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The Honorable Robert Jauch August 14, 2008

Senate Chairman
Joint Committee for Review
of Administrative Rules
Room 118 South, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

The Honorable Dan LeMahieu

Assembly Chairman

Joint Committee for Review
of Administrative Rules

Room 17 North, State Capitol

Madison, Wisconsin 53702

RE: NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING and Text of Proposed Rule, relating to neighborhood
electric vehicles, Trans 145

Dear Senator Jauch and Representative LeMahieu:

Enclosed for your information is a Notice of Public Hearing and Text of Proposed
Rulemaking relating to the above-entitled matter. These documents have also been filed with
the Legislative Reference Bureau, the Legislative Council, and the Department of Administration
in accordance with the requirements of §§ 227.15 and 227.17, Stats.

incerely,
ie A. Johnson
aralegal

Enclosure

cc: Casey Newman
Mike Goetzman
Lynne B. Judd
Carson Frazier



PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order to create ch. TRANS
145, relating to neighborhood electric vehicles.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 84.01(2), 227.10(1), 227.11(2)(a),
342.255(3), 349.26, 340.01(36r), 341.04(1) and 341.297(1), Sta;cs., and interpreting ss.
349.26, 341.04(1), 341.297(1), Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold a public
hearing in Room 144-B of the Hill Farms State Transportation Building, 4802 Sheboygan
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin on the 15th day of October, 2008, at 10:00 AM, to consider
the creation of ch. Trans 145, Wisconsin Administrative Code, relating to neighborhood
electric vehicles.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on request for this hearing.
Please make reservations for a hearing interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance are available.




PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order to create ch. TRANS
145, relating to neighborhood electric vehicles.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Statutes interpreted: ss. 349.26, 341.04(1), 341.297(1), Stats.

Statutory authority: ss. 84.01(2), 227.10(1), 227.11(2)(a), 342.255(3), 349.26,
340.01(36r), 341.04(1) and 341.297(1), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority: Current law prohibits the operation of any
motor vehicle on any public road unless the motor vehicle is registered, or for which
registration application is made. The Department of Transportation is required to issue
biennial registration for a neighborhood electric vehicle for which it receives a proper
application. Municipalities may authorize the operation of neighborhood electric vehicles
on public roads under its jurisdiction having a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or slower.
Current law contains no specific prohibition against the driver of a neighborhood electric
vehicle operating on any public road not approved by the municipality for such operation.
The Department concludes that the registration of a neighborhood electric vehicle is
effective only on public roads authorized by municipalities for such travel, and that
traveling on any other public road is done without valid registration.

Related statute or rule: ss. 340.01(36r), 341.04(1), 341.297(1) and 349.26, Stats.

Plain language analysis: Section 349.26, Stats., allows a city, town or village by
ordinance to authorize operation of Neighborhood Electric Vehicles (NEVs) on its
roadways that have speed limits of 35 mph or less. The law specifies that the ordinance
may apply to State Trunk Highways (STH) in only two circumstances: (1) crossing an
STH at a location approved by DOT; or (2) traveling longitudinally upon a connecting
highway segment approved by DOT.

While s. 349.26, Stats., implies that NEVs cannot operate on local roads not
specified in the ordinance or at any unapproved location on STHs, statutes do not
specifically prohibit NEV operation on those roads. Sections 341.25(1)(b) and 341.297,
Stats., establish NEV registration under Chapter 341, Stats. Because NEVs bear DMV-
issued registration plates, NEVs traveling on unapproved roads may appear to violate no
laws, despite s. 349.26 restriction on approved roads for NEV operation. This proposed
rule clarifies that NEV registration is valid only on approved roads under s. 349.26, Stats.



Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal
regulation: Federal motor vehicle safety standards, promulgated by the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration, define an NEV as a lightweight, four-wheeled
motor vehicle incapable of exceeding a top speed of 25 miles per hour. The federal
regulations do not address registration and operation of NEVs, leaving that to states to
determine.

Comparison with Rules in the Following States:

Michigan: An NEV (low speed vehicle) may not be operated on any street with a
posted speed limit greater than 35 mph. A low speed vehicle may cross a street with a
posted speed limit greater than 35 mph. Low speed vehicles are required to be registered
by the state.

Minnesota: An NEV may not be operated on a street with a posted speed limit
greater than 35 mph. An NEV may cross a street with a posted speed limit greater than
35 mph. NEVs are required to be registered by state.

lllinois: An NEV may not be operated on a street with a posted speed limit greater
than 35 mph. An NEV may cross a street with a posted speed limit greater than 35 mph,
only at an intersection. NEVs are required to be registered by state.

lowa: An NEV (low-speed vehicle) may not be operated on a street with a posted
speed limit greater than 35 mph. A low-speed vehicle may cross a street with a posted
speed limit greater than 35 mph. Low-speed vehicles are required to be registered by
state.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the
related findings support the regulatory approach chosen: This proposed rule clarifies
that NEVs, while registered under ch. 341, Stats., are authorized to operate only on
roadways authorized under local ordinance, under s. 349.26, Stats. The Department uses
only this statutory intent in determining this proposed rule.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small
businesses: This rule clarifies that NEV operation is only allowed on roadways
designated by local authorities under s. 349.26, Stats. Any NEV owner, including any
small business, is subject to the same operation limitations.

