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2007 Wisconsin Act 210 

[2007 Assembly Bill 470] 

 

Property Tax Penalty for 
Converting Agricultural Land 

 

2007 Wisconsin Act 210 makes three changes to the statutes relating to the penalty for 

converting land that has been taxed as agricultural land to a nonagricultural use. 

Generally, when land that has been taxed as agricultural land is converted to a nonagricultural 

use, such as for a residential subdivision or a commercial development, it no longer qualifies to be taxed 

as agricultural land.  In addition, a penalty is imposed that, depending on how much land is converted, 

captures between 5% to 10% of the property tax savings that occurred when the land was taxed as 

agricultural land in the year before the conversion.  The penalty is paid to the county in which the land is 

located.  The county is then required to pay 50% of the penalty to the city, village, or town where the 

land is located. 

The three changes to this process made by the Act are: 

1.  The written notice to the property owner, which is required under current law when the 

assessed value of property is changed from one year to the next, would be required to include a notice 

from the assessor if property that had been taxed as agricultural land no longer qualifies to be taxed as 

agricultural land and a penalty may be imposed.  The notice must be given in writing at least 15 days 

prior to the board of review. 

2.  The name of the “penalty” for converting agricultural land is changed to be called a 

“conversion charge.” 

3.  Assessors of each city, village or town are required to provide the county treasurer all 

information necessary to compute conversion charges no later than 15 days after the board of review has 

adjourned. 

The Act also changes a notice requirement that applies any time an assessment of property is 

changed, regardless of whether it involves agricultural land.  Under current law, notice to a property 

owner is required any time an assessment of property is changed.  This notice requirement applies even 
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if the assessment is changed as a result of a complaint by the property owner to the assessor.  The Act 

provides that no further notice of a changed assessment is required if the person whose property is 

assessed waives, in writing on a form prescribed or approved by the Department of Revenue, the right to 

any further notice of the changed assessment. 

Effective Date:  The Act first applies to the property tax assessments on January 1, 2008. 

Prepared by:  William Ford, Senior Staff Attorney April 11, 2008 
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