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RCAC: Crimes Against Children WLC: 0051/1

AS:LAK:ksm 1/18/2007

1 AN ACT to renumber and amend 939.616 (1), 948.21 (1) and 948.53 (2) (b); 10

2 amend 301.45 (1d) (b), 301.48 (1) (e) 1., 939.616 (2), 939.616 (3), 939.74 (2) (a),
3 948.025 (3), 948.03 (2) (a) and 948.08; to repeal and recreate 939.74 (2d) (c),
4 948.02 (1), 948.025 (1) and 948.025 (2); and to create 301.48 (1) (e) 1m., 301.48 (1)
5 (e) 2. d., 939.616 (1g), 939.74 (2d) (d), 948.21 (1) (b), (c) and (d), 948.53 (2) (b) 2.,
6 3. and 4. and 972.15 (1m) of the statutes; relating to: crimes against children.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as
Sollows:

JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL PREFATORY NOTE: This bill draft was
prepared for the Joint Legislative Council’s Special Committee on
Review of Crimes Against Children.

Sex offender registry:

Current law requires sex offender registration following a conviction for
a sex offense, as that term is defined in s. 301.45 (1d) (b), stats. “‘Sex
offense” is defined to include all of the types of child enticement
offenses under s. 948.07, stats.

Under s. 948.07 (5) and (6), stats., child enticement includes causing or
attempting to cause any child under 18 years old to go into any vehicle,
building, room, or secluded place, with intent to cause bodily or mental
harm to a child or to give or sell a controlled substance or controlled
substance analog to a child.

The bill draft removes these offenses from the list of offenses requiring
mandatory sex offender registration.

Reconciliation of 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430, 431, and 437:

The bill draft reconciles 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430, 431, and 437. The
Revisor of Statutes has determined that provisions of these acts are
mutually inconsistent.

2005 Wisconsin Act 430 (“Act 430”), commonly referred to as “Jessica’s
Law”, modified the offense of 1st—degree sexual assault of a child as
follows:
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* Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the
age of 12 years is guilty of a Class B felony and is subject to a
mandatory minimum term of confinement in prison of 25 years.

* Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the
age of 16 years by the use or threat of force or violence is guilty of a
Class B felony and is subject to a mandatory minimum term of
confinement in prison of 25 years.

* Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age
of 16 years by the use or threat of force or violence if the actor is at least
18 years of age when the sexual contact occurs is guilty of a Class B
felony and is subject to a mandatory minimum term of confinement in
prison of 5 years.

* Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age
of 13 years is guilty of a Class B felony.

Act 430 also created a new definition of “sexual intercourse” for
purposes of the offense of 1st—degree sexual assault of a child. Under
the act, “sexual intercourse” means vulvar penetration as well as
cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse between persons or any
intrusion of an inanimate object into the genital or anal opening either by
the defendant or upon the defendant’s instruction. The emission of
semen is not required. Under prior law, “sexual intercourse” for
purposes of the offense of 1st—degree sexual assault of a child was the
same as the general definition for other sexual assault crimes and also
included the intrusion, however slight, of any part of a person’s body
into the genital or anal opening either by the defendant or upon the
defendant’s instruction.

2005 Wisconsin Act 431 (“Act 4317), effective July 1, 2007, requires
global positioning system (GPS) tracking for certain sex offenders,
including persons found to have committed 1st—degree sexual assault of
a child as follows: (a) the person had sexual intercourse with a person
under 12 years of age; (b) the person had sexual intercourse by use or
threat of force or violence with a person under 16 years of age; or (c) the
person had sexual contact by use or threat of force or violence with a
person under 16 years of age and the person was 18 years of age or older
at the time of the offense.

2005 Wisconsin Act 437 (“Act 4377) modified the offense of 1st—degree
sexual assauit of a child so that it is a Class B felony to have sexual
contact or sexual intercourse with a person who is under 13 years of age
and it is a Class A felony to have sexual contact or sexual intercourse
with a person who is under 13 years of age if the sexual contact or sexual
intercourse resulted in great bodily harm.
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The bill draft also includes the following substantive changes to these
provisions, which are described in the notes following the SECTIONS:

e Under the bill draft, mandatory minimum terms of confinement in
prison for first—degree sexual assault of a child do not apply if the
offender was under 18 years of age at the time of the violation.

* The bill draft modifies the offense created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 437
to clarify that the great bodily harm need not result from the sexual
intercourse or contact.

e The bill draft eliminates the definition of “sexual intercourse” that
applies only to the offense of first—degree sexual assault of a child but
maintains the definition for purposes of GPS tracking requirements.