Effect on small business: This proposed rule will have no effect on small
business other than limitation on NEV operation to which all NEV owners are subject. The
Department's Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail at
ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585.

Fiscal effect. The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the
liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical
and adult education district, sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or bands.



Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: The Department estimates that
there will be no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or liabilities.

Agency contact person and place where comments are to be submitted and
deadline for submission: The public record on this proposed rule making will be held
open until close of business the day of the hearing to permit the submission of comments
in lieu of public hearing testimony or comments supplementing testimony offered at the
hearing. Any such comments should be submitted to Carson P. Frazier, Department of
Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles, Room 255, P. O. Box 7911, Madison, WiI
53707-7911. You may also contact Ms. Frazier by phone at (608) 266-7857 or via e-mail:
carson.frazier@dot.state.wi.us.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the current rule, and submit
written comments via e-mail/internet, you may Vvisit the following website:
http:/mww.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenotices.htm.

TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE

SECTION 1. Chapter Trans 145 is created to read:

CHAPTER TRANS 145
NEIGHBORHOOD ELECTRIC VEHICLE

Trans 145.01 Purpose. The purpose of this chapter is to state that registration of
neighborhood electric vehicles under s. 341.25(1)(b), Stats., is valid only on roadways
designated under s. 349.26, Stats.

Trans 145.02 Roadway designation. Section 349.26, Stats., authorizes the
governing body of any city, town or village to enact an ordinance allowing the use of a
neighborhood electric vehicle on a roadway that has a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or
less and over which the city, town or village has jurisdiction.

- Trans 145.03 Registration.  Sections 341.25(1)(b) and 341.297(1), Stats.,
authorize biennial registration of a neighborhood electric vehicle with the department.

Trans 145.04 Registration limited. Registration of a neighborhood electric
vehicle is valid only on roadways designated in an ordinance adopted under s. 349.26,

Stats. Registration of a neighborhood electric vehicle on any highway not designated in an



ordinance adopted under s. 349.26, Stats., is unregistered operation subject to penalties
provided in s. 341.04, Stats.

(END OF RULE TEXT)

Effective Date. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.),
Stats.

Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this }4** day of
August, 2008.

Ziawl Q Lieslivtdes

FRANK J. BU CCHI
Secretary
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
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Jim Doyle, Governor
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| RECEIVED

| ocT 28 2008
The Honorable Robert Jauch Y October 28, 2008
Senate Chairman =21 |

Joint Committee for Review

of Administrative Rules
Room 118 South, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

The Honorable Dan LeMahieu
Assembly Chairman
Joint Committee for Review

of Administrative Rules
Room 17 North, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

RE: NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING and Text of Proposed Rule, relating to Motor
Carrier Safety, and Hazardous Material Transportation Safety, Trans

325/326/327

Dear Senator Jauch and Representative LeMahieu:

Enclosed for your information is a Notice of Public Hearing and Text of Proposed
Rulemaking relating to the above-entitied matter. These documents have also been filed with
the Legislative Reference Bureau, the Legislative Council, and the Department of Administration
in accordance with the requirements of §§ 227.15 and 227.17, Stats.

Enclosure

cc: Casey Newman
Mike Goetzman
Supt. David Collins
Capt. Charles Lorentz
Lt. Patricia Hansen

ig A. Johnson,
legal s



PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order amending TRANS
325.02(intro.) and (8), 326.01(intro.) and (8), 327.03(intro.) and (7), and 327.09(6)(note);
and creating TRANS 325.02(7g) and (7r), 326.01(7m) and 327.03(11), relating to motor
carrier safety, and hazardous material transportation safety.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 110.07, Stats., interpreting ch. 194,
Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold a public hearing on December 2, 2008
at the Hill Farms State Transportation Building, Room 701, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue,
Madison, WI, at 10:00 AM, on the amendment of chs. Trans 325, 326 and 327, Wisconsin
Administrative Code, relating to motor carrier safety, and hazardous material
transportation safety.

The public hearing site is accessible to people with disabilities.

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained upon request from Lt. Patricia
Hansen, Department of Transportation, Division of State Patrol, Bureau of Field Services,
Room 551, P. O. Box 7936, Madison, WI 53707-7936. You may also contact Lt. Hansen

by phone at (608) 266-0094 or via e-mail at patricia.hansen@dot.state.wi.us.




PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order amending TRANS
325.02(intro.) and (8), 326.01(intro.) and (8), 327.03(intro.) and (7), and 327.09(6)(note);
and creating TRANS 325.02(7g) and (7r), 326.01(7m) and 327.03(11), relating to motor
carrier safety, and hazardous material transportation safety.

Analysis Pregared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Statutes interpreted: Ch. 194, Stats.

Statutory authority: s. 110.075 and Ch. 194, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority: The Department of Transportation sets
standards and adopts rules to establish a plan of inspection to implement the inspection
program. This proposed rule making eliminates the date specification for applicable
federal regulations enabling the Department to apply current federal regulations. It is
the duty of the Department to prescribe rules and regulations as to safety and
operations and the hours of labor of drivers of motor vehicles operated under the
authority of these chapters.

