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State of Wisconsin
Jim Doyle, Governor

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Rod Nilsestuen, Secretary

August 13, 2008

TO: The Honorable Fred Risser
President, Wisconsin State Senate
‘Room 220, South, State Capitol
PO Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882

The Honorable Michael Huebsch
Speaker, Wisconsin State Assembly
Room 211 West, State Capitol
PO Box 8952
Madison, WI 53708-8952
FROM: Rodney J. Nilsestuen, Secretar@%«,ﬁ/__
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

SUBJECT: Producer Security Fees and Assessments
(Clearinghouse Rule #07-073)

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (“DATCP?) is transmitting this
rule for legislative committee review, as provided in s. 227.19(2) and (3), Stats. DATCP will
publish notice of this referral in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, as provided in

s. 227.19(2), Stats. This rule relates to contractor license fees and producer security fund
assessments under Wisconsin’s Agricultural Producer Security Program.

Background

Wisconsin’s Agricultural Producer Security Program helps protect agricultural producers against
catastrophic financial defaults by grain dealers, grain warehouse keepers, milk contractors and
vegetable contractors (collectively referred to as “contractors”). The Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) administers the program under ch. 126, Stats.
Under current law:

e Contractors must be licensed by DATCP, and must pay license fees to fund program
administration. Administration includes grain warehouse inspections, review of contractor
financial statements, license administration, and response to contractor financial defaults and
law violations, among other things.

Agriculture generates $51.5 billion for Wisconsin

2811 Agriculture Drive = PO Box 8911 « Madison, WI 53708-8911 + Wisconsin.gov
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e Most contractors (“contributing contractors™) must pay fund assessments to finance an
agricultural producer security fund. The fund is held in trust, for the benefit of agricultural
producers. If a contractor defaults on payments to producers, DATCP may reimburse
producers from the fund. Fund assessments are based on contractor size, financial condition
and risk practices.

Prior to 2003, DATCP administrative costs were paid by a combination of general tax revenue
(“GPR”) and contractor license fees. However, the 2003-2004 Biennial Budget Act eliminated
virtually all GPR funding for program administration. That made it necessary to transfer staff
from GPR funding to license fee funding. Partly as a result of that change, current license fee
funding is no longer adequate to cover administrative costs. There has been a gradual growth in
administrative costs, due to factors that are outside DATCP control.

Funding shortfalls are especially severe in the grain dealer and grain warehouse keeper
programs. Annual administrative costs now exceed annual license fee revenues by over
$200,000 in each of those programs, and each program has a negative cash balance of more than
$570,000. The vegetable contractor program also has an annual deficit of $20,000, and a
negative cash balance of about $40,000.

Deficits in the grain and vegetable administration accounts are currently being covered by milk
contractor license fee revenues and by fund assessment revenues that would normally go to the
producer security fund (for the benefit of producers). That unfairly affects milk contractors and
reduces fund coverage for all producers (grain, milk and vegetable).

Rule Content

This rule changes license fees and fund assessments as shown in Appendix A. This rule dbes all
of the following:

e Increases license fees for grain dealers, grain warehouse keepers and vegetable contractors, to
remedy current inequities and provide adequate funding for program administration.

e Changes fund assessments for grain dealers (deferred payment assessments) and grain
warehouse keepers, and changes required minimum fund assessments for grain dealers, grain
warehouse keepers, milk contractors and vegetable contractors.

e Reduces assessment rates (which lowers assessment amounts) for some milk contractors.

Notwithstanding this rule, the total of all license fees and fund assessments paid by contractors
under the producer security program is projected to decline over the next few years, because of
fee credits and declining formula rates that are built into the producer security law itself. This
rule will slow, but not reverse, that overall decline. This rule will not have any noticeable impact
on contractors’ overall business costs.
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DATCP held 3 hearings on this rule. The hearings were held in Eau Claire on August 16, 2007,

Public Hearings

Green Bay on August 21, 2007, and Madison on August 22, 2007. The following table
summarizes all testimony received:

Organization Represented by: Form of Position on Summary
Testimony Rule

St. Nazignz Thomas Lefeber Verbal Favor part and Concemned that proposed rule does not address

Milling Inc. oppose part fundamental issues with producer security
program.

Maribel Grain Brian Rabas Written In favor Proposed fee structure would spread costs of

Company this program more evenly across all bushels.

NFO Ron Statz Verbal Favor part and Focusing on dairy, minor housekeeping is

| eppose part good. Overall, rule does not address
foundational issues that created the
) administrative shortfall.

Vita Plus Tom Stehr Verbal Favor part and Opposed to such a dramatic increase in fees.

Corporation oppose part Does support idea of audit program; but
something other than this much of a fee
increase must be done.

Midwest Food Nick George Verbal Opposed Opposed to fee increases. Wis. food

Processors processors are happy to compete with foreign

Association competitors on quality — but cost must also
stay reasonably comparable.

Duffy Grain, Inc. Pat Duffy Verbal Opposed Too much of an increase in fees. Entire
program needs to be reviewed — if producers
want this coverage they should fund it directly.

Wis. Agni-Service | John Petty Verbal and Favor part and Opposed to rule as presented. Represents a

Assoc. Written oppose part half million dollars in additional costs without
examining fundamental issues.

Wis. Potato and Mike Carter Verbal Opposed Organization opposes new fees or fee

Vegetable increases. Understands that program is still

Growers Assoc. important and DATCP should revisit GPR
dollars or other funding sources. If fee
increase is absolutely necessary, it should be
implemented graduaily,

ConAgra Foods Larry Kippley and Did not testify Opposed

Lon Saucier

Dairy Farmers of Joe Burke Did not testify Opposed

America (DFA)

Frontier FS David Thomsen Did not testify Favor part and

Cooperative oppose part

Wis. Farm Bureau | Jeff Lyon Written Opposed Organization supports program — however,
proposed rule does nothing to increase the
amount or improve the ability for farmers to be
paid. Concerned that administrative costs are
excessive. Changes may affect
competitiveness of processors and handlers.

Wis. Federation of | Bill Oemichen and Verbal and Opposed Rule represents dramatically increased costs to

Cooperatives John Manske Written some in the grain industry. Simply increasing
fees should not be considered while the more
urgent matter is working toward consensus on
how the APS law can be changed to better
serve industry and producers in a more cost-
efficient manner.

Gold’n Plump Amy Winters Written Opposed Would result in a 964% fee increase. This is

Poultry not a fair amount considering minimal risk that

Gold’n Plump poses and a competitive
disadvantage.
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Many of the hearing comments focused on the overall producer security program, rather than on
-this rule. Several hearing participants suggested that DATCP should take a broader look at the
effectiveness, adequacy and cost of the overall program before moving forward on this fee rule.
DATCP has taken several steps to do just that:

» First, DATCP held separate (and more general) hearings on the entire producer security
program. Those hearings were held in conjunction with the hearings on this rule (the hearing
summary above relates only to the rule hearings).

* Second, DATCP organized a Special Work Group on Agricultural Producer Security. Over
several months, the Work Group took an in-depth look at the entire producer security
program and issued a final report with recommendations. This final draft rule is consistent
with those recommendations (the recommendations address several aspects of the program,
and are not specifically focused on this rule).

Changes from Hearing Draft

DATCP modified this rule after public hearing. This final draft rule incorporates the following
significant changes from the hearing draft:

s Grain Dealer License Fees:

* Inthis final draft, the basic grain dealer license fee is 0.1 cent ($0.001) per bushel
procured (rounded to the nearest $100). The hearing draft had proposed a fee of 0.175
cent ($0.00175) per bushel.

*  This final draft has a minimum license fee of $100 and a maximum license fee of
$10,000. The hearing draft had no minimum, and a maximum of $15,000.

e Grain Warehouse Keeper Inspection Fees:

* In this final draft, the grain warehouse inspection fee is 0.25 cent ($0.0025) per bushel of
licensed storage capacity. The hearing draft had proposed a fee of 0.3 cent ($0.003) per
bushel, calculated on the highest number of bushels that the warehouse keeper actually
stored for others at any time during the previous license year.

* This final draft has a minimum inspection fee of $1,000 and a maximum inspection fee of
$10,000. The hearing draft had no minimum, and a maximum of $15,000.

¢ Minimum Assessment Amounts (All Contractors):
= Contractors who participate in the producer security fund (fund) must pay assessments

into the fund. Under current law, the minimum assessment is $20. This rule revises the
current minimum assessment, and bases the assessment on procurement volume.
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Under this final draft rule, the minimum assessment for grain dealers, milk contractors
and vegetable contractors is $100, $200 or $500 (depending on amount procured from
producers). The hearing draft had proposed minimum assessments of $20, $200 or $500
(depending on amount procured from producers).

