

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL AMENDMENT MEMO

2007 Assembly Bill 494	Assembly Amendment 1
Memo published: March 21, 2008	Contact: Mary Matthias, Senior Staff Attorney (266-0932)

Under **current law**, each Wisconsin technical college is governed by a local technical college district board. Each district board consists of nine members who are residents of the technical college district. A board must include two employers, two employees, a school district administrator, a state or local elected official, and three additional members.

Assembly Bill 494 requires at least one member of the Milwaukee Area Technical College district board to be a resident of a county other than Milwaukee County. The Milwaukee Area Technical College district has territory in four counties: Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Waukesha and Washington.

The bill permits current members of the Milwaukee Area Technical College district board to serve their terms, but requires all vacancies occurring on the board to be filled with members who are residents of counties other than Milwaukee County until the membership of the district board is brought into conformance with the bill.

Assembly Amendment 1 provides that if no resident of a county other than Milwaukee County submits his or her name for consideration for appointment to the Milwaukee Area Technical College district board, then the residency requirement established in the bill does not apply.

<u>Legislative History</u>

Assembly amendment 1 was offered by Representative Gottlieb on October 4, 2007. On February 12, 2008, the Assembly Committee on Colleges and Universities recommended adoption of the amendment on a vote of Ayes 8, Noes 0, and recommended passage of the bill, as amended, on a vote of Ayes 7, Noes 1.

MM:jal