Related statute or rule: ss. 110.07, Stats.

Plain language analysis: As prescribed by state statute, the Department is
mandated to regulate both intrastate and interstate transportation of property and
passengers by commercial motor vehicles. It is in the best interest of the public when
current regulations are used for enforcement of these regulations. Applying outdated
regulations can adversely affect interstate transportation where those other states apply
current regulations.

Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal
regulation: Trans 325 (Interstate Motor Carrier Safety regulations) adopts Federal
regulations 49 CFR part 385, subpart C (Certification of Safety Auditors, Safety
Investigators and Safety Inspectors) and parts 390 to 393 and 395 to 397. Trans 326
(Motor Carrier Safety Requirements for Transportation of Hazardous Materials) adopts
Federal Regulations 49 CFR parts 107, 171-173, 177, 178, 180 and 385, subpart E
(Hazardous Materials Safety Permits). Trans 327 (Motor Carrier Safety) adopts Federal
regulations part 385, subpart C, (Certification of Safety Auditors, Safety Investigators
and Safety Inspectors), parts 40, 390-general, except 390.23(a)(3); 391-general except
391.11(b)(1) and 391.41(b)(3), 391.41(b)(10); 392 except 392.16; 393-general except
393.42 shall not apply to vehicles placed in operation in common, contract or private
carriage prior to June 1, 1987; 395, general-except 395.1(e)(1), 395.1(h), 395.1(i) 395.5,



395.8, and the maximum number of hours identified in 395.3 as follows: (a) more than
12 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty; (b) for any period after having been on
duty 16 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty; (c) after having been on duty for
70 hours in any period of 7 consecutive days; and (d) after having been on duty for 80
hours in any period of 8 consecutive days, and parts 396 and 397.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States: All adjacent states (Michigan,
Minnesota, lllinois and lowa) adopt the same Federal regulations and subsequent
revisions to those regulations.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the
related findings support the regulatory approach chosen: The Federal Motor Carrier
Safety Administration continues to do ongoing research into vehicle equipment, driver
safety, carrier authority and hazardous materials. Its research, coupled with the input from
the motor carrier industry, resulted in ongoing updates to federal regulations for interstate
commerce. It is imperative the same regulations are enforced from state to state.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small
businesses: The research provided by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
was used in analyzing the effects on small business.

Effect on small business: This rule making will have no significant adverse effect
on small businesses. The Department's Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by e-mail at ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585.

Fiscal effect. The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the
liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical
and adult education district, sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or bands.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector. The Department estimates that
there will be no fiscal impact on private sector revenues or liabilities.

Agency contact person and place where comments are to be submitted and
deadline for submission: The public record on this proposed rule making will be held
open until close of business on December 5, 2008, to permit the submission of
comments in lieu of public hearing testimony or comments supplementing testimony
offered at the hearing. Any such comments should be submitted to Lt. Patricia Hansen,
Department of Transportation, Division of State Patrol, Bureau of Field Services, Room
551, P. O. Box 7936, Madison, WI 53707-7936. You may also contact Lt. Hansen by
phone at (608) 266-0094, or by e-mail at patricia.hansen@dot.state.wi.us to obtain copies
of the proposed rule.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the current rule, and submit
written comments via e-mailfinternet, you may visit the following website:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenotices.htm.




TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. Trans 325.02(intro.) is amended to read:

Trans 325.02 Federal rules adopted. (intro.) The following federal motor carrier
safety regulations adopted by the United States department of transportation -and-in-effest
on—January-1-2006; are adopted by the department and shall be enforced in relation to
those carriers, drivers or vehicles to which these rules apply in the same manner as
though the regulations were set out in full in this chapter:

SECTION 2. Trans 325.02(7g) and (7r) are created to read:

Trans 325.02(7g) Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, part 385, subpart C,
certification of safety auditors, safety investigators and safety inspectors.

(7r) Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, part 387, as it pertains to the financial
responsibility requirements applicable to commercial motor vehicles that are subject to the
provisions of 392.9a.

SECTION 3. Trans 325.02(8) is amendéd to read:

Trans 325.02(8) Every traffic officer and state patrol inspector employed under the
authority of s. 110.07, Stats., is authorized to declare vehicles and drivers out-of-service in

accordance with the 2006 North American uniform out-of-service criteria.

NOTE The North Amencan Umform Out-of-Serwce Cntena is on file with the

: 0 Or-c he-Secre nd-the Department of
Transportatlon Dmsnon of State Patrol Copies may be obtamed by writing to the
Division of State Patrol, P. O. Box 7912, Madison, Wl 53707-7912, or to the
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, 5430-Grosvenor-Lane;-Suite-130,—Bethesda;
MD--20814 1101 17th Street, NW, Suite 803, Washington, DC 20036, or by calling
202-775-1623. You may also request copies via their website at cvsa_q@cvsa.org.

NOTE: Federal requlations may be obtained through the Internet via:
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-requlations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrgquide.asp

SECTION 4. Trans 326.01(intro.) is amended to read:



Trans 326.01 Federal rules adopted. (intro.) The following federal motor carrier
safety regulations adopted by the United States department of transportation and-in-effest
on-January-+-20086; are adopted by the department and shall be enforced in relation to
those carriers, drivers or vehicles to which these federal rules apply in the same manner
as though the regulations were set out in full in this chapter:

SECTION 5. Trans 326.01(7m) is created to read:

Trans 326.01(7m) Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, part 385, subpart E,
hazardous materials safety permits.

