Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 119

Relating to: authorizing a drainage district to impose setback distances or no-build zones related to drain maintenance.

By Representatives Albers, Molepske, Townsend, A. Ott, Mursau and Hahn; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald, Lassa, Olsen and Schultz.

February 22, 2007 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

April 5, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives A. Ott, Nerison, M. Williams, Mursau, Murtha, Tauchen, Gronemus, Molepske, Jorgensen, Vruwink and Garthwaite.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sheryl Albers Representative, 50th Assembly District
- Louis Molepske Representative, 71st Assembly District
- Ben Lewis, Cazenovia Wisconsin Drain Board Association
- Richard Gumz, Endeavor Wisconsin Association of Drainage Districts
- Rosalie A. Murphy Oconto County Drainage District & Wisconsin Association of Drainage District Boards

Appearances Against

- Mike Carter, Antigo Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
- Tom Lochner, Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin State Cranberry Growers Association

Appearances for Information Only

- Dave Jelinski, Madison Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
- Dave Russell, Madison Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

Registrations For

• Luther Olsen — Senator, 14th Senate District

Registrations Against

- Paul Zimmerman, Madison Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation
- John Kisiel, Madison Wisconsin Builders Association

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 13, 2008	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.	
	Erin Ruby Committee Clerk	