Under this final draft rule, the minimum assessment for grain warehouse keepers is $100
or $250 (depending on licensed storage capacity). The hearing draft had proposed
minimum assessments of $20 or $250 (depending on licensed storage capacity).

e Assessment Holiday (all Contractors):

This final draft rule provides an “assessment holiday” that was not included in the
hearing draft. The “assessment holiday” will relieve contractors of fund assessment

obligations when fund balances reach specified levels. That, in turn, will limit fund
growth.

A contractor qualifies for an “assessment holiday™ in any license year if all of the
following apply:

* The contractor was classified as a “contributing contractor” in each of the 5 previous
license years.

* The overall fund balance is at least $11 million.
* The fund balance attributable to the contractor’s industry sector is at or above a
specified level ($3 million for the grain dealer sector, $0.5 million for the grain

warehouse keeper sector, $6 million for the milk contractor sector, and $1.5 million
for the vegetable contractor sector).

Milk Contractors — Reduced Assessment Rate.

Contributing milk contractors pay fund assessments that are based, in part on their
financial condition. This final draft rule changes the fund assessment formula so that a
milk contractor with a debt to equity ratio of 3 to 1 or higher will pay a lower fund
assessment than the contractor would have paid under the current formula.

This is a new provision that was not in the hearing draft. In order to make this rule
change, it was necessary for DATCP to incorporate some existing statutory language in
the final draft rule (that makes the rule a bit longer).

Milk Contractors — Reports:

Under current rules, a milk contractor must report to DATCP the highest amount that the

contractor paid for producer milk in any one month during the contractor’s last completed
fiscal year.
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* This final draft rule allows a milk contractor to report, instead, the highest amount that
the contractor owed producers at any one time during the contractor’s last completed
fiscal year. This option, which may reduce security filing requirements for some milk
contractors that pay producers on a frequent basis, was not included in the hearing draft.

DATCP also made a number of organizational and drafting changes in the final draft rule,
including changes suggested by the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Response to Rules Clearinghouse Comments

DATCP modified the final draft rule to address all of the comments from the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Business Impact
Agricultural Producers

This rule will benefit Wisconsin producers of grain, milk and vegetables, by preventing the
erosion of the producer security program that helps protect them against catastrophic financial
defaults by grain dealers, grain warehouse keepers, milk contractors and vegetable contractors
(collectively “contractors™).

This rule will generate enough license fee revenue to continue critical financial security
monitoring activities such as inspections, compliance evaluations, and review of contractor
financial statements. Without this rule, DATCP would have to curtail key monitoring activities

that help control potentially catastrophic financial risks to producers and the producer security
fund.

This rule will also reverse the current diversion of fund assessment revenues from the
agricultural producer security trust fund (to subsidize operating deficits in the grain and
vegetable sectors). That will yield a slightly increased rate of fund growth which will, in turn,
provide greater protection for producers in the event of a catastrophic contractor default.

This rule will not increase costs for agricultural producers, or have any significant impact on
commodity prices paid to producers.

Contractors
This rule affects license fees and fund assessments paid by grain dealers, grain warehouse

keepers, milk contractors and vegetable contractors. It does not materially change other
contractor regulations.
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Current Cost to Contractors

Current license fees and fund assessments represent a very small share of overall contractor
costs. For example:

e Current grain dealer license fees and fund assessments represent only about /7 hundredths of
one percent of the grain dealers’ annual Wisconsin grain procurement costs ($672,000 in fees
and fund assessments, compared to $599 million in grain purchased from Wisconsin
producers in FY 2005-06).

e Current grain warchouse keeper license fees and fund assessments represent less than 2
hundredths of one percent of the grain warehouse keepers’ annual Wisconsin “cost of sales”
($210,000 in fees and fund assessments, compared to about $1.7 billion in “cost of sales” for
FY 2005-06).

e Current milk contractor license fees and fund assessments represent only about 3 hundredths
of one percent of the contractors’ annual Wisconsin milk procurement costs ($1.2 million in
producer security license fees and fund assessments, compared to about $3.5 billion paid for
milk produced by Wisconsin farmers in FY 2005-06).

e Current vegetable contractor license fees and fund assessments represent only about
8 hundredths of one percent of the contractors’ annual vegetable procurement costs
($138,000 in producer security license fees and fund assessments, compared to $170 million
in procurement contract obligations to Wisconsin producers in FY 2005-06).

Current contractor license fees and fund assessments represent an even smaller share of overall
contractor costs (including costs for labor, buildings, equipment, debt service, overhead, etc., in
addition to commodity procurement costs).

Declining Cost Burden

If commodity prices, procurement volumes, and contractor financial ratios held constant over the
next few years, total contractor license fees and fund assessments would actually decline because
of fee credits and declining formula rates built into the producer security law itself. This rule
will reduce that potential decline, at least in the grain and vegetable contractor sectors. Higher

commodity prices and procurement volumes, or deteriorating contractor financial ratios, could
also offset the decline.

This rule will reduce license fees and fund assessment rates in the milk contractor sector, but
increase license fees and fund assessment rates in the other 3 sectors so that those sectors pay a
more proportionate share. The following table shows combined total license fees and fund
assessments by business sector for FY 2005-06 and FY 2006-07. It also compares projected
totals for FY 2009-10 with and without this rule (these projections may be affected by changing
commodity prices, procurement volumes, financial ratios and other factors):
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Total Contractor License Fees and Fund Assessments (Net of Credits)

FY 2005-06 | FY 2006-07 FY 2009-10* FY 2009-10*
Without this rule | With this rule
Grain Dealers $672, 000 $452,000 $476,000 $581,000
Grain Warehouse $210,000 $194,000 $181,000 $444.,000
Keepers
Milk Contractors $1,272,000 $1,002,000 $959,000 $855,000
Vegetable $138,000 $26,000 $36,000 $41,000
Contractors
TOTAL $2,292,000 $1,720,000 $1,652,000 $1,921,000

* Projection assumes constant procurement volumes, commodity price levels and contractor financial strength.

Other things equal, there would be a decline in total license fees and fund assessments results

from the following features built into the current producer security law (this rule will not change
those features):

» License fee credits. If the fund balance attributable to an industry sector reaches a specified
statutory threshold, a portion of the balance is returned to contributing contractors in that
sector (as a credit on their license fees). Contributing milk and vegetable contractors are
already enjoying credits that significantly reduce their license fees. Those credits will

- dramatically reduce fees for contributing contractors, even when this rule is in effect.

» Falling assessment rates. Under the producer security law, fund assessment rates decline
after a contractor has contributed to the fund for a specified number of years (4 to 6 years
depending on contractor type and financial condition). Because the producer security fund is
now 6 years old, most contributing contractors are now paying significantly lower fund
assessments than they were a short time ago (other things equal). That trend will continue,
regardless of this rule.

Effects Vary Between Contractors

The impact of this rule may vary considerably between individual contractors within a business
sector. License fees and assessments may be affected by a number of variables, including
contractor size, contractor financial strength, contractor risk practices and commodity prices.

For many contractors, this rule will slow the rate at which the contractor’s fees and fund
assessments would otherwise decline. Some contractors (especially grain warehouse keepers)
may have increased fees and fund assessments. For a few contractors, this rule will actually
speed the reduction of fees and fund assessments. Many individual contractors (especially milk
contractors) will be unaffected by this rule.
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This rule incorporates an “assessment holiday” that will automatically go into affect when
industry sector balances and overall fund balances grow to specified levels.

Fiscal Impact

Under the agricultural producer security law:

¢ Licensed contractors must pay license fees to fund DATCP administration of the agricultural
producer security program. Administration includes grain warehouse inspections, review of
contractor financial statements, license administration, and response to contractor financial
defaults and law violations.

e Most contractors (“contributing contractors™) must pay fund assessments to finance the
agricultural producer security fund. The fund is held in trust for the benefit of producers. If
a contractor defaults on payments to agricultural producers, DATCP may reimburse
producers from the fund.

Prior to 2003, DATCP administrative costs were paid by a combination of general purpose
revenue (GPR) and contractor license fees. The 2003-05 biennial budget converted 2.9 FTE
positions and support costs from GPR to the agricultural producer security fund. Partly as a
result of that change, current liceénse fee funding is no longer adequate to cover administrative
costs. There has also been a gradual growth in administrative costs, due to factors (such as state

rent, information technology fees, and employee pay plans and fringe benefits) that are outside
DATCP control.

