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AN ACT to renumber and amend 939.616 (1), 948.21 (1) and 948.53 (2) (b); to

e
[y

amend 301.45 (1d) (b), 301.48 (1) (e) 1.,939.616 (2), 939.616 (3), 939.74 (2) (a),

Vo?\m/

948.025 (3), 948.03 (2) (a) and 948.08; to repeal and recreate 939.74 (2d) (¢),

/
/
/ 4 948.02 (1), 948.025 (1) and 948.025 (2); and to create 301.48 (1) (e) 1m., 301.48
;f 5 (1) (e) 2.d., 939.616 (1g), 939.74 (2d) (d), 948.21 (1) (b), (c) and (d), 948.53 (2) (b)
/} 6 2., 3. and 4. and 972.15 (1m) of the statutes; relating to: crimes against
\ ;/ TYM childre%f and e e

/ Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
N T @1@ is a preliminary draft-—An analysis-will be-provided in-alater version.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

Jomt LEGisLaTivE COUNCIL PREFATORY NOTE: This bill 4f¢ was prepared for the

Joint Legislative Council’s Special Committee on Review of Crimes Against Children.

Sex offender registry:

Current law requires sex offender registration following a conviction for a sex
offense, as that term is defined in s. 301.45 (1d) (b), stats. “Sex offense” is defined to
include all of the types of child enticement offenses under s. 948.07, stats.
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Under s.948.07 (5) and (6), stats., child enticement includes causing or attempting )
to cause any child under 18 years old to go into any vehicle, building, room, or secluded v
place, with intent to cause bodily or mental harm to a child or to give or sell a controlled
substance or controlled substance analog to a child.

The bill draf removes these offenses from the list of offenses requiring mandatory
sex offender registration.

Reconciliation of 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430, 431, and 437:

The bill ¢ reconciles 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430, 431, and 437. The Revisor of
Statutes has determined that provisions of these acts are mutually inconsistent.

2005 Wisconsin Act 430 (“Act 4307), commonly referred to as “Jessica’s Law”,
modified the offense of 1 degree sexual assault of a child as follows:

*« Whoever ha sexu;l mtercourse with a person who has not attained the age of
12 years is guilty of/a Class B felony and is subject to a mandatory minimum term of
confinement in prﬁn of 25 years.

» Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age of
16 years by the uge or threat of force or violence is guilty of a Class B felony and is subject
to a-mandatory minimum term of confinement in prison of 25 years.

* Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of 16
years by the use or threat of force or violence if the actor is at least 18 years of age when
the sexual co;%act oceurs is guilty of a Class B felony and is subject to a mandatory
minimum term of confinement in prison of 5 years.

« Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of 13
years is gulh;%? of a Class B felony. g) csh

Act 430 also created a new definition of “sexual intercourse” for purposes of the
offense o@degree sexual assault of a child. Under the act, “sexual intercourse” means
vulvar penetration as well as cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse b}&ttween persons
or any intrusion of an inanimate object into the genital or anal opening either by the
defendant or upon the defendant’s instruction. The emission of sem?giis not required.
Under prior law, “sexual intercourse” for purposes of the offense of ist-degree sexual
assault of a child was the same as the general definition for other sexual assault erimes
and also included the intrusion, however slight, of any part of a person’s body into the
genital or anal opening either by the defendant or upon the defendant’s instruction.

2005 Wisconsin-Act 431 (“Bct 4317), effective July 1, 2007, requires global
positioning system (GPS) tracking for certain sex offenders, including persons found to
have commlttecf 1st-degree sexual assault of a child as follows: (a) the person had sexual
intercourse with @ person under 12 years of age; (b) the person had sexual intercourse by /
use or threat of force or violence with a person under 16 years of age; or (c) the person had /
sexual contact by use or threat of force or violence with a person under 16 years of age
and the person was 18 yea age or older at the time of the offense. sl

2005 Wisconsin Acty437 (“Act 437”) modified the offense 0 t-degree sexual
assault of a child so that it'is a Class B felony to have sexual contact or sexual intercourse
with a person whoisunder 13 years of age and it is a Class A felony to have sexual contact
or sexual intercourse with a person who is under 13 years of age if the sexual contact or
sexual intercourse regﬂlté in great bodily harm.

|
/

The bill @gﬁgﬁaisa includes the following substantive changes to these provisions,
which are described in the notes following the SECTIONS:

+ Under the bill dmfffpmandatow minimum terms of confinement in prison for
first-degree sexual assault of a child do not apply if the offender was under 18 years of
age at the time of the violation.
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+ The bill d¢aft' modifies the offense created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 437 to clarify
that the great bodily harm need not result from the sexual intercourse or contact.

* The bill dg‘@fﬁimmaws the definition of “sexual intercourse” that applies only
to the offense of first—degree sexual assault of a child but maintains the definition for
purposes of GPS tracking requirements.

¢ The bill dfaft makes certain changes for purposes of consistency (e.g., requiring
GPS tracking for persons convicted of first-degree sexual assault of a child if the person
caused great bodily harm).

Statute of limitations for prosecution of sexual assault of a child:

Current law imposes time limits for commencing prosecution for most crimes. The
2003 Wisconsin statutes required that prosecution for a sexual assault of a child be
commenced before the victim reaches the age of 45. However, also under the 2003
statutes, if the state collected deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) evidence in connection with
a sexual assault of a child before the time period for commencing prosecution of the sexual
assault expired (e.g., before the victim reached the age of 45) and did not match the DNA
evidence with an identified person until after the time period expired, the state was
permitted to commence prosecution of the person who was the source of the DNA for the
sexual assault within one year after ma}mg the match.

The statutes were affected by gWisconsin acts in the 2005-06 legislative session.

2005 Act 60 provides that if the state collects DNA evidence in connection with a
sexual assault of a child and does not match the DNA evidence with an identified person,
as described above, the one-year extension to the time period for commencing
prosecution for the sexual assaultgﬁfs‘é:ﬁpplie%to prosecution for a crime that is related
to the sexual assault. e A

s

2005 Act 276 eliminates all time limits for commencing prosecution for a
first-degree sexual aszwa%ult of a child.

This bill ég@ﬁiﬁ» eliminates the time limits for commencing a prosecution of
first-degree sexual assault of a child and the various offenses of engaging in repeated acts
of first-degree sexug} assault of a child.

The bill &gg provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profile is matched to an
identified person for a violation of second-degree sexual assault of a child, a prosecution
may be brought for the second-degree sexual assault of a child violation or for a crime that
is related to the sexual assault violation, or both.

Finally, the bill provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profile is
matched to an identified person for a violation of first-degree sexual assault of a child,
a prosecution may be brought for a crime that is related to the sexual assault violation.

