Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Corrections and Courts

Assembly Bill 354

Relating to: classifying members of the Parole Commission and state employees who are employed at a state correctional institution, juvenile correctional facility, the mental health institutes at Mendota and Winnebago, the Wisconsin Resource Center, and any secure mental health unit or facility for sexually violent persons as protective occupation participants under the Wisconsin Retirement System.

By Representatives Musser, Boyle, Albers, Berceau, Kaufert, Hintz, Gunderson, Jorgensen, Garthwaite, Mason, Parisi, Hines and Bies; cosponsored by Senators Erpenbach, Lassa, Roessler, Hansen and Schultz.

May 24, 2007 Referred to Committee on Corrections and Courts.

October 4, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Bies, Kaufert, Owens,
		LeMahieu, Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman and
		Pope-Roberts.
Absent:	(3)	Representatives Montgomery, Gundrum and
		Seidel.

Appearances For

- Terry Musser Rep., 92nd Assembly District
- Susan McMurray AFSCME
- Robert McLinn AFSCME
- Janice Munizza Dr., Mendota Mental Health Inst.
- Michael Will AFSCME
- Kim Scott MMHI
- Barb Lahmayer AFSCME
- Mary Jones
- Catherine Nelson AFSCME
- Kenneth Lobenstein AFSCME
- Lane Streck AFSCME
- Tom Corcoran AFSCME
- John Schitle WI Physician and Dental Association
- Roman Kaplan
- Cathy Rathermel DOC/DCC Clerical
- Nichole Hall
- James Leppi
- Sue Klemann

• Heidi Gammon — SEIU

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Carol Roessler Sen., 18th Senate District
- Cory Mason Rep., 62nd Assembly District
- Cindy Kroon SEIU
- Dian Palmer SEIU
- Jennifer Ban MMHI
- Erik Knudson, M.D. WPDA
- Jeff Wiswell WI Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Assoc
- John Morrell DOC
- Tom Smith
- Sandy Cornell
- Deb Sybell WEAC
- Larry Lautenschlasen WSEU
- Joseph Fitzpatrick DOC
- Erich Wuerslin DOC
- Jodi Voegeli DOC
- Scott Spector AFT Wisconsin
- Nicholl Caruso SEIU
- Kris Bender Sand Ridge Treatment Center
- Dennis Ratherme
- Michael Moore WEAC
- Brian McDermott MJTC MMHI

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

December 4, 2007 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

- Present: (10) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert, Owens, Kestell, LeMahieu, Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman, Pope-Roberts.
- Absent: (1) Representative Seidel.

Moved by Representative Parisi, seconded by Representative Kaufert that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (8) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert, Kestell, Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman and Pope-Roberts.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Owens and LeMahieu.
- Absent: (1) Representative Seidel.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Pocan, seconded by Representative Kaufert that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert,
-		Kestell, Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman and Pope-
		Roberts.
Noes:	(2)	Representatives Owens and LeMahieu.

Absent: (1) Representative Seidel.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Kaufert, seconded by Representative Parisi that **Assembly Bill 354** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (8) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert, Kestell, Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman and Pope-Roberts.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Owens and LeMahieu.
- Absent: (1) Representative Seidel.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 2

Andrew Nowlan Committee Clerk