Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Small Business

Assembly Bill 729

Relating to: disclosure of information by health care providers and insurers and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Wieckert, Moulton, Hraychuck, M. Williams, Molepske, Van Roy, Musser, Shilling, Murtha, Montgomery, F. Lasee, Gunderson, Kestell, Fields, Jeskewitz, Hixson, Petersen, Wood, Davis, Bies, Mursau, Vos, Petrowski, Hines, Strachota, Albers, Grigsby, Sheridan, Seidel, A. Williams, Wasserman, Krusick and Kreuser; cosponsored by Senators Sullivan, Kreitlow, Cowles, Lehman, Roessler, Harsdorf, Darling, Robson, Taylor and Grothman.

January 24, 2008 Referred to Committee on Small Business.

February 12, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (8) Representatives Moulton, Murtha, Townsend, Van Roy, Ballweg, Hilgenberg, Hebl and Soletski.

Absent: (1) Representative Fields.

Appearances For

- Steve Wieckert Representative
- Jim Sullivan Senator
- Gail Sumi AARP WI
- Nancy Wenzel Wisconsin Association of Health Plans
- Joe Kachelski Wisconsin Hospital Association
- Bill Smith, Madison NFIB
- Cheryl Demars The Alliance
- H. Bruce Kruger Medical Society of Milwaukee County
- Dan Schwartzer WI Health Underwriters
- Tod Zacharais Humana
- R.J. Pirlot Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Monica Hebl Wisconsin Dental Association
- Mara Brooks Wisconsin Dental Association
- Jeremy Levin WI Medical Society

• Eric Borgerding — Wisconsin Hospital Association

Registrations For

- Michael Heifetz Dean Health System
- Rob Cowles Senator
- Michael Welsh WI Academy of Family Physicians
- Eric Jensen Wisconsin Society of Anesthesiologists
- Joan Hansen Americans for Prosperity
- Chris Tackett Wisconsin Merchants Federation
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Bob Collison Independent Business Association of Wisconsin
- Dan Schwartzer WI PPO Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 20, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Moulton, Murtha, Townsend,

Van Roy, Ballweg, Fields, Hilgenberg, Hebl

and Soletski.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Murtha, seconded by Representative Van Roy that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Moulton, Murtha,

Townsend, Van Roy, Ballweg, Fields,

Hilgenberg, Hebl and Soletski.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Townsend, seconded by Representative Van Roy that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Moulton, Murtha, Townsend, Van Roy, Ballweg, Fields, Hilgenberg, Hebl and Soletski.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Townsend, seconded by Representative Van Roy that **Assembly Bill 729** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Moulton, Murtha, Townsend, Van Roy, Ballweg, Fields, Hilgenberg, Hebl and Soletski.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Matthew Seaholm Committee Clerk