Funding shortfalls are of particular concern in the grain dealer and grain warehouse keeper
programs. Administrative costs now annually exceed license fee revenues by over $200,000 in
each of those programs, and each program has a negative cash balance of more than $570,000.
In the vegetable contractor program, administrative costs now annually exceed license fee
revenues by over $20,000, and there is a negative cash balance of about $40,000. Grain and
vegetable program operations are currently being subsidized by milk contractor license fees and
fund assessments, and funding deficits in the grain and vegetable accounts are limiting the
overall producer security fund balance.

This rule increases annual license fees for grain dealers, grain warehouse keepers and vegetable
contractors, to remedy current inequities and provide minimally adequate funding for program
administration (the fee increases for vegetable contractors will be largely offset by fee credits
built into the producer security law). This rule also adjusts fund assessments, especially for grain
warehouse keepers (for whom an adjustment is required by law).
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Notwithstanding this rule, total revenue derived from contractor payments under the producer
security program (license fees plus fund assessments) could actually decline over the next few
years, because of fee credits and declining formula rates that are built into the producer security
law itself. Actual revenues will depend on a variety of factors, including commodity prices,
procurement volumes and contractor financial ratios.

License Fee Revenues

The following table shows actual license fee revenues by industry sector for FY 2005-06 and FY
2006-07. It also compares projected license fee revenues for FY 2009-10 with and without this
rule (these projections may be affected by changing commodity prices, procurement volumes,
contractor financial ratios and other factors):

Total License Fee Revenues (Net of Contractor Credits)

FY 2005-06 | FY 2006-07 FY 2009-10* FY 2009-10*

Without this rule | With this rule

Grain Dealers $160,000 $159,000 $156,000 $232,000

Grain Warehouse $159,000 $152,000 $151,000 $377,000

Keepers

Milk Contractors $363,000 $347,000 $159,000 $159,000

Vegetable $16,000 $13,000 $6,000 $8,000

Contractors

TOTAL ‘ $698,000 $671,000 $472,000 $776,000

* Projection assumes constant procurement volumes, commodity price levels and contractor financial strength.

Projected milk and vegetable contractor license fee revenues for FY 2009-10 are affected, to a
very considerable degree, by license fee credits built into the producer security law itself. When
the producer security fund balance attributable to an industry sector (such as milk or vegetables)
reaches a specified statutory “trigger” amount, a portion of the balance is returned to contributing
contractors in that sector (as a credit on their license fees).

Contributing milk and vegetable contractors are already enjoying credits that significantly reduce
their license fees. Grain dealers and grain warehouse keepers do not yet qualify for these credits,

because their fund contributions have not yet attained the required level (nor are they likely to do
so prior to FY 2009-10).

DATCP projects that, under this rule, annual license fee revenues will be adequate to cover
DATCP’s annual operating costs (DATCP has reduced those costs by eliminating 1.67 FTE
grain auditor positions). To the extent that annual grain and vegetable license fee revenues

exceed annual operating costs, they will “repay” the program subsidy that those sectors have
already received from the milk sector.
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Producer Security Fund,; Assessment Revenues

The agricultural producer security fund currently has a balance of approximately $9 million. No
more than 60% of the fund balance can be paid out in any individual contractor default. The
current fund balance is adequate to cover defaults by most, but not all, individual contractors.
Continued fund growth will improve protection for producers, and minimize the need for
supplementary security from contractors.

Contributing contractors pay fund assessments to finance the agricultural producer security fund.
Annual assessment revenues may decline over the next few years (with or without this rule),
because of fee credits and declining formula rates built into the producer security law. This rule
will slow the decline (assessment revenues may also be affected by commodity prices,
procurement volumes, contractor financial ratios and other factors). If fund balances grow to a

certain point, the automatic “assessment holidays” incorporated into this rule will halt the
collection of assessment revenues.

The following table shows actual fund assessment revenues by industry sector for FY 2005-06
and FY 2006-07. It also compares projected license fee revenues for

FY 2009-10 with and without this rule (these projections may be affected by changing
commodity prices, procurement volumes, contractor financial ratios and other factors):

Total Fund Assessment Revenues
FY 2005-06 | FY 2006-07 FY 2009-10* FY 2009-10*
Without this rule | With this rule
Grain Dealers $512,000 $300,000 $320,000 $349,000
Grain Warehouse $51,000 $22.000 $30,000 $67,000
Keepers
Milk Contractors $909,000 $973,000 $800,000 $696,000
Vegetable $122,000 $35,000 $30,000 $33,000
Contractors
TOTAL $1,594,000 | $1,330,000 $1,180,000 $1,145,000

* Projection assumes constant procurement volumes, commodity price levels and contractor financial strength.

Cash in the milk fund assessment sub-account currently covers negative cash balances in the
grain and vegetable program administration sub-accounts (which should normally be covered by
license fees, not fund assessments). That is slowing the rate of growth in the milk assessment
sub-account, and limiting fund coverage for all producers (grain, milk, and vegetable).

By correcting current grain and vegetable license fee revenue shortfalls, this rule will eliminate
the current drain on the producer security fund. The fund balance attributable to grain warehouse
keeper assessments is expected to build over several years toward the required statutory
minimum balance (it currently falls well short).
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Federal and Surrounding State Regulations
Federal Programs
Milk
There is no federal producer security program related to milk.
Grain

The United States department of agriculture (USDA) administers a producer security program
for federally licensed grain warehouses that store grain for producers. Grain warehouses may
choose whether to be licensed under state or federal law. Federally-licensed warehouses are
exempt from state warehouse licensing and security requirements. State-licensed warehouses are
likewise exempt from federal requirements.

The federal grain warehouse program provides little or no protection against financial defaults by
grain dealers. Grain dealers are persons who buy and sell grain. Sometimes, grain dealers also
operate grain warehouses. DATCP currently licenses grain dealers. Licensed warehouse
keepers must also hold a state grain dealer license if they engage in grain dealing.

USDA has informally proposed to regulate grain dealer activities (grain “merchandising”) by
federally licensed warehouse keepers, to the exclusion of state regulation. But USDA has not yet
officially introduced its proposed regulations. In any case, the federal regulations would not
apply to state-licensed grain warehouses, or to grain dealers who do not operate a warehouse.

Vegetables

There is a federal security program for vegetables. That security program is mainly limited to
fresh market vegetables, and consists of a priority lien against vegetable-related assets.

Wisconsin’s vegetable security program applies only to processing vegetables (not fresh market
vegetables covered by federal regulations). Wisconsin’s program uses an indemnity fund, rather
than a priority lien-type program. Unlike the federal priority lien program, a stafe priority lien
program would not work because it would be preempted by federal bankruptcy law.

There may be some limited overlap between the Wisconsin and federal programs, but that
overlap is justified because the scope of federal coverage is not entirely clear. Overlap was
reduced by recent Wisconsin legislation, which permits certain potato buyers covered under the
federal program to opt out of most of the state program.
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Surrounding States

In Minnesota, contractors must be licensed to procure grain, milk or processing vegetables from
producers, or to operate grain warehouses. Regulated contractors must file bonds as security
against default. The program is financed through industry fees and general tax revenues.

Neither Iowa nor Illinois have producer security programs for milk or vegetables. However,
both states maintain indemnity funds to protect grain producers. Fund assessments are based
solely on grain volume. In Wisconsin, by contrast, fund assessments are based on grain volume

and financial condition. Iowa and Illinois finance their programs through industry fees and
general tax revenues.

Michigan has the following producer security programs:

¢ Potato dealers must be licensed, and must post bonds as security against defaults.
(Wisconsin’s vegetable security program includes, but is not limited to, potatoes.)

e Dairy plants that fail to meet minimum financial standards must file security or pay cash for
milk.

e Grain producers have the option of paying premiums into a state fund. In the event of a grain
default, the fund reimburses participating producers.

» These programs are financed through industry fees and general tax revenues.
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Appendix A
Proposed Changes to Contractor
License Fees and Fund Assessments
Grain Dealer License Fees
Current Fees
Under current law, a grain dealer must pay the following annual license fees and surcharges:
* A nonrefundable license processing fee of $25.
*  One of the following fees:

" $500 if the grain dealer paid, in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, at least
$500,000 for producer grain procured in this state.

* $200 if the grain dealer paid, in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, at least
$50,000 but less than $500,000 for producer grain procured in this state.

= $50 if the grain dealer paid, in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, less than
$50,000 for producer grain procured in this state.

e A $225 fee per business location in excess of one location (but only if the grain dealer paid,
in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, at least $500,000 for producer grain procured
in this state).

* Alicense fee of $45 per truck, in excess of one truck, that the grain dealer uses to haul grain
in this state.

* Alicense surcharge of $425 if the grain dealer submits a required financial statement that is
not an audited financial statement.

* Alicense surcharge of $500 if the grain dealer operated without a license at any time during
the preceding year.