* The bill draft makes certain changes for purposes of consistency (e.g.,
requiring GPS' tracking for persons convicted of first—degree sexual
assault of a child if the person caused great bodily harm).

Statute of limitations for prosecution of sexual assault of a child:

Current law imposes time limits for commencing prosecution for most
crimes. The 2003 Wisconsin statutes required that prosecution for a
sexual assault of a child be commenced before the victim reaches the age
of 45. However, also under the 2003 statutes, if the state collected
deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) evidence in connection with a sexual
assault of a child before the time period for commencing prosecution of
the sexual assault expired (e.g., before the victim reached the age of 45)
and did not match the DNA evidence with an identified person until after
the time period expired, the state was permitted to commence
prosecution of the person who was the source of the DNA for the sexual
assault within one year after making the match.

The statutes were affected by 2 Wisconsin acts in the 2005—-06 legislative
session.

2005 Act 60 provides that if the state collects DNA evidence in
connection with a sexual assault of a child and does not match the DNA
evidence with an identified person, as described above, the one—year
extension to the time period for commencing prosecution for the sexual
assault also applies to prosecution for a crime that is related to the sexual
assault.

2005 Act 276 eliminates all time limits for commencing prosecution for
| assaul

“
a first—degree sexual assault of a child.

This bill draft eliminates the time limits for commencing a prosecution
of first—degree sexual assault of a child and the various offenses of
engaging in repeated acts of first—degree sexual assault of a child.
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The bill draft provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profile is
matched to an identified person for a violation of second—degree sexual
assault of a child, a prosecution may be brought for the second—degree
sexual assault of a child violation or for a crime that is related to the
sexual assault violation, or both.

Finally, the bill draft provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profile
is matched to an identified person for a violation of first-degree sexual
assault of a child, a prosecution may be brought for a crime that is
related to the sexual assault violation.

Offenses that may not be charged with repeated acts of sexual assault
of the same child:

Current law prohibits any of the following violations from being charged
in the same action as a charge of engaging in repeated acts of sexual
assault of the same child unless the other violation occurred outside of
the time period in which the repeated acts took place: crimes against
sexual morality, sexual assault of a child, sexual exploitation of a child,
incest with a child, child enticement, use of a computer to facilitate a
child sex crime, soliciting a child for prostitution, exposing genital or
pubic area, exposing a child to harmful material or harmful descriptions
or narrations, or possession of child pornography.

The bill draft allows prosecution of all of these violations except sexual
assault of a child and exposing genitals to a child in the same action as a
charge of engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child,
even if the other violation occurred during the time period in which the
repeated acts took place.

Physical abuse of a child:

Under current law, it is a Class E felony to intentionally cause great
bodily harm to a child. This draft changes this offense to a Class C
felony.

Soliciting a child for prostitution:

Under current law, whoever intentionally solicits or causes any child to
practice prostitution is guilty of a Class D felony. The bill draft modifies
the offense so that it prohibits soliciting or causing any child to engage in
an act of prostitution. As under current law, it is also a violation to
establish a child in a place of prostitution under the bill draft.
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Criminal neglect of a child:

Under current law, any person who is responsible for a child’s welfare
who, through his or her actions or failure to take action, intentionally
contributes to the neglect of the child is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor
or, if death is a consequence, a Class D felony.

The bill draft creates offenses for cases in which bodily harm is a
consequence of neglect and in which great bodily harm is a consequence
of neglect. Under the draft, the offense involving bodily harm is a Class
H felony and the offense involving great bodily harm is a Class F felony.

Also under current law, a person responsible for a child’s welfare while
the child is being transported in a child care vehicle may not leave the
child unattended at any time from the time the child is placed in the care
of that person to the time the child is placed in the care of another person
responsible for the child’s welfare. A person who violates this provision
is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor or, if death is a consequence, a Class
G felony.

The bill draft creates offenses for cases in which bodily harm is a
consequence of leaving a child unattended in a child care vehicle and in
which great bodily harm is a consequence. Under the bill draft, the
offense involving bodily harm is a Class I felony and the offense
involving great bodily harm is a Class H felony.

Presentence investigation:

The bill draft requires the court to order a presentence investigation
report that includes an assessment of the risk of the defendant
committing another sex—related crime against a child in cases in which
there is a conviction for a felony requiring sex offender registration listed
under s. 301.45 (1d) (b), stats., and the victim was under the age of 18 at
the time of the offense, unless the court finds that the report would not
materially benefit the department of corrections or the court.