SECTION 6. Trans 326.01(8) is amended to read:

Trans 326.01(8) Every traffic officer and state patrol inspector employed under the
authority of s. 110.07, Stats., is authorized to declare vehicles and drivers out-of-service in

accordance with the 2006 North American uniform out-of-service criteria.

NOTE: The North American Uniform Out-of-Service Criteria is on file with the
DHIGO6—C he-ReViso B -._:: ne—oecretalry-6 State.—ahna Departmentof
Transportation, Division of State Patrol. Copies may be obtained by writing to the
Division of State Patrol, P. O. Box 7912, Madison, Wil 53707-7912, or to the
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, 5430-Grosvenor-Lane,—Suite—130,-Bethesda,
MD_-20814 1101 17th Street, NW, Suite 803, Washington, DC 20036, or by calling

202-775-1623. You may also request copies via their website at cvsahg@cvsa.org.

NOTE: Federal regulations may be obtained through the Internet via:
httg:llwww.fmcsa.dot.govlrules-rggulationsladministrationlfmcsrlfmcsrggide.asg

SECTION 7. Trans 327.03(intro.) and (7) are amended to read:

Trans 327. 03 Federal regulations adopted. (intro.) The following federal motor
carrier safety regulations adopted by the United States department of transportation and-in
effect_on—October1—2006; are adopted by the department and shall be enforced in
relation to those carriers, drivers or vehicles which operate in intrastate commerce in the

same manner as thought the regulations were set out in full in this chapter:



(7) Every traffic officer and state patrol inspector employed under the authority of s.
110.07, Stats., is authorized to declare vehicles and drivers out-of-service in accordance

with the 2006 North American uniform out-of-service criteria.

NOTE: The North American Uniform Out-of-Service Criteria is on file with the
offices-o ho—Revisor-of-Statutoes ha-Secretary-—of-State,—and Departmentof
Transportation, Division of State Patrol. Copies may be obtained by writing to the
Division of State Patrol, P. O. Box 7912, Madison, Wl 53707-7912, or to the
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, 5430-GrosvenorLane,-Suite-130,—Bethesda,
MD—20844 1101 17th Street. NW, Suite 803, Washington, DC 20036, or by calling
202-775-1623. You may also request copies via their website at cvsaha@cvsa.org.

NOTE: Federal requlations may be obtained through the Internet via:
http:llwww.fmcsa.dot.govlruIes-reguiationsladministrationlfmcsrlfmcsrguide.asg

SECTION 8. Trans 327.03(11) is created to read:
Trans 327.03(11) Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, part 385, subpart C,
certification of safety auditors, safety investigators and safety inspectors.
SECTION 9. Trans 327.09(6)(note) is amended to read:
Trans 327.09(6)(note) Note: Declarations can be faxed to (608) 266-4486 227-
9600, |
(END OF RULE TEXT)

Effective Date. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.),
Stats.

Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this 37 day of
October, 2008.

7 ¢
FRANK J. BU CCHI

Secretary
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
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4802 Sheboygan Ave., Rm. 1158 Frank J. Busalacchi, Secretary
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The Honorable Robert Jauch
Senate Chairman
Joint Committee for Review

of Administrative Rules
Room 118 South, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

October 29, 2008

The Honorable Dan LeMahieu
Assembly Chairman
— Joint Committee for Review
of Administrative Rules
Room 17 North, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

RE: NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING and Text of Proposed Rule, relating to allowing
the operation of certain 2-vehicle combinations on certain highways
without a permit, Trans 276

Dear Senator Jauch and Representative LeMahieu:

Enclosed for your information is a Notice .of Public Hearing and Text of Proposed
Rulemaking relating to the above-entitled matter. These documents have also been filed with
the Legislative Reference Bureau, the Legislative Council, and the Department of Administration
in accordance with the requirements of §§ 227.15 and 227.17, Stats.

Enclosure
cc: Casey Newman
Mike Goetzman

Ashwani Sharma




PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order amending TRANS
276.07(14) and (35m), relating to allowing the operation of certain 2-vehicle combinations
on certain highways without a pemit.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 348.07, Stats., interpreting s.
348.07, Stats, the Department of Transportation will hold a public hearing on
December 3, 2008 at the Hill Farms State Transportation Building, Room 501 (Eau Claire
Room), 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, WI, at 10:00 AM, on the amendment of ch.
Trans 276, Wisconsin Administrative Code, relating to allowing the operation of certain 2-
vehicle combinations on certain highways without a permit

The public hearing site is accessible to people with disabilities.

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained upon request from Ashwani
Sharma, Department of Transportation, Bureau of Highway Operations, Room 501, P. O.
Box 7986, Madison, WI 53707-7986. You may also contact Mr. Sharma by phone at

(608) 266-1273 or via e-mail at ashwani.sharma@dot.state.wi.us.




PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order amending TRANS
276.07(14) and (35m), relating to allowing the operation of certain 2-vehicle combinations
on certain highways without a permit.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Statutes interpreted: s. 348.07, Stats.
Statutory authority: s. 348.07, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority: Section 348.07(4), Stats., requires the
secretary to designate by rule the highways to which s. 348.07 (2)(f), Stats., [no overall
length limitation for a tractor-semitrailer combination, a double bottom or an automobile
haulaway], (fm) [no length limitation for a truck tractor or road tractor when such truck
tractor or road tractor is operated in a tractor-semitrailer combination or as part of a
double bottom or an automobile haulaway], (gm) [28 feet 6 inch length limit for a
semitrailer or trailer operated as part of a double bottom], and (gr) [53 feet for a
semitrailer whose length from kingpin to axle does not exceed 43 feet and which is
operated as part of a 2-vehicle combination], and s. 348.08(1)(e), Stats., [double bottom
trucks] apply. The designation of highways under this subsection may not be inconsistent
with the designation of highways made by the U.S. secretary of transportation under P.L.
97-424, section 411.

Related statute or rule: s. 348.07, Stats., and ch. Trans 276, Wis. Admin. Code

Plain language analysis: This rule proposes to amend s. Trans 276.07(14) and
(35m), Wisconsin Administrative Code, to add two segments of highway to the
designated highway system established under s. 348.07(4), Stats. The actual highway
segments' that this rule proposes to add to the designated highway system are:

Hwy. From To
STH 66 West of Roshoit CTH A E. of Rosholt
CTH Ain Portage Co. STH 66 near Rosholt USH 10 in Amherst

' The rule text often achieves these objectives by consolidating individual segments
into contiguous segments with new end points. In order to determine the actual highway
segment added, it is necessary to compare the combined old designations with the
combined new designation.



The long trucks to which this rule applies are those with 53-foot semitrailers,
double bottoms and the vehicles which may legally operate on the federal National
Network, but which exceed Wisconsin's regular limits on overall length. Generally, no
person may operate any of the following vehicles on Wisconsin's highways without a
permit. A single vehicle with an overall length in excess of 40 feet’, a combination of
vehicles with an overall length in excess of 65 feet, a semitrailer longer than 48 feet, an
automobile haulaway longer than 66 feet plus allowed overhangs, or a double bottom.
Certain exceptions are provided under s. 348.07(2), Stats., which implements provisions
of the federal Surface Transportation Assistance Act in Wisconsin.

The effect of this rule will be to extend the provisions of s. 348.07(2)(f), (fm), (gm)
and (gr), and s. 348.08(1)(e), Stats., to the highway segments listed above. As a result,
vehicles which may legally operate on the federal National Network in Wisconsin will also
be allowed to operate on the newly-designated highway. Specifically, this means there
will be no overall length limitation for a tractor-semitrailer combination, a double bottom or
an automobile haulaway on the affected highway segment. There also will be no length
limitation for a truck tractor or road tractor when operated in a tractor-semitrailer
combination or as part of a double bottom or an automobile haulaway. Double bottoms
will be allowed to operate on the affected highway segment provided neither trailer is
longer than 28 feet, 6 inches. Semitrailers up to 53 feet long may also be operated on
this highway segment provided the kingpin to rear axle distance does not exceed 43 feet.
This distance is measured from the kingpin to the center of the rear axle or, if the
semitrailer has a tandem axle, to a point midway between the first and last axles of the
tandem. Otherwise, semitrailers, including semitrailers which are part of an automobile
haulaway, are limited to 48 feet in length.

These vehicles and combinations are also allowed to operate on undesignated
highways for a distance of 15 miles or less from the designated highway in order to reach
fuel, food, maintenance, repair, rest, staging, terminal or vehicle assembly or points of
loading or unloading.

Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal
regulation: In the Surface Transportation Assistance Act of 1982 (STAA), the federal
government acted under the Commerce clause of the United States Constitution to
provide uniform standards on vehicle length applicable in all states. The length provisions
of STAA apply to truck tractor-semitrailer combinations and to truck tractor-semitrailer-
trailer combinations. (See Jan. 6, 1983, Public Law 97-424, § 411) The uniform
standards provide that: ‘

o No state shall impose a limit of less than 48 feet on a semitrailer operating
in a truck tractor-semitrailer combination.

2 45-foot buses are allowed on the National Network and Interstate system by Federal
law. Section 4006(b) of the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991.




e No state shall impose a length limit of less than 28 feet on any semitrailer or
trailer operating in a truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer combination.
No state may limit the length of truck tractors.

e No state shall impose an overall length limitation on commercial vehicles
operating in truck tractor-semitrailer or truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer
combinations.

e No state shall prohibit operation of truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer
combinations.