* A license surcharge of $100 if the grain dealer, during the preceding year, failed to file a
required financial statement by the required filing deadline.

* A license surcharge of $100 if the grain dealer failed to file a license renewal application by
the license expiration date of August 31.
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Proposed Fees

This rule changes the calculation of grain dealer license fees. Under this rule, a grain dealer
must pay the following fees and surcharges:

e A license processing fee of $25 (same as current law).

o A fee equal to 1/10 of one cent ($0.001 or 0.1¢) per bushel of producer grain procured in this
state (rounded to the nearest $100). There is a minimum fee of $100 and a maximum fee of
$10,000.

e $100 per business location in excess of one location (regardless of the grain dealer’s annual
grain purchase amount).

e A surcharge of $500 if the grain dealer operated without a license at any time during the
preceding year (same as current law).

e A surcharge of $100 if the grain dealer, during the preceding year, failed to file a required
financial statement by the required filing deadline (same as current law).

e A surcharge of $100 if the grain dealer failed to file a license renewal application by the
license expiration date of August 31 (same as current law).

This rule eliminates the following current grain dealer fees and surcharges:

e $45 fee per truck.

o $425 surcharge for submitting a required financial statement that is not an audited financial
statement.

Grain Dealer Fund Assessments

Current Assessments

Under current law, a contributing grain dealer must pay the following annual fund assessments:

e A basic assessment, based on a formula that considers the total dollar value of producer grain
purchased in this state during the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, the grain dealer’s

current ratio, and the grain dealer’s debt-to-equity ratio. Other things equal, the formula
yields declining basic assessments over time.



The Honorable Fred Risser

The Honorable Michael Huebsch
August 13,2008

Page 16

* A deferred payment assessment, if the grain dealer uses deferred payment contracts (deferred
payment contracts carry a higher financial risk). The assessment equals total deferred
payments for Wisconsin grain in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, multiplied by
the following rate:

= 0.0035 if the grain dealer has contributed to the fund for less than 5 years.
= 0.002 if the grain dealer has contributed to the fund for 5 years or more.

Under current law, there is a minimum total assessment of $20 (basic assessment and deferred
payment assessment).

Proposed Assessments

® Basic assessment. This rule does not change the calculation of a grain dealer’s basic fund
assessment (the formula continues to generate declining assessments over time), but this rule
changes the current minimum assessment (see below).

* Deferred payment fund assessment. Under this rule, the deferred payment assessment equals
the grain dealer’s total deferred payments for Wisconsin grain in the grain dealer’s last
completed fiscal year, multiplied by 0.0035 -- regardless of how long the grain dealer has
contributed to the fund.

*  Minimum assessment. This rule substitutes the following minimum basic assessment for the
current $20 minimum total assessment:

* $100 for grain dealers who procured less than $500,000 worth of Wisconsin grain during
the last completed fiscal year.

* 3200 for grain dealers who procured at least $500,000 but less than $3,000,000 worth of
Wisconsin grain.

= $500 for grain dealers who procured Wisconsin grain worth $3,000,000 or more.

® “Assessment holiday.” Under this rule, a contributing grain dealer is not required to pay an
annual fund assessment (other than a deferred payment fund assessment, if applicable) for
any license year if the grain dealer was a contributing grain dealer in each of the 5 preceding
license years, and if all of the following applied on May 31 of the last preceding license year:

» The fund balance attributable to grain dealers was at least $3 million.
* The overall fund balance was at least $11 million.
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Grain Warehouse Keeper License Fees

Current Fees

Under current law, a grain warehouse keeper must pay the following annual license fees and
surcharges:

A nonrefundable license processing fee of $25, plus an additional nonrefundable processing
fee of $25 for each separate warehouse in excess of one warehouse.

An inspection fee based on the combined capacity of the grain warehouse keeper’s
warehouses:

Inspection Fee Combined Warehouse Capacity (Bushels)
$ 500 Less than 150,000

$ 550 At least 150,000 but less than 250,000

$ 600 At least 250,000 but less than 500,000

$ 650 At least 500,000 but less than 750,000

$ 700 At least 750,000 but less than 1,000,000

$ 800 At least 1,000,000 but less than 2,000,000

$ 900 At least 2,000,000 but less than 3,000,000
$1,000 At least 3,000,000 but less than 4,000,000
$1,100 4,000,000 or more.

A supplemental inspection fee of $275 for each grain warehouse that the grain warehouse
keeper operates in excess of one warehouse.

A surcharge of $500 if the grain warehouse keeper operated without a license at any time
during the preceding year.

A surcharge of $100 if the grain warehouse keeper failed to file an annual financial statement
by the applicable deadline.

A surcharge of $100 if the applicant fails to renew a license by the license expiration date of
August 31.
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Proposed Fees

This rule changes the calculation of grain warehouse inspection fees, but makes no other changes
to current grain warehouse keeper license fees or surcharges. The current inspection fee
schedule (see above) is replaced by a formula. Under the new formula, a grain warehouse keeper
pays an annual inspection fee equal to the combined capacity of the grain warehouse keeper’s
warehouses times 0.25 cent per bushel (rounded to the nearest $1,000). There is a minimum fee
of $1,000 and a maximum fee of $10,000.

Grain Warehouse Keeper Fund Assessments

Current Assessments

Under current law, a grain warehouse keeper must pay an annual fund assessment based on a
formula that considers the warehouse keeper’s licensed storage capacity, current ratio and debt-
to-equity ratio. Other things equal, the formula yields declining assessments over time. There is

a minimum assessment of $20.

Proposed Assessments

* Base assessment formula. Under this rule, a grain warehouse keeper must pay an annual
fund assessment that is 50% higher than the assessment generated by the current formula (the
formula does not change, and continues to yield declining assessments over time).

®  Minimum Assessment. This rule substitutes the following minimum assessment for the
current $20 minimum assessment:

* $100 for grain warehouse keepers whose storage capacity is less than 500,000 bushels.
*  $250 for grain warehouse keepers whose storage capacity is 500,000 bushels or more.

® “Assessment Holiday.” Under this rule, a contributing grain warehouse keeper is not
required to pay a fund assessment for any license year if the grain warehouse keeper was a
contributing grain warehouse keeper in each of the 5 preceding license years, and if all of the
following applied on May 31 of the last preceding license year:

* The fund balance attributable to grain warehouse keepers was at least $500,000.
® The overall fund balance was at least $11 million.

Milk Contractor License Fees

This rule makes no changes to current milk contractor license fees.
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Milk Contractor Fund Assessments

Current Assessments

Under current law, a contributing milk contractor must pay an annual fund assessment based on a
formula that considers the milk contractor’s total Wisconsin milk payroll obligations for the
contractor’s last completed fiscal year, the milk contractor’s current ratio, and the milk
contractor’s debt-to-equity ratio. Other things equal, the formula yields declining assessments
over time. There i1s a minimum assessment of $20.

Proposed Assessments

e Base assessment formula. Under current law, a milk contractor’s assessment rate increases
as the milk contractor’s debt-to-equity ratio increases, but there is no further rate increase
after the milk contractor’s debt-to-equity ratio exceeds 3.1 to 1. Under this rule, there is no
further assessment rate increase after the milk contractor’s debt-to-equity ratio exceeds 2.9 to
1. This will reduce assessments for some milk contractors.

o  Minimum Assessment. This rule creates a new minimum assessment for milk contractors,
based on the milk contractor’s total Wisconsin milk payroll obligations in the contractor’s
last completed fiscal year. The new minimum assessment is:

»  $100 for milk contractors with annual Wisconsin milk payroll obligations of less than
$1.5 million.

=  $200 for milk contractors with annual Wisconsin milk payroll obligations of at least $1.5
million but less than $6 million.

»  $500 for milk contractors with annual Wisconsin milk payroll obligations of $6 million
or more.

e “Assessment Holiday.” Under this rule, a contributing milk contractor is not required to pay
a fund assessment for any license year if the milk contractor was a contributing milk
contractor in each of the 5 preceding license years, and if all of the following applied on
February 28 of the last preceding license year:

»  The fund balance attributable to milk contractors was at least $6 million.
» The overall fund balance was at least $11 million.

Milk Contractor Producer Payroll Report

Under current law, a milk contractor must report to DATCP the highest amount that the milk
contractor paid for producer milk procured in this state in any single month during the

contractor’s last completed fiscal year. Under this rule, a milk contractor has the option to report
either of the following:
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* The highest amount that the milk contractor paid, for producer milk procured in this state, in
any single month during the milk contractor’s last completed fiscal year.

¢ The highest amount that the milk contractor owed to producers at any time during the milk
contractor’s last completed fiscal year.

For those few milk contractors who must file security with DATCP under current law, and who
pay more quickly than the industry standard of twice per month, this change could result in lower
security filing requirements (and therefore lower costs).

