# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform**

### **Assembly Bill 873**

Relating to: allowing out-of-state insurers to offer health care plans that are exempt from certain laws to employers and individuals in this state.

By Representatives Vukmir, F. Lasee, Nygren, Kramer, Moulton, Kerkman, Zipperer, Vos, Lothian, Bies, Albers, LeMahieu, Newcomer, Pridemore, M. Williams and Montgomery; cosponsored by Senators A. Lasee and Darling.

February 25, 2008 Referred to Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform.

February 12, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(12)	Representatives Vukmir, Moulton, F. Lasee,
		Wieckert, Strachota, Nygren, Zipperer,
		Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Benedict and
		Seidel.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Newcomer.

Appearances For

- Rep. Leah Vukmir, Wauwatosa 14th Assembly District
- Dan Schwartzer, Madison Wisconsin Association of Health Underwriters
- Mike Farrell, Madison Wisconsin Association of Health Underwriters
- Bill Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Business
- J.P. Wieske, Green Bay Council on Affordable Health Insurance

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

• William Donaldson, Madison — Board on Aging & Long Term Care

- Commissioner Sean Dilweg, Madison Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
- Donna Bryant, Madison Board on Aging & Long Term Care
- Joanne Ricca, Milwaukee Wisconsin State AFL CIO
- Kathryn Ambelang WPS Health Insurance Corp.
- Pat Osbourne WPS Health Insurance
- Vaughn Vance, Madison WEA Trust

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

#### February 28, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (13) Representatives Vukmir, Moulton, F. Lasee, Wieckert, Strachota, Newcomer, Nygren, Zipperer, Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Benedict and Seidel.
Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Vukmir, seconded by Representative Nygren that **Assembly Bill 873** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (8) Representatives Vukmir, Moulton, F. Lasee, Wieckert, Strachota, Newcomer, Nygren and Zipperer.
- Noes: (5) Representatives Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Benedict and Seidel.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 5

Dean Cady Committee Clerk