The State of Wisconsin complied with the federal requirements outlined above by
enacting 1983 Wisconsin Act 78 which amended § 348.07(2), Stats., and § 348.08(1),
Stats. This act created §§ 348.07(2)(f), (fm), (gm) and 348.08(1)(e) to implement the
federal length requirements. In 1986 the legislature created § 348.07(2)(gr), Stats,, to
add 53 foot semitrailers as part of a two vehicle combination to the types of vehicles that
may operate along with STAA authorized vehicles. (See 1985 Wisconsin Act 165)

The vehicles authorized by the STAA may operate on the national system of
interstate and defense highways and on those federal aid primary highways designated
by regulation of the secretary of the United States Department of Transportation. In 1984
the USDOT adopted 23 CFR Part 658 which in Appendix A lists the highways in each
state upon which STAA authorized vehicles may operate. Collectively these highways
are known as the National Network. In 1983 Wisconsin Act 78, the legislature enacted
§ 348.07(4), Stats., which directs the Wisconsin Department of Transportation to adopt a
rule designating the highways in Wisconsin on which STAA authorized vehicles may be
operated consistent with federal regulations.

The Department of Transportation first adopted ch. Trans 276 of the Wisconsin
Administrative Code in December of 1984. The rule is consistent with 23 CFR Part 658 in
that the Wisconsin rule designates all of the highways in Wisconsin that are listed in 23
CFR Part 658 as part of the National Network for STAA authorized vehicles. The federal
regulation does not prohibit states from allowing operation of STAA authorized vehicles
on additional state highways. The rule making authority granted to the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation in § 348.07(4), Stats., allows the DOT to add routes in
Wisconsin consistent with public safety. The rule making process also provides a
mechanism to review requests from businesses and shipping firms for access to the
designated highway system for points of origin and delivery beyond 15 miles from a
designated route. A process to review and respond to requests for reasonable access is
required by 23 CFR Part 658.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States:

Michigan: Allows 53 ft. semi-trailers on designated highways only approved by
the state transportation department or a local authority. Maximum length from kingpin to
axle is 37.5 ft. to 40.5 ft. There is no restriction on maximum overall tractor-semitrailer
length. Allows 5-mile access provision on state highways for food, fuel, repairs or rest.



Minnesota: Allows 53 ft. semi-trailers on any road with an overall length restriction
of 75 ft. No restriction on divided highways. Commissioner may designate other than
divided highways, subject to local approval, for the purpose of providing reasonable
access between divided highways.

Ilinois: Allows 53 ft. semi-trailers on designated highways on Class |, Il and il
highways. Maximum length from kingpin to axle is 45.5 ft. There is no restriction on
maximum overall tractor-semitrailer length for Class | and Il highways, but a 65 ft.
restriction on Class IIl highway, and a 55 ft. restriction on non-state highways. Allows a 5-
mile access provision off a state route.

lowa: Allows 53-ft. semi-trailers on any highway and no maximum overall semi-
trailer length restriction.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the
related findings support the regulatory approach chosen: Due to the federal
requirement that requests for access to the designated highway system in a state be
decided within 90 days of the request, a proposed rule making to add requested routes is
initiated without investigation.  The public hearing and Department investigation
undertaken in preparation for the hearing provide the engineering and economic data
needed to make a final decision on whether to withdraw the proposal or proceed to final
rule making.

Effect on small business and, if applicable, any analysis and supporting
documentation used to determine effect on small businesses: The provisions of this
proposed rule adding two highway segments to the designated system have no direct
adverse effect on small businesses, and may have a favorable effect on those small
businesses which are shippers or carriers using the newly-designated routes. The
Department's Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail at
ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585.

Fiscal effect of the rule, and anticipated costs incurred by private sector:
The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the liabilities or revenues
of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult education
district, sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or bands. The Department
estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or
liabilities.

Agency contact person and place where comments are to be submitted and
deadline for submission: The public record on this proposed rule making will be held
open until close of business the day of the hearing to permit the submission of comments
in lieu of public hearing testimony or comments supplementing testimony offered at the
hearing. Any such comments should be submitted to Ashwani Sharma, Department of
Transportation, Bureau of Highway Operations, Room 501, P. O. Box 7986, Madison, WI
53707-7986. You may also contact Mr. Sharma by phone at (608) 266-1273 or via e-mail
at ashwani.sharma@dot.state.wi.us to obtain copies of the proposed rule.



To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the current rule, and submit
written comments via e-mailfinternet, you may visit the following website:
http://www.dot‘wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/ruIenotices.htm.

TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE

SECTION 1. Trans 276.01(14) and (35m) are amended to read:

Route From To

Trans 276.01(14)  STH65 USH 10 in Ellsworth STH 64 at New Richmond
STH 66 USH 51 at Stevens Point STH 49 E. of Rosholt
STH 67 IH 94 S. of Oconomowoc STH 28 in Mayville
STH 67 CTH B S. of St. Cloud USH 151 N. of Kiel
STH 68 STH 33 at Fox Lake STH 49 at Waupun
STH 69 IL Line CTH PB at Paoli

(35m) PORTAGE COUNTY

CTHA STH 66 E. of Rosholt USH 10 in Amherst
CTHB USH 10 IH 39
(END OF RULE TEXT)

Effective Date. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.),
Stats.

Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this A8 day of
October, 2008.