Vegetable Contractor License Fees

Current Fees

Under current law, vegetable contractors must pay the following annual license fees and
surcharges:

* A nonrefundable license processing fee of $25.
e A fee of $25 plus 5.75 cents for each $100 in Wisconsin vegetable procurement contract
obligations (to vegetable producers) that the contractor incurred during the contractor’s last

completed fiscal year. This fee does not apply to “nonparticipating processing potato
buyers.”

e A §$500 fee if the vegetable contractor is a “nonparticipating processing potato buyer.”

* A $500 surcharge if the vegetable contractor operated without a license at any time during
the preceding year.

* A $100 surcharge if, during the preceding year, the vegetable contractor failed to file a
required financial statement by its due date.

* A $100 surcharge if the vegetable contractor failed to file a license renewal application by
the license expiration date of January 31.

Proposed Fees
This rule increases that portion of the license fee which is based on annual Wisconsin vegetable
procurement contract obligations. It increases that fee portion to $25 plus 8.75 cents (currently

5.75 cents) for each $100 in contract obligations.

This rule replaces the current $500 fee for “nonparticipating potato buyers” with a fee equal to
the lesser of the following amounts:
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e $25 plus 8.75 cents for each $100 in annual contract obligations (same as other vegetable
contractors).

¢ $2,000.
This rule makes no other changes to current vegetable contractor license fees or surcharges.
Vegetable Contractor Fund Assessments

Current Assessments

Under current law, a contributing vegetable contractor must pay an annual fund assessment
based on a formula that considers the contractor’s total vegetable procurement contract
obligations during the contractor’s last completed fiscal year, the contractor’s current ratio, and
the contractor’s debt-to-equity ratio. Other things equal, the formula yields declining
assessments over time. There is a minimum assessment of $20.

Proposed Assessments

e Minimum Assessments. This rule does not change the calculation of vegetable contractor
fund assessments (the current formula continues to generate declining assessments over
time), except that this rule replaces the current $20 minimum assessment with the following
minimum assessment:

= $20 for vegetable contractors with contract obligations of less than $500,000.
»  $200 for vegetable contractors with contract obligations of at least $500,000 and less than
$4 million.

»  $500 for vegetable contractors with contract obligations of $4 million or more.

e “Assessment Holiday.” Under this rule, a vegetable contractor is not required to pay a fund
assessment for any license year if all of the vegetable contractor was a contributing vegetable
contractor in the 5 preceding license years, and all of the following applied on November 30
of the last preceding license year:

» The fund balance attributable to vegetable contractors was at least $1.5 million.
* The overall fund balance was at least $11 million.
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A PROPOSED ORDER OF THE
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE,
TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION
ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection proposes the
following rule fo repeal ATCP 99.01(6m), 100.01(4g) and 101.20(3g); to amend ATCP
99.01(14m), 99.135(2)(intro.), (c) and (d), 100.01(4r), 100.13(1)(intro.), (a) and (d),
100.13(3)(a), and 101.20(3r); to repeal and recreate ATCP 100.135 and 100.22(3); and
to create ATCP 99.11, 99.12(5)(c), 99.125, 99.126, 99.23, 99.235, 100.01(5m), 101.23

and 101.245; relating to the agricultural producer security program.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Wisconsin’s agricultural producer security program helps protect agricultural producers
against catastrophic financial defaults by grain dealers, grain warehouse keepers, milk
contractors and vegetable contractors (collectively referred to as “contractors™).

Contractors must be licensed by the department of agriculture, trade and consumer
protection (“DATCP”) and pay license fees. Most contractors must also pay assessments
to an agricultural producer security fund (“fund”). In the event of a contractor default,
DATCP may compensate producers from the fund.

This rule modifies current rules related to the agricultural producer security program.
This rule does all of the following:

e Changes current grain dealer, grain warehouse keeper and vegetable contractor
license fees.

¢ Changes current fund assessments for grain dealers (deferred payment assessment),
grain warehouse keepers, and milk contractors.

e Changes required minimum fund assessments for all contractors.



¢ Provides for an automatic “assessment holiday” if fund balances reach specified
levels.

¢ Modifies the amount of security that must be filed by a small number of milk
contractors.

Statutes Interpreted
Statutes interpreted: sé. 126.81 and 126.88, States.
Statutory Authority
Statutory authority: ss. 93.07(1), 126.81 and 126.88, Stats.
Explanation of Statutory Authority
DATCP has broad authority, under s. 93.07(1), Stats., to adopt rules needed to implement

laws under its jurisdiction. DATCP also has specific authority, under ss. 126.81 and
126.88, Stats., to do all of the following: '

» Interpret and implement the agricultural producer security law, ch. 126, Stats.

* Modify license fees and fund assessments under the agricultural producer security
program. Chapter 126, Stats., establishes license fees and fund assessments, but
authorizes DATCP to change those license fees and fund assessments by rule.

* Require contractors to notify producers of the contractor’s license, security or fund
contribution status under the producer security program.

Under current law, DATCP must modify fund assessments whenever fund balances fall
outside a specified range. The fund balance attributable to the grain warehouse keeper
sector currently falls below the required minimum of $200,000. Therefore, DATCP must
modify fund assessments for grain warehouse keepers. DATCP is authorized, but not
required, to modify fund assessments for other contractors.

Background
DATCP administers the agricultural producer security program under ch. 126, Stats.
DATCP has adopted rules to implement the program. The rules are contained in chs.
ATCP 99-101, Wis. Adm. Code.

License Fees and Fund Assessments

Under current law:



e Licensed contractors must pay license fees to fund DATCP administration of the
agricultural producer security program. Administration includes warehouse
inspections, compliance audits, review of contractor financial statements, license
administration and response to contractor financial defaults and law violations.

» Most contractors (“contributing contractors”) must pay fund assessments to finance
the agricultural producer security fund. The fund is held in trust for the benefit of
producers. If a contractor defaults on payments to agricultural producers, DATCP
may reimburse producers from the fund. Fund assessments are based on contractor
size, financial condition and risk practices.

e A few contractors (“disqualified contractors™) are not allowed to participate in the
fund. These contractors must instead post individual security with DATCP such as a
bond or a letter of credit. Generally, the amount of the security is based on the
amount owed to producers.

Program Funding and Costs

Prior to 2003, DATCP administrative costs were paid by a combination of general tax
revenue (“GPR”) and contractor license fees. However, the 2003-2004 biennial budget
Act eliminated virtually all GPR funding for program administration. That made it
necessary to transfer staff from GPR funding to license fee funding.

Partly as a result of that change, current license fee funding is no longer adequate to
cover administrative costs. There has been a gradual growth in administrative costs, due
to factors outside DATCP control (including increased state costs for rent, information
technology, and employee pay plans and fringe benefits). DATCP has controlled costs,
to the extent possible, by reducing grain audit staff levels.

Funding Shortfalls

Funding shortfalls are especially severe in the grain dealer and grain warehouse keeper
programs, where DATCP must spend much of its staff time. Administrative costs now
annually exceed license fee revenues by over $200,000 in each of those programs, and
each program has a negative cash balance of more than $570,000. In the vegetable
contractor program, administrative costs now annually exceed license fee revenues by
over $20,000, and the program has a negative cash balance of about $40,000.

Deficits in the grain and vegetable administration accounts are currently being covered by
milk contractor license fee revenues and by fund assessment revenues that would
normally go to the producer security fund. That unfairly affects milk contractors and
reduces fund coverage for all producers (grain, milk and vegetable).



Fee Adjustments

This rule increases annual license fees for grain dealers, grain warechouse keepers and
vegetable contractors, to remedy current inequities and provide minimally adequate
funding for program administration. This rule also adjusts fund assessments, especially
for grain warehouse keepers (for whom an adjustment is required by law). This rule
provides for an automatic “assessment holiday” if fund balances reach specified levels.

Notwithstanding this rule, the total of all contractor payments under the producer security
(license fees plus fund assessments) will actually decline over the next few years, because
of fee credits and declining formula rates that are built into the producer security law
itself. This rule will slow, but not reverse, that overall decline. This rule will not have
any significant impact on contractors’ overall business costs.

Rule Contents

Grain Dealer License Fees

Current Fees

Under current law, a grain dealer must pay the following annual license fees and
surcharges:

* A nonrefundable license processing fee of $25.
¢ One of the following fees:

* $500 if the grain dealer paid, in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, at
least $500,000 for producer grain procured in this state.

*  $200 if the grain dealer paid, in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, at
least $50,000 but less than $500,000 for producer grain procured in this state.