Offenses that may not be charged with repeated acts of sexual assault of the same
child:

Current law prohibits any of the following violations from being charged in the
same action as a charge of engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child
unless the other violation occurred outside of the time period in which the repeated acts
took place: crimes against sexual morality, sexual assault of a child, sexual exploitation
of a child, incest with a child, child enticement, use of a computer to facilitate a child sex
crime, soliciting a child for prostitution, exposing genital or pubic area, exposing a child
to harmful material or harmful descriptions or narrations, or possession of child

pornography.

The bill dxﬁ(;:ws prosecution of all of these violations except sexual assault of
a child and exposing genitals to a child in the same action as a charge of engaging in
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repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child, even if the other violation occurred
during the time period in which the repeated acts took place.

Physical abuse of a child:

Under current law, it is a Class E felony to intentionally cause great bodily harm
to a child. This elﬂ@ft changes this offense to a Class C felony.

Soliciting a chz% far prostitution: 27

Under current law, whoever intentionally solicits of causes any child to practice
prostitution is guilty of a Class D felony. The bill diaft modifies the offense so that it
prohibits soliciting or causing any child to engage in an act of prostitution. As under
current law, it is also a violation to establish a child in a place of prostitution under the

Criminal neglect of a child:

Under current law, any person whois responsible for a child’s welfare who, through

his or her actions or failure to take action, intentionally contributes to the neglect of the

child is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor or, if death is a consequence, a Class D felony. IG . } é
The bill @é;tes offenses for cases in which bodily harm isa conseM‘

neglect and in which great bodily harm is a consequence of neglect. Under the the

offense involving bodily harm is a Class H felony and the offense involving great bodily
harm is a Class F felony.

Also under current law, a person responsible for a child’s welfare while the child
isbeingtransported in achild care vehicle maynot leave the child unattended at any time
from the time the child is placed in the care of that person tothe time the child is placed
in the care of another person responsible for the child’s welfare. A person who violates
this provision is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor or, if death is a consequence; a Class G
felony. I

The bill évaﬁ/ creates offenses for cases in which bodily harm is a consequence of
leaving a child unattended in a clild care vehicle and in which great bodily harm is a
consequence. Under the bill , the offense involving bodily harm is a Class I felony
and the offense involving great bodily harm is a Class H felony.

Presentence investigation:

.

The bill d#4ft requires the court to order a presentence investigation report that
includes an assessment of the risk of the defendant committing another sex-related
crime against a child in cases in which there is a conviction for a felony requiring sex
offender registration listed under s. 301.45 (1d) (b), stats., and the victim was under the
age of 18 at the time of the offense, unless the court finds that the report would not
materially benefit the department of corrections or the court.

SECTION 1. 301.45 (1d) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

301.45 (1d) (b) “Sex offense” means a violation, or the solicitation, conspiracy,
or attempt to commit a violation, of s. 940.22 (2), 940.225 (1), (2) or (3), 944.06, 948.02
(1) or (2),948.025, 948.05, 948.055, 948.06, 948.07 (1) to (4), 948.075, 948.08, 948.085, /
948.095, 948.11 (2) (a) or (am), 948.12, 948.13, or 948.30, or of s. 940.30 or 940.31 if
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SECTION 1

the victim was a minor and the person who committed the violation was not the
victim’s parent.
SECTION 2. 301.48 (1) (e) 1. of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act

431, is amended to read: 7 /9/ “

cAbse o0 > 7

10
11
12

13
14

v S
301.48 (1) (e) 1. Section 948.02 (1) Qb%—ée);!am%or (d) or 948.025 (1) (a) erfag).
' ¥

Norte: This SECTION expands the GPS tracking requirements so that they apply to
a person found to have committed 1st-degree sexual assault of a child if the offender
caused great bodily harm to the child.

A

SECTION 3. 301.48 (1) (e) 1m. of the statutes is created to read:
e e
301.48 (1) (e) Im. Section 948.02 (1) (b) or (c) or 948 ’025 (1) (b) or (¢) if the

of age or of having sexual intercourse with a person under 16 y&a® of age by the use or
threat of force or violence, the person is subject to GPS tracking requirements if the
offense involved sexual intercourse as defined i.6.-80% 4 ). Under that section,

“sexual intercourse” is defined as vulvar penetratlon as well as cunnilingus, fellatio, or
anal intercourse between persons or any intrusion of any inanimate object into the
genital or anal opening either by the defendant or upon the defendant’s instruction. The

emission of semen is not required:

=%

This definition applies to the offenses unde; gs. 948.02 (1) (b) and (¢) and 948.025
(1) (b) and (¢) under current law. This bill desft repeals that definition from s. 948.02.
Therefore, under this SecTiON, GPS tracking requirements under current law for the
offenses described above are not affected.

4

SECTION 4. 301.48 (1) (e) 2. d. of the statutes is created to read:

301.48 (1) (e) 2. d. The actor has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a

person who has not attained the age of 13 years and causes great bodily harm, as

v

defined in s. 939.22 (14), to the person.

Norte: This SECTION requires GPS tracking for a person found to have committed
1st~degree sexual assault of a child under the 2003 statutes if the actor had sexual
contact or sexual intercourse with a person under the age of 13 years and the offender
caused great bodily harm to the person.

SECTION 5. 939.616 (1) of the statuteq,/;a’icreated by 2005 Wisconsin Act 430

is renumbered 939.616 (1r) and amended to read:

ve
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SECTION 5
1 939.616 (1r) If a person is convicted of a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (b) or (¢) or
2 948.025 (1) {a) (b), the court shall impose a bifurcated sentence under s. 973.01. The
3 term of confinement in prison portion of the bifurcated sentence shall be at least 25
4 years. Otherwise the penalties for the crime apply, subject to any applicable penalty
5 enhancement.
Note: This SECTION changes a cross-reference to reflect the renumbering of s.
948.025 (1) in the bill @E‘Itk/g/
6 SECTION 6. 939.616 (1g) of the statutes is created to read:
7 939.616 (1g) If a person is convicted of a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (am) or
8 948.025 (1) (a), notwithstanding s. 973.014 (1g) (a) 1. and 2., the court may not make ~~
9 an extended supervision eligibility date determination on a date that will occur
10 before the person has served a 25-year term of confinement in prison.
Note: This SECTION provides that if a person is convicted of having sexual
intercourse or sexual contact with a person who is under 13 yearsof age and causing great
bodily harm to the person or having repeatedly committed such an act, the court must
order a term of confinement in prison of at least 25 years. The underlying offense is a
| Class A felony.
.f WV/ I
11 SECTION 7. 939.616 (2) of the statutes/ as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 430,57
12 is amended to read:
13 939.616 (2) If a person is convicted of a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (d) or 948.025
14 (1) tag) (c), the court shall impose a bifurcated sentence under s. 973.01. The term =
15 of confinement in prison portion of the bifurcated sentence shall be at least 5 years.
16 Otherwise the penalties for the crime apply, subject to any applicable penalty
17 enhancement.