Hral. ) Boer il -
FRANK J. BUSALACCHI

Secretary
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
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The Honorable Robert Jauch December 15, 2008
Senate Chairman
Joint Committee for Review
of Administrative Rules
Room 118 South, State Capitol
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

The Honorable Dan LeMahieu

Assembly Chairman

Joint Committee for Review
of Administrative Rules

Room 17 North, State Capitol

Madison, Wisconsin 53702

RE: NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING and Text of Proposed Rule, relating to
municipal or county vehicle registration fee, Trans 126

Dear Senator Jauch and Representative LeMahieu:

Enclosed for your information is a Notice of Public Hearing and Text of Proposed
Rulemaking relating to the above-entitled matter. These documents have also been filed with
the Legislative Reference Bureau, the Legislative Council, and the Department of Administration
in accordance with the requirements of §§ 227.15 and 227.17, Stats.

Singerely,
4 i

Y

;’f ’ z

Juli,fa A. Johnson f
Pafalegal \

Enclosure

cc: Casey Newman
Mike Goetzman
Lynne B. Judd
Carson Frazier

DOT3 2003



PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order renumbering TRANS
126.01(2); amending TRANS 126.02(2), (3)(d), (4), (6) and (8), 126.04(title), (a), (b), (c),
(2) and (3)(title); and creating TRANS 126.01(2)(b) and (c), and 126.04(2m), relating to
municipal or county vehicle registration fee.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 341.35, Stats., and interpreting ss.

227.11, 341.35(4), (6), (m), and (8), Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold a

public hearing in Room 144-B of the Hill Farms State Transportation Building, 4802
Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin on the 28th day of January, 2009, at 1:30 PM,

to consider the creation of ch. Trans 126, Wisconsin Administrative Code, relating to

municipal or county vehicle registration fee.
An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on request for this hearing.
Please make reservations for a hearing interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Parking for persohs with disabilities and an accessible entrance are available.




PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
ADOPTING RULES

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order renumbering TRANS
126.01(2); amending TRANS 126.02(2), (3)(d), (4), (6) and (8), 126.04(title), (a), (b), (c),
(2) and (3)(title); and creating TRANS 126.01(2)(b) and (c), and 126.04(2m), relating to
municipal or county vehicle registration fee.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Statutes interpreted: ss. 341.35, Stats.
Statutory authority: ss. 227.11, 341.35(4), (6), (6m), and (8), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority: The Wisconsin Department of Transportation is
authorized to administer and collect a municipal or county vehicle registration fee when a
municipality or county elects to impose such a fee by ordinance and notifies the
Department of such an election, pursuant to s. 341.35, Stats. The Department's Division
of Motor Vehicles collects a municipality or county vehicle registration fee at the same time
it collects the state vehicle registration fee.

Related statute or rule: Section 349.03(2), Stats., provide that [n]o local authority
may enact or enforce any traffic regulation...requiring local registration of vehicles, except
as authorized by s. 341.35, Stats.

Plain language analysis: Chapter Trans 126 governs the Department's
administration of the municipality or county vehicle registration fee. This proposed
amendment increases from 60 days to 90 days the notice that municipalities and counties
must give the Department, prior to the first day of the month in which an ordinance to
enact, amend, or repeal the municipal or county vehicle registration fee is effective. In
recent years, statutory changes have required vehicle registration renewal notice mailings
to be advanced. As a result, 60-day notice from the municipality or county is insufficient
time for the Department to place updated information on renewal notices before mailing
the notices to customers.

This proposed amendment also clarifies operational questions. The rule states how
the Department determines where a vehicle is customarily kept, and how the Department
determines which vehicles receive the municipal or county registration fee calculation upon
initial implementation. The proposed amendment also updates the mailing address for the
Division of Motor Vehicles, and clarifies references to the municipal or county vehicle
registration fee and the administrative fee per vehicle application.

This proposed amendment also removes obsolete language.



Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal
regulation: No federal regulations relate to this rule.

Comparison with Rules in the Following States:

Michigan: Michigan does not have a local vehicle registration fee that is similar to.
Wisconsin’s municipal or county vehicle registration fee, collected by the state DMV on
behalf of the local governments, along with the state vehicle registration fee.

Minnesota: Minnesota counties may assess a “wheelage tax,” similar to
Wisconsin’s municipal or county vehicle registration fee, collected by the state DMV on
behalf of the local governments, along with state vehicle registration fee.

llinois: lllinois does not have a local vehicle registration fee that is similar to
Wisconsin’s municipal or county vehicle registration fee, collected by the state DMV on
behalf of the local governments, along with the state vehicle registration fee.

lowa: lowa does not have a local vehicle registration fee that is similar to
Wisconsin’s municipal or county vehicle registration fee, collected by the state DMV on
behalf of the local governments, along with the state vehicle registration fee.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the
related findings support the regulatory approach chosen: s. 341.08(4m), Stats.,
requires that the Department mail vehicle registration renewal notices to customers at
least 30 days before registration expiration. As provided by s. 341.28(7)(a), Stats.,
automobile registration expiration may be any day of the month. The Department mails
registration renewal notices for all registrations expiring during a month at one time. The
Department must make, and test, any changes to text or billing on the renewal notice prior
to selecting registration records for printing and mailing. As a result, the 60-day notice
from municipalities or counties is insufficient, and this amendment increases the time to 90
days.

