# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Criminal Justice**

### **Assembly Bill 566**

Relating to: creating a registry for violent offenders, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and providing penalties.

By Representatives Suder, Boyle, Jeskewitz, Bies, Gunderson, Gronemus, Hraychuck, Hubler, Kleefisch, LeMahieu, Musser, A. Ott, Owens, Petrowski, Tauchen, Townsend, Turner and Ziegelbauer; cosponsored by Senators Hansen, Darling, A. Lasee, Olsen, Roessler and Schultz.

November 06, 2007 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice.

February 27, 2008 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (11) Representatives Kleefisch, Friske, Albers, Owens, Vukmir, Kramer, Turner, Staskunas, Kessler, Grigsby and Hraychuck.

Absent: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Scott Suder State Representative, 69th State Assembly District
- Frank Boyle State Representative, 73rd State Assembly District
- Dave Hansen State Senator, 30th State Senate District
- Dave Ross, Superior Mayor, Mayors Office
- Richard Gustafson, Superior
- Alissa Wild, Fosston
- Melinda Cooper, Superior
- Kelly Ziebell, Superior
- Janiece Olson, Fosston

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Sharon Gustafson, Superior
- Jim Palmer, Madison WI Professional Police Assn.

- Molly Colgrove, Ashland Bayfield Co 4-H Superior Days
- Sue Jeskewitz State Representative, 24th Assembly District
- Lawrence J Quan, Superior
- Brandon Crowser, Superior UW-Superior/Douglas County
- Ashley Minnis, Mercer

### Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### February 27, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Kleefisch, Friske, Albers,

Owens, Vukmir, Kramer, Turner, Staskunas,

Kessler, Grigsby and Hraychuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kessler, seconded by Representative Kramer that **Assembly Bill 566** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Kleefisch, Friske, Albers,

Owens, Vukmir, Kramer, Turner, Staskunas,

L.C. Watelt

Kessler, Grigsby and Hraychuck.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Daniel Lindstedt Committee Clerk