Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Corrections and Courts

Assembly Bill 121

Relating to: evidence of lay and expert witnesses.

By Representatives Suder, Pridemore, Jeskewitz, A. Ott, Vukmir, Nass, Ballweg, Mursau, Townsend, Kramer, Albers, LeMahieu, F. Lasee, Musser and Gunderson; cosponsored by Senators Kanavas, Roessler, Leibham and Schultz.

February 22, 2007 Referred to Committee on Corrections and Courts.

March 8, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert, Owens, Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman, Pope-

Roberts and Seidel.

Absent: (2) Representatives Gundrum and LeMahieu.

Appearances For

- Scott Suder Rep., 69th Assembly District
- Robert Fassbender WI Coalition for Civil Justice
- James Buchen WI Manufacturers and Commerce
- Michael Richards Senator Ted Kanavas
- Steve Books

Appearances Against

- Paul Sikula WI Academy of Trial Lawyers
- Lisa Fuelleman
- Don Ferber
- Marilyn Wilson Citizens for Responsible Energy
- Carvl Terrell League of Women Voters

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Brad Boycks WI Builders Association
- Jeremy Levin WI Medical Society
- David Jenkins WI Federation of Co-Operatives
- Ted Kanavas Sen., 33rd Senate District
- Robert Fassbender WI Economic Development Association
- Robert Fassbender Civil Trial Council of Wisconsin
- Peter Hanson WI Restaurant Association

- Bill Smith NFIB
- Todd Stuart WI Industrial Energy Group

Registrations Against

- Carla Klein Sierra Club
- Nancy Rottier Director of State Courts
- Adam Korbitz State Bar of WI
- Anneliese Emerson
- Michelle Mettner Association of State Prosecutors
- Randolph Sharpe

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 15, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert, Owens, Kestell, LeMahieu, Parisi, Pocan,

Wasserman, Pope-Roberts and Seidel.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Owens, seconded by Representative Kestell that **Assembly Bill 121** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert, Owens, Kestell and LeMahieu.

Noes: (5) Representatives Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman, Pope-Roberts and Seidel.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 5

Andrew Nowlan Committee Clerk