The Department has received numerous questions from municipalities and counties
considering enacting a municipal or county vehicle registration fee, regarding operational
issues. This amendment clarifies these points, for the benefit of those governments
considering enacting such an ordinance. In particular, the amendment clarifies how the
Department determines which county or municipality the vehicle is kept in; how the
Department determines which vehicles are subject to the municipal or county registration
fee calculation upon initial implementation; updates the mailing address for the Division of
Motor Vehicles: and clarifies references to the municipal or county vehicle registration fee
and the administrative fee per vehicle application. C

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small
businesses: This proposed rule applies to municipalities and counties that enact, amend
or repeal a municipal or county registration fee. Although a municipality or county action to
enact, amend or repeal a municipal or county registration fee may affect small businesses,
this rule has no effect on small businesses.



Effect on small business: This proposed rule has no effect on small businesses.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail at
ralph.sanders@dot state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585.

Fiscal effect. The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the
liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical
and adult education district, sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or bands.
Although a municipality or county action to enact, amend or repeal a municipal or county
registration fee would affect the revenues of the municipality or county, this rule has no
fiscal effect.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: The Department estimates that
there will be no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or liabilities.

Agency contact person and place where comments are to be submitted and
deadline for submission: The public record on this proposed rule making will be held
open until close of business the day of the hearing to permit the submission of comments -
in lieu of public hearing testimony or comments supplementing testimony offered at the
hearing. Any such comments should be submitted to Carson Frazier, Department of
Transportation, Bureau of Vehicle Services, Room 253, P. O. Box 7911, Madison, Wi
53707-7911. You may also contact Ms. Frazier by phone at (608) 266-7857 or via e-mail:
carson.frazier@dot.state.wi.us, to obtain copies of the proposed rule.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the current rule, and submit
written comments via e-mailfinternet, you may visit the following website:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/|aw/ru|enotices.htm.

TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE

SECTION 1. Trans 126.01(2) is renumbered Trans 126.01.(2)(a).

SECTION 2. Trans 126.01(2)(b) and (c) are created to read:

Trans 126.01(2)(b) As provided in s. 341.35(1), Stats., vehicles subject to the
municipal or county vehicle registration fee are automobiles or motor trucks registered
under s. 341.25(1)(c) at a gross weight of not more than 8,000 pounds.

(c) For purposes of determining where a vehicle is customarily kept, the
municipality or county of domicile as indicated by the vehicle owner and contained in the

department’s title database shall be used. In the absence of an indicated municipality



or county of domicile, the owner or lessee’s post office address shall be used to
determine municipality or county of domicile.

SECTION 3. Trans 126.02(2), (3)(d), (4), (6) and (8) are amended to read:

Trans 126.02(2) NOTIFICATION TO BE MAILED TO DEPARTMENT. The
notification of enactment, amendment, or repeal from the municipality or county shall be
sent to:

Administrator
Division of Motor Vehicles
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue
Room 255

P.O. Box 7911
Madison, Wisconsin 83702 53707-7911

(3)(d) The amount of the municipal or county vehicle registration fee.

(4) ENACTMENT NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS. Fhe-firstmunicipality-which

the-program-implementation-date-a A municipality or county shall provide the notification

of enactment as described in subs. (1), (2) and (3) at least 68 90 days prior to the first

day of the month in which the ordinance is effective.

(6) AMENDMENT NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS. A municipality or county
which amends a municipal or county vehicle registration fee ordinance shall notify the
department of the amendment at least 60 90 days prior to the first day of the month in

which the amendment is effective.



(8) REPEAL NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS. A municipality or county which
repeals a municipal or county vehicle registration fee ordinance shall notify the
department of the repeal at least 60 90 days prior to the first day of the month in which
the repeal is effective.

SECTION 4. Trans 126.04(title), (1)(a), (b), (c) and (2) are amended to read:

Trans 126.04 (title) Computation of administrative costs and collection and

distribution of monies collected.

(1)(a) The administrative costs shall be computed and recovered as a an

administrative fee ber vehicle application.

(b) The administrative fee per vehicle application shall be based on the direct

costs of operation, including employe salaries and fringe benefits, office space, office
supplies and equipment, postage, computer charges, printing and forms, and other
necessary or indirect expenses.

(c) The department shall review the administrative fee per vehicle application fee

annually and any over or under recovery shall become a component in the next fiscal

year administrative fee.

(2)(title) NOTICE OF CHANGES IN THE ADMINISTRATIVE FEE PER VEHICLE

APPLICATION. The department shall notify any participating municipality or county of

changes in the administrative fee per vehicle application at least 30 days prior to the

effective date of the change.

SECTION 5. Trans 126.04(2m) is created to read:

Trans 126.04(2m) APPLICATION OF MUNICIPAL OR COUNTY VEHICLE
REGISTRATION FEE. The department shall apply a municipal or county registratiqn

fee to a vehicle covered by this chapter when the registration of the vehicle is made for



the first time after the effective date of the applicable enacted municipal or county
vehicle registration fee ordinance and for each plate renewal due on or after the
effective date of the ordinance.

SECTION 6. Trans 126.04(3)(title) is amended to read:

Trans  126.04(3)(title) DISTRIBUTION OF RAYMENF MONIES TO

MUNICIPALITY OR COUNTY.

(END OF RULE TEXT)

Effective Date. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.),
Stats.

Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this 1 day of
December, 2008.

FRANK J. BU CCHI
Secretary
Wisconsin Department of Transportation