SEcTION 1. 301.45 (1d) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

301.45 (1d) (b) “Sex offense” means a violation, or the solicitation, conspiracy, or
attempt to commit a violation, of s. 940.22 (2), 940.225 (1), (2) or (3), 944.06, 948.02 (1) or
(2), 948.025, 948.05, 948.055, 948.06, 948.07 (1) to (4), 948.075, 948.08, 948.085, 948.095,
948.11 (2) (a) or (am), 948.12, 948.13, or 948.30, or of s. 940.30 or 940.31 if the victim was

a minor and the person who committed the violation was not the victim’s parent.
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NotE: This SEcTiON modifies the list of offenses for which sex offender
registration is required to remove s. 948.07 (5) and (6), stats. (child
enticement with intent to cause bodily or mental harm to a child or to
give or sell a controlled substance or controlled substance analog to a

child).
1 SEcTioN 2. 301.48 (1) (e) 1. of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 431, is
2 amended to read:
3 301.48 (1) (e) 1. Section 948.02 (1) (b)-€e); (am), or (d) or 948.025 (1) (a) ex(ag).

Norte: This SEcTION expands the GPS tracking requirements so that they
apply to a person found to have committed 1st—degree sexual assault of
a child if the offender caused great bodily harm to the child.

4 SEcTION 3. 301.48 (1) (¢) 1m. of the statutes is created to read:
5 301.48 (1) (e) Im. Section 948.02 (1) (b) or (c) or 948.025 (1) (b) or (c) if the offense
6 involved sexual intercourse as defined in par. (g).

Note: This SECTION provides that, if a person is convicted under s.
948.02 (1) (b) or (c) or 948.025 (1) (b) or (c) of having sexual
intercourse with a person under 12 years of age or of having sexual
intercourse with a person under 16 yeas of age by the use or threat of
force or violence, the person is subject to GPS tracking requirements if
the offense involved sexual intercourse as defined in s. 301.48 (1) (g).
Under that section, “sexual intercourse” is defined as vulvar penetration
as well as cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse between persons or
any intrusion of any inanimate object into the genital or anal opening
either by the defendant or upon the defendant’s instruction. The
emission of semen is not required.

This definition applies to the offenses under ss. 948.02 (1) (b) and (c)
and 948.025 (1) (b) and (c) under current law. This bill draft repeals that
definition from s. 948.02. Therefore, under this SEctioN, GPS tracking
requirements under current law for the offenses described above are not
affected.

7 SEcTiON 4. 301.48 (1) (e) 2. d. of the statutes is created to read:

oo

301.48(1) (e) 2. d. The actor has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a person who
9 has not attained the age of 13 years and causes great bodily harm, as defined in s. 939.22 (14),

10 to the person.
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Norte: This SEcTION requires GPS tracking for a person found to have
committed 1st—degree sexual assault of a child under the 2003 statutes if
the actor had sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a person under the
age of 13 years and the offender caused great bodily harm to the person.

SECTION 5. 939.616 (1) of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 430, is
renumbered 939.616 (1r) and amended to read:

939.616 (1r) If a person is convicted of a violation of's. 948.02 (1) (b) or (¢) or 948.025
(1) & (b), the court shall impose a bifurcated sentence under s. 973.01. The term of
confinement in prison portion of the bifurcated sentence shall be at least 25 years. Otherwise
the penalties for the crime apply, subject to any applicable penalty enhancement.

Nore:  This SectioN changes a cross—reference to reflect the
renumbering of s. 948.025 (1) in the bill draft.

SECTION 6. 939.616 (1g) of the statutes is created to read:

939.616 (1g) Ifa person is convicted of a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (am) or 948.025 (1)
(a), notwithstanding s. 973.014 (1g) (a) 1. and 2., the court may not make an extended
supervision eligibility date determination on a date that will occur before the person has served
a 25—year term of confinement in prison.

Note: This SECTION provides that if a person is convicted of having
sexual intercourse or sexual contact with a person who is under 13 years
of age and causing great bodily harm to the person or having repeatedly
committed such an act, the court must order a term of confinement in
prison of at least 25 years. The underlying offense is a Class A felony.