* $50 if the grain dealer paid, in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, less
than $50,000 for producer grain procured in this state.

e A §$225 fee per business location in excess of one location (but only if the grain dealer
paid, in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year, at least $500,000 for producer
grain procured in this state).

¢ A license fee of $45 per truck, in excess of one truck, that the grain dealer uses to
haul grain in this state.

* A license surcharge of $425 if the grain dealer submits a required financial statement
that is not an audited financial statement.



e A license surcharge of $500 if the grain dealer operated without a license at any time
during the preceding year.

e A license surcharge of $100 if the grain dealer, during the preceding year, failed to
file a required financial statement by the required filing deadline.

e A license surcharge of $100 if the grain dealer failed to file a license renewal
application by the license expiration date of August 31.

Proposed Fees

This rule changes the calculation of grain dealer license fees. Under this rule, a grain
dealer must pay the following fees and surcharges:

¢ A license processing fee of $25 (same as current law).

e A fee equal to 1/10 of one cent ($0.001 or 0.1¢) per bushel of producer grain procured
in this state (rounded to the nearest $100). There is a minimum fee of $100 and a
maximum fee of $10,000.

e $100 per business location in excess of one location (regardless of the grain dealer’s
annual grain purchase amount).

e A surcharge of $500 if the grain dealer operated without a license at any time during
the preceding year (same as current law).

e A surcharge of $100 if the grain dealer, during the preceding year, failed to file a
required financial statement by the required filing deadline (same as current law).

e A surcharge of $100 if the grain dealer failed to file a license renewal application by
the license expiration date of August 31 (same as current law).

This rule eliminates the following current grain dealer fees and surcharges:

e $45 fee per truck.

e $425 surcharge for submitting a required financial statement that is not an audited
financial statement.

Grain Dealer Fund Assessments
Current Assessments

Under current law, a contributing grain dealer must pay the following annual fund
assessments:



A basic assessment, based on a formula that considers the total dollar value of
producer grain purchased in this state during the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal
year, the grain dealer’s current ratio, and the grain dealer’s debt-to-equity ratio. Other
things equal, the formula yields declining basic assessments over time.

A deferred payment assessment, if the grain dealer uses deferred payment contracts
(deferred payment contracts carry a higher financial risk). The assessment equals
total deferred payments for Wisconsin grain in the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal
year, multiplied by the following rate:

* 0.0035 if the grain dealer has contributed to the fund for less than 5 years.
= 0.002 if the grain dealer has contributed to the fund for 5 years or more.

Under current law, there is a minimum total assessment of $20 (basic assessment and
deferred payment assessment).

Proposed Assessments

Basic assessment. This rule does not change the calculation of a grain dealer’s basic
fund assessment (the formula continues to generate declining assessments over time),
but this rule changes the current minimum assessment (see below).

Deferred payment fund assessment. Under this rule, the deferred payment assessment
equals the grain dealer’s total deferred payments for Wisconsin grain in the grain
dealer’s last completed fiscal year, multiplied by 0.0035 -- regardless of how long the
grain dealer has contributed to the fund.

Minimum assessment. This rule substitutes the following minimum basic assessment
for the current $20 minimum fota/ assessment:

* $100 for grain dealers who procured less than $500,000 worth of Wisconsin grain
during the last completed fiscal year.

*  $200 for grain dealers who procured at least $500,000 but less than $3,000,000
worth of Wisconsin grain. '

* $500 for grain dealers who procured Wisconsin grain worth $3,000,000 or more.

“Assessment holiday.” Under this rule, a contributing grain dealer is not required to
pay an annual fund assessment (other than a deferred payment fund assessment, if
applicable) for any license year if the grain dealer was a contributing grain dealer in
each of the 5 preceding license years, and if all of the following applied on May 31 of
the last preceding license year:

* The fund balance attributable to grain dealers was at least $3 million.

- ® The overall fund balance was at least $11 million.



Grain Warehouse Keeper License Fees

Current Fees

Under current law, a grain warehouse keeper must pay the following annual license fees
and surcharges:

e A nonrefundable license processing fee of $25, plus an additional nonrefundable
processing fee of $25 for each separate warehouse in excess of one warehouse.

e An inspection fee based on the combined capacity of the grain warehouse keeper’s

warehouses:
Inspection Fee Combined Warehouse Capacity (Bushels)
$ 500 Less than 150,000
$ 550 At least 150,000 but less than 250,000
$ 600 At least 250,000 but less than 500,000
$ 650 At least 500,000 but less than 750,000
$ 700 At least 750,000 but less than 1,000,000
$ 800 At least 1,000,000 but less than 2,000,000
$ 900 At least 2,000,000 but less than 3,000,000
$1,000 At least 3,000,000 but less than 4,000,000
$1,100 4,000,000 or more.

¢ A supplemental inspection fee of $275 for each grain warehouse that the grain
warehouse keeper operates in excess of one warehouse.

e A surcharge of $500 if the grain warehouse keeper operated without a license at any
time during the preceding year.

e A surcharge of $100 if the grain warehouse keeper failed to file an annual financial
statement by the applicable deadline.

o A surcharge of $100 if the applicant fails to renew a license by the license expiration
date of August 31.

Proposed Fees

This rule changes the calculation of grain warehouse inspection fees, but makes no other
changes to current grain warehouse keeper license fees or surcharges. The current
inspection fee schedule (see above) is replaced by a formula. Under the new formula, a
grain warehouse keeper pays an annual inspection fee equal to the combined capacity of
the grain warehouse keeper’s warehouses times 0.25 cent per bushel (rounded to the
nearest $1,000). There is a minimum fee of $1,000 and a maximum fee of $10,000.



Grain Warehouse Keeper Fund Assessments
Current Assessments

Under current law, a grain warehouse keeper must pay an annual fund assessment based
on a formula that considers the warehouse keeper’s licensed storage capacity, current
ratio and debt-to-equity ratio. Other things equal, the formula yields declining
assessments over time. There is a minimum assessment of $20.

Proposed Assessments
R
* Base assessment formula. Under this rule, a grain warehouse keeper must pay an
annual fund assessment that is 50% higher than the assessment generated by the
current formula (the formula does not change, and continues to yield declining
assessments over time).

*  Minimum Assessment. This rule substitutes the following minimum assessment for
the current $20 minimum assessment:

= $100 for grain warehouse keepers whose storage capacity is less than 500,000
bushels.

* $250 for grain warehouse keepers whose storage capacity is 500,000 bushels or
more.

o “Assessment Holiday.” Under this rule, a contributing grain warehouse keeper is not
required to pay a fund assessment for any license year if the grain warehouse keeper
was a contributing grain warehouse keeper in each of the 5 preceding license years,
and if all of the following applied on May 31 of the last preceding license year:

* The fund balance attributable to grain warehouse keepers was at least $500,000.
* The overall fund balance was at least $11 million.

Milk Contractor License Fees

This rule makes no changes to current milk contractor license fees.

Milk Contractor Fund Assessments

Current Assessments

Under current law, a contributing milk contractor must pay an annual fund assessment
based on a formula that considers the milk contractor’s total Wisconsin milk payroll
obligations for the contractor’s last completed fiscal year, the milk contractor’s current

ratio, and the milk contractor’s debt-to-equity ratio. Other things equal, the formula
yields declining assessments over time. There is a minimum assessment of $20.



Proposed Assessments

e Base assessment formula. Under current law, a milk contractor’s assessment rate
increases as the milk contractor’s debt-to-equity ratio increases, but there is no further
rate increase after the milk contractor’s debt-to-equity ratio exceeds 3.1 to 1. Under
this rule, there is no further assessment rate increase after the milk contractor’s debt-
to-equity ratio exceeds 2.9 to 1. This will reduce assessments for some milk
contractors.

e  Minimum Assessment. This rule creates a new minimum assessment for milk
contractors, based on the milk contractor’s total Wisconsin milk payroll obligations in
the contractor’s last completed fiscal year. The new minimum assessment is:

»  $100 for milk contractors with annual Wisconsin milk payroll obligations of less
than $1.5 million. ’

»  $200 for milk contractors with annual Wisconsin milk payroll obligations of at
least $1.5 million but less than $6 million.

»  $500 for milk contractors with annual Wisconsin milk payroll obligations of $6
million or more.

o “dssessment Holiday.” Under this rule, a contributing milk contractor is not required
to pay a fund assessment for any license year if the milk contractor was a contributing
milk contractor in each of the 5 preceding license years, and if all of the following
applied on February 28 of the last preceding license year:

»  The fund balance attributable to milk contractors was at least $6 million.
= The overall fund balance was at least $11 million.