Nore: This SECTION changes a cross-reference to reflect the renumbering of s.

948.025 (1) in the bm%

18 SECTION 8. 939.616 (3) of the statutes@ated by 2005 Wisconsin Act 430,)

19 is amended to read:
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confinement for first-degree sexual assault of a child do not apply if the offender was
under 18 years of age when the violation occurred.

SECTION 9. 939.74 (2) (a) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 276,
is amended to read:
939.74 (2) (a) A prosecution under s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 948.02 (1),

or 948.025 (1) (a), (b), (c), or (d) may be commenced at any time.

Nore: This SECTION adds crossireferences to additional offenses of engaging in
repeated acts of first~degree sexual assault of the same child to include all offenses of
engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same ¢hild. Under this SECTION, there
is no time limitation for prosecuting any first~degree sexual assault of a child offense.

SecTIiON 10. 939.74 (2d) (c) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts

60 and 276, is repealed and recreated to read:

939.74 (2d) (¢) If before the time limitation under sub. (2) (c{;axpired, the state
collected biological material that is evidence of the identity of the person who
committed a violation of s. 948.02 (5) or 948.025 (1) (ei the state identified a
deoxyribonucleic acid profile from the biological material, and comparisons of that
deoxyribonucleic acid profile to deoxyribonucleic acid profiles of known persons did
not result in a probable identification of the person who is the source of the biological
material, the state may commence prosecution of the person who is the source of the
biological material for the violation of s. 948.02 (2) or 948.025 (1) (e) or a crime that
is related to the violation or both within 12 months after comparison of the
deoxyribonucleic acid profile relating to the violation results in a probable

identification of the person.

Norte: This SECTION provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profile is matched
to an identified person for a violation of second-degree sexual assault of a child, a
prosecution may be brought for the second-degree sexual assault of a child violation or
for a erime that is related to the sexual assault violation, or both.
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SECTION 10

Under current law, crimes are related if they are committed against the same
victim, are proximate in time, and are committed with the same intent,.

ff’iﬁ
or 948.025 (1) (a), (b), (¢), or (d); lf _before the time limitation for prosecution of the

related crime expired, the state collected biological material that is evidence of the
identity of the person who committed viom?on of s. 948.02 (1) or 948.025 (1) (a),
(b), (c), or (ds);the state identified a deoxyribonucleic acid profile from the biological
material, and comparisons of that deoxyribonucleic acid profile to deoxyribonucleic
acid profiles of known persons did not result in a probable identification of the person
who is the source of the biological material, the state may commence prosecution of
the person who is the source of the biological material for the related crime within

12 months after comparison of that deoxyribonucleic acid profile results in a probable

identification of the person.

Nore: This SECTION provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profile is
matched to an identified person for a violation of first-degree sexual assault of a child,
a prosecution may be brought for a crime that is related to:the sexual assault violation
if the state collected DNA evidence before the statute of limitations for the prosecution
of the related crime expired.

SecTION 12. 948.02 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430
and 437, is repealed and recreated to read:

948.02 (1) FIRST DEGREE SEXUAL ASSAULT. (am) Whoever has sexual contact or
sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age of 13 years and causes
great bodily harm to the person is guilty of a Class A felony.

(b) Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age

of 12 years is guilty of a Class B felony.
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SECTION 12
1 (c) Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age
2 of 16 years by use or threat of force or violence is guilty of a Class B felony.
3 (d) Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of
4 16 years by use or threat of force or violence is guilty of a Class B felony if the actor
5 is at least 18 years of age when the sexual contact occurs.
6 (e) Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of
7 13 years is guilty of a Class B felony. ,,,; et
Note: This SECTION recreates the offense GW(egree sexual assault of a child to
reflect the changes made in Acts 430 and 437.
{j o . L “ . »
Ry This SECTION deletes the separate definition of “sexual intercourse” so that the

general definition for ch. 948 applies to the offense of first—degree sexual assauit of a
child.

Also under this SECTION, the wording par. (am) is amended to remove a

v requirement under Act 430 that the great bodily harm result from the sexual contact or
sexual intercourse. This change is intended to allow conviction under par. (am) if the
great bodily harm was caused by the defendant during the course of conduct that
immediately preceded, was concurrent with, or immediately followed the act of sexual
assault. See, State v. Schambow; 176 Wis. 2d 286, 500 N.W.2d 362 (Ct. App. 1993).

8 SECTION 13. 948.025 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430
9 and 437, is repealed and recreated to read:
10 948.025 (1) Whoever commits 3 or more violations under s. 948.02 (1) or (2)
11 within a specified period of time involving the same child is guilty of:
12 (@) A Class A felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1)
13 (am).
14 (b) A Class B felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1)

15 (am), (b), or (c).
16 (c) A Class B felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1)
17 (am), (b), (c), or (d).

18 (d) A Class B felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1).
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SECTION 13

(e) A Class C felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1)

or (2). ;A\;w;ﬂj

Note: This SECTION restructures the offense of engaging in repeated acts d{:;e
same child. Under current law, for example, par. (¢) requires a showing that the
defendant committed at least 3 violations of sub. (1) (am), (b), (¢), or (d), but that fewer
than 3 of the violations were of sub. (am), (b), or (c).

SECTION 14. 948.025 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430
and 437, is repealed and recreated to read: p/,

948.025 (2) (a) If an action under sub. (1) (a) is tried to a jury, in order to find
the defendant guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least
3 violations of s. 948.02 (1) (aﬁ}; occurred within the specified period of time but need
not agree on which acts constitute the requisite number.

(b) If an action under sub. (1) (b) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant
guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of
s. 948.02 (1) (am), (b), or (c) occurred within the specified period of time but need not
agree on which acts constitute the requisite number and need not agree on whether
a particular violation was a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (am), (b), or (c).

(c) If an action under sub. (1) (¢) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant
guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of
s. 948.02 (1) (am), (b), (c), or (d) occurred within the specified peI:iod of time but need
not agree on which acts constitute the requisite number and need not agree on
whether a particular violation was a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (alﬁ), (b), (c), or (d).