SECTION 7. 939.616 (2) of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 430, is
amended to read:

939.616 (2) If a person is convicted of a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (d) or 948.025 (1)
ag) (c), the court shail impose a bifurcated sentence under s. 973.01. The term of confinement
in prison portion of the bifurcated sentence shall be at least 5 years. Otherwise the penalties

for the crime apply, subject to any applicable penalty enhancement.
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Note:  This SecrioN changes a cross—reference to reflect the
renumbering of s. 948.025 (1) in the bill draft.

SECTION 8. 939.616 (3) of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 430, is
amended to read:

939.616 (3) This section does not apply if the offender was under 18 years of age when
the violation occurred or if's. 939.62 (2m) (c) applies.

Notg: This SECTION provides that mandatory minimum terms of prison
confinement for first—degree sexual assault of a child do not apply if the
offender was under 18 years of age when the violation occurred.

SECTION 9. 939.74 (2) (a) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 276, is
amended to read:
939.74 (2) (a) A prosecution under s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 948.02 (1), or

948.025 (1) (a),(b). (), or (d) may be commenced at any time.

Note: This SECTION adds cross references to additional offenses of
engaging in repeated acts of first—degree sexual assault of the same child
to include all offenses of engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of
the same child." Under this SECTION, there is.no time limitation for
prosecuting any first—degree sexual assault of a child offense.

SecTiON 10. 939.74 (2d) (c) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 60 and
276, is repealed and recreated to read:

939.74 (2d) (c) If before the time limitation under sub. (2) (c) expired, the state collected
biological material that is evidence of the identity of the person who committed a violation
of s. 948.02 (2) or 948.025 (1) (e), the state identified a deoxyribonucleic acid profile from
the biological material, and comparisons of that deoxyribonucleic acid profile to
deoxyribonucleic acid profiles of known persons did not result in a probable identification of
the person who is the source of the biological material, the state may commence prosecution
of the person who is the source of the biological material for the violation of s. 948.02 (2) or

948.025 (1) (e) or a crime that is related to the violation or both within 12 months after
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comparison of the deoxyribonucleic acid profile relating to the violation results in a probable

identification of the person.

Note: This SECTION provides that, within 12 months after a DNA
profile is matched to an identified person for a violation of
second—degree sexual assault of a child, a prosecution may be brought
for the second—degree sexual assault of a child violation or for a crime
that is related to the sexual assault violation, or both.

Under current law, crimes are related if they are committed against the
same victim, are proximate in time, and are committed with the same
intent, purpose, or opportunity so as to be part of the same course of
conduct.

SectioN 11. 939.74 (2d) (d) of the statutes is created to read:

939.74 (2d) (d) For prosecution of a crime related to a violation of s. 948.02 (1) or
948.025 (1) (a), (b), (c), or (d) if before the time limitation for prosecution of the related crime
expired, the state collected biological material that is evidence of the identity of the person
who committed a violation of's. 948.02 (1) or 948.025 (1) (a), (b), (c), or (d) the state identified
a deoxyribonucleic acid profile from the biological material, and comparisons of that
deoxyribonucleic acid profile to deoxyribonucleic acid profiles of known persons did not
result in a probable identification of the person who is the source of the biological material,
the state may commence prosecution of the person who is the source of the biological material
for the related crime within 12 months after comparison of that deoxyribonucleic acid profile
results in a probable identification of the person.

Note:  This Section provides that, within 12 months after a DNA
profile is matched to an identified person for a violation of first-degree
sexual assault of a child, a prosecution may be brought for a crime that is
related to the sexual assault violation if the state collected DNA evidence
before the statute of limitations for the prosecution of the related crime
expired.

SECTION 12. 948.02 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430 and 437,

is repealed and recreated to read:
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948.02 (1) FIRST DEGREE SEXUAL ASSAULT. (am) Whoever has sexual contact or sexual
intercourse with a person who has not attained the age of 13 years and causes great bodily harm
to the person is guilty of a Class A felony.

(b) Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age of 12
years is guilty of a Class B felony.

(c) Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age of 16
years by use or threat of force or violence is guilty of a Class B felony.

(d) Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of 16 years
by use or threat of force or violence is guilty of a Class B felony if the actor is at least 18 years
of age when the sexual contact occurs.

(e) Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of 13 years
is guilty of a Class B felony.

Note: This SECTION recreates the offense of 1st—degree sexual assault of
a child to reflect the changes made in Acts 430 and 437.

This SeECTION deletes the separate definition of “sexual intercourse” so
that the general definition for ch. 948 applies to the offense of
first—degree sexual assault of a child.

