Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 561

Relating to: the regulation of certain telecommunications utilities and the public service commission's jurisdiction over public utilities in general.

By Representatives Montgomery, Van Roy, Gunderson, Hahn, Gronemus, Albers, Hubler, Vos, A. Ott, Petersen, Nygren and Wood; cosponsored by Senators Plale, Breske, Kreitlow, Schultz, Olsen and Kedzie.

October 30, 2007 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

February 21, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Petersen, Hahn, Honadel, Davis, Nerison, Zepnick, Staskunas,

Steinbrink, Soletski.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Phil Montgomery, Ashwaubenon Representative, 4th Assembly District
- Dan Ebert Chairperson, Wisconsin Public Service Commission
- Bill Esbeck Wisconsin State Telecommunications Association
- Larry Lueck, De Pere Nsight Teleservices

Appearances Against

- Charlie Higley, Madison Citizens Utility Board
- Lorenzo Cruz CenturyTel
- Gail Sumi AARP Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeff Plale, South Milwaukee Senator, 7th Senate District
- Katie Walby TDS
- Paul Fuglie Verizon Communications

Registrations Against

• Bill Smith — National Federation of Independent Business

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 26, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Petersen, Hahn,

Honadel, Davis, Nerison, Zepnick, Staskunas,

Steinbrink, Soletski.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Nerison, seconded by Representative Davis that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Petersen,

Hahn, Honadel, Davis, Nerison, Zepnick,

Staskunas, Steinbrink, Soletski.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Honadel that **Assembly Bill 561** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Montgomery, Petersen, Hahn, Honadel, Davis, Nerison, Staskunas

and Steinbrink.

Noes: (2) Representatives Zepnick and Soletski.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 2

Kristin Ruesch Committee Clerk