(d) If an action under sub. (1) (d) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant
guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of

s. 948.02 (1) occurred within the specified period of time but need not agree on which

acts constitute the requisite number.
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SECTION 14

(e) If an action under sub. (1) (e) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant
guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of
s. 948.02 (1) or (2) occurred within the specified period of time but need not agree on
which acts constitute the requisite number and need not agree on whether a

particular violation was a violation of s. 948.02 (1) or (2).

Note: This SECTION reconciles Acts 430 and 437 for the required jury findings to
convict a person of repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child. Under this SECTION,
in an action alleging that a person committed at least 3 violations that resulted in great
bodily harm, the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations
resulting in great bodily harm occurred within the specified period of time but need not
agree on 'which acts constitute the requisite number.

ose > — |
For the other actions of repeated sexual assault of the same child; the members of

-thejury must unanimously agree that at least 3 of the specified violations occurred within
the specified period of time but need not agree which acts constitute the requisite number
and need not agree on whether a particular violation was a violation of a specific
1st-degree sexual assault of a child provision (i.e., whether the act involved sexual
intercourse with a person under the age of 12 years or involved sexual intercourse with
a person under the age of 16 years by use o threat of f{orce or violence).

)Agg g;‘;’;» «eef

SECTION 15. 948.025 (3) of th@// atutes is amended to read:
948.025 (3) The state may gaot charge in the same action a defendant with a

violation of this section and with-a-feleny vielation-invelving the same child under
e¢h-—944-er a violation involving the sam chlld under s. 948.02,-948.05,-948.06,

,

f@

948.07,-948.075,-948.08; or 948.10,~ w. S . 12 unless the other violation

occurred outside of the time period applicable under sub. (1). This subsection does
not prohibit a conviction for an included crime under s. 939.66 when the defendant

is charged with a violation of this section.

Note: Current law prohibits any of the following violations from being ¢harged in
the same action as a charge of engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same
child unless the other violation occurred outside of the time period in which the repeated
acts took place: crimes against sexual morality {ch. 944, stats.], sexual assault of a child
[s. 948.02, stats.], sexual exploitation of a child [s. 948.05, stats.], incest with a child {s.
948.06, stats.], child enticement [s. 948.07, stats.], use of a computer to facilitate a child
sex crime [s. 948.075, stats.], soliciting a child for prostitution [s. 948.08, stats.], exposin
genital or pubic area [s. 948.10, stats.], exposing a child to harmful material or harmful
descriptionsor narrations {s. 948.11, stats.], or possession of child pornography [s. 948.12,

stats.&@, X‘
\,//
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SECTION 15

o LA
¢ 0 This SECTION allows prosecution of all of these violations except sexual assault of

W ‘? a child and exposing genitalsto a child in the same action as a charge of engaging in
repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child, even if the other violation occurred
during the time period in which the repeated acts took place.

1 SECTION 16. 948.03 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

948.03 (2) (a) Whoever intentionally causes great bodily harm to a child is
guilty of a Class E C felony.

SECTION 17. 948.08 of the statutes is amended to read:

948.08 Soliciting a child for prostitution. Whoever intentionally solicits

or causes any child to praetice engage in an act of prostitution or establishes any child

. O Ot s W

in a place of prostitution is guilty of a Class D felony.

Nore: This SECTION modifies the offense of soliciting a child for prostitution sothat
it is a Class D felony to intentionally solicit or cause any child to engage in an act of
prostitution;instead of to intentionally solicit or cause any child to practice prostitution. g y

8 SECTION 18. 948.21 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 948.21 (1) {@f and

9 amended to read:
10 948.21 (1) 6
11 his or her actions or fall‘ iy
12 the child is guilty ofw%gCIass A mlsdemeanor or;-if death-is-a-consequence,aClass D
13 felony. o \oi | {

Nomﬁ/';;e offense f; eglect in which death is a consequence is moved to par. (d),
in SECTION | of the o pualt AR v ﬁj@;@

14 SECTION iﬁ/ Ml) (b), (c) and d of the statutes are created to read:
15 948.21 (1) (b) mermﬁﬁwmﬁa%@gﬁ&mgag ui s

16 harm is a consequence.

17 () Apersonwhoviglatespar{ali

18 is a consequernce. 4

19 (d) Anypersenwhosioldtesp 5a Class D felony if death is a

20 consequence.
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SECTION 19

Norte: This SECTION creates offenses for neglect if bodily harmis a consequence and

if great bodily harm is a consequence. The offense involving bodily harm is a Class H
felony and the offense involving great bodily harm is a Class F felony. N
{ (i }

1 SECTION 20. 948.53 (2) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 948.53 (2) (b{i. and

2 amended to read: oY
3 948.53 (2) (b) & { Any person who violates par. (a) is guilty of a[CIass A
4 misdemeanor or-if death-is-a-consequence;a-Class-Gfelony.

SECTION 21. 948.53 (2) (b) 2., 3. and 4. of the statutes are created to read:
948.53 (2) (b) 2. W%MMWW@?@ Class I felony if

y person;who violatés par:(a)is-gui

harm is a consequence.

5

6

7 bodily harm is a consequence.
8 j %wClass H felony if great bodily
9

10 4. Any/person who yiolates par./ Class G felony if death is a
11 consequence.

Note:  This SECTION creates offenses for cases in which bodily harm is a
consequence of leavinga child unattended in a child care vehicle and in which great bodily

harm is a consequence. The offense involving bodily harm is a Cl@/s/lffelany and the
offense involving great bodily harm is a Class H felony. ( =#

12 SecTION 22. 972.15 (1m) of gzhe statutes is cregted to read

13 972.15 (1m) SEXW ms AGAINST @H}B%RBN Mg&- af

el

14

15 «A«-victim wg was under 18 years of age at the time of the offense, the court shall orgezgﬁ\ N
=

" s woheTher
2
A fg@ WLy

17 &ef@ﬁ%éit commlttlﬁg another s

18 15k e /

&

court or t the department

{/7 SECTION 23. Effective datel P T
€§Fw A ’M do‘\y
0\.&'@»’ Pub\ﬂCo\i\ﬁV\
f/kc_e,‘p‘l” S
(o \lows ©
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the effective date of this subsection.
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SECTION 23

on July 1, 2007.

(1) The treatment of section 301.48 (1) (e) 1.jand 2. d. of the statutes takes effect

Note: This SECTION provides that the treatment of the statutes relating to GPS
tracking take effect on July 1, 1, 2007, the effective date of 2005 Wisconsin Act 431.

Mmmww

~ SEcTION 24. Initial applicability.

