## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Ways and Means**

#### **Assembly Bill 426**

Relating to: determining the value of billboards for personal property tax purposes. By Representatives Gunderson, Fields, Albers, Ballweg, Bies, Hixson, Gronemus, Honadel, Montgomery, Musser, Nass, Newcomer, A. Ott, Petrowski, Sheridan, Townsend and Vos; cosponsored by Senators Plale, Schultz, Breske, Hansen and Lazich.

June 21, 2007 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

### July 11, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(13)	Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn,
		Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota,
		Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Fields, Hebl, Toles
		and Kessler.
Absent:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- Scott Gunderson, Madison Representative, 83rd Assembly District
- Jason Saari, Madison Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Chris Eilenberger, Madison Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Keith Carson, LaCrosse Collins Outdoor Advertising Inc
- Brad Yarmark, Milton Lamar Advertising
- Kathi Kilgore, Madison Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin

Appearances Against

• Mike Kurth, Madison — Wisconsin Association of Assessing Officers

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Scott Petlewski, Delafield Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Kurt Weis, Milwaukee Lamar Advertising
- Bill Schroeder, DePere OAAW
- Rich Reinart, Marshfield Lamar Advertising

#### Registrations Against

- Jason Johns, Madison Alliance of Cities
- Jolene Plautz, Madison Wisconsin Association of Assessing Officers
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Russ Schwandt, Green Bay City of Green Bay

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### October 3, 2007 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present:	(11)	Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn,
		Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Ziegelbauer,
		Fields, Hebl, Toles and Kessler.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Strachota and Steinbrink.

Moved by Representative Wood, seconded by Representative Jeskewitz that **Assembly Bill 426** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(7)	Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn,
-		Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore and Fields.
Noes:	(4)	Representatives Ziegelbauer, Hebl, Toles and
		Kessler.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Strachota and Steinbrink.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 4

Sarah Popp Committee Clerk