Milk Contractor Producer Payroll Report

Under current law, a milk contractor must report to DATCP the highest amount that the
milk contractor paid for producer milk procured in this state in any single month during
the contractor’s last completed fiscal year. Under this rule, a milk contractor has the
option to report either of the following:

o The highest amount that the milk contractor paid, for producer milk procured in this
state, in any single month during the milk contractor’s last completed fiscal year.

o The highest amount that the milk contractor owed to producers at any time during the
milk contractor’s last completed fiscal year.

For those few milk contractors who must file security with DATCP under current law,
and who pay more quickly than the industry standard of twice per month, this change
could result in lower security filing requirements (and therefore lower costs).



Vegetable Contractor License Fees
Current Fees

Under current law, vegetable contractors must pay the following annual license fees and
surcharges:

* A nonrefundable license processing fee of $25.

* A fee of $25 plus 5.75 cents for each $100 in Wisconsin vegetable procurement
contract obligations (to vegetable producers) that the contractor incurred during the
contractor’s last completed fiscal year. This fee does not apply to “nonparticipating
processing potato buyers.”

* A $500 fee if the vegetable contractor is a “nonparticipating processing potato
buyer.”

* A $500 surcharge if the vegetable contractor operated without a license at any time
during the preceding year.

* A $100 surcharge if, during the preceding year, the vegetable contractor failed to file
a required financial statement by its due date.

* A $100 surcharge if the vegetable contractor failed to file a license renewal
application by the license expiration date of January 31.

Proposed Fees
This rule increases that portion of the license fee which is based on annual Wisconsin
vegetable procurement contract obligations. It increases that fee portion to $25 plus 8.75

cents (currently 5.75 cents) for each $100 in contract obligations.

This rule replaces the current $500 fee for “nonparticipating potato buyers” with a fee
equal to the lesser of the following amounts:

e $25plus 8.75 cents for each $100 in annual contract obligations (same as other
vegetable contractors).

e $2,000.

This rule makes no other changes to current vegetable contractor license fees or
surcharges.
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Vegetable Contractor Fund Assessments

Current Assessments

Under current law, a contributing vegetable contractor must pay an annual fund
assessment based on a formula that considers the contractor’s total vegetable
procurement contract obligations during the contractor’s last completed fiscal year, the
contractor’s current ratio, and the contractor’s debt-to-equity ratio. Other things equal,

the formula yields declining assessments over time. There is a minimum assessment of
$20.

Proposed Assessmenis

e Minimum Assessments. This rule does not change the calculation of vegetable
contractor fund assessments (the current formula continues to generate declining
assessments over time), except that this rule replaces the current $20 minimum
assessment with the following minimum assessment:

= $20 for vegetable contractors with contract obligations of less than $500,000.
»  $200 for vegetable contractors with contract obligations of at least $500,000 and
less than $4 million.

»  $500 for vegetable contractors with contract obligations of $4 million or more.

e “dssessment Holiday.” Under this rule, a vegetable contractor is not required to pay a
fund assessment for any license year if all of the vegetable contractor was a
contributing vegetable contractor in the 5 preceding license years, and all of the
following applied on November 30 of the last preceding license year:

» The fund balance attributable to vegetable contractors was at least $1.5 million.
» The overall fund balance was at least $11 million.

Business Impact

Agricultural Producers

This rule will benefit Wisconsin producers of grain, milk and vegetables, by preventing
the erosion of the producer security program that helps protect them against catastrophic
financial defaults by grain dealers, grain warehouse keepers, milk contractors and
vegetable contractors (collectively “contractors”).

This rule will generate enough license fee revenue to continue critical financial security
monitoring activities such as inspections, compliance evaluations, and review of
contractor financial statements. Without this rule, DATCP would have to curtail key

monitoring activities that help control potentially catastrophic financial risks to producers
and the producer security fund.
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This rule will also reverse the current diversion of fund assessment revenues from the
agricultural producer security trust fund (to subsidize operating deficits in the grain and
vegetable sectors). That will yield a slightly increased rate of fund growth which will, in
turn, provide greater protection for producers in the event of a catastrophic contractor
default.

This rule will not increase costs for agricultural producers, or have any significant impact
on commodity prices paid to producers.

Contractors

This rule affects license fees and fund assessments paid by grain dealers, grain warehouse
keepers, milk contractors and vegetable contractors. It does not materially change other
contractor regulations.

Current Cost to Contractors

Current license fees and fund assessments represent a very small share of overall
contractor costs. For example:

* Current grain dealer license fees and fund assessments represent only about
11 hundredths of one percent of the grain dealers’ annual Wisconsin grain
procurement costs ($672,000 in fees and fund assessments, compared to $599 million
in grain purchased from Wisconsin producers in FY 2005-06).

¢ Current grain warehouse keeper license fees and fund assessments represent less than
2 hundredths of one percent of the grain warehouse keepers’ annual Wisconsin “cost
of sales” ($210,000 in fees and fund assessments, compared to about $1.7 billion in
“cost of sales” for FY 2005-06).

® Current milk contractor license fees and fund assessments represent only about
3 hundredths of one percent of the contractors’ annual Wisconsin milk procurement
costs ($1.2 million in producer security license fees and fund assessments, compared
to about $3.5 billion paid for milk produced by Wisconsin farmers in FY 2005-06).

¢ Current vegetable contractor license fees and fund assessments represent only about
8 hundredths of one percent of the contractors’ annual vegetable procurement costs
($138,000 in producer security license fees and fund assessments, compared to

$170 million in procurement contract obligations to Wisconsin producers in FY 2005-
06).

Current contractor license fees and fund assessments represent an even smaller share of
overall contractor costs (including costs for labor, buildings, equipment, debt service,
overhead, etc., in addition to commodity procurement costs).
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Declining Cost Burden

If commodity prices, procurement volumes, and contractor financial ratios held constant
over the next few years, total contractor license fees and fund assessments would actually
decline because of fee credits and declining formula rates built into the producer security
law itself. This rule will reduce that potential decline, at least in the grain and vegetable
contractor sectors. Higher commodity prices and procurement volumes, or deteriorating
financial ratios, could also offset the decline.

This rule will reduce license fees and fund assessment rates in the milk contractor sector,

but increase license fees and fund assessment rates in the other 3 sectors so that those
sectors pay a more proportionate share. The following table shows combined total
license fees and fund assessments by business sector for FY 2005-06 and FY 2006-07. It
also compares projected totals for FY 2009-10 with and without this rule (these
projections may be affected by changing commodity prices, procurement volumes,
financial ratios and other factors):

Total Contractor License Fees and Fund Assessments (Net of Credits)

FY 2005-06 | FY 2006-07 FY 2009-10% FY 2009-10~
Without this rule | With this rule
Grain Dealers $672, 000 $452,000 $476,000 $581,000
Grain Warehouse $210,000 $194,000 $181,000 $444,000
Keepers
Milk Contractors $1,272,000 $1,002,000 $959,000 $855,000
Vegetable $138,000 $26,000 $36,000 $41,000
Contractors
TOTAL $2,292,000 $1,720,000 $1,652,000 $1,921,000

* Projection assumes constant procurement volumes, commeodity price levels and contractor financial

strength.

Other things equal, there would be a decline in total license fees and fund assessments
results from the following features built into the current producer security law (this rule
will not change those features):

e License fee credits. 1f the fund balance attributable to an industry sector reaches a
specified statutory threshold, a portion of the balance is returned to contributing
contractors in that sector (as a credit on their license fees). Contributing milk and
vegetable contractors are already enjoying credits that significantly reduce their
license fees. Those credits will dramatically reduce fees for contributing contractors,
even when this rule is in effect.
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* Falling assessment rates. Under the producer security law, fund assessment rates
decline after a contractor has contributed to the fund for a specified number of years
(4 to 6 years depending on contractor type and financial condition). Because the
producer security fund is now 6 years old, most contributing contractors are now
paying significantly lower fund assessments than they were a short time ago (other
things equal). That trend will continue, regardless of this rule.

Effects Vary Between Contractors

The impact of this rule may vary considerably between individual contractors within a
business sector. License fees and assessments may be affected by a number of variables
including contractor size, contractor financial strength, contractor risk practices and
commodity prices.

>

For many contractors, this rule will slow the rate at which the contractor’s fees and fund
assessments would otherwise decline. Some contractors (especially grain warehouse
keepers) may have increased fees and fund assessments. For a few contractors, this rule
will actually speed the reduction of fees and fund assessments. Many individual
contractors (especially milk contractors) will be unaffected by this rule.

This rule incorporates an “assessment holiday” that will automatically go into affect
when industry sector balances and overall fund balances grow to specified levels.

Fiscal Impact

Under the agricultural producer security law:

* Licensed contractors must pay license fees to fund DATCP administration of the
agricultural producer security program. Administration includes grain warehouse
inspections, review of contractor financial statements, license administration, and
response to contractor financial defaults and law violations.

