Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 331

Relating to: a sales and use tax exemption for coins, currency, bullion, and commemorative medallions and the sales and use tax imposed on stamps.

By Representatives Albers, Hines, Townsend, Ballweg, Lothian, Petrowski, Petersen and Nass; cosponsored by Senators Grothman, Olsen and Roessler.

May 15, 2007 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

May 30, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Fields, Hebl, Toles

and Kessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sheryl Albers, Madison Representative, 50th Assembly District
- Clifford Mishler, Iola Wisconsin Coin Collectors Alliance
- Bob Welch, Madison Wisconsin Coin Community Alliance
- Gary Rosencrans, Wisconsin Rapids
- Joe Kaminski, Wisconsin Dells Kaminski Coin Company

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Sherrie Gates-Hendrix, Madison — , Department of Revenue

Registrations For

• Luther Olsen, Madison — Senator, 14th Senate District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 13, 2007 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Fields, Hebl, Toles and Kessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Ziegelbauer that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Fields, Hebl, Toles and Kessler.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Ziegelbauer that **Assembly Bill 331** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota and Ziegelbauer.

Noes: (5) Representatives Steinbrink, Fields, Hebl, Toles and Kessler.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 5

Sarah Popp Committee Clerk