Also under this SECTION, the wording par. (am) is amended to remove a
requirement under Act 430 that the great bodily harm result from the
sexual contact or sexual intercourse. This change is intended to allow
conviction under par. (am) if the great bodily harm was caused by the
defendant during the course of conduct that immediately preceded, was
concurrent with, or immediately followed the act of sexual assault. See,
State v. Schambow, 176 Wis. 2d 286, 500 N.W.2d 362 (Ct. App. 1993).

SecrtioN 13. 948.025 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430 and
437, is repealed and recreated to read:
948.025 (1) Whoever commits 3 or more violations under s. 948.02 (1) or (2) within

a specified period of time involving the same child is guilty of:
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(a) A Class A felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1) (am).

(b) A Class B felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of's. 948.02 (1) (am),
(b), or (¢).

(c) A Class B felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1) (am),
(b), (c), or (d).

(d) A Class B felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1).

(e) A Class C felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1) or (2).

Note: This SECTION restructures the offense of engaging in repeated
acts of the same child. Under current law, for example, par. (c) requires
a showing that the defendant committed at least 3 violations of sub. (1)
(am), (b), (c), or (d), but that fewer than 3 of the violations were of sub.

(am), (b), or (c).
SEcTION 14. 948.025 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430 and

437, is repealed and recreated to read:

948.025 (2) (a) If an action under sub. (1) (a) is tried to a jury, in order to find the
defendant guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of
s. 948.02 (1) (am) occurred within the specified period of time but need not agree on which
acts constitute the requisite number.

(b) If an action under sub. (1) (b) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant guilty
the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of s. 948.02 (1) (am),
(b), or (¢) occurred within the specified period of time but need not agree on which acts
constitute the requisite number and need not agree on whether a particular violation was a
violation of s. 948.02 (1) (am), (b), or (c).

(¢) Ifan action under sub. (1) (c) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant guilty
the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of s. 948.02 (1) (am),

(b), (¢), or (d) occurred within the specified period of time but need not agree on which acts
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constitute the requisite number and need not agree on whether a particular violation was a
violation of s. 948.02 (1) (am), (b), (c), or (d).

(d) If an action under sub. (1) (d) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant guilty
the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of s. 948.02 (1)
occurred within the specified period of time but need not agree on which acts constitute the
requisite number.

(e) If an action under sub. (1) (e) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant guilty
the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of s. 948.02 (1) or
(2) occurred within the specified period of time but need not agree on which acts constitute
the requisite number and need not agree on whether a particular violation was a violation of
s.948.02 (1) or (2).

Note: This SEcTION reconciles Acts 430 and 437 for the required jury
findings to convict a person of repeated acts of sexual assault of the same
child. Under this SECTION, in an action alleging that a person committed
at least 3 violations that resulted in great bodily harm, the members of
the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations resulting in
great bodily harm occurred within the specified period of time but need
not agree on which acts constitute the requisite number.

For the other actions of repeated sexual assault of the same child, the
members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 of the
specified violations occurred within the specified period of time but need
not agree which acts constitute the requisite number and need not agree
on whether a particular violation was a violation of a specific 1st—degree
sexual assault of a child provision (i.e., whether the act involved sexual
intercourse with a person under the age of 12 years or involved sexual
intercourse with a person under the age of 16 years by use or threat of
force or violence).

SEcTiON 15, 948.025 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

948.025 (3) The state may not charge in the same action a defendant with a violation

of this section and with a-felony-vielation-involving the-same-child undere¢h-944-or a violation
involving the same child under s. 948.02;-948.05,-948.06,-948.07,-948.075,-948-08; or 948.10,
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948-1+-0¢-948-12; unless the other violation occurred outside of the time period applicable
under sub. (1). This subsection does not prohibit a conviction for an included crime under s.
939.66 when the defendant is charged with a violation of this section.

Note: Current law prohibits any of the following violations from being
charged in the same action as a charge of engaging in repeated acts of
sexual assault of the same child unless the other violation occurred
outside of the time period in which the repeated acts took place: crimes
against sexual morality [ch. 944, stats.], sexual assault of a child [s.
948.02, stats.], sexual exploitation of a child [s. 948.035, stats.], incest
with a child [s. 948.06, stats.], child enticement [s. 948.07, stats.], use of
a computer to facilitate a child sex crime [s. 948.075, stats.], soliciting a
child for prostitution [s. 948.08, stats.], exposing genital or pubic area [s.
948.10, stats.], exposing a child to harmful material or harmful
descriptions or narrations [s. 948.11, stats.], or possession of child
pornography [s. 948.12, stats.]