T ~ " Y

i \

i

/
;
/

/

/
N /
Norte: This SECTION provides that the&_l@ isi

provisions relating to statutes of /
limitations for prosecution of sexual assault of a child apply to offegses for which the
statute of limitations hasnot explred on the effective date.

(1) This act first applies to offenses the prosecution of which is not barred before

i

(END)

— w‘w
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March 5, 2007

Anne:

Under s. 940.225 (1) (a), a person is guilty of first-degree sexual assault if that person
has had sexual contact or sexual intercourse with another person without that person’s
consent and causes pregnancy or great bodily harm. Do you want to include pregnancy
in s. 948.02 (1) (am)? Otherwise pregnancy is weighed as equal to great bodily harm
for an adulit but not for a child.

Cathlene Hanaman

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 267-9810

E-mail: cathlene. hanaman@legis.wisconsin.gov
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AN ACT #o renuW amend 939.616 (1), 948.21 (1) and 948.53 (2) (b); to

amend 301.45 (1d) (b), 301.48 (1) (e) 1., 939.616 (2), 939.616 (3), 939.74 (2) (a),
948.025 (3), 948.03 (2) (a) and 948.08; to repeal and recreate 939.74 (2d) (¢),
948.02 (1), 948.025 (1) and 948.025 (2); and to create 301.48 (1) (e) 1m., 301.48
(1) (e) 2.d.,939.616 (1g), 939.74 (2d) (d), 948.21 (1) (b), (c) and (d), 948.53 (2) (b)
2., 3. and 4. and 972.15 (1m) of the statutes; relating to: crimes against

children and providing penalties.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
This bill is explained in the NOTES provided by the Joint Legislative Council in
the bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL PREFATORY NOTE: This bill was prepared for the Joint
Legislative Council’s Special Committee on Review of Crimes Against Children.
Sex offender registry:

Current law requires sex offender registration following a conviction for a sex
offense, as that term is defined in s. 301.45 (1d) (b), stats. “Sex offense” is defined to
include all of the types of child enticement offenses under s. 948.07, stats.
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Under s. 948.07 (5) and (6), stats., child enticement includes causing or attempting
to cause any child under 18 years old to go into any vehicle, building, room, or secluded
place, with intent to cause bodily or mental harm to a child or to give or sell a controlled
substance or controlled substance analog to a child.

The bill removes these offenses from the list of offenses requiring mandatory sex
offender registration.

Reconciliation of 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430, 431, and 437:

The bill reconciles 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430, 431, and 437. The Revisor of Statutes
has determined that provisions of these acts are mutually inconsistent.

2005 Wisconsin Act 430 (“Act 430”), commonly referred to as “Jessica’s Law”,
modified the offense of first-degree sexual assault of a child as follows:

¢ Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age of
12 years is guilty of a Class B felony and is subject to a mandatory minimum term of
confinementin prison of 25 years.

* Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age of
16 years by the use or threat of force or violence is guilty of a Class B felony and is subject
to a mandatory minimum term of confinement in prison of 25 years.

e Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of 16
years by the use or threat of force or violence if the actor is at least 18 years of age when
the sexual contact occurs is guilty of a Class B felony and is subject to a mandatory
minimum term of confinement in prison of 5 years.

* Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of 13
years is guilty of a Class B felony.

Act 430 also created a new definition of “sexual intercourse” for purposes of the
offense of first-degree sexual assault of a child. Under the act, “sexual intercourse”
means vulvar penetration as well as cunnilingus; fellatio, or anal intercourse between
persons or any intrusion of an inanimate object into the genital or anal opening either by
the defendant or upon the defendant’s instruction. The emission of semen is not required.
Under prior law, “sexual intercourse” for purposes of the offense of first-degree sexual
assault of a child was the same as the general definition for other sexual assault crimes
and also included the intrusion, however slight, of any part of a person’s body into the
genital or anal opening either by the defendant or upon the defendant’s instruction.

2005 Wisconsin Act 431 (“Act 4317), effective July 1, 2007, requires global
positioning system (GPS) tracking for certain sex offenders, including persons found to
have committed first-degree sexual assault of a child as follows: (a) the person had sexual
intercourse with a person under 12 years of age; (b) the person had sexual intercourse by
use or threat of force or violence with a person under 16 years of age; or (¢) the person had
sexual contact by use or threat of force or violence with a person under 16 years of age
and the person was 18 years of age or older at the time of the offense.

2005 Wisconsin Act 437 (“Act 437”) modified the offense of first-degree sexual
assault of a child so that it is a Class B felony to have sexual contact or sexual intercourse
with a person whois under 13 years of age and it is a Class A felony to have sexual contact
or sexual intercourse with a person who is under 13 years of age if the sexual contact or
sexual intercourse results in great bodily harm.

The bill also includes the following substantive changes to these provisions, which
are described in the notes following the SECTIONS:

¢ Under the bill, mandatory minimum terms of confinement in prison for
first~degree sexual assault of a child do not apply if the offender was under 18 years of
age at the time of the violation.
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*» The bill modifies the offense created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 437 to clarify that the
great bodily harm need not result from the sexual intercourse or contact.

 The bill eliminates the definition of “sexual intercourse” that applies only to the
offense of first-degree sexual assault of a child but maintains the definition for purposes
of GPS tracking requirements.

¢ The bill makes certain changes for purposes of consistency (e.g., requiring GPS
tracking for persons convicted of first-degree sexual assault of a child if the persen caused
great bodily harm).

Statute of limitations for prosecution of sexual assault of a child:

Current law imposes time limits for commencing prosecution for most crimes. The
2003 Wisconsin statutes required that prosecution for a sexual assault of a child be
commenced before the victim reaches the age of 45. However, also under the 2003
statutes, if the state collected deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) evidence in connection with
asexual assault of a child before the time period for commencing prosecution of the sexual
assault expired (e.g., before the victim reached the age of 45) and did not match the DNA
evidence with an identified person until after the time period expired, the state was
permitted to commence prosecution of the person who was the source of the DNA for the
sexual assault within one year after making the match.

The statutes were affected by two Wisconsin acts in the 2005-06 legislative
session.

2005 Act 60 provides that if the state collects DNA evidence in connection with a
sexual assault of a child and does not match the DNA evidence with an identified person,
as described above, the one-year extension to the time period for commencing
prosecution for the sexual assault applies also to prosecution for a crime that is related
to the sexual assault.

2005 Act 276 eliminates all time limits" for commencing prosecution for a
first-degree sexual assault of a child.

This bill eliminates the time limits for commencing a prosecution of first-degree
sexual assault of a child and the various offenses of engaging in repeated acts of
first-degree sexual assault of a child.

