Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Jobs and The Economy

Assembly Bill 794

Relating to: changes to economic development tax benefit programs, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and requiring the exercise of rule-making authority.

By Representatives Strachota, Jeskewitz, Vos, A. Ott, Townsend, Kleefisch, Ballweg, Hahn, Mursau and Albers; cosponsored by Senators Lassa, Sullivan, Roessler, Vinehout, Darling and Kanavas.

February 13, 2008 Referred to Committee on Jobs and The Economy.

February 13, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (8) Representatives Strachota, Honadel, Friske,

Kerkman, Nygren, Vos, Fields and Toles.

Absent: (2) Representatives Sheridan and Mason.

Appearances For

- Pat Strachota Representative, 58th Assembly District
- Julie Lassa Senator, 24th Senate District
- Carol Roessler Senator, 18th Senate District
- Chandra Miller-Fienen Dept. of Commerce
- Ron Brisbois Grant County Econ. Development
- Peter Thillman WEDA
- James Otterstein WEDA

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sue Jeskewitz Representative, 24th Assembly District
- Alberta Darling Senator, 8th Senate District
- Amy Boyer WEDA

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 20, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Strachota, Honadel, Friske,

Kerkman, Nygren, Vos, Sheridan, Fields,

Toles, Mason.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Representative Sheridan that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Strachota, Honadel, Friske,

Kerkman, Nygren, Vos, Sheridan, Fields,

Toles, Mason.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Sheridan that **Assembly Bill 794** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Strachota, Honadel, Friske,

Kerkman, Nygren, Vos, Sheridan, Fields,

Toles, Mason.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Sara Buschman Committee Clerk