* Most contractors (“contributing contractors”) must pay fund assessments to finance
the agricultural producer security fund. The fund is held in trust for the benefit of
producers. If a contractor defaults on payments to agricultural producers, DATCP
may reimburse producers from the fund.

Prior to 2003, DATCP administrative costs were paid by a combination of general
purpose revenue (“GPR”) and contractor license fees. The 2003-05 biennial budget
converted 2.9 FTE positions and support costs from GPR to the agricultural producer
security fund. Partly as a result of that change, current license fee funding is no longer
adequate to cover administrative costs. There has also been a gradual growth in
administrative costs, due to factors (such as state rent, information technology fees, and
employee pay plans and fringe benefits) that are outside DATCP control.



Funding shortfalls are of particular concern in the grain dealer and grain warehouse
keeper programs. Administrative costs now annually exceed license fee revenues by over
$200,000 in each of those programs, and each program has a negative cash balance of
more than $570,000. In the vegetable contractor program, administrative costs now
annually exceed license fee revenues by over $20,000, and there is a negative cash
balance of about $40,000. Grain and vegetable program operations are currently being
subsidized by milk contractor license fees and fund assessments, and funding deficits in
the grain and vegetable accounts are limiting the overall producer security fund balance.

This rule increases annual license fees for grain dealers, grain warehouse keepers and
vegetable contractors, to remedy current inequities and provide minimally adequate
funding for program administration (the fee increases for vegetable contractors will be
largely offset by fee credits built into the producer security law). This rule also adjusts

fund assessments, especially for grain warehouse keepers (for whom an adjustment 1s
required by law).

Notwithstanding this rule, total revenue derived from contractor payments under the
producer security program (license fees plus fund assessments) could actually decline
over the next few years, because of fee credits and declining formula rates that are built
into the producer security law itself. Actual revenues will depend on a variety of factors,
including commodity prices, procurement volumes and contractor financial ratios.

License Fee Revenues

The following table shows actual license fee revenues by industry sector for FY 2005-06
and FY 2006-07. It also compares projected license fee revenues for FY 2009-10 with
and without this rule (these projections may be affected by changing commodity prices,
procurement volumes, contractor financial ratios and other factors):

Total License Fee Revenues (Net of Contractor Credits)

FY 2005-06 | FY 2006-07 FY 2009-10* FY 2009-10*
Without this rule | With this rule
Grain Dealers $160,000 $159,000 $156,000 $232,000
Grain Warehouse $159,000 $152,000 $151,000 $377,000
Keepers
Milk Contractors $363,000 $347,000 $159,000 $159,000
Vegetable $16,000 $13,000 $6,000 $8,000
Contractors
TOTAL $698,000 $671,000 $472,000 $776,000

* Projection assumes constant procurement volumes, commodity price Jevels and contractor financial

strength.
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Projected milk and vegetable contractor license fee revenues for FY 2009-10 are affected,
to a very considerable degree, by license fee credits built into the producer security law
itself. When the producer security fund balance attributable to an industry sector (such as
milk or vegetables) reaches a specified statutory “trigger” amount, a portion of the
balance is returned to contributing contractors in that sector (as a credit on their license
fees).

Contributing milk and vegetable contractors are already enjoying credits that significantly
reduce their license fees. Grain dealers and grain warehouse keepers do not yet qualify
for these credits, because their fund contributions have not yet attained the required level
(nor are they likely to do so prior to FY 2009-10).

DATCP projects that, under this rule, annual license fee revenues will be adequate to

- cover DATCP’s annual operating costs (DATCP has reduced those costs by eliminating
1.67 FTE grain auditor positions). To the extent that annual grain and vegetable license
fee revenues exceed annual operating costs, they will “repay” the program subsidy that
those sectors have already received from the milk sector:

Producer Security Fund; Assessment Revenues

The agricultural producer security fund currently has a balance of approximately

$9 million. No more than 60% of the fund balance can be paid out in any individual
contractor default. The current fund balance is adequate to cover defaults by most, but
not all, individual contractors. Continued fund growth will improve protection for -
producers, and minimize the need for supplementary security from contractors.

Contributing contractors pay fund assessments to finance the agricultural producer
security fund. Annual assessment revenues may decline over the next few years (with or
without this rule), because of fee credits and declining formula rates built into the
producer security law. This rule will slow the decline (assessment revenues may also be
affected by commodity prices, procurement volumes, contractor financial ratios and other
factors). If fund balances grow to a certain point, the automatic “assessment holidays”
incorporated into this rule will halt the collection of assessment revenues.

The following table shows actual fund assessment revenues by industry sector for FY

2005-06 and FY 2006-07. Tt also compares projected license fee revenues for

FY 2009-10 with and without this rule (these projections may be affected by changing
commodity prices, procurement volumes, contractor financial ratios and other factors):
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Total Fund Assessment Revenues

|

FY 2005-06 | FY 2006-07 FY 2009-10* FY 2009-10*
Without this rule | With this rule
Grain Dealers $512,000 $300,000 $320,000 $349,000
Grain Warehouse $51,000 $22,000 $30,000 $67,000
Keepers
Milk Contractors $909,000 $973,000 $800,000 $696,000
Vegetable $122,000 $35,000 $30,000 $33,000
Contractors
TOTAL $1,594,000 | $1,330,000 $1,180,000 $1,145,000

* Projection assumes constant procurement volumes, commodity price levels and contractor financial

strength.

Cash in the milk fund assessment sub-account currently covers negative cash balances in
the grain and vegetable program administration sub-accounts (which should normally be
covered by license fees, not fund assessments). That is slowing the rate of growth in the

milk assessment sub-account, and limiting fund coverage for all producers (grain, milk,
and vegetable).

By correcting current grain and vegetable license fee revenue shortfalls, this rule will
eliminate the current drain on the producer security fund. The fund balance attributable
to grain warehouse keeper assessments is expected to build over several years toward the
required statutory minimum balance (it currently falls well short).

Federal and Surrounding State Regulations
Federal Programs
Milk
There is no federal producer security program related to milk.

Grain

The United States department of agriculture (USDA) administers a producer security
program for federally licensed grain warehouses that store grain for producers. Grain
warehouses may choose whether to be licensed under state or federal law. Federally-
licensed warehouses are exempt from state warehouse licensing and security
requirements. State-licensed warehouses are likewise exempt from federal requirements.

The federal grain warehouse program provides little or no protection against financial
defaults by grain dealers. Grain dealers are persons who buy and sell grain. Sometimes,
grain dealers also operate grain warehouses. DATCP currently licenses grain dealers.
Licensed warehouse keepers must also hold a state grain dealer license if they engage in
grain dealing.
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USDA has informally proposed to regulate grain dealer activities (grain
“merchandising”) by federally licensed warehouse keepers, to the exclusion of state
regulation. But USDA has not yet officially introduced its proposed regulations. In any
case, the federal regulations would not apply to state-licensed grain warehouses, or to
grain dealers who do not operate a warehouse.

Vegetables

There is a federal security program for vegetables. That security program is mainly
limited to fresh market vegetables, and consists of a priority lien against vegetable-related
assets.

Wisconsin’s vegetable security program applies only to processing vegetables (not fresh
market vegetables covered by federal regulations). Wisconsin’s program uses an
indemnity fund, rather than a priority lien-type program. Unlike the Jederal priority lien
program, a state priority lien program would not work because it would be preempted by
federal bankruptcy law.

There may be some limited overlap between the Wisconsin and federal programs, but that
overlap is justified because the scope of federal coverage is not entirely clear. Overlap
was reduced by recent Wisconsin legislation, which permits certain potato buyers
covered under the federal program to opt out of most of the state program.

Surrounding States

In Minnesota, contractors must be licensed to procure grain, milk or processing
vegetables from producers, or to operate grain warehouses. Regulated contractors must
file bonds as security against default. The program is financed through industry fees and
general tax revenues.

Neither Iowa nor Illinois have producer security programs for milk or vegetables.
However, both states maintain indemnity funds to protect grain producers. Fund
assessments are based solely on grain volume. In Wisconsin, by contrast, fund
assessments are based on grain volume and financial condition. Jowa and Illinois finance
their programs through industry fees and general tax revenues.

Michigan has the following producer security programs:

* Potato dealers must be licensed, and must post bonds as security against defaults.
(Wisconsin’s vegetable security program includes, but is not limited to, potatoes.)

* Dairy plants that fail to meet minimum financial standards must file security or pay
cash for milk.

*  Grain producers have the option of paying premiums into a state fund. In the event of
a grain default, the fund reimburses participating producers.

* These programs are financed through industry fees and general tax revenues.

18