The bill provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profile is matched to an
identified person for a violation of second-degree sexual assault of a child, a prosecution
may be brought for the second-degree sexual assault of a child violation or for a crime that
is related to the sexual assault violation, or both.

Finally, the bill provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profile is matched to
an identified person for a violation of first-degree sexual assault of a child, a prosecution
may be brought for a erime that is related to the sexual assault violation.

Offenses that may not be charged with repeated acts of sexual assault of the same
child:

Current law prohibits any of the following violations from being charged in the
same action as a charge of engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child
unless the other violation occurred outside of the time period in which the repeated acts
took place: crimes against sexual morality, sexual assault of a child, sexual exploitation
of a child, incest with a child, child enticement, use of a computer to facilitate a child sex
crime, soliciting a child for prostitution, exposing genital or pubic area, exposing a child
to harmful material or harmful descriptions or narrations, or possession of child

pornography.
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The bill allows prosecution of all of these violations except sexual assault of a child
and exposing genitals to a child in the same action as a charge of engaging in repeated
acts of sexual assault of the same child, even if the other violation occurred during the
time period in which the repeated acts took place.

Physical abuse of a child:

Under current law, it is a Class E felony to intentionally cause great bodily harm
to a child. This bill changes this offense to a Class C felony.

Soliciting a child for prostitution:

Under current law, whoever intentionally solicits or causes any child to practice
prostitution is guilty of a Class D felony. The bill modifies the offense so that it prohibits
soliciting or causing any child to engage in an act of prostitution. As under current law,
it is also a violation to establish a child in a place of prostitution under the bill.

Criminal neglect of a child:

Under current law, any person who is responsible for a child’s welfare who, through
his or her actions or failure to take action, intentionally contributes to the neglect of the
child is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor or, if death is a consequence, a Class D felony.

The bill creates offenses for cases in which bodily harm is a consequence of neglect
and in which great bodily harm is a consequence of neglect. Under the bill, the offense
involving bodily harm is a Class H felony and the offense involving great bodily harm is
a Class F felony.

Also under current law, a person responsible for a child’s welfare while the child
isbeing transported in a child care vehicle may not leave the child unattended at any time
from the time the child is placed in the care of that person to the time the child is placed
in the care of another person responsible for the child’s welfare. A person who violates
this provision is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor or, if death is a consequence, a Class G
felony.

The bill creates offenses for cases in which bodily harm is a consequence of leaving
achild unattended in a child care vehicle and in which great bodily harm is a consequence.
Under the bill, the offense involving bodily harm is a Class I felony and the offense
involving great bodily harm is a Class H felony.

Presentence investigation.:

Thebill requires the court to order a presentence investigation report that includes
an assessment of the risk of the defendant committing another sex-related crime against
a child in cases in which there is a conviction for a felony requiring sex offender
registration listed under s. 301.45 (1d) (b), stats., and the victim was under the age of 18
at the time of the offense, unless the court finds that the report would not materially
benefit the department of corrections or the court.

SecTION 1. 301.45 (1d) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

301.45 (1d) (b) “Sex offense” means a violation, or the solicitation, conspiracy,
or attempt to commit a violation, of s. 940.22 (2), 940.225 (1), (2) or (3), 944.06, 948.02
(1) or(2),948.025,948.05, 948.055,948.06, 948.07 (1) to (4), 948.075, 948.08, 948.085,
948.095, 948.11 (2) (a) or (am), 948.12, 948.13, or 948.30, or of s. 940.30 or 940.31 if
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SECTION 1

the victim was a minor and the person who committed the violation was not the
victim’s parent.
SEcCTION 2. 301.48 (1) (e) 1. of the statutes, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act

431, is amended to read:é

301.48 (1) (e) 1. Section 948.02 (1) {b);£e); (am) or (d) or 948.025 (1) (a) exlag).

NortE: This SECTION expands the GPS tracking requirements so that they apply to
a person found to have committed first-degree sexual assault of a child if the offender
caused great bodily harm to the child.

SECTION 3. 301.48 (1) (e) 1m. of the statutes is created to read:
301.48 (1) (e) 1m. Section 948.02 (1) (b) or (c¢) or 948.025 (1) (b) or (c) if the

offense involved sexual intercourse.

Note: This SECTION provides that, if a person is convicted under s. 948.02 (1) (b)
or (c) or 948.025 (1) (b) or (c) of having sexual intercourse with a person under 12 years
of age or of having sexual intercourse with a person under 16 years of age by the use or
threat of force or violence, the person is subject to GPS tracking requirements if the
offense involved sexual intercourse as defined for s. 301.48. Under that section, “sexual
intercourse” is defined as vulvar penetration as well as cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal
intercourse between persons or any intrusion of any inanimate object into the genital or
anal opening either by the defendant or upon the defendant’s instruction. The emission
of semen is not required.

This definition applies to the offenses under ss. 948.02 (1) (b) and (c) and 948.025
(1) (b) and (c) under current law. This bill repeals that definition from s. 948.02.
Therefore, under this SEcTION, GPS tracking requirements under current law for the
offenses described above are not affected.

SECTION 4. 301.48 (1) (e) 2. d. of the statutes is created to read:
301.48 (1) (e) 2. d. The actor has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a
person who has not attained the age of 13 years and causes great bodily harm, as

defined in s. 939.22 (14), to the person.

NoTE: This SECTION requires GPS tracking for a person found to have committed
first-degree sexual assault of a child under the 2003 statutes if the actor had sexual
contact or sexual intercourse with a person under the age of 13 years and the offender
caused great bodily harm to the person.

SECTION 5. 939.616 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 939.616 (1r) and amended

to read:
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SECTION 5

939.616 (1r) If a person is convicted of a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (b) or (c) or
948.025 (1) &) (b), the court shall impose a bifurcated sentence under s. 973.01. The
term of confinement in prison portion of the bifurcated sentence shall be at least 25
years. Otherwise the penalties for the crime apply, subject to any applicable penalty

enhancement.

Note: This SECTION changes a cross-reference to reflect the renumbering of s.
948.025 (1) in the bill.

SECTION 6. 939.616 (1g) of the statutes is created to read:

939.616 (1g) If a person is convicted of a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (am) or
948.025 (1) (a), notwithstanding s. 973.014 (1g) (a) 1. and 2., the court may not make
an extended supervision eligibility date determination on a date that will occur

before the person has served a 25-year term of confinement in prison.

Note: This SECTION provides that if a person is convicted of having sexual
intercourse or sexual contact with a person who is under 13 years of age and causing great
bodily harm to the person or having repeatedly committed such an act, the court must
order a term of confinement in prison of at least 25 years. The underlying offense is a
Class A felony.

