Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Consumer Protection and Personal Privacy

Assembly Bill 771

Relating to: use of a social security number as personal identifier in the administration of a state or local governmental program.

By Representatives Lothian, M. Williams, Tauchen, Nygren, Berceau, Cullen, Davis, Gronemus, Hahn, Honadel, Kerkman, Kestell, Kleefisch, Molepske, Mursau, Murtha, Musser, Nass, Nerison, A. Ott, Petersen, Sinicki, Strachota, Suder, Van Roy, Vos, Vukmir, Wasserman, Wood and Albers; cosponsored by Senators Carpenter, Kapanke, Cowles, Darling, Grothman, Hansen, Kedzie, Lassa, Olsen, Roessler and Sullivan.

February 06, 2008 Referred to Committee on Consumer Protection and Personal Privacy.

February 21, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (8) Representatives Lothian, Davis, Townsend, Kerkman, Mursau, Cullen, Krusick and Jorgensen.

Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

Appearances For

- Tom Lothian Rep, 32nd Assembly District
- George Klaetsch, Madison WI Coalition for Consumer Choice

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Mary Williams, Medford Rep., 87th Assembly District
- Christine Sinicki, Milwaukee Rep., 20th Assembly District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 21, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Lothian, Davis, Townsend, Kerkman, Mursau, Cullen, Krusick and Jorgensen.

Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Krusick that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Lothian, Davis, Townsend, Kerkman, Mursau, Cullen, Krusick and Jorgensen.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Krusick that **Assembly Bill 771** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Lothian, Davis, Townsend, Kerkman, Mursau, Cullen, Krusick and Jorgensen.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Tyler August Committee Clerk