ss. 20.435 (1) (gm) and 69.22 (1)

(b), (c), and (cm)yand (3m) (a) and (b), as you specified by phone. Because of a conflict .
with LRB-1676/2, this draft rem:}mbers the provisions originally created asgﬂﬁﬁ?;@’)~j
and (3) to be s. 48.543 (1) and (2)*and changes the dollar amount specified in s. 48.543

\ TN Debora A. Kennedy
s S SR Managing Attorney
g L Phone: (608) 266-0137

E-mail: debora.kennedy@legis.wisconsin.gov



DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-1508/3dn
FROM THE DAK:kjf&wj:rs
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

January 31, 2007

To Sue Jablonsky:

This draft reconciles LRB 1261/2, LRB-1508/2, and LRB-1676/2. LRB-1261,
LRB-1508, and LRB-1676 should all continue to appear in the compiled bill.

This draft also incorporates changes to figures under ss. 20.435 (1) (gm) and 69.22 (1)
(b), (¢), and (cm) and (3m) (a) and (b), as you specified by phone. Because of a conflict
with LRB-1676/2, this draft renumbers the provisions originally created as s. 46.513
(2) and (3) to be s. 48.543 (1) and (2) and changes the dollar amount specified in s.
48.543 (1).

Debora A. Kennedy

Managing Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-0137

E-mail: debora.kennedy@legis.wisconsin.gov
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