Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Corrections and Courts

Assembly Bill 57

Relating to: disciplinary procedures for certain local law enforcement officers and fire fighters.

By Representatives Bies, Soletski, Albers, Ballweg, Friske, Gunderson, Hahn, Hines, Kerkman, Musser, Seidel, Sheridan, Townsend and Wasserman; cosponsored by Senators Hansen, Lehman, Sullivan and Wirch.

February 13, 2007 Referred to Committee on Corrections and Courts.

March 8, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert, Owens, Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman, Pope-Roberts and Seidel.

Absent: (2) Representatives Gundrum and LeMahieu.

Appearances For

- Garey Bies Rep., 1st Assembly District
- Rick Gale President, Professional Fire Fighters of WI
- Bill Chesen
- Jim Palmer WI Professional Police Association
- Gordon McQuillen

Appearances Against

- Jay Behling Milwaukee County Association of Fire Chiefs
- David Bloom WI State Fire Chiefs Association
- Scott Herrick
- Doug Pettit Chief, WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Alice O'Connor WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Ed Huck WI Alliance of Cities

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Ramie Leonard Milwaukee Deputy Sheriffs Association
- William Ward Milwaukee Police Association
- Susan Armacost Madison Professional Police Officers Association

- Scott Favour Madison Professional Police Oficers Association
- Curt Paulisch WI Professional Police Association

Registrations Against

- Jennifer Gonda City of Milwaukee
- Debra Amesqua Madison Fire Department
- Dan Thompson League of WI Municipalities
- Jay Salvo Blooming Grove Fire Department
- Brad Aubera Middleton Fire Department
- Randy Acker
- Gary Gillitzer Middleton Fire Department
- Richard Demiel City of Cudahy
- Mark Barnes City of Stevens Point

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 3, 2007 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert,

Owens, Gundrum, LeMahieu, Parisi, Pocan,

Wasserman, Pope-Roberts and Seidel.

Absent: (0) None.

March 13, 2008 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Andrew Nowlan Committee Clerk