SECTION 7. 939.616 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

939.616 (2) If a person is convicted of a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (d) or 948.025
(1) tag) (c), the court shall impose a bifurcéted sentence under s. 973.01. The term
of confinement in prison portion of the bifurcated sentence shall be at least 5 years.
Otherwise the penalties for the crime apply, subject to any applicable penalty

enhancement.

Nore: This SECTION changes a cross-reference to reflect the renumbering of s.
948.025 (1) in the bill.

SECTION 8. 939.616 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

939.616 (3) This section does not apply if s. 939.62 (2m) (c) applies. The

mandatory minimum sentences in this section do not apply to an offender who was

under 18 vears of age when the violation occurred.
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SECTION 8

Norte: This SECTION provides that mandatory minimum terms of prison
confinement for first-degree sexual assault of a child do not apply if the offender was
under 18 years of age when the violation occurred.

SECTION 9. 939.74 (2) (a) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 276,

is amended to read:
939.74 (2) (a) A prosecution under s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 948.02 (1),

or 948.025 (1) (a), (b), (¢), or (d) may be commenced at any time.

Note: This SECTION adds cross-references to additional offenses of engaging in
repeated acts of first-degree sexual assault of the same child to include all offenses of
engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child. Under this SECTION, there
is no time limitation for prosecuting any first-degree sexual assault of a child offense.

SECTION 10. 939.74 (2d) (c) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts
60 and 276, is repealed and recreated to read:

939.74 (2d) (c) Ifbefore the time limitation undei' sub. (2) (¢c) expired, the state
collected biological material that is evidence of the identity of the person who
committed a violation of s. 948.02 (2) or 948.025 (1) (e), the state identified a
deoxyribonucleic acid profile from the biological material, and comparisons of that
deoxyribonucleic acid profile to deoxyribonucleic acid profiles of known persons did
not result in a probable identification of the person who is the source of the biological
material, the state may commence prosecution of the person who is the source of the
biological material for the violation of s. 948.02 (2) or 948.025 (1) (e) or a crime that
is related to the violation or both within 12 months after comparison of the
deoxyribonucleic acid profile relating to the violation results in a probable

identification of the person.

NoTE: This SECTION provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profileis matched
to an identified person for a viclation of second-degree sexual assault of a child, a
prosecution may be brought for the second~degree sexual assault of a child violation or
for a crime that is related to the sexual assault violation, or both.

Under current law, crimes are related if they are committed against the same
victim, are proximate in time, and are committed with the same intent, purpose, or
opportunity so as to be part of the same course of conduct.
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SEcTION 11

SECTION 11. 939.74 (2d) (d) of the statutes is created to read:
939.74 (2d) (d) If a crime is related to a violation of s. 948.02 (1) or 948.025 (1)
(a), (b), (), or (d) and if, before the time limitation for prosecution of that related
crime expired, the state collected biological material that is evidence of the identity
of the person who committed the violation of s. 948.02 (1) or 948.025 (1) (a), (b), (c),
or (d), the state identified a deoxyribonucleic acid profile from the biological material,
and comparisons of that deoxyribonucleic acid profile to deoxyribonucleic acid
profiles of known persons did not result in a probable identification of the person who
is the source of the biological material, the state may commence prosecution of the
person who is the source of the biological material for the related crime within 12
months after comparison of that deoxyribonucleic acid profile results in a probable

identification of the person.

NotEe: This SECTION provides that, within 12 months after a DNA profile is matched
to an identified person for a violation of first-degree sexual -assault of a child, a
prosecution may be brought for-a crime that is related to the sexual assault violation if
the state collected DNA evidence before the statute of limitations for the prosecution of
the related crime expired.

SECTION 12. 948.02 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430
and 437, is repealed and recreated to read:

948.02 (1) FIRST DEGREE SEXUAL ASSAULT. (am) Whoever has sexual contact or
sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age of 13 years and causes
great bodily harm to the person is guilty of a Class A felony.

(b) Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age
of 12 years is guilty of a Class B felony.

(c) Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person who has not attained the age

of 16 years by use or threat of force or violence is guilty of a Class B felony.



© oo 3 O

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18

2007 - 2008 Legislature ~9- 2

SECTION 12

(d) Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of
16 years by use or threat of force or violence is guilty of a Class B felohy if the actor
is at least 18 years of age when the sexual contact occurs.

(e) Whoever has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of

13 years is guilty of a Class B felony.

Norte: This SECTION recreates the offense of first-degree sexual assault of a child
to reflect the changes made in Acts 430 and 437.

This SECTION deletes the separate definition of “sexual intercourse” so that the
general definition for ch. 948 applies to the offense of first-degree sexual assault of a
child.

Also under this SECTION, the wording par. (am) is amended to remove a
requirement under Act 430 that the great bodily harm result from the sexual contact or
sexual intercourse. This change is intended to allow conviction under par. (am) if the
great bodily harm was caused by the defendant during the course of conduct that
immediately preceded, was concurrent with, or immediately followed the act of sexual
assault. See, State v. Schambow, 176 Wis. 2d 286, 500 N.W.2d 362 (Ct. App. 1993).

SECTION 13. 948.025 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430
and 437, is repealed and recreated to read:

948.025 (1) Whoever commits 3 or more violations under s. 948.02 (1) or (2)
within a spéciﬁed period of time involving the same child is guilty of:

(a) A Class A felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1)
(am).

(b) A Class B felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1)
(am), (b), or (¢).

(c) A Class B felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1)
(am), (b), (¢), or (d).

(d) AClassB felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1).

(e) A Class C felony if at least 3 of the violations were violations of s. 948.02 (1)

or (2).

NortE: This SECTION restructures the offense of engaging in repeated acts involving
the same child. Under current law, for example, par. (c) requires a showing that the
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SECTION 13

defendant committed at least 3 violations of sub. (1) (am), (b), (c), or (d), but that fewer
than 3 of the violations were of sub. (am), (b), or (c).

SECTION 14. 948.025 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Acts 430
and 437, is repealed and recreated to read:

948.025 (2) (a) If an action under sub. (1) (a) is tried to a jury, in order to find
the defendant guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least
3 violations of s. 948.02 (1) (am) occurred within the specified period of time but need
not agree on which acts constitute the requisite number.

(b) If an action under sub. (1) (b) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant
guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of
s. 948.02 (1) (am), (b), or (¢) occurred within the specified period of time but need not
agree on which acts constitute the requisite number and need not agree on whether
a particular violation was a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (am), (b), or (c).

(¢) If an action under sub. (1) (c) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant
guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of
s. 948.02 (1) (am), (b), (c), or (d) occurred within the specified period of time but need
not agree on which acts constitute the requisite number and need not agree on
whether a particular violation was a violation of s. 948.02 (1) (am), (b), (c), or (d).