This SecTiON allows prosecution of all of these violations except sexual
assault of a child and exposing genitals to a child in the same action as a
charge of engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child,
even if the other violation occurred during the time period in which the
repeated acts took place.

SECTION 16. 948.03 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
948.03 (2) (a) Whoever intentionally causes great bodily harm to a child is guilty of a
Class E C felony.

Note:  This SECTION increases the penalty for intentionally causing
great bodily harm to a child from a Class E to a Class C felony.

SEcTION 17. 948.08 of the statutes is amended to read:

948.08 Soliciting a child for prostitution. Whoever intentionally solicits or causes
any child to praetice engage in an act of prostitution or establishes any child in a place of
prostitution is guilty of a Class D felony.

Note: This SectioN modifies the offense of soliciting a child for
prostitution so that it is a Class D felony to intentionally solicit or cause
any child to engage in an act of prostitution, instead of to intentionally
solicit or cause any child to practice prostitution.
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SecTION 18. 948.21 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 948.21 (1) (a) and amended to
read:

948.21 (1) (a) Any person who is responsible for a child’s welfare who, through his or
her actions or failure to take action, intentionally contributes to the neglect of the child is guilty

of a Class A misdemeanor of-if death-is-a-consequence;-a-Class-D-felony.

Note: The offense for neglect in which death is a consequence is moved
to par. (d), in SECTION 19 of the draft.

SECTION 19. 948.21 (1) (b), (c) and (d) of the statutes are created to read:

948.21 (1) (b) A person who violates par. (a) is guilty of a Class H felony if bodily harm
is a consequence.

(c) A person who violates par. (a) is guilty of a Class F felony if great bodily harm is
a consequence.

(d) Any person who violates par. (a) is guilty of a Class D felony if death is a
consequence.

Note: This SECTION creates offenses for neglect if bodily harm is a
consequence and if great bodily harm is a consequence. The offense
involving bodily harm is a Class H felony and the offense involving
great bodily harm is a Class F felony.

SECTION 20. 948.53 (2) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 948.53 (2) (b) 1. and amended

to read:

) 948.53 (2) (b) 1. Any person who violates par. (a) is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor
or-if-death-is-a-consequence;-a-Class-G-felony.
SECTION 21. 948.53 (2) (b) 2., 3. and 4. of the statutes are created to read:

948.53 (2) (b) 2. Any person who violates par. (a) is guilty of a Class I felony if bodily

harm is a consequence.
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3. Any person who violates par. (a) is guilty of a Class H felony if great bodily harm
is a consequence.

4. Any person who violates par. (a) is guilty of a Class G felony if death is a
consequence.

Norte: This SECTION creates offenses for cases in which bodily harm is a
consequence of leaving a child unattended in a child care vehicle and in
which great bodily harm is a consequence. The offense involving bodily
harm is a Class I felony and the offense involving great bodily harm is a
Class H felony.

SECTION 22. 972.15 (1m) of the statutes is created to read:

972.15 (Im) SEX-RELATED CRIMES AGAINST CHILDREN. After a conviction for a felony
that requires sex offender registration under 301.45 (1d) (b), involving a victim who was under
18 years of age at the time of the offense, the court shall order a presentence investigation
report that includes an assessment of the risk of the defendant committing another sex—related
crime against a child, conducted by the department, unless the court finds that the report would
not materially bgneﬁt the court or the department.

Note:  This SECTION requires the court to order a presentence
investigation report that includes an assessment of the risk of the
defendant committing another sex—related crime against a child in cases
in which there is a conviction for a felony requiring sex offender
registration listed under s. 301.45 (1d) (b), stats., and the victim was
under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, unless the court finds that
the report would not materially benefit the department of corrections or
the court.

SeEcTiON 23. Effective date.
(1) The treatment of section 301.48 (1) (e) 1. and 2. d. of the statutes takes effect on July
I, 2007.

Note: This SECTION provides that the treatment of the statutes relating
to GPS tracking take effect on July 1, 2007, the effective date of 2005
Wisconsin Act 431.
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1 SecTiON 24. Initial applicability.

b

(1) This act first applies to offenses the prosecution of which is not barred before the
3 effective date of this subsection.

NotE: This SECTION provides that the bill draft’s provisions relating to
statutes of limitations for prosecution of sexual assault of a child apply to
offenses for which the statute of limitations has not expired on the
effective date.

4 (END)