(d) If an action under sub. (1) (d) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant
guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of
s. 948.02 (1) occurred within the specified period of time but need not agree on which
acts constitute the requisite number.

(e) If an action under sub. (1) (e) is tried to a jury, in order to find the defendant
guilty the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations of

s. 948.02 (1) or (2) occurred within the specified period of time but need not agree on
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SECTION 14

which acts constitute the requisite number and need not agree on whether a

particular violation was a violation of s. 948.02 (1) or (2).

NorE: This SECTION reconciles Acts 430 and 437 for the required jury findings to
convict a person of repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child. Under this SECTION,
in an action alleging that a person committed at least 3 violations that resulted in great
bodily harm, the members of the jury must unanimously agree that at least 3 violations
resulting in great bodily harm occurred within the specified period of time but need not
agree on which acts constitute the requisite number.

For the other actions of repeated sexual assault of the same child, the members of
thejury must unanimously agree that at least 3 of the specified violations occurred within
the specified period of time but need not agree which acts constitute the requisite number
and need not agree on whether a particular violation was a violation of a specific
first-degree sexual assault of a child provision (i.e., whether the act involved sexual
intercourse with a person under the age of 12 years or involved sexual intercourse with
a person under the age of 16 years by use or threat of force or violence).

SECTION 15. 948.025 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

948.025 (3) The state may not charge in the same action a defendant with a

violation of this section and with -a-felenyvielation-invelvingthe same child under
e¢h—944-or a violation involving the same child under s. 948.02,-948.05,-948.06;

948.07;-948.075,-948.08; or 948.10, 948,11 0r 948.12; unless the other violation
occurred outside of the time period applicable under sub. (1). This subsection does
not prohibit a conviction for an included crime under s. 939.66 when the defendant

is charged with a violation of this section.

Note: Current law prohibits any of the following violations from being charged in
the same action as a charge of engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same
child unless the other violation occurred outside of the time period in which the repeated
acts took place: crimes against sexual morality [ch. 944, stats.], sexual assault of a child
[s. 948.02, stats.], sexual exploitation of a child [s. 948.05, stats.], incest with a child [s.
948.06, stats.], child enticement [s. 948.07, stats.], use of a computer to facilitate a child
sex crime [s. 948.075, stats.], soliciting a child for prostitution {s. 948.08, stats.], exposing
a genital or pubic area [s. 948.10, stats.], exposing a child to harmful material or harmful
descriptionsor narrations [s. 948.11, stats.], or possession of child pornography [s. 948.12,
stats.].

This SECTION allows prosecution of all of these violations except sexual assault of
a child and exposing genitals to a child in the same action as a charge of engaging in
repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child, even if the other violation occurred
during the time period in which the repeated acts took place.

SECTION 16. 948.03 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:




oy Ot kW

-

10
11
12

13
14
15
16

17
18
19
20

2007 - 2008 Legislature -12 - LRB-1721/P2
CMH.:¢js:nwn

SECTION 16
948.03 (2) (a) Whoever intentionally causes great bodily harm to a child is
guilty of a Class E C felony.
SECTION 17. 948.08 of the statutes is amended to read:
948.08 Soliciting a child for prostitution. Whoever intentionally solicits
or causes any child to praetice engage in an act of prostitution or establishes any child

in a place of prostitution is guilty of a Class D felony.

Norte: This SECTION modifies the offense of soliciting a child for prostitution so that
it is a Class D felony to intentionally solicit or cause any child to engage in an act of
prostitution, instead of to intentionally solicit or cause any child to practice prostitution.

SEcCTION 18. 948.21 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 948.21 (1) (intro.) and
amended to read:

948.21 (1) (intro.) Any person who is responsible for a child’s welfare who,
through his or her actions or failure to take action, intentionally contributes to the

neglect of the child is guilty of -a- one of the following:

(a) A Class A misdemeanor er;-if death-is-a-consequence,-a-Class D-felony.

Note: The offense for neglect in which death is a consequence is moved to par. (d),
in SECTION 19 of the bill.

SECTION 19. 948.21 (1) (b), (c) and (d) of the statutes are created to read:
948.21 (1) (b) A Class H felony if bodily harm is a consequence.
(¢) A Class F felony if great bodily harm is a consequence.

(d) A Class D felony if death is a consequence.

Norte: This SECTION creates offenses for neglect if bodily harm is a consequence and
if great bodily harm is a consequence. The offense involving bodily harm is a Class H
felony and the offense involving great bodily harm is a Class F felony.

SECTION 20. 948.53 (2) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 948.53 (2) (b) (intro.)
and amended to read:

948.53 (2) (b) (intro.) Any person who violates par. (a) is guilty of -a- one of the

following:
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1. A Class A misdemeanor or-if death-is-a-consequence;-a-Class-Gfelony

SECTION 21. 948.53 (2) (b) 2., 3. and 4. of the statutes are created to read:
948.53 (2) (b) 2. A Class I felony if bodily harm is a consequence.
3. A Class H felony if great bodily harm is a consequence.

4. A Class G felony if death is a consequence.

Nore: This SECTION creates offenses for cases in which bodily harm is a
consequence of leaving a child unattended in a child care vehicle and in which great bodily
harm is a consequence. The offense involving bodily harm is a Class I felony and the
offense involving great bodily harm is a Class H felony.

SECTION 22. 972.15 (1m) of the statutes is created to read:

972.15 (1m) SEX OFFENSES AGAINST MINORS. If a person is convicted for a felony
that requires him or her to register under s. 301.45 and if the victim was under 18
years of age at the time of the offense, the court shall order the department to conduct
a presentence investigation report to assess whether the person is at risk for
committing another sex offense, as defined in s. 301.45 (1d) (b), against a minor,
unless the court finds that the report would not materially benefit the court or the
department.

SEcTION 23. Initial applicability.

(1) This act first applies to offenses the prosecution of which is not barred before

the effective date of this subsection.

Note: This SECTION provides that the bill’s provisions relating to statutes of
limitations for prosecution of sexual assault of a child apply to offenses for which the
statute of limitations has not expired on the effective date.

SEcTION 24. Effective dates. This act takes effect on the day after publication,

except as follows:
(1) The treatment of section 301.48 (1) (e) 1., 1m., and 2. d. of the statutes takes

effect on July 1, 2007.
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SECTION 24

Norte: This SECTION provides that the treatment of the statutes relating to GPS
tracking take effect on July 1, 2007, the effective date of 2005 Wisconsin Act 431.

(END)



